GameStop Ratings and Reviews

Shop Now At GameStop
Shop Software or
Choose a Category
Top Rated Product

Product Reviews

Operation Flashpoint: Dragon Rising

The island of Skira has been a disputed territory since the end of World War II. Officially, it falls under the sovereignty of the Russian Federation, but a U.S. and Japanese presence has been there following the discovery of extremely rich and viable oil fields. On September 23rd at 0800 hours, under the guise of ensuring his people's prosperity, General Zheng ordered an airborne division of the People's Liberation Army of China (PLA) to execute a lightning invasion, claiming Skira Island for the People's Republic. As you are aware, the Russian Federation has requested U.S. military support. In response, the USS Iwo Jima has been deployed. You and your fellow Marines should expect to engage scattered but heavily entrenched PLA positions. Our success on Skira could avert total war on the mainland.
Average Customer Rating:
6.585
6.6
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (51 reviews)
10 stars
9
9 stars
9
8 stars
5
7 stars
3
6 stars
1
5 stars
2
4 stars
2
3 stars
1
2 stars
2
1 star
7
26 out of 4163%of reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Operation Flashpoint: Dragon Rising
Review 1 for Operation Flashpoint: Dragon Rising
Awesome real shooter
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Graphics: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Sound: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Posted on:7/28/13
2012mydog
Location: tucson
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
Is way better than Call Of Duty. here you are mortal and have to heal up like a real person would do.
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Graphics: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Sound: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Review 2 for Operation Flashpoint: Dragon Rising
This is the best war game ive seen or played
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:1/25/13
BigMike88
Location: Princeton,Ky
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
This is by far the best war game ive seen or played and i have played all of the call of dutys medal of honors and this is more challenging then all of those games put together there may not be people playing online but the campaign is very long and when i bought it used it came with a voucher for bonus dlc missions that make the game llonger then a normal war game its at least 11-15 hrs long if not more.And i like having friends over to play it cause its one of those games where you will die alo.Another thing you can pick up weapons off of enimies and drive and fly vehicles its a fun and engaging gameplay
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
0 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Operation Flashpoint: Dragon Rising
This Game Doesn't Belong on Console
Overall Rating: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Gameplay: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Graphics: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Sound: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Posted on:10/5/12
CarrionRoc
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
Operation Flashpoint is an ultra realistic first person shooter slash real time strategy game. It's is cold and unforgiving which is what makes you feel great about finally beating a level. While I haven't played Elite, as it's not backwards compatible with the 360, Dragon Rising is a game that was clearly never intended for a console release. The controls are not as precise as they should be for a game like this. It's a clear cut case of artificial difficulty. I have no problem with games that are challenging but this game is downright vicious in certain sections because of the controls.
Overall Rating: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Gameplay: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Graphics: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Sound: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Review 4 for Operation Flashpoint: Dragon Rising
This is a really good game.
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Sound: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Posted on:12/28/11
Onuta
Location: Gresham,Or
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
Many people say the game sucks because is to hard and the graphics are bad. Well the game is not hard at all, I have it at 100% ( trophies) and I am not that good at shooters and the graphics sure beat a lot of other games out there. You have to get a really good partner and try to have fun with it. Yes sometimes you can't see the people you are shooting at but who doesn't like a challenge once in a while? I recommend this game to people that want to play the story with a friend. The game is way better then red river...but if you played it and you liked it then try dragon rising, is not going to disappoint you.
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Sound: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Review 5 for Operation Flashpoint: Dragon Rising
An actually realistic modern combat simulator
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Sound: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Posted on:12/27/11
ballsofsteel757
Location: Williamsburg, VA
This game is perfect for: casual gamers
One thing people are quick to blast this game for is its graphics. Big whoop. Codemasters spent more time working on the realism of the physics in-game, and even used a real island (Kiska Island, Alaska) as a map. Yeah, the graphics are not Call Of Duty-ish, but at least when you're fighting the Chinese PLA, you only find American and Chinese weapons, unlike the re-skin loving Call Of Duty series, where the Russians are using German, South African, Israeli, and even American weapons against you. Yes, you can be shot from a good distance off, but in real life, that happens. You have to account for bullet drop in every shot, again, unlike CoD.
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Sound: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Review 6 for Operation Flashpoint: Dragon Rising
What a waste of $2
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Gameplay: 
2 out of 10
2 out of 10
Graphics: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Sound: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Posted on:8/29/11
ChainSaw0419
Location: KY
This is by far the worst game I have EVER played. The graphics are of lower quality than a down scaled ps2 game, you get shot out of no where as if the enemy is invisible, and the over all control for the game reminds me of a bad computer game. I will never buy another code masters game and I hope I just helped you people decide on a better choice.
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Gameplay: 
2 out of 10
2 out of 10
Graphics: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Sound: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
1 of 9 found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Operation Flashpoint: Dragon Rising
Too Realistic...
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 10
3 out of 10
Gameplay: 
2 out of 10
2 out of 10
Graphics: 
2 out of 10
2 out of 10
Sound: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
3 out of 10
3 out of 10
Posted on:6/30/11
IntenseGamer
In video games, games much too realistic characteristics make the gameplay very boring - especially to a person who is addicted to Mw2 and Crysis 2. This is very dragged on and lame and involves little action and much running across fields with your squads. I bought thinking it was going to be another FPS to play, and boy was I wrong. No wonder this was never a big hit...
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 10
3 out of 10
Gameplay: 
2 out of 10
2 out of 10
Graphics: 
2 out of 10
2 out of 10
Sound: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
3 out of 10
3 out of 10
1 of 9 found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Operation Flashpoint: Dragon Rising
Only if You're Ready
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:3/18/11
Skyboxer
Location: WV
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
Yes the game can be hard at times. War IS hard. This isn't a COD type game where arcade gameplay rules and you can just run around trying to get your kill/death ratio up. You get shot in the head or chest and uh... yeah you're done. I see some say if you get shot anywhere you die... TOTALLY FALSE. Sounds like a COD player that is used to getting shot 10 times and surviving. If you like real damage and battles that you actually have to think about before acting, this game is for you. If you want a game you can blindly disregard the enemy and rush in, then stay with COD. It does have some technical issues here and there but overall it's a must for fans of real scenarios and outcomes. A new Operation Flashpoint is on the way too!!
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
18 of 18 found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Operation Flashpoint: Dragon Rising
The worst game I have ever played.
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Gameplay: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Graphics: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Sound: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Posted on:3/6/11
coltsfan18
Location: Columbia, SC
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
Well what isn't bad about this game. The game is way, way, way to hard, their isn't anybody online(I can see why), and the graphics are just okay. In this game if you get shot one time, any where on your body, you die. But you don't have to worry about that online because there are only like three people online at a time. I wouldn't recommend this game to anyone and I hate that I wasted my money on it.
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Gameplay: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Graphics: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Sound: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
3 of 27 found this review helpful.
Comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
TheSato
 
Please wait while more information about TheSato is loaded.
Additional information about TheSato could not be loaded.
To hard?
Posted 3/13/11
The reason this game is "too hard" is because it was made to be hyper-realistic. You can't complain about a game unless you know the specs as to why and how it was made. You should have played a demo and watched gameplay if you weren't sure. You should do this anyways even if it's a game you're for sure going to buy. I played through this game on hardcore with no issues. You are a field commander and commanding a squad in a combat situation. It is a REALISTIC combat situation, therefor, you can't run in like you can in the unrealistic shooters, i.e; Call of Duty, Halo, any other shooter ever invented.
You have to think tactically and like you ARE in that situation. Somebody gets shot in real life, anywhere on their body, yeah, they are gonna go down. If you don't like realism, then don't complain about a game not being realistic, then hating a game that is.
Comments (1)
Comment (1)
Review 10 for Operation Flashpoint: Dragon Rising
pretty good
Overall Rating: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Gameplay: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Graphics: 
4 out of 10
4 out of 10
Sound: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Posted on:2/27/11
Facethepain69
Location: Indpendence, Missouri
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
i'll just sum this up... the graphics are poor for the ps3, game-play isn't bad but when you get into big firefights their fun and fulfilling. The sound is alright isn't better than bbc2 but is just alright. but the multi-player is where its at in this game. Although a lot of the players on there just got done playing CoD so they might not be thinking much when charging at the enemy but thats where I had the most fun, once you win or push the enemy back in a firefight you get a rewarding, fun feeling. all in all not such a bad game.
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Overall Rating: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Gameplay: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Graphics: 
4 out of 10
4 out of 10
Sound: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Operation Flashpoint: Dragon Rising
not for cod gamers
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Gameplay: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Posted on:2/26/11
daboss47
Location: connecticut
well overall i find that this is a very good game. the graphics are fine sound and all that is fine. its a good game but only if you like the realistic tactical game play not the run and gun cod style
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Gameplay: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
2 of 2 found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Operation Flashpoint: Dragon Rising
Not too impressed...
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 10
4 out of 10
Gameplay: 
4 out of 10
4 out of 10
Graphics: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Sound: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
4 out of 10
4 out of 10
Posted on:2/1/11
Clint
Location: N.O., LA
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
I wasn't impressed because the game wasn't what I expected. The graphics weren't too bad and the sound was ok. It just wasn't a fun game... Hard core "real life" mil-sim fans would definately love it though.
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 10
4 out of 10
Gameplay: 
4 out of 10
4 out of 10
Graphics: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Sound: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
4 out of 10
4 out of 10
0 of 2 found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Operation Flashpoint: Dragon Rising
Tactical game
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Posted on:12/25/10
FPShooter
Location: Florida
I found this game to be fun and challenging. It makes you stop and think about what to do next. This game is not like Call of Duty. Its not a run n gun game. You have to plan out your attack and command your team in your missions. You have to lead your team and be aware of who's injured and who need help. This game is similar to Rainbow Six Vegas 2 in the tactical sense. But instead of battling throughout the city, your on a huge island and play with an open-world experience. If you like challenging missions and like planning out attacks, not just shooting at whatever pops up, I definitely recommend you get this game.
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Operation Flashpoint: Dragon Rising
Sucks
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Gameplay: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Graphics: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Sound: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Posted on:12/13/10
KCHollyWood
Location: Kansas City
This game is perfect for: kid gamers
Trust me, DO NOT BUY THIS GAME!!! Save your money for something else.
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Gameplay: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Graphics: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Sound: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
0 of 18 found this review helpful.
Comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
sgtkeller11250
PA
 
Please wait while more information about sgtkeller11250 is loaded.
Additional information about sgtkeller11250 could not be loaded.
ILG
Posted 1/14/11
I think u hate this game is cuz u cant handle the slow, tactical thinking it takes u probably got stuck on hipshot and got mad at it and dicided "hey I cant beat it...this sucks" Trust me Ive had moments like that
Comments (1)
Comment (1)
Review 15 for Operation Flashpoint: Dragon Rising
Not better then the first one
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Gameplay: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Posted on:10/10/10
VtxViking
Location: Dallas, TX
This game is perfect for: casual gamers
Ok the game isn't bad for multiplayer campain. Dont try playing this online cause its not worth your time. Now the thing that annoyed me the most was why advertise a map being as big as the discribed and not leting u explore it at your desposal. When i got this game i wanted to fly all over the map just to look at it and well there is no free roam and when your doing a mission u can leave the mission area so that took alot of the replay fun factor out of it for me. other than this good game to play with friends but a huge let down. = (
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Gameplay: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Review 16 for Operation Flashpoint: Dragon Rising
Not Too Bad
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:9/14/10
SgtReaver
Location: New England
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
I'm currently playing through Operation Flashpoint: Dragon Rising, I'm on level 3 and i am getting my head kicked in at many a turn but I'm enjoying it. The reason for my enjoyment of suffering is because this isn't an average run n' gun fps this a war simulation and very fun, I constantly find myself thinking my strategy to take the smarter and safe approach to keep me and my men safe even though death lurks from any angle at any time. The graphics are solid with a few texture flaws but nothing too noticeable, but my only issue with this game is the squad mechanics. The issue being that if you've given them bad orders before they will tend to stop listening to you and doing there own thing, this can get very frustrating but also adds to the sense of realism. I would recommend this game to anybody who wants a challenge, if your looking for a challenge but Operation Flashpoint: Dragon Rising not America's Army: True solider's this game is much more solid and realistic and it features the best of the best the United States Marine Corps OORAH!!
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
3 of 3 found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Operation Flashpoint: Dragon Rising
Go Green
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Gameplay: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Graphics: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Sound: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Posted on:12/27/09
Donny B
Do not waste your gas or money on this game. I read alot of the reviews before buying this game and all I can figure out is everyone must have a friend or family member that works at codemasters. The game stated that it only gave you a time limit for the first mission, come to find out, there is time limits on most all missions. Lets see they give you 5 minutes to get past 500 heavily armed troops and they wack you guys out before you even get a chance to get to the objective, not very life like at all, really if a branch of the armed forces sent 4 people to kill 500 there would be a court martial. Worst first shooter game ever, I recommend this to no one, if I wouldnt take such a huge loss I would trade this game in a second, I plan to take it target shooting with me next week. Thanks for nothing.
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Gameplay: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Graphics: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Sound: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
3 of 16 found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Operation Flashpoint: Dragon Rising
A little disappointed
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 10
2 out of 10
Gameplay: 
3 out of 10
3 out of 10
Graphics: 
3 out of 10
3 out of 10
Sound: 
3 out of 10
3 out of 10
Posted on:11/9/09
IronCladDan
After having played this game for the past month, all I can say is that Im disappointed. Having read all the reviews from the company about this game and its gameplay, I feel like I may have missed something. The game, while under the category of mil-sim, is very much like any other shooter I have played. The story line is linear, and the missions very short. Replayibility for this game is hard especially when the missions play out exactly the same every time. Ie. the enemy are always in the exact same spot on the start of the level every time, motar rounds land in the exat same spot and choppers fly the exact same pattern...every time. This game is very much on rails. Most missions are time based so you feel very rushed while completing a mission, unless you stay away from the triggers. The weapons are pretty underwhelming, there is no leaf sight for the launcher(s). Recoil while you fire is almost non-existent, and snaps back to level after you fire. Ammo supply for the MEU weapons are very low, so most of the time you use PLA firepower. It was a big disappointment to not be able to customize your weapon loadout before a mission, which might increase replayability. If you can find a vehicle to drive other then a jeep then you are very lucky. The Main Battle Tanks are an endangerd species in this game. One of the biggest disappointments was the fact that there was no free roam implemented with the game. It is now available for DLC, but for a cost to the console customers with NO enemy to encounter.
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 10
2 out of 10
Gameplay: 
3 out of 10
3 out of 10
Graphics: 
3 out of 10
3 out of 10
Sound: 
3 out of 10
3 out of 10
Comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
meow
mi
 
Please wait while more information about meow is loaded.
Additional information about meow could not be loaded.
Top 1000 Contributor
HA!
Posted 5/25/11
WOW. I read your review and COMPLETELY disagree with you.this game is meant to be the most realistic fps out there,and it is.All the stuff that u say is bad about it,really isnt.this is what its like in real life
Comments (1)
Comment (1)
Review 19 for Operation Flashpoint: Dragon Rising
Very Challenging
Overall Rating: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Gameplay: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Graphics: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Posted on:10/26/09
Blanchdaddy
Purchased this game the day it came out, played immediately upon reaching home, very frustrated within an hour. While I did not expect this game to be like Call of Duty, I was expecting something closer to Rainbow 6. Rainbow 6 was much, much easier. Obviously the concept of strafing/taking cover/staying low is not new to FPS vets, but getting nailed and killed with one random hit from 300 yards away is. I'm starting to progress more quickly through the game...i read a review which said that this game very not frustrating but rather very challenging...and I would agree with this. There are time constraints which means you can't just slow sit around...and your men WILL die quickly if you're stupid. It DOES require trial and error and tinkering with stances/ROE/strategies. I'm on the 4th mission trying to take over an airport control tower and I'm fiddling with how to get to building quickly enough (there's like 6 minutes to take it over before some bombs start dropping) but without getting cut down by enemy fire. Graphics are not the best (you don't say "wow") but they're adequate given all the other things going on/positives. Control dial takes some getting used to. My biggest complaint (and this is probably something Codemaster did intentionally) is that it's somewhat cumbersome to switch between weapons (example: going from rifle to throwing a grenade)...though I suppose it's (again) more like "real" combat. So bottom line: if you want something quick/easy/fire through everything like COD 4 (god, I cannot WAIT for Modern Warfare 2), this ain't it. But I am enjoying it the more i play it. If you liked R6V2 and understand this will be much more challenging/will require thought in real combat situations, this is a decent buy. You just need to understand you'll get killed and will need try things multiple times.
Overall Rating: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Gameplay: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Graphics: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Review 20 for Operation Flashpoint: Dragon Rising
A Real-Life Shooter; No Run and Gun
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:10/23/09
LehighVILLIAN
This game is one of the most realistic "modern warfare" game that I have ever played. I started the game on campaign mode and found that the missions are very challenging; keep in mind, this challenge was only set to normal difficulty. Other difficulty levels are experienced and hardcore. As you play through the campaign you take on realistic missions, with realistic AI at your side as well as realistic AI opposition. The enemy AI thinks just like a human. They will flank your position, call in strikes on your position, suppress fire at your position, and do just about anything that the real military would do in a war mission situation. In fact, campaign became so challenging that had to play coop with some friends on the PSN, 4 brains are definately more powerful than 1. Online coop allows you to play through and end the whole game online with 3 other people. I personally like how I can target an enemy or group of enemies on the map and have my squad take them out. One particular mission had us being sniped at on a mountain top and being flanked by an enemy special ops team. to counter this I had to call in an air strike on a hostile village. Besides air strikes, their are mortar strikes too. Both air strikes and mortar strikes have various types of firing effects. If its a single target, you can call in a strike to take it out. However, you will find that multiple targets exist and therefore may have to call in a scattered airstrike to take out a whole area. I like the harrassing air strike effect. It lasts for about 2 minutes, and once it is over the AI is completely eliminated with the exception of a few lucky runners. After ending the game on normal difficulty, I felt I was ready to try the online. At first, I didn't like the online. The reason for this was that some of the vehicles were very laggy and I kept getting kicked from games. After a while I decided to create my own servers, because my internet connections is optimal. To my suscess I never was kicked again, and the vehicles or game wasn't laggy at all. The game is a 4 v 4 online, but it feels more like 32 v 32. The reason for this is that each person can pick different squads to control or be apart of. As they engage their squad into combat, there is less AI just standing waiting on orders. As squad leader you can target enemies on the map and have yoyur squad as well as others engage that group of enemies. The controls are great too. It is not a run and gun type game, so if you dare think you are the best COD, Socom RnG player, on this game you will be straight wack unless you learn how to play as a team member. Speaking of team member, this game is all about team work and you must remember this before buying it and playing it. If you are a self type of person, don't even bother buying the game. You will not like the fact that you have to tell your team what you want them to do. The AI is not dumb, they will not just run to an enemy and take the risk of getting their head blown off. Instead, they will use cover to ease up close enough to engage the enemy, just as THE REAL MILITARY UNIT WOULD DO. This game is the most realistic shooter of them all. More realistic than Socom and COD. Like I said, no run n gun here. I highly recommend anyone that loved to play Conflict: Desert Storm, Desert Storm II, Vietnam, or Global Terror to get this game. The controls and toughness of the game reminds me of thoise great true life shooters.
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
4 of 5 found this review helpful.
1 2 3 next>>