GameStop Ratings and Reviews

Shop Now At GameStop
Shop Software or
Choose a Category
Most Popular Products
Top Rated Product

Product Reviews

Star Ocean: The Last Hope

STAR OCEAN: THE LAST HOPE is the latest entry in the futuristic space opera RPG series, STAR OCEAN. Science fiction and fantasy meld in this long-awaited continuation of the celebrated franchise from developer tri-Ace Inc.
Average Customer Rating:
8.5
8.5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (65 reviews)
10 stars
28
9 stars
13
8 stars
8
7 stars
1
6 stars
0
5 stars
2
4 stars
2
3 stars
1
2 stars
1
1 star
2
50 out of 5886%of reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Star Ocean: The Last Hope
Review 1 for Star Ocean: The Last Hope
Amazing game living up to its predecesors...
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:8/15/10
SM
If you've played Star Ocean: The Second story on PS1 and Star Ocean: Till the end of time on ps2... then you're in for a treat! This game lived up to all my expectations to get me playing 8 hours straight a day. As crazy as that may sound my focus was not on the story but of course on the battle system incorporated into this game. Its very fun and keeps you active and thinking about what to do next and when your character dies unlike FF13 you can switch to another character and either continue with them or quickly revive your star character you choose. The game is well bought and checked out for your selves! You'll be strolling around maps for every treasure chest and after the game is over you have two dungeons awaiting you. You can expect to beat the game at around level 65, but the final wandering dungeon will require at least level 200-255 characters in order to survive this hell. Don't forget! Synthesis is important later on in the game! Especially for your own better healing items! (HINT HINT) that cannot be bought anywhere and can save you time!
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
3 of 3 found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Star Ocean: The Last Hope
Solid
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:8/24/09
Goose
This is a very solid RPG, and having played it I would buy it again. If you were a fan of Star Ocean: Till the end of Time, you will love this game. It takes the basic setup of till the end of time and adds better graphics, sound, and game play. You are immediately in the action and the tutorials as well as controls are more fluid (something that was an issue in till the end of time). If you have not played till the end of time, or even if you are new to the RPG genre in general this is a fantastic pick up. It holds the drama and acting that is cliché in the Japanese RPG realm, something you either love or hate and in this, it is definitely love. The fighting is live action, and while this has come off as forced in many recent RPGs, in Star Ocean it is one of the many highlights. It is the length of RPGs of old; you will spend days in pursuit of it. The storyline is not a drag on the play, but adds to it. A must have for the Star Ocean, or RPG, fan.
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Star Ocean: The Last Hope
Hopefully Not the Last
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Gameplay: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Posted on:2/23/09
thematthewgoodwin
Of all the Star Ocean games, this one is the most impressive in the series to date. Excellent graphics, a bit lengthier than the average role player, and it has some fun battles along the way. It does have some drawbacks of course, mostly in a Xenosaga-esque fashion; some dungeons are really long while others are really short, and movie scenes with characters are, again, either really long or really short. Some seem interesting and important, but are short, others seem a bit boring and unimportant, but are long. It's far from a game killer for anyone with some patience, but being unable to pause them can be a pain if something comes up and you have something to do or somewhere to go. Don't play unless you've got an hour or more to give to this game, or you might find yourself watching a scene or playing through an area you've already been through. All in all, a great game that bests your average game, but a few slight tweaks here and there could have made it a competitor with the big boys. Overall grade: B.
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Gameplay: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Review 4 for Star Ocean: The Last Hope
Sweet game
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Posted on:6/12/10
Mortal Draw
This game was totally epic and super fun. it starts off a little bit slow but you get sucked into the story so fast. There are a couple of sweet twists and things that you do not see coming. The final boss takes forever but that makes it all the more fun. The dungons and running around a lot get a little old and repetitive but if your looking for a great rpg with a good 40 hours of game play this is the game. It has three discs and took me most of a summer to play through. It is great for playing again and again. The numerous characters and abilities that you get to learn. Those things make you choose your charactors carfully and which abilities you use. But a big down side about the characters is that once you get to far into the game using the same characters its hard to switch to different ones because they dont level up with you, but the enemies get harder so it doesnt take to terribly long to level them up a lot. All in all this game is great, its fun, long, and the story is great. If your looking for an good xbox rpg this is it
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
1 of 2 found this review helpful.
Comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
jojoxyz123
Georgia
 
Please wait while more information about jojoxyz123 is loaded.
Additional information about jojoxyz123 could not be loaded.
Great Game
Posted 3/14/11
Im a big fan of the star ocean franchise since i started playing it on the PS2, mainly because it is real-time instead of turn based which can get really repetitive over time. The storyline is good and very easy to follow. With the exception of Lymle (who is probly one of the most annoying characters in the the game) the cut scenes are pretty fun to watch. Be warned this is not a game for people who get angered when u cant find an objective there are many puzzles and "dungeons" that can have you stumped and roaming for hours. If your looking for a good RPG and are getting tired of turn-based waiting to get hit then this is a great buy.
Comments (1)
Comment (1)
Review 5 for Star Ocean: The Last Hope
GREAT GAME
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Posted on:7/3/09
FNA X Spyda X<-my gamertag
What to say about this game. First off the graphics are amazing highly detailed. The story line is great and will hav you on your toes glued to the tv. You will most likely log in 30 or 40 hours to the game without even realizing. The high speed fighting system is still great and bosses are really hard to beat there isn't anymore 10 second bosses u may die once or twice fighting them. Iteam creation is wat really cought my eye the things u create is out off this world. There is a A LOT of monsters and symbols to fight and learn. Some parts in this game hav a lot of talking , but rpg doesn't? The side quest will lead u to parts of the game you wouldn't have gone to if you just went along in the story so stop and smell the roses u never know wat you might find. There are so many different cutscene possiblities u can see. It all depends on the person you talk to, the time, and place. Overall this game is a 10 and to sum it up in one word WOW!
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Review 6 for Star Ocean: The Last Hope
Still a great series!
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Gameplay: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Posted on:5/2/14
Kal3ido
Location: Syracuse, NY
This game is perfect for: casual gamers
The first time I played Star Ocean was for PS2 and it was Til The End Of Time and I loved it. I switched platforms and I wasn't quite sure how I would like it on the 360. The game was great. Wasn't as good as Til the end of time. I liked the story line better on that one. This one last hope, is up to par. I was not dissatisfied with game at all. If your tired of the Final Fantasy series, (which should never happen) I would recommend this to any RPG gamer or someone looking to try RPG. I beat the game a while ago, so I can't remember much details, but I did like the fighting system and the weapons.
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Gameplay: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Review 7 for Star Ocean: The Last Hope
A great game....trust me
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Posted on:5/11/09
One_Winged_Angel
I am a long time fan of rpg games and when i heard that the new Star Ocean game was out, I literally ran to go get it. The game itself is a typical jrpg with a young main character that has blond, gravity-defying hair and a life long friend/love interest along for the ride. There is a cat girl, a cyborg, and many other characters that are common in jrpg games. The storyline is overall pretty good, other than the "dramatic" twists that seem to be all to perfectly timed. The voices are ok. I noticed that sometimes the voice wouldnt match the lip motions, but i forgave that seeing as how it WAS a japanese game originally. The game is extreamly long. I have put over a month and a half into this game and still havent completely beaten it. The trophy system and alternative endings will have you going a while, not to mention unlockable difficulties to beat it on. The game froze up a bit, but I fixed this by downloading it to a hard drive and it ran fine. For those looking for an FFX type game, you may want to keep searching. But for hardcore rpg levelers, this is the game for you.
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Review 8 for Star Ocean: The Last Hope
Amazing RPG
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:3/31/09
RPGamer47
This game absolutely must be played by every gamer in the world. This is without a doubt one of the best RPG's ever made. The story is is engaging, the graphics are beautiful and the characters are top notch. Two things specifically about this game. One, the battle system is fantastic. The ability to switch which character you control at any time during the battle is fantastic. The "Rush" system is very cool, and the Special Arts, Chain Combos, and Symbology are all done perfectly. Second thing that makes this game great is the characters. First off they are all well designed and have excellent character development, but most of all , while you're playing this game you actually feel a connection to the characters, something you don't see much anymore (FF7 forever). Conclusion; if you love video games, you owe it to yourself to pick this one up. PS. Square-Enix please release this on PS3 someday
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Review 9 for Star Ocean: The Last Hope
Amazing Game All Around
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:3/14/09
Kylecat
I have not played the star ocean games of the past but I must say this game did not disappoint. It had a very great story line and a great set of core characters as well as a good cast of supporting characters. This game is very worth while the fighting is very fun and easy to understand and the boss battles do not disappoint some of them are very challenging. I recommend everyone to at least give this game a shot, the characters were very well designed and the cut-scenes were very thrilling to watch not like some games where your just agonizing over them and wanting them too end. The sound quality in this game was very good as well, the character customization was ok, it would have been better if when you equipped armor you could actually see what the armor looked like but its a small thing. So I rate this game a 10 out of 10 and I suggest you all try this game you will not be disappointed!
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Review 10 for Star Ocean: The Last Hope
Great rpg, but not perfect
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Posted on:3/6/09
Silentsniperxx
This game brings a lot of things to the table. If you enjoyed the other star oceans you will fit in really well with this game. Even kingdom hearts sort of has the same style, except you see the monsters before you enter a battle mode. The battle system I think is great. I am an avid final fantasy player, I have played them all so I know my rpgs, plus many others. But this game really is a great rpg. The voice over and the little girl saying "kay" all the time really does get annoying. But other than that this game truley is a great rpg. I would recommend it to anyone that loves a good story. I will admit I am not fully through the game yet, but so far I can say I am going to finish it. If you like to play rpg's then this is your game. It will hold you over till the next good rpg, which might not even be until FF13. So strap up boys and explore the cosmos with star ocean.
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Review 11 for Star Ocean: The Last Hope
Best Rpg Ever
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:3/28/09
Grim_Sergent
This game is so addicting. I've played Star Ocean 3 and loved it ALOT! This game did not disappoint me. The thing about it compared to Final Fantasy games is the FF games are too serious. (IMO, u might think differently) This game can have its serious moments and be kinda funny at the same time. The battle system is down right the best i have ever played out of every RPG in my life. It's not one of those boring turn based selection battles. You can control several characters, run around and dodge, do all you want in it! The story line is pretty cool too. I like this a lil better then TTEOT cause its focused on sci-fi/space. The last one focused on underdeveloped planets that looked somewhat rundown. However this game will not disappoint! It is great in my opinion and i would recommend it to anyone looking for a good RPG. Trust me, this is a great game to buy!
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Review 12 for Star Ocean: The Last Hope
Slow, boring, and difficult
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Gameplay: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Graphics: 
3 out of 10
3 out of 10
Sound: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Posted on:3/26/14
JunkGamer
Location: Lakewood, CO
I bought this game thinking it would be mildly enjoyable. I played one of the older games long ago for just a bit, and thought it was alright. I've played games with similar mechanics and enjoyed them (Tales of Vesperia) and games with similar visual styles and enjoyed them (Phantasy Star Universe) so it seemed like an obvious choice. I played for a bit, and was struck by a couple of things, at first. The graphics are PS2 quality; The render distance is pitiful and the environments could almost even be from an N64 game. I can deal with that. The combat is needlessly complicated, and feels very clunky. I'm not expecting massive polish here, either, but it's just downright awkward. Camera controls in and out of combat are strange, and half the time the camera seems to be making things intentionally difficult for you. Speaking of difficult, the difficulty curve in this game isn't a curve, it's a ledge, and when you hit it, all your characters die and you lose. If you really want to get further in the game you need to grind for XP, and that means a lot of empty battles against pointless monsters, with clunky controls and frankly irritating characters. To top all of this off the game seems to be comprised of equal parts gameplay and cutscenes. You can skip the cutscenes, and in their one, sad flash of brilliance the devs give you a quick text summary of each cutscene. Unfortunately, whether you watch the cutscenes or not you have no way of knowing what to do afterward. Probably half the time I spent playing was wandering, talking to everyone I could find, trying to figure out what I'm supposed to be doing. It even worked occasionally. Put all that together and you have a pretty irritating experience. Three disks worth of it, which seems absolutely insane to me. Definitely not worth my $10, and I can't possibly recommend this to anyone.
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Gameplay: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Graphics: 
3 out of 10
3 out of 10
Sound: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Review 13 for Star Ocean: The Last Hope
Terrible Cutscenes
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Gameplay: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Posted on:12/4/09
Annoyed white guy
This game is put together well. The problem for me is that in an RPG I LOVE cutscenes. But the dialog is so moronic, the voice acting is just plain terrible. I wound up skipping every single cutscene, they annoyed me so much. And That destroyed the feel of the game so much. I can't recommend this game to anyone. That is my pet-peeve with JRPG;s. They rock evey part of the game except for the most important. Who wants to play a RPG where you skip every cutscene? Where the voice acting feels like finger -nails on a chalk board? I tired playing the game again, after shelving it for a few months. I couldn't do it. I wound up quitting after an hour. SO, if you can handle the sheer annoyance factor of EVERY SINGLE voice in this game you'll love it. But, if you are a normal person, you'll pull all your hair out and quit.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Gameplay: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
1 of 8 found this review helpful.
Comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
xZEINZUx
 
Please wait while more information about xZEINZUx is loaded.
Additional information about xZEINZUx could not be loaded.
Posted 11/10/10
once i've seen a cutscene already, i'll skip it every time after. OR if the cutscenes are horrible, i'll skip them. BUT, if you play an RPG only for the cutscenes, you might as well be watching a movie. RPGs are known for their great stories (usually) and the amazing battles and gameplay all-together. that is what counts in an RPG and that is why this game deserves AT LEAST an 8. but, considering how well done this particular RPG is done, i'd say it deserves a 9.5
Comments (1)
Comment (1)
Review 14 for Star Ocean: The Last Hope
A must buy
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Posted on:3/12/09
jedimom
I have only played a few JRPG's so at first the characters seemed a little childish compared to Lost Odyssey. But I quickly got into the story line and haven't been able to put this game down. I am about 50 hours into the game and only on disc 3. The graphics are very detailed, the sound is great, story is compelling. I have been taking my time doing all side quests and just enjoying the scenery of some of the planets you visit. The fighting is real time and fun. There are many cutscenes and some are long, but they are enjoyable to watch. There are lots of things to do like creating food, weapons, armor, magic etc. I only wish you could actually see the armor change as you wear it, but thats how JRPG's are. I wish it was longer too, but only because I don't want the game to end. It is definitely a game worth purchasing.
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Review 15 for Star Ocean: The Last Hope
great JRPG
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:4/6/09
darkm2021
Star Ocean TLH is one of the first JRPGs on the 360 that are actually good aside from lost odyssey. The story line is great, it makes you wander what happens next, and the characters were put together well. The game is fairly easy to get a hang of, the controls are simple and there are different difficulties on which players can play. A casual gamer might want to play on earth difficulty (easy) and a hardcore gamer would want universe (hard), which is something you don't see in many other JRPGs. The game is pretty lengthy, I've been playing 24 hours so far and I'm only on the second disk out of three. The music in this game is great, the music in cinematics adds to the drama and music in towns and explorable areas remind me of some earlier JRPGs, which it's always nice to have a blast from the past. Although, as with most (if not all) JRPGs, you cant customize characters too much, you can change their armor, weapons, etc. but you can't change their look at all, but you get used to it.. This game is worthy of the 360 and PS3, but it is exclusive to the 360 (I'm not a sony fanboy, but it kind of sucks because it's a long game which increases chance of RROD)
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Review 16 for Star Ocean: The Last Hope
A Fitting Continuation of the Star Ocean Universe, Right Where It All Began.
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Posted on:2/26/09
Draconis Eldtrichtus
Having fell in love with the Star Ocean series when I first played the 3rd title in the series on a previous gen system several years ago, I learned that this wonderful series, with it's deep characters, intuitive gameplay, intruiging storyline, and great playability was a true gem in the RPG genre. I played the remakes of the first two titles, and was subsequently drawn even further into the series lengthy storyline, I wondered, like a lot of others, "What about in the beginning?". Star ocean: The Last Hope, takes those questions head on, and expands upon not only them, but on previously lightly touched elements of the series past. But not without including new elements that have yet to be touched. While graphically beautiful, gameplay isn't sacrificed for the sake of awing the player, or detracting from the game's storyline. The game itself is executed over 3 discs, and is therefore longer than other games, giving the player a lasting experience. Music is beautifully orchestrated, and Sound is nicely done. Controls are also nicely done, and easy to use. I recommend the newest title in the series, to any and all fans of the series, both young and old alike.
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Review 17 for Star Ocean: The Last Hope
Great Game
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Posted on:5/3/10
MemoriesFade
If you can live through some terrible characters, dialogue, and voice/mouth dysfunction, you're going to find an unbelievable RPG. This isn't the kind of game you buy for its captivating storyline and characters, it's the kind you buy because structurally it's one of the best RPG's out there. The item creation and weapon development got a major boost from the last Star Ocean, and that's saying a lot because it was already impressive. While the storyline might be a little too cartoonish and childish, the private actions are a nice touch that helps alleviate some of the pain. Most games don't take into account personal interactions between characters, where as this game makes it an integral part. Finally, the best part about this game, the fighting. Even the parallels to fighting are great: seeing enemies out in the map and being able to sneak up on them or have them gang up on you; and the battle board is a different approach (not as fufilling as the one from Until the End of Time, but still good). The fighting itself is also great, having a party up to 4 people and being able to flip control with 1 button to any other people makes the battle flow, but you can also pause and key up specific abilities when a little strategy is needed. The fury/shield counter is gone from this game, but it was replaced by a similar yet unique blindside system that lets you counter enemy attacks and stay alive longer against harder opponents. Real-time fighting is something hard to find in an RPG, but this game brings it and brings it well.
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Star Ocean: The Last Hope
great game
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:5/9/09
vrail
I have had it for about 2 months and I'm only on the last disc saved right before the last boss, but thats not to say that I didnt log some major hours. The main thing that I like about the game is the item creation system, I have probably spent most of my time on creating new weapons and armor, and the occasional quest item that I needed but accidently sold. Also the character development throughout the story is really amazing. The actual storyline could use a little work but it's really a good twist on the old Star Trek type of a game. If you get this game you will probably spend most of your time on side quests and monster killing to get exp so you can kill the next boss. Over all i would recommend this game if you like the type of game where you spend most of your time on leveling up and doing side quests.
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Review 19 for Star Ocean: The Last Hope
Great Game!!
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:2/25/09
rmw8780
I am currently playing Star Ocean on the PSP and just picked this up. I really like it so far, the graphics are great, the storyline is good. The only downside I see to this game so far is just the voice acting is a little off. Other than that I would recommend this game to anyone who likes RPG's. The real time monsters walking around look really good. The battle system is a little confusing though, there are certain things you must know to be able to win battles. Definitely go through the boring battle tutorial at the beginning, it is very very helpful. This is the RPG that I think we all have been waiting for. After all these disappointments that next gen rpg's have turned out to be , its nice to see something that isnt. This will tide us all over until they decide to finally release ff13 and ff13 versus.
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Review 20 for Star Ocean: The Last Hope
It was cool
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:3/15/09
King Frost67
The beginning was long and boring but once you get passed that its cool but the trees look weird really weird they let my imagination soar. overall its fun and the graphics are pretty much great. i would recommend since i love Square Enix games. its challenging since the camera angles are kinda weird and you cant have it near you its a far way view. Also the main characters name is pretty simple they should of put more effort into his name. Overall the game is interesting and long since its 3cd's long and pretty challenging in the higher categories, So far i cant complain about the story since its long and has a lot of twists and turns and its full of unexpected scenes that make you wonder. So i would recommend this game since its really fun and challenging from what i have played. hope to finish it soon.
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
1 2 3 4 next>>