GameStop Ratings and Reviews

Shop Now At GameStop
Shop Software or
Choose a Category
Most Popular Products
Top Rated Product

Product Reviews

Animal Crossing: City Folk with Wii Speak

If you were given the keys to your own community, what would you do? Go fishing, collect shells or watch fireworks with friends? Build a snowman, exchange presents with family or decorate your house for the holidays? Take a trip to the city, go on a shopping spree or visit friends from all over the globe? In Animal Crossing: City Folk, life moves at a relaxed pace, but the world brims with endless possibilities.
Average Customer Rating:
8.75
8.8
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (16 reviews)
10 stars
10
9 stars
4
8 stars
0
7 stars
0
6 stars
0
5 stars
0
4 stars
0
3 stars
1
2 stars
0
1 star
1
13 out of 1681%of reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Animal Crossing: City Folk with Wii Speak
Review 1 for Animal Crossing: City Folk with Wii Speak
The Best game Ever!
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:11/26/08
Jackdog29
So you like simulation games. But not a serious one? Like something like a laid back game? Well animal crossing is the way to go! With its new features, its city, and its giant variety of different items. This is probably the best game ever. But there is one fault. It is very unrealistic. Like if talking animals, you able to put furniture and accessories into your pocket and lets not forget, a talking (I have no idea what animal it is) thing that can change your hair style and make you look like a mii. Now does that sound like it could happen some day? Well if you believe in possibilities then you could be right but i doubt that will ever happen. But the un realism makes it fun. Because it always makes me laugh when you see one of the those talking animals freak out. Its so funny. Well I would totally recommend this game to anybody who is into unrealism and can get addicted to games easily. So I hope you enjoy this game if you are to buy it. So uh thats it. i am done.
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
3 of 3 found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Animal Crossing: City Folk with Wii Speak
Best Game So Far for the Wii
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Posted on:1/2/09
animalcrossingrocks212
This is a great addition to the Animal Crossing family. The best thing I like about this game is that it never ends. There is fishing, bug collecting, designing your own clothes, digging for fossils, special visitors, visiting the city, and many more. The graphics are breathtaking and greatly surpass its prequel, Wild World. I love the entertaining music that changes every hour, except the animals' crazy talking sometimes gets on my nerves. This game has great, easy to learn and use controls, and endless possibilities. An awesome new feature is WiiConnect 24, which enables you to (with the Wii Speak) to chat with your friends while visiting their towns. The city is also a new feature that allows you to visit stores and see animals that don't even live in your town. There is a theater, a hair salon named Shampoodle, a fashion store named GracieGrace, a fortune teller, the scheming Redd, The Happy Room Academy, and an auction house. I could go on telling you more, but you have to find out on Animal Crossing City Folk!
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
3 of 3 found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Animal Crossing: City Folk with Wii Speak
Most addictive game EVER!!!!!!!!!!
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:12/9/08
Myka
I just bought Animal Crossing City Folk on Wii with Wii Speak. I have been obsessed over the past 4 days, playing it atleast 3-4 hours a day. Between working at Nook's, buying my first house, decorating, fishing, finding fossils, running deliveries, and meeting all my new pals and visiting the city whenever I can. I am having such a great time!! This is definitely an ALL AGES game. I don't have any friends that have it yet, but I can't wait until I can get them to cross over and visit my town. The characters are lovable and I love bumping into them. I have become quite the town fisherman (woman), lol! There is so much to do I am just scrambling from task to task having an amazing time. I encourage you, male or female, child or grown -up to check this game out. You will be as addicted as I am in no time flat. If you had Wild World on DS before, you can use the WiFi and DS Suitcase to link up and your previous "you" can pick up where they left off in a whole new adventure!
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Animal Crossing: City Folk with Wii Speak
Great Simulation Addition
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Posted on:11/28/08
Ali Ajami
Animal Crossing: City Folk makes a great addition to the Wii Simulation Family. The Controls are nearly perfect for this game including being able to use the buttons as one method or the Wii remotes motion as a second method. Graphics nearly reach the Nintendo Wii's graphic ability and do a good job at detailing the area. The Interface was what won me over. The game is completely interactive and it is easy to work new ways around problems. The game however can go loose on how real it can be, like digging up fossils and similar sorts. Sound is great! Not perfect, but does a great job at keeping players entertained! Music is similar to Animal Crossing: Wild Worlds, from fishing, to fossil digging, to bug catching, the game does keep you entertained. I recommend this game to all gamers of either hardcore or first timers! At points however, the game gets boring because of doing the same stuff everyday, but then gets interesting when events pop-up for the holidays! Have Fun!!!
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Review 5 for Animal Crossing: City Folk with Wii Speak
Best Game I Have Played In A Long Time!
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:5/24/11
Noodle124
Location: Orlando, FL
This game is perfect for: casual gamers
Beautiful game! Very long lasting appeal. Graphics are very good for the Wii (well they have gotten much better.) Better than Sims in my opinion. Can't go wrong with ANY of the Animal Crossing games. The city is also a plus!
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
8 of 8 found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Animal Crossing: City Folk with Wii Speak
Like a Neverending Piece Of Candy
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:7/17/11
Yune
Location: Florida
This game is perfect for: casual gamers
This Is a fun interactive game were you start off moving to a town you named and answering questions to rover to determine what you look like. You start off with a beautiful yet plain town with a few animal neighbors you can chat and have fun with, after getting your house and working off minor debts for tom nook, you can really plunge into the game. From The Big Bustling city were you can get a sassy new hairdo, Some Stylish shoes, To Seeing a movie, and spending your hard earned bells on the most ellegant furniture and cloths designed by gracie, getting your fortune told, and a sceevey shop to match, the city is always full of excitment. But your trip must end sometime so you take the bus( with a chatty driver )back to your town were you can shop or sow and the able sisters or do some bug hunting, enjoy a fishing tourney,and visit your favorite cheepskate tom nook( or should i say shnook). so now its time to relax and unwind and the mussems coffee shop, maybe k.k. sliders playing. Feeling pumped after that coffee? why dont we visit our friends town with wifi. After coming back and saying goodnight to all of your neighbors( excluding bella) you turn off the lights in your house, walk up stairs and take a much needed goodnight sleep. This Is Yune Gettin All Up In Your Views - snap -
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
3 of 3 found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Animal Crossing: City Folk with Wii Speak
Short paragraph- BEST game.
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:1/10/11
GirlGamer18
Location: FL
A long time ago when I got my game cube I bought Animal Crossing. At first I was like "Hmm interesting." but now I'm like " I LOVE THIS GAME!".
Its really endless with wifi items that you get from mail, fishing, bug catching, item hunting, clothing and wifi chatting- this game is super! I recommend this to any age! On the wii it has smoother controls letting you get to your inventory easier and emotions. Not to mention the city! That's a new awesome feature. This game is kinda in-and-out because sometimes you can be very into it and sometimes you get bored of it... But at the end it comes back to fun. If you haven't played this game- boy you better start!
This review isn't so descriptive about the game because it would take a loooooooog time for the real review.
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
4 of 5 found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Animal Crossing: City Folk with Wii Speak
Addicted
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:12/31/12
BlazeRyder
Location: On a piece of Earth!
This game is perfect for: casual gamers
I got this game for Christmas about two years ago and so far I'm ADDICTED to it. My Mom and Dad are also addicted to this game. The game play is amazing because you’re a kid that is just starting out a life in the world. So you can decorate your house any way you want and you have to buy the decorations like tables, lamps, beds fire places, etc. The sound is ok. I wish that you have the option where you can turn down or shut off the music setting. That is why I gave the sound a 5. I almost forgot that they should also have an option where you can have the people or Animals talk so you don't have to read the captions. The Graphics are actually really good for a Wii game. Although I wish they look a little more lifelike. So overall this is a really good game. If you’re looking for a game with nonstop hours of fun this is the game that you want. Also if you have to get a gift for a little one and they have a Wii they too would love this.
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Review 9 for Animal Crossing: City Folk with Wii Speak
Reduex of GC
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 10
3 out of 10
Gameplay: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Posted on:1/23/09
werty2
Animal Crossing is Animal Crossing; if you played one version, you've pretty much played all of them. The most compelling reason to purchase City Folks may be for its social interaction with other players over WiFi. Otherwise, you're going to find that much of what you did in the GameCube and DS versions is deja vu.On the brighter side...It IS a powerfully addictive game (if you consider this brighter). The connectivity with world wide players is certainly intriguing.On a negative side...A new feature (Animal Tracks), which causes the grass to wear away over frequently used pathways, will quickly leave your town a vast wasteland of sand...especially if you have multiple players OR you're one of those individuals who check-in several times a day. The degradation is vigorous to say the least. And the regeneration appears to be quite slow. No grass (or snow, in winter) does not a happy villager make.For a new player, I would recommend the DS Wild World version over Wii's City Folks and only for the connectivity with players world wide, but for those who are not interested in connectivity because they don't or won't employ high-speed internet connection or don't want to play on the tiny DS screen, the GameCube version is just as much fun.
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 10
3 out of 10
Gameplay: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
4 of 5 found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Animal Crossing: City Folk with Wii Speak
Nintendo's AC bundle
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Posted on:7/21/09
FlyersFan
Despite what was said early on, Animal Crossing: City Folk and the Wii Speak device were bundled together and on store shelves on launch day. Kinda annoying that the bundle wasn't a wide spread item that could be preordered the same way for those who DID want both though. So, if you're looking to get these two products, go for this, it'll save you ten bucks the way it ripped off those who got 'em separate.Marketing tactics aside, let's go into the product. Animal Crossing: City Folk is the third version of a much loved series and finally seemed to be at its prime at launch day--or so we thought. There are a few gimmicks that ARE pretty nice, such as transferring your character and his/her catalog from the Nintendo DS version (though that's all you can get, makes getting items oh so easy), and, unlike all the previous versions, each new player picks their own house scattered all over your new town. As you explore, you'll pick up on several things if you've played every single game like a dedicated Animal Crossing fan of all the games does: the land features and "wild world" land style that replaced the "acres" style of the original is back, and from the original you have the hill features and multiple waterfalls all over town. Gameplay is the easiest with the Wii Remote and Nunchuk combo--the pointer itself is not so easy and quite frustrating as a matter of fact. If you didn't know this from the title, there's a city half to all this where there are high priced stores and several other shops and things that were already present in Animal Crossing: Wild World; the only new thing being the auction house. There's also an occasional traveler who hands out free balloons and pinwheels. The city portion, however, is extremely painful to reach, and whenever you do care to play the game, the city gets passed over. Not that I'm saying this game is horrible--it's just more of the same. Same music from the DS, nothing really has changed. If you're new to the series, great, you'll have a good time with it. Returning players get the same old thing. The best part of the game? Wi-Fi. Get a couple friends and your town will seemingly have new life. But if you don't, this game will grow old very fast.Wii Speak, on the other hand, helps make the purchase worth it. Short term, there's unfortunately not much. Long term, there's a lot to be put into this device. Sure, the fact that it came later than most of the already great Wi-Fi enriched Nintendo titles also makes them incompatible with most games, it does come with its own Wii Channel that allows chat and gives photo sharing, a voice changer, and the ability to send voice messages adds value right out of the box. Even though Animal Crossing allows text chat, how much fun is it to point type? Not much. This just helps add value to Animal Crossing because it makes the game flow so much better. Pick it up because it is getting its value tested with a couple more games supporting it later this year, but the fact that it came so late and is incompatible with games such as Super Smash Bros. and Mario Kart (yes, we know Nintendo doesn't want the use of mild language) just kinda stings. So we are left to our own devices to talk while playing with most games, though the channel does help make up for it somewhat.
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
4 of 5 found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Animal Crossing: City Folk with Wii Speak
A Great Casual Game
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
4 out of 10
4 out of 10
Sound: 
4 out of 10
4 out of 10
Posted on:12/22/08
Fatality
This is a great game! I got it last weekend with Wii Speak and I have to say a couple things that I like and dislike about this game. First off, this game amazes me how much like real life it is. When It's nighttime where you live, it's dark in Animal Crossing, when it's daytime, it's light in Animal Crossing. When it's winter in real life, it's winter in Animal Crossing, and so on.... Like I said, this game is like real life. The stores open and close at certain times, you have neighbors that send you mail and give you gifts and greet you, etc. You can do various things for your neighbors such as delivering other neighbors gifts and mail. You can also chat with your neighbors who always have something different to say. Having Wii Connect24 on really makes this game a lot better. Why? Well, if you visit other players on wifi connection your neighbors in the game talk about them and some neighbors from your friend's town move to your town. There's so many things to do in your town! You can pick fruit off the trees and sell them to Tom Nook, go to work at your part-time job, fish, catch bugs, water your plants, dig holes and look for stuff, customize your house, pay off your morgage, send mail to neighbors and friends, or chat on Wii Speak on wifi. One thing I absolutely hate about this game is the sound. The Animal's noises are so annoying. That's why I turn it off to another noise that isn't as annoying at the telephone at my house. The controls for this game are very easy to learn and are pretty simple. The graphics aren't good at all but they weren't meant to be. The graphics are unique in Animal Crossing's own way. The game is very real. It's like this game is another life of yours that you can go and play and enjoy. I would definately recommend this game to a friend. Playing on wifi with some people you don't know that you got their codes from the internet is fun enough, but playing with a friend you actually know with Wii Speak is a blast. If I were you, I would make this game a must on your wish list for Christmas.
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
4 out of 10
4 out of 10
Sound: 
4 out of 10
4 out of 10
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Animal Crossing: City Folk with Wii Speak
This game was perfect for everyone in the family.
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:12/26/11
GuardLove
Location: Dallas, TX
This game is perfect for: casual gamers
We have 4 people playing this game and its perfect for everyone. There is something for everyone to do on this game, and you never get bored. You can play through every season, and it makes it seem like you are playing in real life. It's very easy to get addicted to this game because it is non-stop fun. Great for younger kids as well.
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Review 13 for Animal Crossing: City Folk with Wii Speak
I loved this game and it was amazing(and still is!
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:10/12/11
CupcakeQueen
Location: Mariaville,ME
This game is perfect for: casual gamers
Animal Crossing: City Folk is the most amazing game I have ever played in my life!! It is full of cute little animals and adventure, but not as hardcore as my brothers games!! It is a good game for kids and stuff, but personally, I thought it was really cute and fun!! CupcakeQueen <3 <8) gnome < hat 8 eyes ) lipssssss
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Review 14 for Animal Crossing: City Folk with Wii Speak
Cool!
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:6/19/13
SuperMario1up
Location: Mushroom Kingdom
This game is perfect for: casual gamers
I think Animal Crossing is a great franchise, who doesn't! This is one of the weaker games in the franchise, but wii speak is cool!
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Animal Crossing: New Leaf Official Strategy Guide
6 out of 10(11)
 
 
 
 
 
 
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Review 15 for Animal Crossing: City Folk with Wii Speak
D:
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Graphics: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Sound: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Posted on:11/28/12
Anonymous
Location: New York, NY
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
I got stung in the eye by a bee and the gameplay went downhill from there... My wife broke up with me cause she was cheating on me with Tom Nook. I beat him up and stole his bells.
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Graphics: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Sound: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Review 16 for Animal Crossing: City Folk with Wii Speak
Turn a good game into a bad game
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Gameplay: 
4 out of 10
4 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Posted on:3/2/09
chickenwing101
I loved the original Animal Crossing, so I don't understand how there could be a sequel so bad! Sure, this is better than the animal crossing game on the DS (Wild World) but I wish Nintendo would pay attention to what made the first animal crossing such a hit. If you want to play this game (even though if you are smart and listen to me you won't) I recommend you use a nun chuck because I can't begin to tell you how annoying this game is without it. If you do use the nun chuck you'll be happy to know that the easy controls are one of the few good things about this game. When you start the game, you're aloud to start a new game, or transfer your Wild World character over to your new file, but you won't have any furniture or money you had in Wild World. So as with the first 2 games the story is the same: You create your town name, your name, which house you wan to live in, and then start working for Tom Nook. After that, you do whatever you want. This was fun in the first game, got a little boring in the second game, and it's just annoying now. In the city (a new location) you can but lots of stuff and put stuff up for auction. Also, if you register friends and they register you, you can go to each others towns online to trade furniture and run around like idiots trying to find something to do. Also, if everyone in your game has wiispeak, you can talk to them with it. It's just too bad you can't use it for games like Super Smash Bros. Brawl and Mariokart wii (at least I don't think so). Also, unlike in the first game where you could collect old games to play, this game doesn't let you unlock any. If you think this game is boring because of what I said, you're absolutely right. This game doesn’t let you do much (even for an animal crossing game) so it's so repetitive and boring. The original Animal Crossing is a game everyone must play, just don’t play this sequel (or Animal Crossing Wild World for the DS) because let's be honest, Animal Crossing for the gamecube is just this, but better.
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Gameplay: 
4 out of 10
4 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
1 of 23 found this review helpful.