GameStop Ratings and Reviews

Shop Now At GameStop
Shop Software or
Choose a Category
Top Rated Product

Product Reviews

Dragon Age Origins

From the Makers of Mass Effect, Star Wars: Knights of the Old Republic, and Baldur's Gate comes an epic tale of violence, lust, and betrayal. The survival of humanity rests in the hands of those chosen by fate. You are a Grey Warden, one of the last of an ancient order of guardians who have defended the lands throughout the centuries. Betrayed by a trusted general in a critical battle, you must hunt down the traitor and bring him to justice. As you fight your way towards the final confrontation with an evil nemesis, you will face monstrous foes and engage in epic quests to unite the disparate peoples of a world at war. A romance with a seductive shapeshifter may hold the key to victory, or she may be a dangerous diversion from the heart of your mission. To be a leader, you must make ruthless decisions and be willing to sacrifice your friends and loved ones for the greater good of mankind.
Average Customer Rating:
8.878
8.9
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (61 reviews)
10 stars
27
9 stars
12
8 stars
4
7 stars
2
6 stars
0
5 stars
1
4 stars
0
3 stars
1
2 stars
1
1 star
1
45 out of 4992%of reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Dragon Age Origins
Review 1 for Dragon Age Origins
good game
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Gameplay: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Posted on:9/29/11
Anonymous
Location: dover de
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
its good but hard and get ready two put a lot of time in
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Gameplay: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Review 2 for Dragon Age Origins
Definitely a game that wants to get serious!
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Posted on:9/8/11
JackRabbit
Location: Cincinnati, Ohio
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
There is a modest learning curve in getting to know this game (atleast for me there was).The game controls and game menus and awesome powers and talents of the characters are very well thought out- the game requires it for all its depth! This game was everything I hoped for in a magic style good versus evil game! AWESOME special effects.*applaus*. Congratulations on a game that really delivers the goods, entertaining, and even scared my 10 year old daughter a few times while I was in a big ugly blood, magic, and giant fist smashing-down on the enemy battle. P.S. there is NOTHING cheap about any characteristics of this game-every movement was natural-NOT squared or cut cornered when the attack was coming 'round...which carelessly programmed games will have. To sum this game up, it is the kind of game that one could play multple times and find something different about it each time...play it -its a good game but give it a chance to grab you.
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Review 3 for Dragon Age Origins
Great for Any Level of Gamer
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:6/13/11
Rubiks
Location: Kent, OH
Dragon Age: Orgins (henceforth referred to as DAO) is one of the best games I have ever played. It's very interesting comparing how the different backgrounds and races are treated by others and how your character also reacts. The game gives you choices that are viewed as good or evil and the choices you make will affect the overall outcome of the game during the epilogue. I have had the game for a while and have yet to beat it as it is a very time consuming game. I have spent over 30 hours and am about 1/2-3/4 of the way through the game (which doesn't include any side quests or downloadable content quests), and that's just for one origin. So, theoretically, if you wanted to play all origins and see all possible endings, you would spend hundreds of hours playing it. The soundtrack to the game is amazing, my only complaint is that there are occasional buzzing noises, but that could just be my computer being at the minimum requirements for the game. There are four levels of difficulty: easy, normal, hard, and nightmare. Easy is best for the casual gamer and one who wants to experience the storyline and not struggle through the game and nightmare is great for the expert strategists. The graphics are really good for a PC game, the default setting may not look stunning, but turn the graphic and texture detail settings all the way up and it will look great. BUYER BEWARE: The PC game takes up around 15-20GB of space on your hard drive so if you don't have that much space I would advise solving that issue before purchasing this. DAO is an excellent game that I would recommend to anyone.
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
2 of 2 found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Dragon Age Origins
The best RPG game since...ever!
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:4/13/11
SammiKC
Location: Walled Lake, MI
This game is perfect for: casual gamers
Amazing game, amazing characters, amazing story line. It was so plot heavey, like heaven- but with more blood, romance, and humor! Really this has to be the best game I have ever played. I play it all the time, always with a couple of games going at once. I never really played video games before this, but now I cant stop! It is easy enough for casual/new gamers, while hard enough for hardcore gamers if they so chose! The best of the two that are out, with the second game lacking in the depth and plot. Play this! You will not regret it ;]
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Review 5 for Dragon Age Origins
10/10 - Almost Flawless!
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:4/9/11
Gwynivera
Location: San Diego, CA
This game is perfect for: casual gamers
Dragon Age: Origins is by far one of the best games out there. Since I am a creative writer, I LOVE plot heavy games. This was perfect for me. I enjoyed every single minute of this game and even went back and played it three times, each with a different story. The game is extremely open-ended on how you can make your moral decisions, which creates a lasting appeal. The story ends different every time based on your choices. That's what I love about this game. I especially liked the deep character development and how you could become involved with your companions, since it made you feel as if you were in the actual word of Ferelden. The graphics were great, but definitely could have been a little better, considering that you had to load each area that you visited. That was a problem: the loading. Unlike how Bethesda made their game with Oblivion, Dragon Age had much more loading, since you must load each area you visit. The loading made me feel disconnected from the rest of the game. On the other hand, the plot and story development made up for what it was lacking. The fighting strategy was very easy, and I liked that aspect. It was extremely simple to switch from character to character during combat, and I absolutely loved how they set up the skills. I really wish more gamer companies would come forward with RPGs such as this. After playing this game, it's hard to play any of the others that I own. Seriously, do yourself a favor and buy this game. 10/10 -- Wow!
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Elder Scrolls IV: Oblivion
10 out of 10(10)
 
 
 
 
 
 
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Dragon Age Origins
I Luv this game!!!
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Posted on:2/8/11
portorock45
Location: Jamaica, NY
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
I am an avid PC gamer. I have tried all genres on the PC and let me say the Role Playing is the best genre to play on pc. Now i read through some of the other review before i wrote this one and for the most they were all good and to the point but there was one guy who said that there wasnt much action in this game etc etc. I really want to know what game he was playing. This game had plenty of action. It was a good story, and the plot was excellent, but the best of it all was nothing was exact. The way everything played out could have gone 200 different ways. I went back and replayed this game in every culture, Human, elf, dwarf, warrior, mage, etc. This is one game that swallows you up into the gameplay and story. I couldnt stop thinking of it when i wasnt playing it. Overall one the best games ever invented and i cant wait to play DA2. I know there will be more stories like Oblivion. The way this was layed out it could go on and on like that game but this one i played from the beginning woo hoo!!!!.
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Review 7 for Dragon Age Origins
DAO!
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:12/12/10
darkflame1993
First of all let me say this game is fantastic. in most games now a days they start off strong but lack an ending... this game doesnt. the story is amazing. the ending fantastic. DAO is a pretty long game so dont expect to beat it in one night
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Review 8 for Dragon Age Origins
Dragon Age's focus on story makes fantastic game
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Posted on:12/6/10
Will1934
This game is perfect for: party gamers
I wasn’t expecting much from Dragon Age. Honestly, the name turned me away and made me dismiss the game as some geeky Medieval-themed game that we’ve all seen far too many times. Seems I was wrong.
My favorite part of Dragon Age is the sheer intricacy of how the game can be played. From the beginning, the first thing that you will notice is the several dialogue options given in every conversation that ultimately influence how you will handle an event or person. Throughout the game, your choices will increase in how serious their impact is on a quest and the ultimate outcome of the game.
Games like Dragon Age break the mold of traditional video games in the sense that the player writes the story as they choose. Through the numerous choices presented throughout the game, it can be said that, in a sense, every player’s gameplay experience ends up being a unique one. This also makes the game that much more addicting. Dragon Age’s plot can’t be spoiled like that of other games. Before long, I found myself playing through the game not because of the challenge of winning, but instead to see what was going to happen next in the story.
In most games, the storyline is shoved under the table; it is set from the beginning of the game and the player can influence little of it. It ends up not being an essential part of the game. To compensate, these games rely on graphics, elaborate missions, and a good bit of bloodshed (and for those who love this in their games, Dragon Age won’t let you down). Dragon Age capitalizes on plot, but the developers knew that it would have to be player-interactive if it were to be the key part of the game.
Every aspect of the story is based upon how the player wishes to play the game. You customize your own character in the beginning and pick what you want the background of this character to be (elf, human, dwarf, coming from nobility or a lower caste), which in turn will change how the game is played. The storyline is then consistently kept close with gameplay throughout the game, as every quest ties into the grand scheme of the plot and every task is relevant to the story behind your objectives.
Some might say that a game like this ends up being too complicated if there are always different ways to do things, each with their own consequences later in the game. I, however, appreciate the extra effort put into Dragon Age’s story. It’s like playing a video game inside a good book, taking the interactivity video games have to offer and combining them with the good plot of a book to make one highly addicting game.
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
4 of 4 found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Dragon Age Origins
Become a part of Ferelden
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:12/6/10
TheArtOfRuin0
One of the major things that sets Dragon Age: Origins apart from other video games is the origin stories. Instead of a predefined character background, your characters background is decided by your choice of race and class. Once you complete the character creation you begin an origin story specific to your character’s race and social class. This is a very clever way to increase the immersion of the player because it lets them play through a background that they know is pseudo-unique and often form better connections with their chosen character.
I think the origin stories are very well done. They do a good job of introducing you to the in-game world and your character’s individual culture. In the magi origin story you learn of the circle and the limitation placed on mages by the Chantry. In the Dalish and City elf origin stories you learn of the oppression of humans and the resentment towards them felt by elves. You also learn about the culture of the Dalish if that’s what you chose or the life and hardships facing a city elf. In the Dwarf origin stories you learn of Dwarven society and your role in it. In the human origin story you learn about the politics and treachery of human nobles. All of these do a good job of putting you in the mindset of your character. As a city elf were you unsure if you really hated humans? Well in the origin story they steal your soon to be wife/husband and take advantage of your cousin. Hate them now? Bioware hopes so. Because of the oppression of humans there is a lot of tension between the two races. As a player with an elf character, how are you supposed to experience that tension? Bioware answers that by providing you with a first-hand experience of the kind of cruelties humans inflict upon city elves. If this doesn’t cause you to hate humans it most likely at least gave the player an understanding of why there is such racial tension.
In Dragon Age: Origins you are given a chance to play through the backstory of your character. This backstory gives relevance to the plot, setting, and other characters. This helps a great deal with immersion in the game. I often found myself in the mind set of my character. As an elven mage, there were a few moments when some human said something insensitive to me and I was genuinely offended. My reaction wasn’t, “Oh, I think my character would get angry at that so I’ll choose the hostile dialog option.” My reaction was much closer to, “What did that he just say?! Well i'll show him!”, which happened to be much closer to one of the available dialog options. Dragon Age: Origins, without a doubt, is one of the most immersive games I’ve ever played. And I’m an avid video gamer and RPG fan. I believe that a large part of this immersion is due to the origin stories. It’s like an intelligent conversation. You enjoy the conversation much more when you’re well-informed, understand what is being said, and can contribute your own ideas and take on it. In Dragon Age: Origins, the origin story is what makes you well-informed, and the rest of the game is one very enjoyable, and long, conversation. I recommend this game to any and every one. There is so much to do and so many choices to make. This is one of the few games in which the gameplay really made me care about the narrative, mostly through dialog and quest options. This game is very well made and is well-worth buying and playing through multiple times.
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Review 10 for Dragon Age Origins
Pretty interesting, not much action
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Gameplay: 
4 out of 10
4 out of 10
Graphics: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Sound: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Posted on:12/6/10
Atom80
Location: Atlanta, Ga
This game is perfect for: casual gamers
Dragon Age is a very customizable game. Just in the first five minutes, I’ve gotten to choose my race, class, hair color, skin tone, and many other characteristics for my avatar. I thought this was pretty fun. I ended up choosing a human rogue.
I stated off inside of my father’s castle. Following an extremely transparent set up, I awoke to find that in a “Hamlet-esque” turn of events. My father had been betrayed by his best friend. Finally the action had started and I was in real combat. I had fun fighting my way through the castle to the secret escape route.
Now while this was a very exciting game, I didn’t find it to have the best plot, or the most immersion. As I mentioned previously, the plot was very transparent, I could tell that something fishy was going on from my very first conversation. When fights actually did break out, I didn’t feel surprised at all. And it wasn’t as if I was able to fight the bad guys myself. It all comes down to which character is stronger, and nothing to do with skill. The game also isn’t very immersive. Since the game basically consists of talking to people with a little bit of fighting, it’s not a game you can play absent mindedly. You have to give this game your full attention, and that is juts boring. I don’t feel as if I am the character, I feel as if I’m waiting waiting the whole time.
The plot didn’t get much more entertaining from there on. As the game went on it went from one cliche storyline to the next. I didn’t mind though because unlike most games, when I was annoyed by how someone was acting, I could choose to be friends with them, or simply kill them in most cases. This versatility in game play made the plot one that had a basic structure, but that the player really gets to shape themselves.
That being said, the reason that this game is actually fun is the many choices players can make. While the many conversations are time consuming and not very captivating, it is kind of fun knowing that your decisions have an effect on what happens in the game. So even though the plot isn’t that great so far, and the game isn’t very immersive, it is very fun to play.
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Gameplay: 
4 out of 10
4 out of 10
Graphics: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Sound: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Review 11 for Dragon Age Origins
Good customization, but bad game immersion
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:12/6/10
01186
Location: GA
This game is perfect for: casual gamers
The game Dragon Age: Origins is one of the most customizable games on the market with the choice made by the player affecting the progression of the game. For example, with the first couple of decisions, the player chooses the character’s name, race, class, and looks. Moreover, those choices decide on how the game will begin and have lasting impacts for the rest of the game. Specifically, when playing through the Dwarf Noble opening, Prince Bhelen’s accusation on the character killing the elder brother Trian would affect the player’s later decision on who to help to be the king of the Dwarfs. Furthermore, when playing as a Human Nobel, the player can choose to king himself during the Landsmeet section of the game. With the different combination of choices creating different stories, when the player goes through the game a unique story is developed. Although the customization made the game more interesting for replay, the game is not for the people who want to submerge into the game world. With the many choices throughout the game, the game sometimes losses its focus on the main objective, fighting the dark spawns.
During some conversations with the correct dialog options, the player would be asked to complete side quests that have nothing to do with the blight. For example, in the quest A Paragon of her Kind, after talking to Dagna, the player can get the side quest “An Unlikely Scholar,” where the player tries to help Dagna studding in the Circle of Magi. Completing the sides quests or not does not have any effects on the fight against the blight; thus, for me the side quests seems to be distracting the story line. Even if the player chooses not to complete the quest and does not want the quest, as long as the player talks to Dagna, the player has to make choose between the dialog options available, making the game less engaging thus less immersive.
Furthermore, the game become even less engaging if the dialog choice the player wanted is not present. For example, in origins quest for the magi, after completing the Harrowing, the game forces the player to go through with Jowan’s plot of breaking out Circle of Magi. Even if the player chooses not to accept the quest the first time Jowan presented the idea, eventually the player has to agree to help him, even if it is on the First Enchanter’s order. By not been able to talk Jowan out of betraying the Circle, the game seems very limited; thus, not as immersive. Overall, the customization in the game is very nicely done, even if it does not offer what everything a gamer wants in a video game it offers more than many games on the market, so the game deserves a rating of 9 out of 10 points.
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Review 12 for Dragon Age Origins
Dragon Age's Options
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:12/6/10
alli
In Dragon Age Origins, the large number of story options gave me the idea that I would have a whole lot of freedom in the game. However, after I chose the elf mage storyline I felt fairly trapped. The mage background story immediately forces the Harrowing trial. Then game designers show the most annoying friend that they could come up with. The story gave me one major choice of betraying my friend Jowan or secretly helping with his scheme. With the control on the mages and lack of strong motivation, the story felt oppressive. My gameplay resulted in being obedient, polite and helpful. It is easiest just to follow the plot background given rather than trying to rebel against it. The game actually becomes more difficult to complete in disobeying the Circle of Magi. The Grey Wardens provide the motivation get out and move forward in the game.
As I reached the quests to build an army in Dragon Age, the basic level design and gameplay stay the same as the plot changes. In each of the quests, I entered into the main city or town area and found a quest from the “leader”. At this point, I entered a type of maze that ultimately led to a final major decision and battle that will affect the plot and gameplay in the end. All of the areas have set up of long clear paths that would lead to a larger area containing enemies to defeat, which lead to another path and so on. The paths just happen to change from castles to ruins or to caves. The factors that change the story come from reasons for the quest and specifically who to save and or kill. The only way to reach the conclusion of the quests is to fight through a bunch of enemies protecting the person causing all of the trouble. The actual action of fighting only affects the number of enemies that exist in the plot, but the choices made on the way to the goal and the goal itself influence the main plot. The final battle brings together all of the choices throughout the game to affect the options for the player. It was nice to see selecting all the text options made a difference.
One major issue with the game for me was the immersion interruption. The game is so complex with all of the different options; it interrupts the flow of gameplay to teach the player how to work the different functions or to choose new abilities. The knowledge of how to work the options is a necessity, but the game presents little step-by-step tutorials that do not match the pace of the game. The level up plus signs appear in the middle of the battle to tell the player it’s time to go to the abilities screen. The stop in gameplay for teaching or notifying about options breaks up immersion in the current plot. I don’t know a better way to get the points across, but it did seem distracting. It is not as much of a problem to ruin the great game.
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Review 13 for Dragon Age Origins
Dragon Age: Origins, RPG's coming back
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:12/6/10
Robrak
Location: Atlanta, GA
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
Enter Ferelden, the world of Dragons, Demons, and Darkspawn in Dragon Age: Origins, as one of the proud Grey Wardens. Unlike most video games, Dragon Age: Origins offers players opportunities to not only play an exciting story, but rather to become involved within it. As the story progresses, players are presented with moral quandaries while fighting hordes of enemies. Each player must form a personality for the avatar in which he/she is playing in order to form a basic for gameplay decisions. If players want to be a heartless madman searching for power they may, but this choice of action may cost them friends and allies. On the other hand, players may dedicate themselves to helping those truly in need, being a benevolent protector, but at the cost of the power to save the world. From this choice, a moral decision arises. Negative things tend to happen to those who players do side with, and the lives of the non player characters are in the players’ hands. Guilt can actually be felt when someone dies directly from your actions or
Dragon Age: Origins offers players an RPG experience unlike any other. With similar elements to video games such as Fable in its decision making, World of Warcraft in gameplay and character creation, and fantasy elements, Dragon Age: Origins gives players an opportunity to immerse themselves into a fantasy world. Every decision becomes that of the player and each quest has different outcomes depending on the decisions made during them. For its many positives, Dragon Age: Origins deserves the ten out of ten I have designated. The story is interesting and Teyrn Loghain, now designated as the ninth most influential character of the decade by Game Informer magazine, leaves an impression on players. The graphics are incredible and add to the effects of the game while gameplay is fun to play. The gameplay is a little bit inferior to other games due to its player character switching available in battle breaking the immersion. Sounds are great for the fact that each creature fought makes its own sounds during battle which add to the feel of fighting with added sounds of battle such as bows firing and swords hitting. Dragon Age: Origins goes down as one of my favourite games in recent time and I will most likely replay it multiple times to find all of the possible outcomes.
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Review 14 for Dragon Age Origins
Dragon Age: Origins's Immersive Gameplay Elements
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Posted on:12/6/10
julieb
Dragon Age: Origins is a role-playing game developed by BioWare. In the game’s opening, a player designs his character’s race, background, appearance, and abilities. A player is offered plethora of race and background. Furthermore, the variety of race, background, and appearance options is astounding as a player can alter nearly all of his character’s features, including eye shape, nose depth, and lip color. After completing character customization, a player is thrust into the world of Dragon Age: Origins.
Each player’s origin, or beginning, gameplay is dependent upon their character’s race and background. After different openings a Grey Warden named Duncan recruits a player to travel to Ostagar, where he is supposed to become a Grey Warden and help defeat the darkspawn plaguing the world.
The cut scenes in Dragon Age: Origins connect plot and gameplay. They tell a player about his newest objectives and what to expect next. However, these cut scenes differ greatly from those in other games I have played, for they become dialogue sequences, giving players the opportunity to respond to conversation in a variety of ways. However, a player is not always given a response that truly conveys how they feel about a certain situation, yet in most dialogue sequences, the responses are varied so a player can choose one that corresponds to his opinion.
The moral decisions a player faces are difficult. Few dilemmas offer simple black and white solutions; rather, many gameplay choices are ambiguous, forcing a player to make decisions based off their own morals, their background, or other characters’ opinions. For instance, during the Arl of Redcliffe quest, a player must decide to kill Jowan, free him, or imprison him. Decisions such as this affect a player’s relationships with the members in his party.
The variety of options offered to a player connects plot and gameplay. Although the first sections of gameplay are linear, forcing a player to become a Grey Warden, latter portions are much different, allowing a player to create his own story. Every decision a player makes affects what will happen in future gameplay sequences. For example, later in the Arl of Redcliffe quest, a player meets Connor, a demon-possessed boy, and has the options of either killing him or traveling to the Circle of Magi for help. Therefore, Dragon Age: Origins immerses a player by providing him with a plethora of choices that affect both gameplay and plot. Overall, because of its immersive gameplay elements, I give Dragon Age: Origins a rating of 9/10 and recommend it to both gamers and nongamers.
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Review 15 for Dragon Age Origins
Wonderful
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:12/6/10
Ivoryhammer
Location: Sunnyvale, CA
This game is perfect for: casual gamers
I love RPGs, and this game delivers, the story is great, the gameplay is awesome, it has some of the best music and voice work I've heard in a video game. Bioware really outdid themselves in this game, I recommend this a lot. This game has hours of replay value, and has great support for mods to supply endless more hours of fun. It also has other campaigns you can download online for more adventures and to elaborate more on the back stories of characters. The members of your party in this game are very well written, and they really make you feel attached to them, or really hate them.
Buy this game.
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Review 16 for Dragon Age Origins
A realistic game with a branching storyline
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:12/6/10
precious254
Location: Atlanta GA
One of the great things about the branching storyline in Dragon Age: Origins is that none of the choices I have faced so far were defined in the game as essentially good or bad. In many other games I have played, the branching storyline feels unrealistic because the plot can progress in two directions: toward the good guy plot or the evil plot. In the end, everyone can hate you because you did the wrong thing, or everyone can love you for playing the hero. Games like this feel unrealistic mainly because in life, decisions never seem so clear cut. This is why I enjoyed Dragon Age: Origins’ plot. So far, it has seemed impossible to play the perfect hero, or at least difficult. No matter what I choose, people die, and I am likely to upset someone in the party. This gives my actions consequence, like how the world map becomes tainted with the bloodshed that seems to follow me. If I adversely affect someone, people can leave because they don’t like me. Yet almost no matter what I choose, if I play right, I can have a full party. Each role, warrior, rogue, and mage, can have two characters with contrasting personalities. So the game lets me play ruthlessly, cautiously, or in between without favoring any choices by making the game impossible. Regardless of what personality I choose, the ends kind of justify the means. This seemed true especially as I played. As my character, I joined the Grey Wardens after slaughtering an entire royal household. So I came from a somewhat controversial background, and should have gone to prison. Yet I had the chance to redeem myself by saving the world. Redemption comes into play through many other characters in the story. Many times I find myself in a position of power, casting judgment on those who have wronged me or the world in some way. I usually end up letting murderers go free and putting justice in imbalance, but in doing so, I am saving the world. All of these diverse and controversial people are getting second chances, like I did, and kind of go with the nothing is totally right or wrong theme. With every decision I can make, someone gives a valid reason for each choice. But in the end, I can choose as I please whether to feel immersed by revenge, or a conviction to show mercy like I had been shown mercy.
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Review 17 for Dragon Age Origins
Customization of the Ferelden Nation
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Posted on:12/6/10
BigMac14
Location: Atlanta, GA
This game is perfect for: casual gamers
Dragon Age: Origins is not only a lengthy game, but it is also an incredibly complex game that allows for large amounts of customization. As soon as the basic platform for operating the game has been presented and the full strength of the Blight has been revealed, your character is thrown into a war that is both long and hard. In the manner of J.R.R Tolkein, several characters from different cultures and backgrounds come together to defeat the dark powers that are attempting to take over Ferelden. It is up to the gamer to create chemistry, earn their party’s approval, and make life and death decisions in order to successfully defeat the demons that have spawned the Blight. Most every decision you make after you enter Ostagar results in either the approval or disapproval of one of your party members. If they approve enough of your actions, then their abilities on the battlefield are boosted. If they disapprove, they may end up deserting. This is inspiration to think about decisions before bursting headlong into every battle and murdering every possible naysayer and evildoer. The benefits of carefully strategizing so as to create a powerful cooperative party are abundant. Giving players gifts will increase their approval and increase your chances of keeping them in the party, regardless of most decisions. On the other hand, it is foolish to disregard players and even decisions, for your actions may come to have consequences later on in the game. One example deals with your opportunity to free, kill, or leave imprisoned, the blood mage who is responsible for the Redcliffe predicament. If you release him, like I did, Morrigan and Leliana approve, but Alistair and Sten disapprove. If the mage is left to die then we wouldn’t have been there to perform the ritual that allows Morrigan to save Connor’s life. I don’t know what the other outcomes would have been, but I can only assume that I would have had to kill Connor in order to destroy the demon. This is a perfect example of how your decisions directly impact the plot line and allow each player to create their own story. The ability to create a unique experience by giving each player the ability to customize their gameplay is definitely a plus for this game. It is also why I gave this game 10/10. The myriad of decisions that make up the game may be the reason it is so lengthy, but they give players the ability to be more than just black or white.
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Review 18 for Dragon Age Origins
Dragon Age: Origins, the one game to rule them all
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:11/3/10
ParagonSoul
Location: Atlanta
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
Dragon Age: Origins is an immersive role playing game that uses gameplay to create a story. The backstory defines the game play features that you manipulate to create your own journey. Major game play features include combat, character development and interactive storytelling. The game provides a good combination of choice and required objectives to ensure every player has a unique and immersive experience. Depending on the level of difficulty chosen, combat situations can be tactical and engrossing. Different strategies depend on the strengths and weaknesses of your character and party, their equipment and your play style. Character ability and equipment can trace their lineage to the backstory which can help you learn how to use them effectively. Equipment can be found in the environment, bought from merchants or given to you as gifts for completing quests. The integration of; equipment into the story, character skills, and play style makes combat a feature that enhances the plot, not just accompanies it. As far as simulation goes, the controls are very simple. Technically, a mouse will suffice because right and left clicks will allow you to play the game, but using the keyboard will make combat much more quick and efficient. Learning the hot keys and shortcuts will allow sharp tactical maneuvers. These physical motions, simulations, only represent the actions of the characters, but the strategy is the excitement of combat. Despite your party being formidable, there will be many situations where you can decide whether or not to fight and each has its benefit. Some decisions can have a big impact on your story, like when presented the opportunity to allow Klorgrim to join your party or kill him. Character development is a process that is intertwined with the direction of the story. Each race and character class has different specializations that let you learn various combat skills. This relates to the plot by determine how you fight and make your mark on Ferelden. The choice to become a blood mage, running from the Chantry or a ruthless assassin can affect how the other characters respond to you. If you choose to help mages escape from the chantry, you will be an enemy of the Templars and the Chantry. Other choices are presented in the form of dialogue and interactive storytelling. You can talk to the members of your party, impress them, be rude to them or pursue other conversational directions. You can pursue romantic relationships with certain party members and depending on these, the plot will weave them into the story, making it interactive and non-scripted.
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
2 of 2 found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Dragon Age Origins
How Role Play Games Should Be Done
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:11/3/10
rfgignere
In terms of role playing games, Dragon Age: Origins trumps the fantasy category. Not only does it have a engaging story, and one of the prettiest environments, but it also gives the player possession of their character. Most role-play games give a sense of ownership through customization, but Dragon Age: Origins makes you feel like you are your character. Most of the story is told in the dialogue allowing the player to impact the game greatly. This sense of control associate the player with the character. Outside of the dialogue sections, Dragon Age: Origins is a mechanically simple game. In these sections of game-play the primary objective is to kill and destroy. This fills in the gaps left by the dialogue, showing the more mundane tasks that give rise to the more climactic sections, as well as showing the results of the climactic choices. By forcing players to participate in almost all of the travel, in the purchase and sale of goods, and mind numbingly repetitive combat, the game creates a vested interest in the players to see their character accomplish the climactic act, as they were forced to do all the preparations for that one moment. An example of this is when players are forced to combat multiple weaker enemies in order to reach the final boss. In doing this, players are further drawn into the game, creating a deeper level of immersion through the simulation of these actions.
Along with this increase in the level of immersion, the game-play also adds to the development of the story. While the peaks of the story are generally seen in dialogue, the battles that preclude them are often played out by the character. This game-play tells the story of how the players character felled their mighty foe, fought off a horde of undead, or ran around a forest lost for three hours. It also tells the story of how the character moved from place to place in much greater detail than generally seen. It shows that the player character had to fight daemons and darkspawn, enemies seen in the game, just to get to boss. As a result from this, when players see their characters defeat ogres, slay dragons, and get intimate, the players have a sense that they accomplished the same feat. This makes Dragon Age: Origins by far one of the most authentic counsel role playing games available, and in my opinion, the best.
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Review 20 for Dragon Age Origins
Just a great RPG!
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Posted on:10/16/10
Danskaterguy
Location: Colorado Springs, CO
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
Well, let me start this off with.....This game is Awesome! Everything is wonderful on every category! The only thing that I think needs a little work would be the graphics especially because the graphics for PC usually are very strong. The gameplay is fantastic! You actually feel like you traveled back in time and are now in a medieval - fantasy setting. The voice impressions are also fantastic, and the fact that you have options for what you want to say, which overall can lead you into a different journey in the game. Another thumbs up for this game would be that it is very strategic. It's NOT like click, click, click and the fights over. You actually need to plan out how you are going to fight in the battles, which can be somewhat frustrating and hard to beat, but overall they are exciting and fun! If you love RPG's, you will love this game!
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
1 2 3 4 next>>