GameStop Ratings and Reviews

Shop Now At GameStop
Shop Software or
Choose a Category
Most Popular Products
Top Rated Product

Product Reviews

Sonic's Ultimate Genesis Collection

Take a trip back in time with over 40 titles from the SEGA Genesis era, including your Sonic The Hedgehog favorites. In classic single-player and multiplayer battles, you'll take down a huge variety of enemies, including Sonic's nemesis Dr. Eggman (AKA Dr. Robotnik), shuriken-flinging ninjas, hordes of altered beasts and the world's greatest fighting champions
Average Customer Rating:
8.714
8.7
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (22 reviews)
10 stars
11
9 stars
5
8 stars
2
7 stars
1
6 stars
0
5 stars
0
4 stars
1
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
1
18 out of 2186%of reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Sonic's Ultimate Genesis Collection
Review 1 for Sonic's Ultimate Genesis Collection
A must have for us old timers!
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:3/30/10
Picky Gamer
This is the best selection of old games. I grew up playing all these games i was a Sega Genesis fan didn't like it's competitor Super Nintendo except for Super Mario World and the few other good titles on it. This game is great, but it makes me feel old lol. I see the dates when they game was made and I actually bought that one back in 1989 like aww man I'm old. There is too many good titles on this to name them all, but here is a few of my favorites....Sonic 1, 2, 3, and Sonic and Knuckles, Altered Beast, De-Cap Attack, Shinobi III, Streets of rage 1,2,3, Golden Axe 1,2,3, and there is a lot more too many to remember. You can't mention the price but i got it out the sale bin and was real cheap would have paid alot more for it worth the money! If you are younger and never played these you might not like it. So i will recommend it to everyone, it is what it is, if you never played these before or even heard of them you might not like it. I want to add this before I'm done it's a great family game a lot of co-op games my son is 3 and can play the Sonic games and my g/f hates video games, but likes to play co-op with me because they are simple.
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
7 of 7 found this review helpful.
Comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
bunnyboy4ever
Brandon, FL
 
Please wait while more information about bunnyboy4ever is loaded.
Additional information about bunnyboy4ever could not be loaded.
Top 1000 Contributor
Posted 11/19/12
one time or another these games will show up on the virtual console that's the reason why it wasn't released on WII
Comments (1)
Comment (1)
Review 2 for Sonic's Ultimate Genesis Collection
A Great Collection of Games
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:1/3/13
ILikeIt
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
This is one fantastic collection of Sega games. I've purchased this disc over two years ago and continue to play this title.
All games are easy to access from the main menu. Titles ranging from great classic RPGs like Phantasy Star and Shining Force to action platfomers like Vectorman, there is a game here for anyone who enjoys retro games.
When in gameplay, the screen is formatted to your screen so that graphics don't pixelate. Addittionally, you can save any game at anytime during play and come back to it later. As a bonus, there is additional content, including great retro Sega arcade games, that can be unlocked as you progress in select titles.
Graphics, sound and controls are all well done and true to their time. In every game I've played, I have never struggled with playablility due to some error in controller translation or issues with display. I've even rated this game highly for it's faithfullness to the originals.
If you've considered this title, stop considering, just buy it and enjoy!
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Review 3 for Sonic's Ultimate Genesis Collection
Amazing!!!!
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:2/13/09
Ultimate Sonic Fan2221
I just bought this game, and I am WOW'ed. I remember all the old genesis games. Well, I only have about 10. But this has so many awesome games in it, including the great classic sonic games, all remastered, and the sound quality is just great. I would probably give this 100/10, its so great. I can't go any higher then 10 though. My full review: Well, first of all going into the challenge, it is great, I mean you can't beat a good old fashion sega genesis game! The controls are EXCELLENT, in my opinion. Its great controls, I can't imagine how bad it would be on a system like Wii, I'm glad they chose to only put it on PlayStation 3 and the xbox 360. The graphics and animation are pretty much the same as the challenge. I love the interface and menu greatly too. The Length is a very long while, because there's so many genesis games on it! The Sound quality is great, its completely remastered. and the storyline is just as great as the games on genesis. 10/10
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Review 4 for Sonic's Ultimate Genesis Collection
Makes Me Remember The Good Old Days Of Sega!!!
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:12/12/10
kelinja23
Location: Pennsylvania, PA
This game is perfect for: party gamers
I know these graphics cant compare to games now and days, but back for its day, these gragics were amazing! I grew up playing this game! I own this game for the XBox 360 and I must say it was one of my best purchases EVER in gaming. I also love the classic music! It gets stuck in my head all the time lol! GREAT GAME! EVERYONE SHOULD HAVE A CHANCE TO PLAY IT!!!!
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
5 of 5 found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Sonic's Ultimate Genesis Collection
amzaing
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:3/21/09
monkeyfan789
its looks great and i want to get it badly i give it a 10 because ive always been a sega's and classic game player i want it so bad and street rage is a awesome game when i had the genisis system i played that all of the time and I'm am looking forward to playing it again especially sonic the hedghog i wanna play that and taz manian devil i love that game once i get this i will probably play it 24/7 i think its great that they made it fro xbox360 and ps3 because if they made it for wii the graphics would be worse then the genisis system . wii has terrible graphics and isn't as fun as xbox 360 and ps3 this game will be awesome i think it definitely worth ** ***** that isnt to much anyways compared to 60 well I'm getting this game in a short matter of time.
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
2 of 4 found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Sonic's Ultimate Genesis Collection
welcome back sega!
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:7/22/09
Triple J
This game is a must own for anyone who grew up with a Sega Genesis! It has a ton of the titles that were a pretty big deal during the time. The graphics have been remastered as well as the sound and the fact that you can save a game at any point of play is helpful since the save spots on most of these games was sort of few and far between. The menu has a marking system so you can mark your favorites (which could be tricky considering there is about 30 titles) and they also added achievements that are specific to each title. Who doesn't want to re-live the glory days of slashing your way through Golden Axe or Shinobi 3 or even the sonic games all while your mom yelled at you to clean up your room? or maybe some of you are still there. Either way this game is well worth the money!..........only downfall.........no Earthworm Jim.
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Review 7 for Sonic's Ultimate Genesis Collection
The classics that started it all
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:3/20/12
Dman17
Location: San Francisco, Califronia
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
This game is only $17.99 for over 40 games..... That is a heck of a deal. Plus this comes with lots of the popular Sonic games that were on the Genesis, other fun games like the streets of Rage series, and SO much more!! Its tons of great games on one disc for a great price... You just can't really go wrong with that. If you are a Sega fan this game should be in your game library.
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Sonic's Ultimate Genesis Collection
FINALLY...SHINING FORCE!!!!!
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Posted on:12/4/10
quigonntom
Location: holland, mi
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
if you are a fan of the "shining" series, this is the disk for you. it has both Shining Force 1 and Shining Force 2 available for play. It also has Shining in the Darkness. So if you are a big fan of these games and have pulled out all of your hair trying to find a used cartridge out there, get this disk. now lets hope for a Sega Saturn Collection lol.
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Sonic's Ultimate Genesis Collection
sonic ultimate genesis is cool
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:12/3/11
sonic1234567890
Location: west virginia
This game is perfect for: kid gamers
i love these kind've games their fun and sonic looks cute when hes young lol
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Sonic's Ultimate Genesis Collection
A must have for fans of Classic Games
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Posted on:5/26/09
The Reticent
Let me just say for those of you that enjoyed the Genesis or have never played a Genesis and are looking for a great collection of games this is definitely worth checking out. I grew up during the 16 bit era and these games have passed the test of time. The price alone is worth it. You get 40 games that will bring back memories of what challenging gaming was (limited continues and lives) also you'll get to just have old fashioned fun. There is something for everyone on this disc. This collection also has something for gamers that want to play old school RPGs. The Phantasy Star series is something that every RPG fan should play. The games are long, have a good story line and for their time have some of the best combat animations you'll see. Also, its nice to be able to save where ever you happen to be, no more backtracking 2 hours because you forgot to save the game or couldn't get to a town (battery back-up be damned). However, be warned you will have to grind for money and levels if you want to progress at all. The enemies are not scaled your level.You'll also be able to play some original master system games, which are worth just to see some games from the early days of video games and stand up arcade cabinets. Overall, I would say for $***** you can't go wrong.
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Review 11 for Sonic's Ultimate Genesis Collection
Awesome game!!!!
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Gameplay: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Graphics: 
4 out of 10
4 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Posted on:3/23/11
grunge
This game is perfect for: casual gamers
I have had this game for over a year and I still play it! If you love Sega's classic games from the Sega Genesis, you will love SUGC. It is also good for anyone who loves classic arcade games. It has all 4 Sonic the Hedgehog games and all of the Streets of Rage games and many more! So if you dont have this game, go out and bye it!
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Gameplay: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Graphics: 
4 out of 10
4 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
1 of 2 found this review helpful.
Comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
SEGAISBEAST12
Youtube
 
Please wait while more information about SEGAISBEAST12 is loaded.
Additional information about SEGAISBEAST12 could not be loaded.
Segas Epic Days
Posted 11/1/12
To Sega fans you dont need to get a new genesis and tons of games all you need is a ps3 or a Xbox AND YOUR THE ULTIMATE GENESIS COLLECTOR with tons of game AND ONLY FOR $20.00 SEGAS ULTIMATE COLLECTION Also Try The Dreamcast Collection It Isnt Much but its cool http://www.gamestop.com/xbox-360/games/dreamcast-collection/88339#reviews
Comments (1)
Comment (1)
Review 12 for Sonic's Ultimate Genesis Collection
Amazing Deals
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Graphics: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Sound: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:4/2/12
Thekinkajou
Location: New Jersey
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
I have to recommend this game to the highest extent due to the shear amount of content. A good chunk of these are extreamly fun and a few, like shining force and phantasy stars, are great games that will last many hours. If you try to beat every game on this it is easily at least 600 hours (my estimite). I thought classic games on download services like virtual console were good deals (they might still be) but this is mindblowing. The only people who won't like this are gamers who aren't willing to try something new. I'm 17 and was 15 when I bought this and I don't regret it because I can give classics a chance. So try this game out.
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Graphics: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Sound: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Review 13 for Sonic's Ultimate Genesis Collection
This Game Sucks!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Gameplay: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Graphics: 
3 out of 10
3 out of 10
Sound: 
4 out of 10
4 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Posted on:12/25/10
Zeth1212
This game is terrible. It is probably the worst game Ive ever played and Ive played a lot of games. This game is only for people who were alive when the sega genesis was around or people that have no idea what a good game is. For any body other than those people it will most likely have no appeal. DONT BUY IT!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Gameplay: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Graphics: 
3 out of 10
3 out of 10
Sound: 
4 out of 10
4 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
2 of 225 found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Sonic's Ultimate Genesis Collection
This is going to be fantastic
Posted on:12/2/08
GT: FatalFlaw810
This is going to be a fantastic set of old sega titles. Most of which i personally never played, but its going to include 40 games: Sonic, Sonic 2, Sonic 3, Sonic 3d blast, and Ristar to name a few. This is the best deal ever, 40 games I can't wait to get this! If you like sonic or if you want to play the old sega titles then this is the deal!
Review 15 for Sonic's Ultimate Genesis Collection
Sonic's Ultimate Genesis Collection
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 10
4 out of 10
Gameplay: 
4 out of 10
4 out of 10
Graphics: 
3 out of 10
3 out of 10
Sound: 
4 out of 10
4 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Posted on:1/23/12
SoulSilverMaster
Location: NY
This game is perfect for: kid gamers
It's an ok game, not very cool to me, there are some fun games on it like Golden Axe 3, Ecco the dolphin, and some tetris-like game. Ok for gamers who actually remember these games from like the 70's and 80's. Not a good but for someone who plays shooting games or something
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 10
4 out of 10
Gameplay: 
4 out of 10
4 out of 10
Graphics: 
3 out of 10
3 out of 10
Sound: 
4 out of 10
4 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
1 of 25 found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Sonic's Ultimate Genesis Collection
Great package, great price.
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Gameplay: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Graphics: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Sound: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Posted on:2/22/11
MrPuggsly
Location: Phoenix AZ
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
Arguably one of the best compilations of classic games on the market today. Many of Sega Genesis's best titles found here a long with some not so great games.
Must have for fans of Sega and retro games. One of the easiest games to get 1000 achievement points too. :-p
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Gameplay: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Graphics: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Sound: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Review 17 for Sonic's Ultimate Genesis Collection
The right selection of games at a reasonable price
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Posted on:7/9/11
doratheexplorer
Location: Superior, CO
This game is perfect for: casual gamers
These are all spectacular games. This is not those annoying 3-d sonics, these are 2-d hard, classic sonic games. This is the best batch of platformer games there are. Get it.
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Review 18 for Sonic's Ultimate Genesis Collection
this should be name sega genesis the game
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:9/5/11
MRcool55
Location: NY
if you you like sega get this now i would know i have a sega genesis from1989 and it so boss so get this now !!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Review 19 for Sonic's Ultimate Genesis Collection
great games
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Posted on:7/15/11
kingofthegamers
This game is perfect for: casual gamers
There are plaenty of good games on here such as ,Shinobi 3, Streets of rage 2, Altered beast, Alex kidd, and more.
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Review 20 for Sonic's Ultimate Genesis Collection
awsome
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:2/3/11
sonicisawsome
Location: 120 pickford ave san jose ca.
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
it has bad games thogh but it is still fun the little song for the tralier is cool but most of the games r fun
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
1 2 next>>