GameStop Ratings and Reviews

Shop Now At GameStop
Shop Software or
Choose a Category
Top Rated Product

Product Reviews

Tenchu Shadow Assassin

Tenchu 4 continues the saga of Rikimaru and Ayame, elite ninjas who must use their lethal skills to keep the peace in feudal Japan. As loyal servants to Lord Gohda, Rikimaru and Ayame have seen much blood shed throughout their master's territory. Now an evil enemy has kidnapped Kikiu-hime, Lord Gohada's daughter. It is up to Rikimaru and Ayame to save the daughter and unmask the face of the enemy behind this treachery.
Average Customer Rating:
5.889
5.9
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (10 reviews)
10 stars
0
9 stars
3
8 stars
2
7 stars
0
6 stars
0
5 stars
1
4 stars
0
3 stars
1
2 stars
0
1 star
2
5 out of 956%of reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Tenchu Shadow Assassin
Review 1 for Tenchu Shadow Assassin
Not the Best Tenchu game.
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 10
3 out of 10
Gameplay: 
4 out of 10
4 out of 10
Graphics: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Sound: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Posted on:10/17/10
HardcoreTenchuFan
Location: Northbrook, Illinois
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
As a die-hard fan of Tenchu since the 3rd installment to the series, I personally disliked this Tenchu game. I only got this game to find out what happened in it and for collection purposes. I only play this any more than I want to just to unlock what is included in there. The story itself hardly went very far and all of it to me was confusing. I also am suspicious that this game was rushed. When I did find out about this game being released, it was exactly one year after Tenchu Z/Tenchu Senran came out in the US. Acquire might have recently gotten the rights to Tenchu back at that time. As for costumes starting with Ayame's design, it wasn't a very suited outfit for the acrobatic, cunning and wild Kunoichi and her voice wasn't very necassary for her either. Rikimaru's costume was well done, his hair wasn't exactly what is suitable for him. Same goes for Ayame's hair.
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 10
3 out of 10
Gameplay: 
4 out of 10
4 out of 10
Graphics: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Sound: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
0 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Tenchu Shadow Assassin
A Tenchu from a different perspective...
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Gameplay: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Posted on:4/24/11
Anonymous
Location: Naples, FL
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
This truly isn't a bad Tenchu game, neither is it near the best. In terms of gameplay, it's a mixed bag. Everything else is very good when compared to the rest of the series. The graphics, despite what many fans may say, are the best in the series. That doesn't really say much however the art style is superb. The music is truly soundtrack quality, the down side is just that there are a few tracks. The issue with the game is that the sword fighting is handled in the first person. As realistic as that is, the motion programming seems inaccurate, as when you swing the remote, you shouldn't twist it if you want to swing the sword in the direction required. This was almost a deal-breaker, but once I understood this, the game was fun and there are quite a few ways to have fun with the stealh kills. I recommend this to ninja fans or only hardcore Tenchu fans.
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Gameplay: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Review 3 for Tenchu Shadow Assassin
Its a new way to enjoy the series we love (and a mature title for the Wii!)
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Graphics: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Sound: 
4 out of 10
4 out of 10
Posted on:2/24/09
GameBro
If you know Tenchu like I know Tenchu, you were really excited when you heared it would be released for the Wii (if you own the system; if not, sucks for you). If you were taken back by the feel of the game at first, I can vouch for that myself, because I was like "darn it would have been sweet to play the way i'm accustomed to playing this game", but again, if you know Tenchu like I know Tenchu the feel of it is still there, we just have to be broken in a second time; control wise. Once you start progressing into the first level, you look forward to whats in store within the title (that old feeling comes back to you about approaches to the playing field). There are things to unlock, and a way to enjoy the same level from two different approaches like in prior titles, so that hasn't been lost. As you learn, the "assignments" become more capable to accomplish, and others become unlocked as you beat levels at certain rankings (especially if you accept nothing below Grand Master like myself), which is a nice incentive for doing a good job. I'm just breaking in the title, but being a huge follower of the game, I do recommend this title. The downside I have is simply a lack of online game play, the vanishing act when caught, and not being able to scale roof tops and use Katana at my disposal, but i'll live because there is enough to keep me wanting to progress in the game (its a different type of game play that un-seats our SAME OLD approach to the series). Overall, once you are broken in to the controls, you can start to appreciate the game as a new installment with its new touches to the franchise we love (Ninja chasing after stealth kills and top rankings), so grab that Wii-mote connect the nunchuk and make it do what it do Ninja. PS- Don't forget to turn out the lights......
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Graphics: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Sound: 
4 out of 10
4 out of 10
3 of 4 found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Tenchu Shadow Assassin
One of the better games for the Wii
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Posted on:2/10/09
CodyGelf
I was a bit skeptical at first when I heard about Tenchu: Shadow Assassins, the controls, the look of the game, ect. To but it simply I went purchasing this game blinded, and when I got the game I didn't open it at first because I really wanted it to be good but couldn't take to see if the game was bad just another game ("cough" Castlevania Judgement "cough"). But then I decided that I would open it, have my own opinion of the game, and then see the reviews. But thank god it is a damn fine game with great visuals for the Wii, but let me tell you about my experience with the game: When I turned on the game their was a beautiful opening that had old fashion music (that had me in awe) to set the mood, then when I got to the main menu their were three choices, story, the extra missions and stuff, and options (but trust me with all the content, you'll get your moneys worth). I will let you let you find out the story yourself but I must say voice acting is top notch and the story has good pacing, the first half of the game is you playing Rikimaru, and the second playing Ayame. the only gripe I have with the game is that you need to get used to the reflex controls but its very minor. All in all the game is great and definetly worth picking up. If Ubisoft really wants to start doing Tenchu games for Wii, then they have done it right.
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Review 5 for Tenchu Shadow Assassin
Great return for Tenchu series and stealth gameplay
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Posted on:2/5/09
Kevbo
First off, if you liked any of the old school Tenchu games then stop reading this and buy the game. It is made by Aquire who made the first 2 Tenchu games which are still the best. This is the first game that comes close to the greatness found in the first 2 titles. The controls are well implemented with great kill scene moves. On harder difficulties, you have to nail several different moves to get a good instant kill. There are tons of different kill animations that change depending on what motions you use and where the enemy is located in relation to your character. They added a lot of new ideas to this game and most of them work really well. The user interface is amazingly simple yet detailed and the graphics are very good with nice reflections and character models. The biggest change they added was the idea of one on one fighting. I first thought this would be bad, but after playing it is really fun and fast paced. You have to alternate between defending and attacking quickly which is challenging yet also fun. The music is amazing just like all the Tenchu games have been and the voice overs are actually pretty good. Finally, this game just has a great sense and overall style to it that really returns it to form. The last Tenchu game on the 360 was horrible in comparison to this one. I would suggest buying this game if you like stealth action games.
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Review 6 for Tenchu Shadow Assassin
Absolute Trash
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Gameplay: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Graphics: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Sound: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Posted on:6/3/13
StarWarsExpert
Location: the planet Hoth
This game is perfect for: kid gamers
As a die-hard Tenchu fan, I was very disappointed by the risible gameplay of Tenchu Shadow Assassins. The 1st and 2nd Tenchu games released on the Playstation console/platform were epic and still are epic, but the Wii version (particularly Shadow Assassins) is so awful. For example, there's a "voice"/someone telling you what to do while you're playing the game (i.e. "now hide in the shadows", "use stealth to attack"). Come on, are you kidding me? We don't need to be coached on how to play, while we're playing. If you buy this game and waste your money on it, I feel sorry for you.
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Gameplay: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Graphics: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Sound: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Review 7 for Tenchu Shadow Assassin
AVOID AT ALL COSTS!!!
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Gameplay: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Graphics: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Sound: 
2 out of 10
2 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Posted on:9/22/10
ninjaskilling
Location: TEXAS
This game is perfect for: kid gamers
I would like to say that i have followed the Tenchu series from the beggining. This game is an absolute trash filled game. Controls are sluggish and un responsive, the combat consists of you and your enemy taking turns swinging a sword whilst the other blocks. The voice work is horrible. I quote "I'll get you you T*RD!!" What the heck is going on here? Avoid at all costs....
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Gameplay: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Graphics: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Sound: 
2 out of 10
2 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
1 of 3 found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Tenchu Shadow Assassin
a whole different tenchu...
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Gameplay: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Graphics: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Sound: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Posted on:2/4/09
tenchufan
Ok so I have every tenchu game made since the playstation first came out and I'Il say i was a little bit dissappointed with this one. Normally I'm not a fan of hack and slash, but tenchu is one i made an exception for because you could do that or you could go for a perfect stealth mission. However, if you were spotted you could just woop up on the one or two guys who saw you. Not so much with this game. If you're spotted and you dont just so happen to have an extra sword handy Rikimaru automatically uses his ninjitsu to run away and start you back at your last checkpoint. Yes I said checkpoint. It's no longer a free roam mission set where you can move where ever you wish. You can't even get on the rooftops at will anymore!! Then there's weapons. All the tenchu games have about 20 to 25 different weapons and you can carry up to 5 different ones at a time. In this game 3 different ones and you can hold about 10 of them a piece. On top of that the controls weren't very well configured as far as im concerned, but thats entirely up to the player This game isn't so much a bad game. I still had fun playing it, but it did get kinda boring after about 2 hours where the others kept me playing till I beat the mission set. It's just a different kind of Tenchu for a completely different console I suppose. However, I would personally recommend renting or borrowing from someone before i would actually purchase.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Gameplay: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Graphics: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Sound: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Review 9 for Tenchu Shadow Assassin
Im a Ninga
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Gameplay: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Graphics: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Sound: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Posted on:9/5/11
pacmanlover
Location: USA
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
well a guy i wach on youtube called Knightwing01 reviewed this game i talt it looked fun so i got it. it is fun if u love stelth games u will like it, thays a wen u fight a boss u will go in to a sword fight that works well fore the most part but a little twichy. u will injoy sneecking up on bad guy troing nigha stars and useing the cat to see in the Dark. its funy in parts to. well bad thangs about this game well its to vilent and the Grafixs are ok but not the best we,v seen on wii. still fun.
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Gameplay: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Graphics: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Sound: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
0 of 5 found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Tenchu Shadow Assassin
about time....
Posted on:10/24/08
da bear
well i have been waiting for this to be announced and posted on gamestops release for a long time since the first trailer came about wich was around june and i spent all day and everyday looking for a u.s release and here it is when i have almost givin up hope they posted it this game is going to be awesome and a lot of people are upset that it is wii exclusive so i hope this game make non wii owners wake up and smack them right in the face i cant wait for this to come out!
0 of 1 found this review helpful.