GameStop Ratings and Reviews

Shop Now At GameStop
Shop Software or
Choose a Category
Top Rated Product

Product Reviews

IL 2 Sturmovik: Birds of Prey

IL-2 Sturmovik: Birds of Prey is based around large-scale aerial combat over the ground-based military operations of World War II. Players participate in the war's most famous confrontations piloting fighters, battle planes or heavy bombers across a range of thrilling missions. There are five seats of war to engage in - The Battle of Britain, Stalingrad, Berlin, Sicily and Korsun - representing the main airborne battles of World War II in Europe.
Average Customer Rating:
7.5
7.5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (21 reviews)
10 stars
5
9 stars
3
8 stars
1
7 stars
1
6 stars
1
5 stars
0
4 stars
1
3 stars
0
2 stars
1
1 star
1
10 out of 1471%of reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for IL 2 Sturmovik: Birds of Prey
Review 1 for IL 2 Sturmovik: Birds of Prey
The best WWII flying simulation game!!!!!!!!!
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:6/2/10
the hockey person
When I got this game a few hours ago today I was amazed of how real it was. The controls were perfect but a little tricky to understand. That's why they have you do a tutorial before you get into the campaign. You can't skip it. Then there are optional tutorials. What you learn in the tutorial is just basic controls. Now the story is kind of plain. Not a real solid story line. But the game play real makes up for that . The game play is amazing. When shoot an enemy their plane either breaks in half, or loses a wing ETC. The graphics are outstanding. They are as good at it gets. Although when you get close to the ground on some missions you see some bad textures. The buildings and trees look rushed but normal people don't fly that low anyway. The landing and crash landing is great. Oh and the bailing out is awesome. Overall, great game. 9.5/10
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
8 of 8 found this review helpful.
Review 2 for IL 2 Sturmovik: Birds of Prey
Not as epic as pc at all
Overall Rating: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Gameplay: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
4 out of 10
4 out of 10
Posted on:2/2/12
Fulcomer
Location: detroit,mi
This game is perfect for: kid gamers
il2 for the pc was a fantastic flight sim with graphics attention to detail difficulty etc, this one falls short to its little brother im sorry to say. the game is not hard its basically a fly and shoot it seems there is no chance of being shot down but in il2 for the pc when you get shot at you see flaps come off,wingtips , propellors,engine fires holes in your cockpit window holes in your plane,rudders flying off,hydralic lines being snapped but the game is not about its attention to detail while being attacked its also about being an actual flight sim with geforces , blackouts , white outs , difficulty flying in various weather conditions. in my opinion the fun in il2 for the pc is that your plane gets really really banged up and you figure out how to still fly it and be effective fighting other airplanes that are fully fuctional. all of the above is missing from this flight sim if you want a history lesson and mediocre arcade shoot em up with an airplane be my guest im sorry it didnt work for me
Overall Rating: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Gameplay: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
4 out of 10
4 out of 10
0 of 3 found this review helpful.
Review 3 for IL 2 Sturmovik: Birds of Prey
WWII flight sim
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Posted on:9/15/09
fcnomad
I used to play WWII Online some moons ago. I loved it. Well, except that the more it became popular and sophisticated the more dropped frames and choppy service I got. I was psyched to see a multi platform game that takes the essence of what I love in WWII Online and makes it better. Better graphics, smoother playability etc... I agree with a previous post that to really enjoy Il 2 Sturmovik you will need a joystick. The standard control blob makes for imprecise and sometimes frustrating lack of control. At the end of the day, it is what it is and no more- a very good and satisfying WWII dogfight flight sim that provides short missions and decent online action. If you get into it seeking historic WWII air action and not expecting a modern day lightning fast jet powered air combat scenario then its hard to imagine not liking this game. Its not a "10" but its certainly no "5" either. People with reasonable expectations will be happy.
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 4 for IL 2 Sturmovik: Birds of Prey
WWII Flying never looked nor felt better
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Posted on:6/18/11
mayorwestify
Location: Seattle, WA
This game is perfect for: casual gamers
Just picked this title up last week on a whim, I was really in the mood for a flying game and this title does just that for me. So far I've clocked 10 hours of game play and I'm truly enjoying the experience. This game serves up the era of planes perfectly and it does show very well in the graphics department. The game play is fun so even the amateur player can enjoy with enthusiasm. I really like the visuals of the game, cock-pit view, 3rd person and sometimes your put as the tail gunner, all aspects are well done. Plane designs are spot on and damage control on each part is very well created. It gives you a real sense of urgency when your plane is all shot up, just look out your window! So far I'd say for a console flying game it beats all other rivals in the flying genre. I would recommend this title to all gamers who enjoy flying combat and the era. Definite buy! My next goal is to go online with this baby.
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 5 for IL 2 Sturmovik: Birds of Prey
This is a very good flight sim
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Posted on:12/8/11
Flybirds
Location: Texas
This game is perfect for: casual gamers
Ya know I just don't get some people, they play FPS games and then try a flight simm and think it should look and act the same. Not quite. Anyway this is a very great game for the Hard Core gamer and Casual Gamer if you want to fly actual missions from WW II pilots. You can fly different planes in different country's on different missions, stick to the mission or fly free. The controls are better than some and easy to get use to. Over all it's a very good game. I've finished the game on normal and hard and will keep playing this one for some time. I have NO plans to sell it. And Yes, I have a number of FPS games as well as flight simms. Have fun, Never fly straight!
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
6 of 8 found this review helpful.
Review 6 for IL 2 Sturmovik: Birds of Prey
IL-2 + flightstick = brilliant!!
Posted on:8/4/09
Anonymous
This is a different version of IL-2 than what is available on the PC. The PC version is several years old and a bit more difficult. "Birds of Prey" is a console exclusive. I played the demo for this game and was rather frustrated at first due to the limited freedom in reassigning controls. However, I recently bought the Saitek Aviator flight stick and it makes a world of difference! Now I'm enjoying the game instead of fighting the controls. I'll be getting this game upon release, and I suggest that anyone else who picks it up also get a flight stick if they want to enjoy the game to it's fullest potential.
3 of 3 found this review helpful.
Review 7 for IL 2 Sturmovik: Birds of Prey
A Tremendous Console Achievment!
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:9/8/09
UnprofessionalGamer
The first thing I could say about this game is that it's strictly Awesome! IL-2:BoP is not without a few issues, primarily in the multiplayer. However, they are already in the process of fixing them. IL-2 provides updates on the fly, whereby you don't have to go to the marketplace, wait on a long download, then finally get around the playing the game. The multiplayer modes, Dogfight, Team Battle, Capture the Airfield, Strike, bring a great level of depth to the multiplayer that isn't normally offered to console flight sims. The battles range anywhere from long Strike missions, where providing air cover to your team's bombers is crucial, to the fast paced, absolutely chaotic Capture the Airfield, where multiple planes are vying for an airfield under realistic conditions. The aircraft couldn't be better! Unlike most games, the planes in IL-2 are modeled directly after their real-life counterparts, both in astonishing graphic detal and performance. There is no "one-size-fits-all" plane. This is the first time on a console flight sim where you actually needed to know the capabilities of your aircraft as well as the capabilities of your enemy. For example: an Fw-190 A5 is engaged with a Spitfire Mk IX. In previous games like Blazing Angels™, there was no real tactic involved, you held down the padlock button and spun in a circle until somebody quit. In IL-2, you are absolutely required to play to the strengths of your aircraft and the weaknesses of the enemy if you want to live. The Spitfire has a much tighter turning radius than the Fw-190A5, but the 190 in turn can dive away from the Spitfire effortlessly, as was the case in real life. In order for the Spitfire to win he needs to get the Fw-190A5 into a turning fight, whether the 190 will engage in a turning war depends entirely upon the thinking of the pilot. Likewise, the 190 can zip in and out, making high-speed passes on the Spitfire, using the heavy cannons onboard to poke holes in the wings. Tactics matter in this game! If you are looking for a Blazing Angels™ clone, this is not the game for you. IL-2:Birds of Prey offers an unparalleled depiction of the realism of air combat in WW II. I am a pilot in the real world and I will certaintly testify to the fact that the planes handle exactly as a piston-engine aircraft would. Another great feature is the dynamic damage system. There is no catch-all damage system where you can hit the enemy anywhere and it just takes X amount of damage until it explodes. If you hit the enemy in the wing, it becomes harder to control your roll rate and the plane loses some lift. If you hit the plane in the engine, the plane doesn't magically explode, the plane will run as long as it can until the engine quits, at which time you become a glider. That's reality. Another aspect to the dynamic damage is how precise it really is. You can hit an aircraft with a liquid-cooled engine and knock out the coolant system, which will lead to the eventual overheating of the engine. The affected pilot can then take limited preventative measures to keep his aircraft up just a little bit longer, such as entering a dive to help cool the engine a little, and it will work for a time. When your plane is hit in IL-2:BoP, you don't instantly start smoking, leaving a trail for everyone to follow. If you are hit in the engine and start losing oil pressure, which you can do in this game and it matters, a lot, then yes, you leave a trail of thick black smoke. By the same token, if you are leaving a trail of oil vapor and the pursuing aircraft gets into the trail his cockpit can become covered with the remnants of your oil, thus making it harder for him to see and shoot you. Likewise, if you are hit in your fuel system, you begin leaving a trail of fuel behind your aircraft and you will gradually run out. That's reality. Half of the fun in this game is simply discovering all of the different aircraft that are available and then learning their strengths and weak
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
9 of 10 found this review helpful.
Review 8 for IL 2 Sturmovik: Birds of Prey
Great from a flight standpoint
Posted on:8/10/09
UnprofessionalGamer
I have been playing the demo for this game now since it first came out and I have to say, I'm pretty impressed. As a pilot, I can tell you that the flight dynamics on realistic and simulator are very accurate. The arcade mode should be enough to pacify the button-mashing kids while the other modes cater more towards the sim crowd. Flight wise, there is none of the good old Blazing Angels 'hold down the trigger and spin in a completely unrealistic circle.' If you overbank without adjusting your rudders, you enter a spin, and that is exactly what would happen in a real plane. The multiple views seem to be a nice feature as they allow for players of all different familiarities with flight to stay in the game. Perhaps the most interesting feature to me is the fact that on realistic/simulator, when you fire your guns the plane reacts. Like it or not, that is what would happen if you were to fire the guns on a piston-engine fighter and it forces you to think more about the overall picture, instead of just flying around holding down the trigger, desperately hoping to hit something. I have seen a few people talking about how they love flying games, yet they don't think this is a realistic game, or it's too hard and needs to be more arcade. Realistically, unless you're carrying a pilots license you have no actual idea how a piston-engine aircraft would react to a violent maneuver. You don't just magically recover from a stall at 100' without serious corrective action. I am really looking forward to this game as it has been a long time since we had a game on the 360 that forced you to think, fly and shoot at the same time, if we ever really had a flying game with that much depth. The multiplayer, provided they allow us to make it so that people have to at least use the realistic settings, should be great and it will seperate those with actual knowledge of flight from the wannabes that have only logged flight time from in front of a tv. On a wish-list type note, it would be interesting if they added variable weather so that we had to deal with all different situations and how they affect the aircraft. I know they have included takeoffs and landings, as well as flap settings, so why not give us some crosswind landings and short/rough field takeoffs/landings. That's something I would want to be optional, cause they're a pain in a real plane and I could see where a lot of players would consider that drastic overkill if they were forced to do it. Anyway, it looks like a good game, should be fun and a real challenge, and if you want to comment on or otherwise complain about how realistic their portrayal of piston-engine aircraft is, get a pilots license first or else you really don't have anything meaningful to contribute on the realism subject to the developers.
5 of 6 found this review helpful.
Review 9 for IL 2 Sturmovik: Birds of Prey
AWESOME gAme
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:7/19/11
sodalover123
Location: Durham, CT
This game is perfect for: casual gamers
This game is beutiful, it completly captures the real feel of flying a plane-Yes I have flown a plane-and the option of a cockpit view makes this game so much more realistic. I bought this game because I love airplanes and this game blew me away. I would reccomend this game to anyone! WOOHOO!
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
2 of 2 found this review helpful.
Review 10 for IL 2 Sturmovik: Birds of Prey
Very well done
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Posted on:5/28/10
artillerygrunt
As a hardcore fan of flightsims, i couldn't wait to try this one out. i have been playing flightsims since the atari days, and few have stood up to my standards. i have loved the acecombat series, and the heroes of series. I have enjoyed some lesser known ones as well. However, i was completely blown away by this one. it is realisic, but not so hard as to make it frustrating. i loved it so much, that i went out and bought a flightstick just to make it that much more realistic. there are a few issues that bother me, such as that annoying mustang roll issue when you are pitching up at high speed, but not enough to be too much of an issue. also, the "guided" bombs and rockets detract from the realism, but again, not enough to cause an issue. as far as flightstick performance, i got the saitek av8r. all the functions are snappy, and the game is highly responsive to the stick with one VERY annoying exception. you seem unable to brake once you have landed. there may be a way to do it, but so far, i haven't figured it out. all in all, i would recommend this game to anyone, and i will be playing it for years to come i imagine. a good buy.
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Review 11 for IL 2 Sturmovik: Birds of Prey
Could Have been Better
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 10
4 out of 10
Gameplay: 
2 out of 10
2 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Posted on:9/5/09
Mustang
Well I had high hopes for this game but it just falls short for me. Game is very short and very easy even on the realistic level. I love IL on pc but it just does not work on the 360.. There is no sense of speed what so ever in the game yes I know these are WWII planes. The controls are very mushy and awkward might be better with a flight stick which I dont have.. the visuals are great along with the sound thats about it. The missions in the game are very short. The AI in the game is pretty weak as well. when you are in a dogfight a few banks and rolls your on the AI's six bang he's dead just way to easy. Also the ground attack missions way to eay just shoot a few rockets everything blows up again way to easy. The game is good just for a rental but play it for yourself and decide.
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 10
4 out of 10
Gameplay: 
2 out of 10
2 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
1 of 17 found this review helpful.
Review 12 for IL 2 Sturmovik: Birds of Prey
The best Flight Sim Ever hits Console
Posted on:5/19/09
DESODE
What can I say Sturmovik is the Best of the Best! I can't wait for this game, and knowing that support for the Ace Edge 360 Flightstick is confirmed makes me want it even more. The game looks Amazing, I mean it is the most beautiful game on the 360 I have ever seen. I have played this for years on the pc and I'm also glad to report that this game will still retain the hard core realism that it has always had on the pc releases, in a realism mode. For all the noobs out there it will also have a Arcade mode. This is a must get for any flight game fan! Preorder it NOW!
0 of 2 found this review helpful.
Review 13 for IL 2 Sturmovik: Birds of Prey
Hope its good
Posted on:7/20/09
Miz
I have already bought this game on the PC. And while there is a steep learning curve, it is none the less a fun game. And I have a large interest in flight games of all sorts. But I like using Piston Engine fighters a lot more. It seems there is more skill involved with piston fighters being you have to get up close and personal to use your guns. Much better then using missiles for miles out. Anyway, if this is anything like its PC brother, this like Hero's Over Europe, will be a sure buy for me.
Review 14 for IL 2 Sturmovik: Birds of Prey
not bad not good
Overall Rating: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Gameplay: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Graphics: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Sound: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Posted on:6/9/12
W3R0
Location: CALIFORNIA
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
well this game is not bad but is not good either is in the middle i try other ww2 flight games like Blazing Angels 1 n 2 and i think this game is better in some ways well in my opinion when i bought blazing angels i return the game the next day and this game im sure i want to keep it i like it more so if u looking for a ww2 flight game this a good game but u should try blazing angels 2 first im keeping this game so give it a try this game is good for the price
Overall Rating: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Gameplay: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Graphics: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Sound: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
0 of 3 found this review helpful.
Review 15 for IL 2 Sturmovik: Birds of Prey
My Favorite Flight Sim on the 360!
Posted on:11/2/08
SpitfirePilot
I'm extremely excited about IL-2 on the the 360. Now, I know it won't have the full detail nor the wonderful mods that go along with the PC version but...you'll get the sweet echo of the achievement bloops and probably some extra downloadable content as well. I've seen a few trailers and it will have that uniqueness that is the cornerstone of the developers of that most beautiful flight sim...It couldn't come out soon enough!!!
Review 16 for IL 2 Sturmovik: Birds of Prey
Definitely
Posted on:6/11/09
Mr. Person
I love all air to air combat games. Ace Combat series is one of the best out there. If they make sure this game has all the best aircracft and missions, this could be a huge hit, just like ace combat. there has to be variety of aircraft, and there must be AI's smart enough to help you, just like ace combat. I always wanted a WWII flight sim. this could the answer to what i have been longing for a long time.
Review 17 for IL 2 Sturmovik: Birds of Prey
If it anything like the PC
Posted on:10/27/08
Miz
If this game is anything like the PC version then I can see me getting this, maybe it has something to do with the fact I love flight sims/arcades. I loved Blazing Angels as well as my favorite ACE COMBAT 6. So it seems as if I will get this one. I wish there was more on the 360. Anyway it is a lot of fun on the PC. And I am looking forward to hearing more about this one.
Review 18 for IL 2 Sturmovik: Birds of Prey
Beast.
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Posted on:12/25/12
bagpiper
Location: austin TX
This game is perfect for: casual gamers
This is like, the best game ever. The graphics are AMAZING! I love flying at full speed at an enemy plane then bailing out and letting my empty plane take them out. In the first level of the demo you are fighting near the white cliffs of Dover, I love just flying around and looking at all the sights.
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Review 19 for IL 2 Sturmovik: Birds of Prey
Good game but don't get it for multiplayer.
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Gameplay: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Graphics: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Posted on:4/27/11
wKYRudy24
This game is perfect for: casual gamers
the game is overall good the plane graphics are good but toward the ground and the buildings the graphics are poorly constructed. The game is real easy to get use to. Overall its a good buy at a cheap price.
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Gameplay: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Graphics: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Review 20 for IL 2 Sturmovik: Birds of Prey
Worst game ever
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Gameplay: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Graphics: 
4 out of 10
4 out of 10
Sound: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Posted on:11/13/11
nickyxbox
This game is so boring and hard to understand. I would rate this a 0. I wanted to return it after 15 minutes. DO NOT BUY! Not worth a penny.
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Gameplay: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Graphics: 
4 out of 10
4 out of 10
Sound: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
0 of 21 found this review helpful.
1 2 next>>