GameStop Ratings and Reviews

Shop Now At GameStop
Shop Software or
Choose a Category
Top Rated Product

Product Reviews

Kingdom Hearts Re: Chain of Memories

KINGDOM HEARTS Re:Chain of Memories is the essential piece that bridges the gap between KINGDOM HEARTS and KINGDOM HEARTS II. A full 3D remake of the original Game Boy Advance release (2004), it was released in Japan in 2007 as part of the KINGDOM HEARTS II Final Mix+ compilation before finally making its way to North America. Combined with the card battle system of the original GBA release, KINGDOM HEARTS Re:Chain of Memories presents KINGDOM HEARTS fans with an entirely new playing experience.
Average Customer Rating:
7.857
7.9
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (130 reviews)
10 stars
32
9 stars
12
8 stars
13
7 stars
7
6 stars
5
5 stars
5
4 stars
2
3 stars
3
2 stars
2
1 star
3
65 out of 8477%of reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Kingdom Hearts Re: Chain of Memories
Review 1 for Kingdom Hearts Re: Chain of Memories
A step in the right direction
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Posted on:12/8/08
Subject2Change
After being somewhat disappointed at the lack of challenge that was Kingdom Hearts 2, I am quite pleased with this prequel, especially from a game that I did not expect to be released in the states. The Battle System is quite different from the other 2, as it is no longer a hack-and-slash but one that requires some skill and thought put into it through the card system. Bosses are somewhat challenges that need to be thought out to be executed and are no longer the simple smash-X-to beat-them fights they were in the past. The story is a bit confusing from early on, being that if you've played KH1 and KH2 prior to CoM, certain details of KH2 become questionable, as in KH2 they don't talk about the Organization from the start, and eventually you learn about them. However, in CoM you are still dealing with them early on, and wouldn't you expect Sora and company to remember them in the Start of KH2. Maybe the ending and the remainder of the story will fill me in on these details. Another upside to this compared to KH2, is that it is not completely made up of Cut Scenes and Save Points. In KH2 you'd get through one hallway to see a cut scene, find a save point, and, oh hey, another cut scene. CoM is not like this in the least, with Cut Scenes maybe once every 20 or so minutes at the very shortest intervals, and Save Points only typically at the start and end of an area. As for the Voice Acting, neither 1 or 2 were fully re-edited to have the lip-sync match up perfectly, and, in certain spots, in all 3 of the games you can notice it. However, it is not that big of deal, considering the price. This game is a step in the right direction, and I'm loving the challenge and the play style much more than the others. Hopefully the story is as good. Must buy for Kingdom Hearts fans and for others that enjoy RPGs.
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
30 of 47 found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Kingdom Hearts Re: Chain of Memories
Card System is Terrible
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 10
3 out of 10
Gameplay: 
2 out of 10
2 out of 10
Graphics: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Sound: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
3 out of 10
3 out of 10
Posted on:12/8/13
Player0N3
When I finished the first kingdom hearts i was very satisfied and looking forward to playing re:chain of memories but the instant i started playing i realized the original fighting system (that i had grown to love in the first game and spent about 40 hours perfecting) was completely thrown out the door. The card system is overcomplicated and just a stupid idea. If i wanted to play cards i would not have bought the game because that is basically what you are doing when entering a battle. Half the time your attacks do not even work because the card you have is not above your opponent's and then half the time they do work they don't even do any damage because they are just breaking the enemies guard. Overall great story and necessary to the Kingdom Hearts series, but gameplay could have been much better if it was like the original Kingdom Hearts. Very disappointing game.
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 10
3 out of 10
Gameplay: 
2 out of 10
2 out of 10
Graphics: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Sound: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
3 out of 10
3 out of 10
Review 3 for Kingdom Hearts Re: Chain of Memories
Great game
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:11/26/13
KnightTime
Location: New York, NY
This is a Great game I remember when it first came out I had a ps3 and gave my ps2 away and was so mad it was not on ps3 but this was just a ps3 instant classic and is great
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Review 4 for Kingdom Hearts Re: Chain of Memories
Not for Kingdom Hearts beginners
Overall Rating: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Gameplay: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:12/24/12
Tdedvall
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
This game was ok, the sound was excellent and the graphics were good, but the game play is iffy. I didn't like the idea of using cards to battle but surprisingly it was pretty good. The bad part is that if you run out of cards you lose that battle. But I LOVED how you can play as Riku! If they put that in Kingdom Hearts 1 that would be good! But overall good game for hardcore Kingdom Hearts fans. But not for Kingdom Hearts beginners.
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Overall Rating: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Gameplay: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Review 5 for Kingdom Hearts Re: Chain of Memories
HATED IT :(
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 10
2 out of 10
Gameplay: 
3 out of 10
3 out of 10
Graphics: 
3 out of 10
3 out of 10
Sound: 
3 out of 10
3 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Posted on:12/10/12
gamerSC
hated this game it totally sux i hate the new form of attacks i hate the fact that u dont get anyone on your team u use a card to summon them for 3 seconds and then there gone didnt even get passed the 1st couple rooms before turning it off and putting in a new game played for less then 20 mins and didnt like it at all
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 10
2 out of 10
Gameplay: 
3 out of 10
3 out of 10
Graphics: 
3 out of 10
3 out of 10
Sound: 
3 out of 10
3 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
0 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Kingdom Hearts Re: Chain of Memories
Give it a Chance!
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:11/8/12
ChainOfMemories
Location: Destiny Islands
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
This game is very underated. Yes, it doesn't have the typical "Hack 'n' Slash" fighting style from the other games, and yes, it does require a bit of strategy. But that's what makes it fun! Re:Chain of Memories is a great challenge, whether you're playing as Sora or Riku (you get to pick your card deck as Sora, but you can't change it when you're Riku). The two stories are great and bridge the gap between Kingdom Hearts and Kingdom Hearts II very well. I highly recommend this game, but you have to be willing to work at it. Don't go in unprepared!
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Review 7 for Kingdom Hearts Re: Chain of Memories
I do not like this game, it is terrible.
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 10
2 out of 10
Gameplay: 
3 out of 10
3 out of 10
Graphics: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Sound: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
2 out of 10
2 out of 10
Posted on:10/7/12
SaixLunar
Location: Maryland
The plot is fun, but overall it get frustrating after a while. I tried to get through the game but i just couldn't. the theme of cards is perfect for the Nintendo DS but it would have been better had the creators just stuck with the original format for the Play Station 2. Even my father agrees. I do not suggest the PS2 version for a friend, I suggest it for the Nintendo DS though.
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 10
2 out of 10
Gameplay: 
3 out of 10
3 out of 10
Graphics: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Sound: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
2 out of 10
2 out of 10
Review 8 for Kingdom Hearts Re: Chain of Memories
Have to keep playing
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:10/2/12
Ratedrko724
Location: Home
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
I think Kingdom Hearts put this game to a game you do not want to stop to play.This game keep me playing in sora's story,then it has the Organization in it.As soon as a finish Sora's story it has Riku's story.In some cutsecenes you could tell where Sora was in his story when you were playing Riku's story.That I thought was a cool thing to do to combine the two story together.You also for the first time meet DiZ for the first time in the Kingdom Hearts series.I give this game a huge 10 for this epic game.I did not want to stop playing it.
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Kingdom Hearts Re: Chain of Memories
It's a Good Break Game
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Gameplay: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Posted on:9/19/12
ShadyWinters
Location: Lancaster, TX
This game is perfect for: casual gamers
I find KH Re: CoM to be more of a game to take a break with, just a simple game where you use the card system, much like KH CoM, but with better graphics. One thing that I do find annoying is the camera when in battle, it locks on to things you're not even facing which is annoying especially when you are trying to defeat something
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Gameplay: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Review 10 for Kingdom Hearts Re: Chain of Memories
Not like it's predecessors
Overall Rating: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Gameplay: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Posted on:9/12/12
BunkerXCM
Location: San Diego, CA
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
I had moderately high hopes for this game and was sadly disappointed. I have no problem with card mechanics in an RPG, I loved the Baten Kaitos card play battle system, but KH just can't quite get it right. I played KH 1 & 2 all the way through until the end, but just can't bring myself to pick this one back up. Battles are clunky and set apart from regular play, and there is little added to the story to make this is a unique game. I am walking through a white castle... forgetting things... playing nearly the exact same game as before with... cards? I am getting the feeling that the KH team is running out of ideas. I recommend this game only to the die-hard KH fan that wants every title on their shelf.
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Overall Rating: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Gameplay: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Review 11 for Kingdom Hearts Re: Chain of Memories
WHAT?!?!?!
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Gameplay: 
2 out of 10
2 out of 10
Graphics: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Sound: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Posted on:7/22/12
kingdomheartsfan1879
I played kh 1 first than re chain of memories and re chain of memories is retarted manely because of the card you play with.the cards range from 0 to 9 attackes and the more you use the cards the less you get.and every entire single leval is the same creation but they put different back grounds.and when you face an enemy it like final fantasy x.and its like birth by sleep when you have no side kicks.DO NOT BUY
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Gameplay: 
2 out of 10
2 out of 10
Graphics: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Sound: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
3 of 15 found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Kingdom Hearts Re: Chain of Memories
Very Good Game.
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:7/20/12
Soldierboy
Location: MI
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
The game was a little hard at the beginning but once you get used to the game play its a very fun game. I love kingdom hearts and would recommend this to anyone else who like kingdom hearts. Plus after you beat it you can play as riku in reverse rebirth mode
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
1 of 2 found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Kingdom Hearts Re: Chain of Memories
Playing as Riku is Fun
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Gameplay: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Posted on:7/10/12
KHBro
Location: NY,NY
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
I Am hardcore KH fan and this game is cool and fun but the card system ticked me off more than once but the story was pretty cool and playing as Riku made it worthwhile
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Gameplay: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Review 14 for Kingdom Hearts Re: Chain of Memories
Kingdom Hearts Re: Chain of Memories <3
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:7/2/12
SoraLight
Kingdom Hearts Re: Chain of Memories is where it unfolds Sora's enterance and bits of other parts in Kingdom Hearts 2; such as Jiminy Cricket's only Journal Entry, etc., also in the Kingdom Hearts ending. It is indeed a challenge to battle with Cards instead of just Sora's average Keyblade. Riku is also revealed there, but as Darkness, and other revealing mysteries. Wonderful Video-Game.
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Review 15 for Kingdom Hearts Re: Chain of Memories
Eh
Overall Rating: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Gameplay: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Posted on:6/28/12
TheCloakedSchemer
I'm glad they made it more challenging, but I wish they could have done it in a different way. The card system in this game is stupid and doesn't make any sense. However, the characters and the music make up for that and make this game worth playing.
Overall Rating: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Gameplay: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Review 16 for Kingdom Hearts Re: Chain of Memories
kingdom hearts card game
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:6/11/12
shadowsora108
Location: andalusia AL
This game is perfect for: casual gamers
after playing kingdom hearts chain of memories for the gba i wanted the remake. my grandma got this one for me. i adore it. i absolutely recommend this game to kingdom hearts fans everywhere.
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Kingdom Hearts Re: Chain of Memories
stinks
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Gameplay: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Graphics: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Sound: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Posted on:6/4/12
michealscorn
This game is terrible. If u are looking for the traditional kingdom hearts fighting style you wont find it here. The combat style is completeley stupid. The way you fight with cards.is dumb. Don't but this game
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Gameplay: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Graphics: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Sound: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
1 of 8 found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Kingdom Hearts Re: Chain of Memories
I'm disappointed
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Gameplay: 
2 out of 10
2 out of 10
Graphics: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Sound: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Posted on:3/12/12
Kingofutlima
Location: California
This game SUCKS. Kingdom Hearts I and II was so good but why this? I do know that this is the first KH game and no not this version this is a remake. If your a KH fan like me DONT BUY, I recommend getting Kingdom Hearts I, Kingdom Hearts II, or Kingdom Hearts Birth by Sleep.
Plus it's too hard, when you get in that place (I forgot what) but it's like dark and creepy and when you reach the boss which is a big beanbag with bugs in it I couldn't beat it... -_- ruined the series a bit, just dont play
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Gameplay: 
2 out of 10
2 out of 10
Graphics: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Sound: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
0 of 26 found this review helpful.
Comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
TheOnlyOrajel
 
Please wait while more information about TheOnlyOrajel is loaded.
Additional information about TheOnlyOrajel could not be loaded.
Derps man...
Posted 3/17/12
Your just like my cousin. All you do is run round and mash buttons. You gotta think in order to enjoy it. Use your Derp!
Comments (1)
Comment (1)
Review 19 for Kingdom Hearts Re: Chain of Memories
A GOOD CARD ACTION GAME!!!!!!!!!!
Overall Rating: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Gameplay: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Graphics: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:2/5/12
C364DREED
Location: paramount
This game is perfect for: casual gamers
COOL GAME TO PLAY SO FAR IT COULD BE A BETTER GAME WITH BETTER GRAPHICS AND A BETTER STORY MODE !!!!
Overall Rating: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Gameplay: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Graphics: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
2 of 3 found this review helpful.
Comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
Hajile
Genoa, OH
 
Please wait while more information about Hajile is loaded.
Additional information about Hajile could not be loaded.
Awe Inspiring
Posted 8/13/12
Played it on GBA, Played it on PS2. Worthy of being a classic.
Comments (1)
Comment (1)
Review 20 for Kingdom Hearts Re: Chain of Memories
I WANT THIS GAME!!!
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:12/12/11
dbzut
Location: gameworld
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
I beet the 1st and 2nd kingdom hearts, but there's 1 in between them, wow! I think it is awesome how you can go in to battle sequence by touching an opponent!
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
1 2 3 4 5 ... 7 next>>