GameStop Ratings and Reviews

Shop Now At GameStop
Shop Software or
Choose a Category
Most Popular Products
Top Rated Product

Product Reviews

Dragon Age Origins

From the Makers of Mass Effect, Star Wars: Knights of the Old Republic, and Baldur's Gate comes an epic tale of violence, lust, and betrayal. The survival of humanity rests in the hands of those chosen by fate. You are a Grey Warden, one of the last of an ancient order of guardians who have defended the lands throughout the centuries. Betrayed by a trusted general in a critical battle, you must hunt down the traitor and bring him to justice. As you fight your way towards the final confrontation with an evil nemesis, you will face monstrous foes and engage in epic quests to unite the disparate peoples of a world at war. A romance with a seductive shapeshifter may hold the key to victory, or she may be a dangerous diversion from the heart of your mission. To be a leader, you must make ruthless decisions and be willing to sacrifice your friends and loved ones for the greater good of mankind.
Average Customer Rating:
8.878
8.9
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (61 reviews)
10 stars
27
9 stars
12
8 stars
4
7 stars
2
6 stars
0
5 stars
1
4 stars
0
3 stars
1
2 stars
1
1 star
1
45 out of 4992%of reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Dragon Age Origins
Review 1 for Dragon Age Origins
Really enjoyed it! WAY HARD!
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:1/23/10
1Matt1
BioWare is my favorite game company, and this game doesn't dissapoint. Is it the second-coming of Baldur's Gate? No. I'm not even sure such a thing is possible. (I'll believe it when I see it.) But Dragon Age: Origins is a really terrific game, and I never got tired of it. One thing (they addressed later in a patch) is the the difficulty. This game was EXTREMELY HARD - if you play through as a warrior. Magic is where it's at. (Unfortunately, I didn't know this in the beginning.) I found the easy setting to be like an average game's hard; which was frustrating. I'm looking forward to all of the expansions. (Hopefully there will be a lot of them!) The only other thing I didn't like about the game was the lack of a voice for the player character. (I got spoiled with Mass Effect.) I remember that Baldur's Gate hardly had any voice work at all, and none for the player-character... so I let it go pretty easy and it was no big deal after I got used to it again.
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
Markster
Canada
 
Please wait while more information about Markster is loaded.
Additional information about Markster could not be loaded.
Amazing Game
Posted 10/16/10
This Game is by far, one of the best games i ever played. Bioware Makes wonderful RPGS and is for all RPG fans out there. Reviews that give this game a low mark, are completely mistaken! Don't let that stop you from getting this game. It's amazing, with lots of DLC to add more hours of gameplay.
Comments (1)
Comment (1)
Review 2 for Dragon Age Origins
I Luv this game!!!
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Posted on:2/8/11
portorock45
Location: Jamaica, NY
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
I am an avid PC gamer. I have tried all genres on the PC and let me say the Role Playing is the best genre to play on pc. Now i read through some of the other review before i wrote this one and for the most they were all good and to the point but there was one guy who said that there wasnt much action in this game etc etc. I really want to know what game he was playing. This game had plenty of action. It was a good story, and the plot was excellent, but the best of it all was nothing was exact. The way everything played out could have gone 200 different ways. I went back and replayed this game in every culture, Human, elf, dwarf, warrior, mage, etc. This is one game that swallows you up into the gameplay and story. I couldnt stop thinking of it when i wasnt playing it. Overall one the best games ever invented and i cant wait to play DA2. I know there will be more stories like Oblivion. The way this was layed out it could go on and on like that game but this one i played from the beginning woo hoo!!!!.
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Review 3 for Dragon Age Origins
Best of the Best but get the boxed set
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:11/25/09
GMcQ
I am completely blown away by this game. I have played RPG's for years and this is one of the best in years. I would rank this up there with Baulder's Gate. The story has me engrossed like few other RPG's have been able to do. Much like another reviewer, I agree it feels like I'm playing a movie. One of my biggest complaints of games of late is the way they handle camera angles. DA:O lets you control what perspective you want and change it on the fly for specific situations with out disrupting your game play. My biggest complaint and it is one that is a show stopper is the digital download. Every time I downloaded the files, I got corruption. This is a common problem and there are extensive threads in the forums about this problem. The solution goes beyond what the casual gamer would be capable of doing. EA support and Gamestops support was not able to provide a suitable solution. My overall opinion is that is was worth the trouble and the game is stellar but I'll never go with the digital download again.
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Review 4 for Dragon Age Origins
Amazing game
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:3/5/10
Trident101
So, when this first came out I wasn't in any mood for any type or RPG or the sort. I passed over it easily and went for something else. However, soon after I gained the mood for a new RPG and looked into this. I debated between the xbox version and the PC and eventually went with PC which from what I hear is the best option. After playing it, I know it was the best option. The game immerses you into a deep story line which is very entertaining. The fighting is tons of fun, much more so than many other RPG's I've played before. I hate the ones where if your in combat, you can hit the guy from 10 feet away with a 2 foot short sword. Here however it seems you have to get much closer to actually engage into combat. There are obviously many other good aspects of the game, like being able to pick and choose how you react to people and making your own decisions. Overall, I recommend this to anyone looking to dedicate several weekends to an RPG with a good story.
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Review 5 for Dragon Age Origins
This game looks amazing!
Posted on:10/28/08
Firecrotch
This game looks like another great RPG from Bioware. After looking at the previews for this game in Game Informer, i can't wait for it to come out. The way the story unfolds is great. The way ur story goes is based on the character u make, and from there ur story picks up based in the characteristics of your character and the decisions u make. This game greatly involves the player by giving more attention to the decision making part of the game. Game play looks pretty good, more strategy oriented than just clicking away madly, so the game play seems fun and challenging. Overall the game looks to be something any RPG fan can really look forward to and i would highly recommend any RPG fan to get this game when it comes out. And don't be dismayed if ur not a PC game fan. I believe there will be a xbox 360 and ps3 release for the game, but that won't be until around november or december of 09'. This promises to be another great game from Bioware.
Review 6 for Dragon Age Origins
This game is 100% perfect!
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:11/5/09
Konichan
A lot of people are ranting about how the game didn't live up to their expectations, such as the guy ranting about how it isn't free roaming. Are only free roaming games good? I went into this game with 0 expectations and no knowledge about it from previews. I knew it was Bioware, so I gave it a shot. It's amazing. It has absolutely perfected the RPG genra. People are comparing it to Mass Effect, NWN, and Oblivion. It's nothing like any of those titles. People who are disappointed in this game expected a different TYPE of game, such as the guy hating how it isn't Oblivion. I have seen 0 glitches. I've had at least 5 or 6 moments in the story line where I actually cared about outcome of the decisions I had to make. The story is amazingly well done. It differs enough between classes that I plan on immediately restarting the game as a different class to see the game from a different perspective. Get this game, it is an instant classic.
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Review 7 for Dragon Age Origins
Definitely a game that wants to get serious!
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Posted on:9/8/11
JackRabbit
Location: Cincinnati, Ohio
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
There is a modest learning curve in getting to know this game (atleast for me there was).The game controls and game menus and awesome powers and talents of the characters are very well thought out- the game requires it for all its depth! This game was everything I hoped for in a magic style good versus evil game! AWESOME special effects.*applaus*. Congratulations on a game that really delivers the goods, entertaining, and even scared my 10 year old daughter a few times while I was in a big ugly blood, magic, and giant fist smashing-down on the enemy battle. P.S. there is NOTHING cheap about any characteristics of this game-every movement was natural-NOT squared or cut cornered when the attack was coming 'round...which carelessly programmed games will have. To sum this game up, it is the kind of game that one could play multple times and find something different about it each time...play it -its a good game but give it a chance to grab you.
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Review 8 for Dragon Age Origins
Dragon Age's focus on story makes fantastic game
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Posted on:12/6/10
Will1934
This game is perfect for: party gamers
I wasn’t expecting much from Dragon Age. Honestly, the name turned me away and made me dismiss the game as some geeky Medieval-themed game that we’ve all seen far too many times. Seems I was wrong.
My favorite part of Dragon Age is the sheer intricacy of how the game can be played. From the beginning, the first thing that you will notice is the several dialogue options given in every conversation that ultimately influence how you will handle an event or person. Throughout the game, your choices will increase in how serious their impact is on a quest and the ultimate outcome of the game.
Games like Dragon Age break the mold of traditional video games in the sense that the player writes the story as they choose. Through the numerous choices presented throughout the game, it can be said that, in a sense, every player’s gameplay experience ends up being a unique one. This also makes the game that much more addicting. Dragon Age’s plot can’t be spoiled like that of other games. Before long, I found myself playing through the game not because of the challenge of winning, but instead to see what was going to happen next in the story.
In most games, the storyline is shoved under the table; it is set from the beginning of the game and the player can influence little of it. It ends up not being an essential part of the game. To compensate, these games rely on graphics, elaborate missions, and a good bit of bloodshed (and for those who love this in their games, Dragon Age won’t let you down). Dragon Age capitalizes on plot, but the developers knew that it would have to be player-interactive if it were to be the key part of the game.
Every aspect of the story is based upon how the player wishes to play the game. You customize your own character in the beginning and pick what you want the background of this character to be (elf, human, dwarf, coming from nobility or a lower caste), which in turn will change how the game is played. The storyline is then consistently kept close with gameplay throughout the game, as every quest ties into the grand scheme of the plot and every task is relevant to the story behind your objectives.
Some might say that a game like this ends up being too complicated if there are always different ways to do things, each with their own consequences later in the game. I, however, appreciate the extra effort put into Dragon Age’s story. It’s like playing a video game inside a good book, taking the interactivity video games have to offer and combining them with the good plot of a book to make one highly addicting game.
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
5 of 5 found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Dragon Age Origins
Excellent Game
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Posted on:5/1/10
Granny Pat
First of all, I must say that the graphics were excellent. The storyline was quite interesting. The companion characters were also interesting and their dialog was quite entertaining and downright hilarious at times. In my opinion, Alistair could have been less wimpy for my taste and Morrigan a bit too 'hard core'. The boss battles were challenging. I purchased the entire collections of add ons and the Awakenings expansion pack. They definitely made this particulalr game experience very enjoyable. The enemy drops plenty of weapons and armor if you wish to save your funds for really stronger armor later in the game. Also, in my opinion, Shale (add on stone Golom) is a must have as early in the game as possible. The Golom's strength is helpful getting through some of the heavier battles. This game has many different playable possiblilities so I will play this one again. And yes, I did beat this game.
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Review 10 for Dragon Age Origins
Snow Day
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:1/17/10
Frelephant
I must say it's ben a long time since i've played a game that stays with me hours after I have stopped playing. Dragon Age however is one of them and i assure you you will find yourself singing the opening theme song several times throughout the day without even realizing it.It is such an easy game to get immersed into as it slowly consumes much of your days and ultimately nights you have almost complete control and can play the game several times over and discover something new every time.I'm not going to give away any story but it's enthralling and deep enough to keep even the most easily distracted of us interested. Unfortunately there is a down side,it is very apparent to see that this game was in fact meant to be on a PC as the controls do leave something to be desired as well as a little graphical tearing here and there. But if your able to get past that you'll have an awesome experience It's been a long time coming and although this review was mainly for console users,whatever you play this game on Ferelden will definitely cast a powerful spell on you for months to come
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Review 11 for Dragon Age Origins
Dragon Age: Origins, the one game to rule them all
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:11/3/10
ParagonSoul
Location: Atlanta
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
Dragon Age: Origins is an immersive role playing game that uses gameplay to create a story. The backstory defines the game play features that you manipulate to create your own journey. Major game play features include combat, character development and interactive storytelling. The game provides a good combination of choice and required objectives to ensure every player has a unique and immersive experience. Depending on the level of difficulty chosen, combat situations can be tactical and engrossing. Different strategies depend on the strengths and weaknesses of your character and party, their equipment and your play style. Character ability and equipment can trace their lineage to the backstory which can help you learn how to use them effectively. Equipment can be found in the environment, bought from merchants or given to you as gifts for completing quests. The integration of; equipment into the story, character skills, and play style makes combat a feature that enhances the plot, not just accompanies it. As far as simulation goes, the controls are very simple. Technically, a mouse will suffice because right and left clicks will allow you to play the game, but using the keyboard will make combat much more quick and efficient. Learning the hot keys and shortcuts will allow sharp tactical maneuvers. These physical motions, simulations, only represent the actions of the characters, but the strategy is the excitement of combat. Despite your party being formidable, there will be many situations where you can decide whether or not to fight and each has its benefit. Some decisions can have a big impact on your story, like when presented the opportunity to allow Klorgrim to join your party or kill him. Character development is a process that is intertwined with the direction of the story. Each race and character class has different specializations that let you learn various combat skills. This relates to the plot by determine how you fight and make your mark on Ferelden. The choice to become a blood mage, running from the Chantry or a ruthless assassin can affect how the other characters respond to you. If you choose to help mages escape from the chantry, you will be an enemy of the Templars and the Chantry. Other choices are presented in the form of dialogue and interactive storytelling. You can talk to the members of your party, impress them, be rude to them or pursue other conversational directions. You can pursue romantic relationships with certain party members and depending on these, the plot will weave them into the story, making it interactive and non-scripted.
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
3 of 3 found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Dragon Age Origins
Great for Any Level of Gamer
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:6/13/11
Rubiks
Location: Kent, OH
Dragon Age: Orgins (henceforth referred to as DAO) is one of the best games I have ever played. It's very interesting comparing how the different backgrounds and races are treated by others and how your character also reacts. The game gives you choices that are viewed as good or evil and the choices you make will affect the overall outcome of the game during the epilogue. I have had the game for a while and have yet to beat it as it is a very time consuming game. I have spent over 30 hours and am about 1/2-3/4 of the way through the game (which doesn't include any side quests or downloadable content quests), and that's just for one origin. So, theoretically, if you wanted to play all origins and see all possible endings, you would spend hundreds of hours playing it. The soundtrack to the game is amazing, my only complaint is that there are occasional buzzing noises, but that could just be my computer being at the minimum requirements for the game. There are four levels of difficulty: easy, normal, hard, and nightmare. Easy is best for the casual gamer and one who wants to experience the storyline and not struggle through the game and nightmare is great for the expert strategists. The graphics are really good for a PC game, the default setting may not look stunning, but turn the graphic and texture detail settings all the way up and it will look great. BUYER BEWARE: The PC game takes up around 15-20GB of space on your hard drive so if you don't have that much space I would advise solving that issue before purchasing this. DAO is an excellent game that I would recommend to anyone.
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
2 of 2 found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Dragon Age Origins
I Love This Game!
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Posted on:1/25/10
l.lover
This game is amazing, it has a great story line. The Character customization is one of the best ive ever seen, you can customise your character is so many ways. i also like that you can give gifts to your party members so they like you better and open up more about there backround if you get these they will ask for your help with something that has to do with them or there past and you can also have relastionships with them as well as the decision you make well either make them like you better or really dislike, if you make them mad enough you can make then leave or have to fight them There are six different origins that you can playthrough. the story line is so great and i love cutsense, there were one of my favourite parts of the game.The best part of the game though is the choises you get to make though out the game there are so many thing you can do/ say all and all this game is fantastic and i would recomend any one who likes rpg's to buy it, even if you dont i would still say you should get this game. i cant wait till Dragon Age: Origins Awakening sure to be a great expansion to dragon age. :)
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Review 14 for Dragon Age Origins
Fun but very annoying at the same time.
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:11/11/09
Dawn of war fan
This game is so fun, but let me tell you its also one of the most aggravating games ever created! I tried playing this game on Normal for the difficulty, seeing that that's what the average person plays a game on. Not for this game its just way to hard... even on Easy this game is like its being played on hard mode. It doesn't seem like they really make the enemies fewer or weaker at all. People say this game delivers hours of game play on end, because you get killed so much that it takes 80 hours of game play to beat some of the later missions. Also some of the caves/Dungeons get pretty damn confusing. Theirs always traps you really cant avoid. Some groups of enemies are soo over whelming even on EASY mode!!!! I still recommend buying this game, but just be ready to develop a strategy of some sort cause you will need all the help you can get.
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Review 15 for Dragon Age Origins
Just a great RPG!
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Posted on:10/16/10
Danskaterguy
Location: Colorado Springs, CO
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
Well, let me start this off with.....This game is Awesome! Everything is wonderful on every category! The only thing that I think needs a little work would be the graphics especially because the graphics for PC usually are very strong. The gameplay is fantastic! You actually feel like you traveled back in time and are now in a medieval - fantasy setting. The voice impressions are also fantastic, and the fact that you have options for what you want to say, which overall can lead you into a different journey in the game. Another thumbs up for this game would be that it is very strategic. It's NOT like click, click, click and the fights over. You actually need to plan out how you are going to fight in the battles, which can be somewhat frustrating and hard to beat, but overall they are exciting and fun! If you love RPG's, you will love this game!
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Review 16 for Dragon Age Origins
10/10 - Almost Flawless!
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:4/9/11
Gwynivera
Location: San Diego, CA
This game is perfect for: casual gamers
Dragon Age: Origins is by far one of the best games out there. Since I am a creative writer, I LOVE plot heavy games. This was perfect for me. I enjoyed every single minute of this game and even went back and played it three times, each with a different story. The game is extremely open-ended on how you can make your moral decisions, which creates a lasting appeal. The story ends different every time based on your choices. That's what I love about this game. I especially liked the deep character development and how you could become involved with your companions, since it made you feel as if you were in the actual word of Ferelden. The graphics were great, but definitely could have been a little better, considering that you had to load each area that you visited. That was a problem: the loading. Unlike how Bethesda made their game with Oblivion, Dragon Age had much more loading, since you must load each area you visit. The loading made me feel disconnected from the rest of the game. On the other hand, the plot and story development made up for what it was lacking. The fighting strategy was very easy, and I liked that aspect. It was extremely simple to switch from character to character during combat, and I absolutely loved how they set up the skills. I really wish more gamer companies would come forward with RPGs such as this. After playing this game, it's hard to play any of the others that I own. Seriously, do yourself a favor and buy this game. 10/10 -- Wow!
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Elder Scrolls IV: Oblivion
10 out of 10(10)
 
 
 
 
 
 
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Dragon Age Origins
Excellent game!
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:11/5/09
Pleased Customer
While many of you are complaining about this not being a free roam rpg keep in mind it was never billed as such. This game is a masterpiece of storytelling and brings a unique twist to the hack and slash rpgs of yesteryear. I would really hate to see what you all would write when Diablo III finally hits the market. "Its not free roam" Please people enjoy the game for what it was meant to be not what you expected. In consideration to some of the complaints it is true that the controls take time to get used to but if your a veteran to pc games this will not take much time to get used as many of the controls are similar to your mmo. As a side not BioWare has done an excellent job int he way they bring DLC to the end user it is a fast reliable download service that can be done as your playing the game.
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Review 18 for Dragon Age Origins
Just What I Wanted In An RPG!
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:11/6/09
Xanth
First of all, I am glad the wait is over and Dragon Age Origins is finally released. Boy, was it worth the wait. This game does not dissapoint at all. Being that I work all week, I have managed to invest about 6 hours of gameplay time and every minute has been eventful and fulfilling. The storyline of this game sucks you right in and keeps you coming back for more. My computer could more than handle running this and the environment is absolutely stunning. This is a dark, scary world you rome. There is tons of betrayal from different sides even right from the start. Your decisions are going to affect your future. I wish the combat was a bit better than it is. I feel like my party is being held back at times while the enemy is getting ahead. I also received quite a bit of free DLC. I have played with DLC items and still looking forward to playing with the Stone Prisoner. I did pay and download the Wardens Keep DLC and I wish it was longer, but it is fun none the less. My final on this, buy this game! If you enjoy games that have lots of cinematics and are story driven, Dragon Age will not dissapoint. I am looking forward to what other DLC Bioware releases for this game in the future.
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Review 19 for Dragon Age Origins
Really disappointed
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 10
3 out of 10
Gameplay: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Graphics: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Sound: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Posted on:1/20/10
crashrouge
First off let me say I think Bioware makes the best games around. Unfortunately, Dragon Age isn't one of them. I saw all these terrific reviews from gamers and I figured since its from Bioware I can't go wrong. But to me the game is a huge dissapointment. I won't get into specifics, just that I won't finish the game. I do hope Mass Effect is nothing like Dragon Age. The story line into the fade was very frustrating as you kept going around in circles. I watsed a lot of time on that part. Also, if you're going to add a romance plot then at least make both females attractive. ONly Morrigan was, the other female, the rogue looked more like a man then anything. All this hype for nothing. Hope this time it was just an abbreration and the upcoming games from bioware are better.
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 10
3 out of 10
Gameplay: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Graphics: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Sound: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
0 of 2 found this review helpful.
Comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
Bdogs
New York
 
Please wait while more information about Bdogs is loaded.
Additional information about Bdogs could not be loaded.
Amazing
Posted 9/24/10
Pros
The music and majority of the sound effects are excellent.
The user interface (UI) is simple to learn.
The story is highly enticing with loads of mature themes and the choices you make when interacting with NPC, will affect game play, storyline and the ending.
Downloadable content (DLC) ties up loose ends with the storyline.
The MOD community is quite impressive, adding hours of content to already a brilliant game.
Impossible to get all the content in one play through.
Cons
No cooperative LAN or internet option.
The game graphics are done quite well but it still falls short of being excellent.
Without the DLC there are some inconsistent themes.
Some parts of the voice acting seem to be rushed or poorly done.
A level cap.
Does not seem to be enough script options severely limiting your companion’s AI.
Conclusion
Dragon Age Origin is a must for anybody that is a fan of RPGs. Dragon Age is an excellent experience from the beginning to end. It’s an epic tale that has everything from heroism to betrayal, from love to lust, to good and evil. Even after you have completed the game you will want to play again just to see how a simple change in decision or conversation would have changed the entire game. You will be captivated by the Dragon Age world and highly satisfied by what is has to offer. This game is must buy for all RPG fans.
Comments (1)
Comment (1)
Review 20 for Dragon Age Origins
If you like RPg's then buy this game!
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:12/5/09
housej
I only played for 20 minutes, but this game is awesome! If you like RPG's and like to play out a story, then this is the game for you. Letting me decide how my charater responds to questions is any RPG player's dream. The character customization mimics Elder Scrolls and the specialization mimics WoW, but WoW has established a precident that future RPG's must take advantage of before they can become thier own, and this game does just that. Origins uses time tested must have's of any respectable RPG's and then adds it's own magic to the mix. The story is mapped out and is not a free roam style RPG, but the presentation and the story lets you get lost in the game and thats why we play games anyway, is it not?? If you are an RPG fan, proudly add this to your inventory!
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
1 2 3 4 next>>