GameStop Ratings and Reviews

Shop Now At GameStop
Shop Software or
Choose a Category
Top Rated Product

Product Reviews

Fuel

From the publishers of Colin McRae: DiRT® and Race Driver: GRID® comes a revolution in multi-terrain racing featuring the biggest racing environment ever created. Born of Asobo Studios' cutting-edge proprietary engine, A.C.E. (Asobo Conception Engine), that has benefited from over four years of development, FUEL will present players with an astonishing no-boundaries, seamlessly streaming playfield that's over 5,000 square miles (14,000+ km²) in size. With environmental detail inspired by America's most incredible landscapes, FUEL will deliver the ultimate competitive go-anywhere racing experience. FUEL will see players competing across wildly different terrain from deep snow to lush forests and arid deserts, executing spectacular stunts as they race and explore this epic world of an unprecedented scale.
Average Customer Rating:
7.333
7.3
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (27 reviews)
10 stars
5
9 stars
6
8 stars
1
7 stars
1
6 stars
5
5 stars
0
4 stars
0
3 stars
0
2 stars
2
1 star
1
14 out of 2167%of reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Fuel
Review 1 for Fuel
Highly Underated
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Posted on:6/11/09
Mr R
This game is unfairly underated by many player reviews, it requires alot of playtime to really be able to see the beauty and variety this arcade racer has to offer. First of all let me start by saying that the graphics are just beautiful and all the weather effects in it i haven't seen in any other racer, they are just awesome! the map its incredibly gigantic, you could go on for hours just driving around this enormous world. The sound is not great but its pretty decent and so is the interface, storyline is passable not that it matters much on a racing game, there are a few minor bugs in this game still, it actually froze for me once. You have a horde of all kinds of vehicles at your disposal as long as you can afford the ingame currency "Fuel Points" that is.I would not reccommend anyone to rent this game to try it, because you will not be able to enjoy more then 90% of it before you have to turn it back in. I highly reccommend players who love offroad racing games to buy this game right now.
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Fuel
The Truth Review
Overall Rating: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Gameplay: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Posted on:6/10/09
Matto195
So I wasnt very excited about this wannabe future anarchy racing game, but with the lack of games out there for the 360 I really didnt have a choice. It started off proving me very wrong, with fun customizations on your driver it seemed to be pretty cool, but that was until the vehicle customization came to my eyes. Same colors and designs for literally EVERY vehicle. But the races were quite fun, except for the fact that is is literally impossible to beat unless it is on Rookie (the easiest setting) and higher and the opponents become literally professional anarchy racers leaving you in the dust. And for some weird reason even if they are in the same vehicle yours seems to be THAT much slower than theirs. The game becomes very repetitive and very stupid considering the fact that you have to get a certain amount of stars to progress and the only way to get stars is by doing harder difficulty levels. Overall stick with another racing game PLEASE!!!
Overall Rating: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Gameplay: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Review 3 for Fuel
Love it Love it Love it!!!!!
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:6/4/09
Mr. Person
This si probably just about the best game by codemasers next to Grid. There is so much territory to explore it's just ridiculous!!! You can go anywhere any time in any vehicle. There are a lot of challenges you can do anytime. You can access them from the menu or you can ride to them in free ride. Theren are acheivements for just racing in free ride for so long. One new thing I never see in a racing game is that you can make your own track! how sick is that.? you can make a lot of special customizations on your rider and vehicle. There is plenty of cahallenge with three levels for each which gives you fuel (money to get new vehicles). There are also so amny extreme weather effects like tornadoes and hurricanes and snowstorms and on and on and on... OMG definitely a must buy for any action or racing or just free time players. I definitely recommend this to anyone who likes these categories. Also try Grid which is a 10 out of 10 too.
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Review 4 for Fuel
Fun at times, not-so-fun at times
Overall Rating: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Gameplay: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Graphics: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Sound: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Posted on:8/5/12
aco612
Location: Future wetlands of Louisiana
This game is perfect for: casual gamers
A rather forgotten title, but somewhat deservedly so, Fuel has a strong lineage - produced by Codemasters, one of the best racing publishers - but falls a bit flat in critical areas. The open world concept is great (somewhere around 5000 sq. km!) but as a consequence the graphics aren't. The vehicles are diverse, but the personalization of them is pretty shallow and is basically just changing their primary color. The storyline is promising, but is really just incidental to the action and isn't very cohesive to the game and the promise it held wasn't exploited at all. And the racing? Handling is responsive, fun, and easy to grasp, but speed is poorly depicted and it can be incredibly difficult to follow the tracks. The track difficulty can be alleviated with practice (duh), but the sense of slowness really wears you down. On the good side there are LOTS of tracks and LOTS of space to just drive around, and the game is pretty cheap nowadays. For a minimum investment there is a lot to do here, but many parts of it have been done better elsewhere.
 
My Product Recommendations
 
 
Overall Rating: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Gameplay: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Graphics: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Sound: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Review 5 for Fuel
well i love it
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Posted on:6/8/09
stampbook
i dont care what anybody says. fuel makes things happen that no other racer on consoles available can say they do. fuel is the racer that all of the other racers secretly wish they were. big. wide. open. beautiful. fun. take it or leave it. but i like turning left when everyone else goes right. i like seeing storms come to form in the middle of a race. or the day turn to night ever so slightly to where the sky becomes for a second a piece every color of the rainbow as the sun leaves the moon to take over for light. theres nothing like this game. oblivion i guess. fallout maybe. and then they have a baby with motorstorm. thats fuel. like anything worth having the real worth and beauty is underneath. they dont want you to fix your car up. they dont want it to look like chevy made it. they just want you to race your heart out in a slew of diverse car types through a slew of diverse floor types. all they want you to do is drive.
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Review 6 for Fuel
DECENT
Overall Rating: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Gameplay: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
4 out of 10
4 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:12/23/10
XBOXDUED
Location: New Lenox, IL
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
I thought that this was an ok racing game. The graphics ware great. Hardcore gamers would like it best. average gameplay. If you like this I would suggest pure.
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Overall Rating: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Gameplay: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
4 out of 10
4 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
3 of 3 found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Fuel
This is a very cool racing game
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
4 out of 10
4 out of 10
Posted on:5/1/10
Walms
Admittedly this game is not for everyone, I happen to be enjoying it. The variety is definitely there as far as vehicles, Motorcycles, ATV, Trucks, dunebuggies and also monster trucks. Many of the areas you unlock look the same but the roaming area is pretty much unlimited. There's mountains, trails, towns and old buildings and abandoned vehicles. The story of the game is supposed to be set where it's just a wasteland but the part that baffled me was why there was road signs and guard rails if there is not supposed to be people there. You also get to knock down fuel barrels which act as currency in the game to buy more vehicles, there's liveries scattered around the various areas and they represent the different designs you can add to your vehicles. Really makes no sense to decorate an off road vehicle that will be caked in mud the majority of the time. Also customizing your avatar or character only makes partial sense on the cycles and ATV's. If you're in a car or truck you can't see your guy anyways. The major drawback to this game is the atrocious load times. The graphics are very well done and so are the environments but the load times remind me of being stuck in rush hour traffic, it simply takes too long. The controls are very responsive but the music is mind numingly boring. If you rent or buy this game do yourself a favor and turn the music to 0 while you play. Sound FX are just ok, I never knew when you hit a tire it would make the sound of running over a stick, just an example of the sound effects, pretty weak. All in all this is a great racer with nice graphics and a fun experience I'm enjoying it.
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
4 out of 10
4 out of 10
2 of 2 found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Fuel
I returned it 3 days later
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 10
2 out of 10
Gameplay: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Graphics: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Posted on:6/12/09
Xvus
When I saw the trailer I was amazed. I thought it would be and open world game with numerous tracks and varieties to mess around with. I was hoping for vehicle customization like in Saints Row 2, but no. The only customization is colors (Which are the same for EVERY SINGLE 70 VEHICLES!) and upgraded the car which has no significant impact on the way it drives or handles. I picked this up along with Red Faction Guerrilla which has 10x better driving mechanic than this piece of crap. You have no traction what so ever even with off road vehicles. And the absolute truth is that while it might have won the Guinness World Gaming Records for largest area in a single video game, its just boring and dull. You have a map where you can set a point to go to in order to start a race from that point. But you also have a menu which you can access which skips the travailing and just starts the race. So now I ask " What is the point of driving there in the first place?" I'll tell you, so you can experience " The amazing weather effects" which include a tornado, rain, and snow. I tried to get close to the tornado to see what would happen and I just keep going into infinity. So in reality, it wasn't even there. So unless you feel like driving a million miles to get from point A to point B, just save your money and buy prototype or red faction or even ghostbusters.
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 10
2 out of 10
Gameplay: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Graphics: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
3 of 6 found this review helpful.
Comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
GRIMEYtheFATMAN
Deltona, FL
 
Please wait while more information about GRIMEYtheFATMAN is loaded.
Additional information about GRIMEYtheFATMAN could not be loaded.
Why?
Posted 6/11/13
Why would you possibly expect Saints Row-level customization...?
To the best of my knowledge, this game's closest competitor would be the PS3 exclusive Motorstorm series, and I think liveries is as far as the customization goes in that game as well...
Comments (1)
Comment (1)
Review 9 for Fuel
Fun at first but after a while gets boring
Overall Rating: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Posted on:8/19/09
guess who...
The title says it this game gets really boring after a couple hours of gameplay. All of the racing is basically the same and straightforward. You race. After the race you can free ride in the huge world. Wandering around pointlessly gets boring quickly. Before you know it you'll be letting your brother play the xbox so you can watch him because your so bored. On the bright side the graphics are great and there are lots vehicles and they have different speeds and types. The problem is that you almost always have to buy another car because you have to have that car to race. The sounds of the vehicles and destruction (from the weather) are very good. The A.I. is way to hard sometimes. The controls are like all racing games. So if you like open world games, get this game no doubt. But if your like me and just want to race, get another game.
Overall Rating: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Review 10 for Fuel
Fallout 3 On Wheels
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Posted on:6/15/09
Monkey King
I just don't get why people defame this game and give it bad reviews, i bought Fuel about 3 days after it was released here in the US because i couldn't before as to my surprise they were soldout at the closest gamestop from my home, as soon as i got home and popped the disc in i usually like to install the game to the Xbox 360 HDD before i start playing as it helps a bit with loading times. Well to make a long story not so long, i was very impressed with the graphics and the game map seemed alot to me like Fallout 3 but with roads and cars driving around, its incredibly huge! you could practically go anywhere you wish, there are so many vehicles to choose, and let me mention that the weather effects are just amazing, love the tornadoes! imagine racing and all of a sudden a tornado shows up out of nowhere and starts throwing whatever on its path at you and your competition. The sound is "okay" and the interface of the game is not so bad either, the game map is soo huge they have heliports or whatever so you can use a helicopter anytime you wish to make traveling a bit shorter. Customization is actually not so good in this game but i have so much fun that to me doesn't matter much, oh yeah and the music in it can get a bit annoying in my opinion but overall is just an incredible racer, there's no other racer out there like this so i have to say i highly reccommend this game to not only to offroad racing fans but to hardcore simulation racing fans as well
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Fuel
dont buy . or rent
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Gameplay: 
3 out of 10
3 out of 10
Graphics: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Sound: 
4 out of 10
4 out of 10
Posted on:6/13/09
sdcharger
This is one of the worst racing game ever . and of corse made by code masters how made another horrible game grid. the graphics are cartoonish and it gives you a headache staring at. the land is bland and isnt what they show in the trailer you cant run in to tornados witch is why i gave this game a try. also there no way you can customize your own ride you can only change the color also its the same with your driver you cant customize him the way you wants only change what he wheres. the game is not worth THE MONEY I RENTED FOR IT. a total waste also the challenge is the same even on the hardest level type still feels like your playing on easy. and the day and night cycle every minute its day then a minute later its night. and that got annoying. i would never recommend this game to anybody
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Gameplay: 
3 out of 10
3 out of 10
Graphics: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Sound: 
4 out of 10
4 out of 10
2 of 18 found this review helpful.
Comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
XSgtDaveX
Florida
 
Please wait while more information about XSgtDaveX is loaded.
Additional information about XSgtDaveX could not be loaded.
FUEL
Posted 6/25/11
The game was ahead of its time and if u buy a game just to run into tornadoes then you deserve what u got because you probally suck at it anyway. P.S. Renting games is for losers.
Comments (1)
Comment (1)
Review 12 for Fuel
Looks Good
Posted on:1/19/09
SuLLy 102
So far Fuel looks great. A great concept along side some nice graphics and visuals. Another thing that also makes this game look incredible is the sheer size of the map, which is rumored to be around 5,000 square miles! Codemasters is known for putting out enjoyable and worthwhile racers so they have some experience in this area. The concept and story sound amazing as well. Decades of environmental abuse has spawned the apocalypse turning the U.S. into a wasteland and driving fuel prices through the roof so the main thing everyone is after in this wasteland is fuel. Set in Nevada, the terrain has a deserted wasteland feel to it which intertwines the gameplay and story together. This is an incredibly original idea for a game especially a racer. I'll be picking this one up from gamestop as soon as it comes out!
Review 13 for Fuel
You are now to move about the country...
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:8/30/09
Mr. Person
Well...this is my second revew of this game because I have discovered so much more in this game. There are many different tracks which you race on, and there is free ride, online and offline... who else has that??? The graphics are good...but i mean, they had to make 5000 sq. miles... so you cvant blame them. The sound is very good, but it repeats a lot which gets kind of boring after while. There are 74 vehicles and differnet paint shcemes for them. you can buy them or get them in free ride. The races in the middle to the end get tougher and tougher so you have to be prepared. Overall, this is a good game and i say anyone who really likes acing should get it. I liked it, but that is only my opinion...you cant just try it out for like 2 days... you need like 2 weeks to really get into it
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Review 14 for Fuel
One of the best arcade racing games yet for the xbox 360
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Posted on:6/4/09
kapaqs
This game is huge! The free roam feature is just excellent and more then makes up for the slight pixel problem of the graphics (the regions a beautifully done giving huge variety in tracks and surfaces). I would say that this game is close to a cross between Downhill Domination for the PS2 and Pure for the xbox 360. I will say you need to give it a chance when you first start playing it. I almost didn't buy it because it seamed to start out slow. But once you figured out what you need to do and see all the different types of vehicles that are available to purchase, the fun factor grew exponentially! This game is for the fans of pure and simple fun racing whether you stay on the tracks, look for short cuts or love to explore the huge seemingly endless boundary free tracks and regions.
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Review 15 for Fuel
Massive map and quite fun at times
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Posted on:12/17/10
Dice999
This game is perfect for: casual gamers
This is worth the price, the map is huge, spanning over 5,500 square miles! 10 times bigger then just cause 2, if you like to just chill, and race cars across a post apocalyptic world than this is your game
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Fuel
Shows a lot of promise
Posted on:5/20/09
James Murray
I've always had a thing for wild off road racing games, but few have pulled it off. Motorstorm was a disappointment, (Yes, the new one too) and mx vs. atv has always had vanilla controls and predictable gameplay.FUEL, however, has a lot of potential. The vehicles look like a lot of fun, especially the bikes, and the environments look beautiful. But the thing that really gives this game promise is its publisher. Codemasters knows how to make great racing games. Their last too, GRID and DiRT were amazing, (I thought dirt was semi-mind blowing), and if codemasters previous games show anything (looking back at Race driver and Colin McRaes rally), then this is definitely a game to look out for.
Review 17 for Fuel
Totally Underrated
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Posted on:10/13/13
ASWCC
Location: Michigan
Nearly every reviewer I've seen has given this game a mixed or low score. It definitely deserves at least a 7.5, in my opinion. The handling on vehicles is good, the world is huge, and the scenery is fun to look at.
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Review 18 for Fuel
Disappointed from Codemasters
Overall Rating: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Gameplay: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Graphics: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Sound: 
3 out of 10
3 out of 10
Posted on:6/6/09
BlackMetalBuick
When I first heard about FUEL I didn't think twice about getting it. GRID was one of the best racing games I've ever played, and Codemasters racing games in general are always pretty great. But I got sick of this game in about 20 minutes. It feels like an incredibly boring version of PURE. There is hardly any sense of speed, the vehicles all feel like they're going 35mph when the game says 80. The engine sounds are abysmal, especially listening to them through a 5 minute race. Sure, an off-road buggy probably doesn't have the most pleasant sounding exhaust in real life either, doesn't mean I want to listen to it drone on and on the entire game. While we're on the topic of sound, seems like there's ONE boring song that plays at every single in-game menu. Sure the world seems big, but it is very bland, and you never quite get the right viewpoint to appreciate all the area like you do in PURE when you're flying through the air. The graphics are nowhere near as polished as they were in GRID, probably because of the size of the environment. The racing doesn't have any of the excitement that there was in GRID where AI made mistakes, pile-ups occurred, etc. Just hold down the gas long enough and about 3/4s of the way through the race, you'll find yourself in 1st place no matter how many mistakes you made. I thought you had to compete with different weather effects, even tornadoes, but I haven't seen any of that in-game yet. This must have been created by a different team at Codemasters because it features none of the greatness that you can find in DIRT and GRID.
Overall Rating: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Gameplay: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Graphics: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Sound: 
3 out of 10
3 out of 10
Review 19 for Fuel
gotta get it!
Posted on:4/10/09
CR33PINGxD3ATH
I read that supposedly it should take about 2 and a half hours to travel from one corner of the map diagonally to the other corner. Also it said you can hear / see evidence of a tornado before you can actually see it sometimes. I have been waiting for this for a while and when i found out about the bonus dune buggy deal you can get for reserving it i went ahead and did that.
Review 20 for Fuel
Looks cool
Posted on:11/25/08
LnknPrk
I read about this game in GameInformer and it looks sick. Its like this racing game all over this big, open, rocky area and you race people. But the cool thing is that there is things that can stop you from getting to the finish line like tornadoes and stuff. Overall it looks like a pretty good game.
1 2 next>>