GameStop Ratings and Reviews

Shop Now At GameStop
Shop Software or
Choose a Category
Top Rated Product

Product Reviews

Star Ocean: Second Evolution

Space Date 366: A young Federation officer finds himself transported to amystical planet, where he is suddenly anointed as the Hero of Light. He beginsa journey to fulfill a prophecy and save a newfound race.Continuing the franchise for STAR OCEAN fans, this PSP release of theclassic RPG delivers the same epic storytelling and dazzling art style. Set 20years after the events of its predecessor, STAR OCEAN: Second Departurereceives special treatment in its PSP incarnation to further entice gamers torelive the adventure. The title takes the next step with fully animated movies,all-new character designs, extra playable characters, fully voiced dialogue, andmore.
Average Customer Rating:
10
10
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (7 reviews)
10 stars
6
9 stars
0
8 stars
0
7 stars
0
6 stars
0
5 stars
0
4 stars
0
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
0
6 out of 6100%of reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Star Ocean: Second Evolution
Review 1 for Star Ocean: Second Evolution
Once more into the great star ocean.
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Posted on:1/20/09
Creepy and Wheepy.
Let me start off by saying this game is everything the original star ocean two should have been..now don't get me wrong the original was awesome but it lacked the personalities the new found version has. The game is more or less the same graphics wise, the sound is awesome with better voice actors..no longer do you have to suffer with Claude's "DAMN!" everytime he gets hit and there lies the greatness of the game the voices give each character a personality! I personally hated Claude in the original and love him in the remake/rerelease..this is a must have for any star ocean and rpg fans. If you have never played Star Ocean two you will find the story to be extremely interesting and original definitely one of my favorites second only to Xenogears and Final Fantasy VII (pre-spin offs). This game is a must have for any psp owner but if your a first timer pick up Star Ocean: First Departure first as it is the prequel. Good Luck battling the ten wise men..you'll need it :D.
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Review 2 for Star Ocean: Second Evolution
It is amazing
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:3/8/09
Ethan Turner
I enjoy the star ocean series, this title is a great entry to the series of star ocean.The story is great in length, the sound awesome, graphics good for psp, The story will make you want to keep playing, i've had it for 3 weeks and still have not beat the first characters story. The only problem with the game is the fact that the extra characters' require a little more work to find then in "star ocean fist departure". The Battle system is fun and easy (classic star ocean), the voice acting is and musical score are improved from "first departure". and it may just be me but the graphics seem way better then "first departure". By far this is a great entry/ re-entry to the story of star ocean.To anyone who likes RPG's or the star ocean series, this game is worth your time and money.
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Star Ocean: Second Evolution
A masterpiece among the pack
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Posted on:3/28/11
JZ86
Location: IL
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
I played this game on the PlayStation many a year ago and let me tell you this game was waaay ahead of it's time. It had features that many developers have just begun implementing a few years ago such as leveling skills which level up upon a certain number of uses, a vast crafting system featuring everything from cooking to creating weapons, and private action scenes to help progress character development.
Unfortunately my order got mixed up and I received 2 copies of the original star ocean remake (One of them was even inside a SO:SE box ><). So now I don't get to re-experience the game on my PSP until some later date when this all gets sorted out.
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Star Ocean: Second Evolution
About time they remade it
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:4/5/09
Noa
I can't wait to play it I just hope it has as many endings as the first version that was on the ps1 and it had up words of 80 endings well only to play and see just how many endings I can unlock . There is one thing that I do hope about the first one that they did fix and that is finding new characters because it would get just plain Hard to find some of them even if one knew how and where to find those guys .Now as for graphics any thing will improve on the first one hell with current tech it should be easy to update that to that of at least the PS2 . now sound hell that is much much better plus you can link with your PS3 . I got this and the first departure I plan on playing them each one after the other so to know the story in full and find and unlock ALL the characters in both games this will be a true test of my skills as a gamer.
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Review 5 for Star Ocean: Second Evolution
Awesome Game
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:2/12/11
dagugtggggggggg
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
I love this game I've played it like two million times!my favorite character is Leon but the rest are great to. I would literally recommend this game to anyone in the whole wide world everything is awesome about they even made new character! If you want a good game I would totally recommend this!
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Star Ocean: Second Evolution
BEUTIFUL GAME
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:12/29/10
shadowslayer
I LOVED THIS GAME so great this was my first star SO COOL I LOVED IT but i was worried i screwed uo my game when i wernt to energy nede but i learnt i had to i was allitle aggarvated that i the charecters are hard to unlock and i can only have 8 charecters but i still LOVED IT and i laughed at the end when rena said she wont be alone for long and then claudes face and reaction AHAHAHA lol it was priceless but i liked how she said do i have to spell it out..im having a baby SUCH A GREAT GAME i cant wait to get the others BUT I REALLY LOVED the anime like scenes such a great game iv just gotta beat it with rena as my charecter
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Review 7 for Star Ocean: Second Evolution
A masterpiece reborn!
Posted on:10/21/08
Kryfton
Star Ocean: Second Evolution is a PSP remake of the original which hit the Playstation years ago. This game came out of nowhere during the time that other Playstation RPGs had been receiving much praise and attention and held its own against them with little to no advertising of its own. This game incorporates over 80+ unique endings and a storyline which rivals some of the best books and films out there. The gameplay is solid fun and the voices are great! Animation in this game is beautiful and the music is absolutely wonderful. This game is going to be in my PSP on day one!