GameStop Ratings and Reviews

Shop Now At GameStop
Shop Software or
Choose a Category
Most Popular Products
Top Rated Product

Product Reviews

Operation Flashpoint: Dragon Rising

The island of Skira has been a disputed territory since the end of World War II. Officially, it falls under the sovereignty of the Russian Federation, but a U.S. and Japanese presence has been there following the discovery of extremely rich and viable oil fields. On September 23rd at 0800 hours, under the guise of ensuring his people's prosperity, General Zheng ordered an airborne division of the People's Liberation Army of China (PLA) to execute a lightning invasion, claiming Skira Island for the People's Republic. As you are aware, the Russian Federation has requested U.S. military support. In response, the USS Iwo Jima has been deployed. You and your fellow Marines should expect to engage scattered but heavily entrenched PLA positions. Our success on Skira could avert total war on the mainland.
Average Customer Rating:
6.585
6.6
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (51 reviews)
10 stars
9
9 stars
9
8 stars
5
7 stars
3
6 stars
1
5 stars
2
4 stars
2
3 stars
1
2 stars
2
1 star
7
26 out of 4163%of reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Operation Flashpoint: Dragon Rising
Review 1 for Operation Flashpoint: Dragon Rising
Only if You're Ready
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:3/18/11
Skyboxer
Location: WV
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
Yes the game can be hard at times. War IS hard. This isn't a COD type game where arcade gameplay rules and you can just run around trying to get your kill/death ratio up. You get shot in the head or chest and uh... yeah you're done. I see some say if you get shot anywhere you die... TOTALLY FALSE. Sounds like a COD player that is used to getting shot 10 times and surviving. If you like real damage and battles that you actually have to think about before acting, this game is for you. If you want a game you can blindly disregard the enemy and rush in, then stay with COD. It does have some technical issues here and there but overall it's a must for fans of real scenarios and outcomes. A new Operation Flashpoint is on the way too!!
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
18 of 18 found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Operation Flashpoint: Dragon Rising
Not Too Bad
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:9/14/10
SgtReaver
Location: New England
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
I'm currently playing through Operation Flashpoint: Dragon Rising, I'm on level 3 and i am getting my head kicked in at many a turn but I'm enjoying it. The reason for my enjoyment of suffering is because this isn't an average run n' gun fps this a war simulation and very fun, I constantly find myself thinking my strategy to take the smarter and safe approach to keep me and my men safe even though death lurks from any angle at any time. The graphics are solid with a few texture flaws but nothing too noticeable, but my only issue with this game is the squad mechanics. The issue being that if you've given them bad orders before they will tend to stop listening to you and doing there own thing, this can get very frustrating but also adds to the sense of realism. I would recommend this game to anybody who wants a challenge, if your looking for a challenge but Operation Flashpoint: Dragon Rising not America's Army: True solider's this game is much more solid and realistic and it features the best of the best the United States Marine Corps OORAH!!
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
3 of 3 found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Operation Flashpoint: Dragon Rising
Shouldve listened to the other reviews
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 10
4 out of 10
Gameplay: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Graphics: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Sound: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Posted on:10/12/09
wingert
I bought this game today well it was either this or socom confrontation with the bundled headset which i was going to get but they didnt have. So i just though eh ill just buy this game because it looked pretty good from the videos to the screenshots. I was wrong this game like what was mentioned in some previous reviews has bad graphics for far range. The enemies you face look blurry and not good detail at all, and since this game is based on far range it does not go well. I also do not like how you are timed on your missions. After time after time trying to get into multiplayer i finally did to see that it was very laggy. I got in a jeep right away and i started going, kind of, the jeep kept bouncing everywhere on a straight road and it was terrible. So i got out and started shooting and it was very laggy there and the ai's were going everywhere. I will say this has a good challenge but for everything else a disappointment. Im planning on returning this game.
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 10
4 out of 10
Gameplay: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Graphics: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Sound: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Review 4 for Operation Flashpoint: Dragon Rising
Most anticipated
Posted on:4/3/09
johnnysokko
The previous title on Xbox was one of the most realistic shooters I've played despite the extremely dated presentation. Among memorable moments: Trying to return to your forces without a map after having your squad overrun and killed by the enemy, who patrolled the mostly open terrain in APCs, gunships and on foot (in particular, having a foot patrol come within feet of me while hiding in brush); leading Abrams(?) tanks into a fast paced but strategic and epic struggle against enemy tanks over rolling hills where spotting the enemy and issuing timely commands was half the battle; engaging the enemy in an intense firefight on a hillside with few trees, having to lie prone or seek cover behind a tree and advance and flank the enemy before they had the chance to do the same. These were indicative of a taut, harrowing military shooter that was the exact opposite of run-and-gun and all the better for it. With a next gen presentation and co-op or multiplayer options, this title should dominate all others. Can't wait.
Review 5 for Operation Flashpoint: Dragon Rising
More than expected!
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Gameplay: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:10/7/09
lil' hogge
Well this is not your normal run and gun game. Wide open area gives you the, want, to want to move extremely fast, but taking a head shot from nowhere slows you right down. This is truly a combat simulator. you must take your time, and SLOW YOUR TEAM down. They get ahead way too much and stand in front of you and when you move, they move back in front of you. This is a great game, it brings a high need of stradegy to the first person shooter, and is the only one of it's kind. Worth getting. Several side missions; First mission took 1.5 hours to complete with completing sides missions. Graphics aren't the greatest of games I have seen but for the amount of other things in the game i can compromise. Interface and controls are a little weird and take some getting used to but you can manage in about 45 minutes. The Ai is awesome, never doing the same thing twice so you cant die then restart and think they will be in the same spot because they won't, and lastly, the helicopter controls are DIFFICULT. Anyway, go buy it!!!!!
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Gameplay: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
0 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Operation Flashpoint: Dragon Rising
NOT YOUR EVERYDAY RUN & GUN SHOOTER
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:10/14/09
Tarheel757
All of you that gave this game a poor rating. Don,t know what you're talking about. I'm ex-military & a war vet. This is a real war-simulator. Not a shooter in the likes of modern warfare. Even though mod. warfare does have real wartime elements through out the game. But, this game here is real as it gets. You can't just roll up on the enemy & take them out. You definitely have to be smart when engaging the enemy. Flanking the enemy is definitely required here. The game I must admit has it flaws, like all games it is hit or miss. Ask any ex- service member about any war simulator & they'll tell you the truth on how real these games are. The enemy a.i. in this game is dead on & I do mean dead on!!! these guys rarely miss when they fire on you. This game is for real gamers that love a real challenge.This game is not for those of run & gun shooters. Because, what you do in those types of game won.t fly in real combat!!! So all of you run & gun shooters stick to those types of games, the stuff in this game is too much for you anyways & I kick tail in run & gun shooters also. Oh yeah, the military does use these types of simulators to train their personnel, ha-ha!
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
2 of 2 found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Operation Flashpoint: Dragon Rising
Great Game, a Few Bugs
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:10/18/09
kingofemus
I read all of these reviews before buying, and thought it would be a great game anyway. Boy, was I RIGHT. This game delivers an awesome, realistic storyline and online. The story isn't like COD, where you get to know the characters, but it's great anyways.This is the hardest game (on normal difficulty) I've played since PS2. It's not one of those frustrating games, but a challenge. Online is also very cool, at first it was just ok, but then I played an awesome night map where you invade a town, and it was AWESOME. It was so realistic, and AI online is really smart, and tactical. One thing online that's bad though, is there are some very laggy matches where vehicles are hard to drive. But on the plus side, helicopters are AWESOME. They're actually hard to fly, but can transport your entire team. I suggest renting before buying, as some people are noobs who just run & gun. Hit me up if you want to play or join my clan, my PSN is kingofemus.
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
Facethepain69
Indpendence, Missouri
 
Please wait while more information about Facethepain69 is loaded.
Additional information about Facethepain69 could not be loaded.
pretty good
Posted 2/27/11
this game wasn't too bad. enemy AI is just stupid so the campaign isn't to hard. but the multilayer was the funnest part of the game because then its actually sort of a challenge, but its fun. graphics are bad for the ps3, but the gameplay is kind of slow unless your in a good firefight but thats just because its suppose to be a realistic game so you have to think of a strategy instead of go rambo like in other games.but you get a rewarding kind feeling once you win a firefight or win. But all in all the isn't that bad at all, but not worth $20 at all, more like $15 or $10.
p.s. once you play annihilation make sure to make 500 respawns. dont leave it to default becuase the round ends to quick tell the host to do this if you aren''t though.
Comments (1)
Comment (1)
Review 8 for Operation Flashpoint: Dragon Rising
Dissappointing, but fun
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Gameplay: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Graphics: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Sound: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Posted on:10/11/09
wastintime
This looked like a really good game, and there was a lot of hype surrounding it, but the gameplay was sub par at best. The best way I can describe it is as a hopeful competitor to the PC versions of the original Ghost Recon series, but with worse squad controls, and more difficult interactions. The lack of button mapping is really annoying. This joins the ranks of shooters that unfortunately force you to use buttons that you don't like and there's now way around it. I don't see how button mapping isn't a standard feature on every game made today, but... I liked the effectiveness of bullets against your character and the injuries, it was very reminiscent of the Ghost Recon games and their life like play. The sneaking around and avoiding fights was great too, but somehow the gameplay just falls short, it's not exciting or engaging at all, just repetitive. The lack of an ability to customize your own weapons loadout is possibly more annoying than anything else, with the exception of 1 mission it seems like you always have a terrible gun and a terrible equipment loadout. It's a mediocre game, definitely one to rent, but I wouldn't buy it unless you're stuck in 2003 and haven't played Ghost Recon for PC.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Gameplay: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Graphics: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Sound: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Operation Flashpoint: Dragon Rising
great game!!
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:10/11/09
i <3 baseball
well this just wont compete with modern warfare 2. but even if it wont with other people it will with me it will see some playing time even in modern warfare 2 craze. well the game itself is really fun and challenging its not run and gun if you do this you will simply find yourself dead very quick. you have to choose engagement otherwise you have a better chance of failing. the multiplyer is a 7 because the only multiplayer that is worth playing is is coop story, the other games have way to big of maps for 8 people. the graphics are great they are just short of pure awsome. the graphics just make this game better. the sound is the most realistic i have ever heard. the game focuses to on what accuracy all the guns have and they have a different model for each one. like and they have amazing ai. well for engagement can be tough until you get used to it. the reason is is because u dont get wthin like 100 feet. most shot are taken from 100 meters plus because the ai arent stupid they will kill you very very fast. well if you like realistic shooters buy it, if not this game is not for you.
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Review 10 for Operation Flashpoint: Dragon Rising
Decent but missing some things
Overall Rating: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Gameplay: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Graphics: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:10/8/09
Snug
Operation Flashpoint Dragon Rising is not the sequel to the original however delivers more realism then i expected. Broken Promises and bugs hold it back from greatness however. Pros : Solid gun physics and sound effects : Simple easy to learn controls : Lots of challenge. : Decent amount of Singleplayer Gameplay : Great budget price on PC version Cons : No Mission editor in ps3 version. (False Advertising) : Bad online play with alot of bugs : Linear gameplay (No free Roam gameplay on console versions) : Dumb AI ( Actually extremely poor so far) Challenge seems to come in numbers rather then good AI. Summary. Decent game, PC version is a much better deal then console. My Recommendation is if you have consoles only... its a rent. If you own PC... its a buy. Its not what i was hoping for on my ps3 and does not even compete with the Armed assault series. However its Not Bad.
Overall Rating: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Gameplay: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Graphics: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Review 11 for Operation Flashpoint: Dragon Rising
not for cod gamers
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Gameplay: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Posted on:2/26/11
daboss47
Location: connecticut
well overall i find that this is a very good game. the graphics are fine sound and all that is fine. its a good game but only if you like the realistic tactical game play not the run and gun cod style
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Gameplay: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
2 of 2 found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Operation Flashpoint: Dragon Rising
Realistic Game Of 2009
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:10/8/09
Tr0uble860
I'll start by saying that this game is the VERY best Realistic shooter out there,You Can't run and shoot because the AI will shoot you down.So you must be on your toe's.I like the way you are sent to do some Missions and you can complete them how you want.If you have some real cool friends that loves to feel like their in a War game,Have them get this game.Everything looks so real..Don't pay anyone else any mind Gamers,This game is the best.You might like Call of Duty and I don't blame you but Call of Duty MWF is like an Arcade game...Everyone runs and shoots but on this game here ....Get ready to do what a real soldier would do to survive in this huge Maps that OFP haves to offer you...Please get the game if you like realistic true shoot out game....The only thing that I noticed was the way you control the vehicle lol Just a little stiff but that's all about it...
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Review 13 for Operation Flashpoint: Dragon Rising
Tactical game
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Posted on:12/25/10
FPShooter
Location: Florida
I found this game to be fun and challenging. It makes you stop and think about what to do next. This game is not like Call of Duty. Its not a run n gun game. You have to plan out your attack and command your team in your missions. You have to lead your team and be aware of who's injured and who need help. This game is similar to Rainbow Six Vegas 2 in the tactical sense. But instead of battling throughout the city, your on a huge island and play with an open-world experience. If you like challenging missions and like planning out attacks, not just shooting at whatever pops up, I definitely recommend you get this game.
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Operation Flashpoint: Dragon Rising
A Real-Life Shooter; No Run and Gun
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:10/23/09
LehighVILLIAN
This game is one of the most realistic "modern warfare" game that I have ever played. I started the game on campaign mode and found that the missions are very challenging; keep in mind, this challenge was only set to normal difficulty. Other difficulty levels are experienced and hardcore. As you play through the campaign you take on realistic missions, with realistic AI at your side as well as realistic AI opposition. The enemy AI thinks just like a human. They will flank your position, call in strikes on your position, suppress fire at your position, and do just about anything that the real military would do in a war mission situation. In fact, campaign became so challenging that had to play coop with some friends on the PSN, 4 brains are definately more powerful than 1. Online coop allows you to play through and end the whole game online with 3 other people. I personally like how I can target an enemy or group of enemies on the map and have my squad take them out. One particular mission had us being sniped at on a mountain top and being flanked by an enemy special ops team. to counter this I had to call in an air strike on a hostile village. Besides air strikes, their are mortar strikes too. Both air strikes and mortar strikes have various types of firing effects. If its a single target, you can call in a strike to take it out. However, you will find that multiple targets exist and therefore may have to call in a scattered airstrike to take out a whole area. I like the harrassing air strike effect. It lasts for about 2 minutes, and once it is over the AI is completely eliminated with the exception of a few lucky runners. After ending the game on normal difficulty, I felt I was ready to try the online. At first, I didn't like the online. The reason for this was that some of the vehicles were very laggy and I kept getting kicked from games. After a while I decided to create my own servers, because my internet connections is optimal. To my suscess I never was kicked again, and the vehicles or game wasn't laggy at all. The game is a 4 v 4 online, but it feels more like 32 v 32. The reason for this is that each person can pick different squads to control or be apart of. As they engage their squad into combat, there is less AI just standing waiting on orders. As squad leader you can target enemies on the map and have yoyur squad as well as others engage that group of enemies. The controls are great too. It is not a run and gun type game, so if you dare think you are the best COD, Socom RnG player, on this game you will be straight wack unless you learn how to play as a team member. Speaking of team member, this game is all about team work and you must remember this before buying it and playing it. If you are a self type of person, don't even bother buying the game. You will not like the fact that you have to tell your team what you want them to do. The AI is not dumb, they will not just run to an enemy and take the risk of getting their head blown off. Instead, they will use cover to ease up close enough to engage the enemy, just as THE REAL MILITARY UNIT WOULD DO. This game is the most realistic shooter of them all. More realistic than Socom and COD. Like I said, no run n gun here. I highly recommend anyone that loved to play Conflict: Desert Storm, Desert Storm II, Vietnam, or Global Terror to get this game. The controls and toughness of the game reminds me of thoise great true life shooters.
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
4 of 5 found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Operation Flashpoint: Dragon Rising
Go Green
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Gameplay: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Graphics: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Sound: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Posted on:12/27/09
Donny B
Do not waste your gas or money on this game. I read alot of the reviews before buying this game and all I can figure out is everyone must have a friend or family member that works at codemasters. The game stated that it only gave you a time limit for the first mission, come to find out, there is time limits on most all missions. Lets see they give you 5 minutes to get past 500 heavily armed troops and they wack you guys out before you even get a chance to get to the objective, not very life like at all, really if a branch of the armed forces sent 4 people to kill 500 there would be a court martial. Worst first shooter game ever, I recommend this to no one, if I wouldnt take such a huge loss I would trade this game in a second, I plan to take it target shooting with me next week. Thanks for nothing.
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Gameplay: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Graphics: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Sound: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
3 of 16 found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Operation Flashpoint: Dragon Rising
Great game. Review before this is biased. Thanks for making it a 5.0
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:10/8/09
GR3EN_CHRONIC
Well, I pre-ordered this game and picked it up yesterday in between my college classes. I started it up and was ready for action. Now I have played almost any and every shooter on the market at some point and I have to say this game is great. It really is the most realistic game out on the market. You can't just go all out and take 50 bullets to the chest before dying. It definitely presents a big challenge. In reference to the review before me, sure it takes long to move, but what did you really expect when it was said to be the most realistic shooter to date? You could have researched the game before buying it. You shouldn't bash the game for what it claims to be, realistic. However, the reason i gave the Controls a 9 is because you can't command on the run. You have to stop in order to command your team. It's a drawback yes, but far from making this a bad game. Another thing, which is more personal preference, is that I always preferred R1 to shoot, but that's only a personal preference. All in all if you want a game with a REAL challenge and one that you most likely won't finish in 5 hours. Then i highly suggest this game. GO BUY IT!
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Review 17 for Operation Flashpoint: Dragon Rising
pretty good
Overall Rating: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Gameplay: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Graphics: 
4 out of 10
4 out of 10
Sound: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Posted on:2/27/11
Facethepain69
Location: Indpendence, Missouri
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
i'll just sum this up... the graphics are poor for the ps3, game-play isn't bad but when you get into big firefights their fun and fulfilling. The sound is alright isn't better than bbc2 but is just alright. but the multi-player is where its at in this game. Although a lot of the players on there just got done playing CoD so they might not be thinking much when charging at the enemy but thats where I had the most fun, once you win or push the enemy back in a firefight you get a rewarding, fun feeling. all in all not such a bad game.
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Overall Rating: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Gameplay: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Graphics: 
4 out of 10
4 out of 10
Sound: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Operation Flashpoint: Dragon Rising
Ultimate Tactical War Sim
Posted on:4/2/09
andyboydinomon
I hope this one is just like the original OFP and OFP Resistance. Those were the most realistic war simulations I have ever played. Not because of the graphics but because you could go anywhere, do anything, solve your mission in a million different ways, give commands to each and everyone of your soldiers. I hope this new game isn't totally different cause OFP developers split from Codemasters and made OFP2 but called it Armored Assault or something like that. I hope that this is in the true OFP tradition with tons of map and misson editiors and moding. Hands down OFP is the best most long lasting game I ever played. Now that I only PS3 (cause I cant deal with Computers and constant upgrading) I hope that this game will fill that place in my heart to experience a complete tactical experience with tons of replay value!
Review 19 for Operation Flashpoint: Dragon Rising
challenging game
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:10/8/09
wcr1nova
This is a good game, but it's not like the first one. There is no mission editor, and I have yet to be able to drive a vehicle of any kind in the first 6 missions. The graphics are great and the concept is still on par with the first. The controlls take some getting use to and are not all that responsive. For instance; after reloading if you are holding the zoom button you have to let go and them hit it again before it zooms in. At points the game is very aggervating because you can not see the person that shot you or a gun ship that comes out of no where to take you out. Also the weapons are not that extencive, there is about three versions of U.S. or pla rifles.All in all it is a good game and i would have bought it again. I wish I had gotten it for the PC to see if there was any differences like a mission editor.
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Review 20 for Operation Flashpoint: Dragon Rising
Pure Crap
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 10
2 out of 10
Gameplay: 
3 out of 10
3 out of 10
Graphics: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Sound: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Posted on:10/15/09
AvidShooter
Let's sum this up quick and with the minimum 750 characters. What a stinking pile of crap. Solo game is so so and sub par in graphics and combat. Online...wow...did they even alpha test this crap? AI enemies sometimes take 2-5 clips of ammo to kill. Multiplayer is an 8 max lobby process in which the lag is so bad most of the time the vehicles are uncontrollable, the AI teams just walk into hails of bullets and you will get shot by the AI over an over while never getting a bead on your target. All I can say is this is the worst shooter I have seen in a long time and I have played them all in the past decade. Rent it to be sure, buy and you will smash your fist into the wall. With COD MW2 coming out I can't believe anyone who is sane would like this. This is not a realistic simulator either..it's just sub par crap.
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 10
2 out of 10
Gameplay: 
3 out of 10
3 out of 10
Graphics: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Sound: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
0 of 1 found this review helpful.
1 2 3 next>>