GameStop Ratings and Reviews

Shop Now At GameStop
Shop Software or
Choose a Category
Top Rated Product

Product Reviews

IL 2 Sturmovik: Birds of Prey

IL-2 Sturmovik: Birds of Prey is based around the large-scale aerial combat and ground military operations of World War II. Players can participate in some of the war's most famous battles piloting fighters, battle planes and heavy bombers across a range of thrilling missions. There are five theatres of war to engage in - The Battle of Britain, Stalingrad, Berlin, Sicily and Korsun' representing the main airborne battles of World War II in Europe.
Average Customer Rating:
8.333
8.3
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (16 reviews)
10 stars
5
9 stars
3
8 stars
2
7 stars
0
6 stars
1
5 stars
0
4 stars
0
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
1
10 out of 1283%of reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for IL 2 Sturmovik: Birds of Prey
Review 1 for IL 2 Sturmovik: Birds of Prey
first one to play and leave review
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:9/5/09
The-_-Professor
well bought it yesterday the 5th sept.2009 loads up nice doesn't take long to install no patch as of last night so far really fun most true leading on firing inawhile from an aviation game theres's only three settings for controls arcade wich is the easiest and gives you a leading target to get perfect shots realistic is not as easy but not hard either the sim is the hardest with flaps and trim button and no lead target the bad thing is you can't customize controls .. they give you 12 or so trainging misson then after main misson they give you option to di a secound misson most are just to land wich is pretty diffucault when not on arcade mode. it's real smooth gameplay and good hit detecation online play haven't giving it a try yet...single player is based on how long how many times and how many friendlys go down for points all and all i give it a total of 7.90 for game play and 9 for graphics also a 10 for enteraintment and also they give you airplanes from before 1942 to 1945
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
1 of 3 found this review helpful.
Comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
yayo
orlando
 
Please wait while more information about yayo is loaded.
Additional information about yayo could not be loaded.
awesome!!!!!!
Posted 3/9/12
one of best flying sims to date
Comments (1)
Comment (1)
Review 2 for IL 2 Sturmovik: Birds of Prey
Glad to own this!!
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Posted on:9/14/10
yfz450rdr
Location: Pittsburgh,PA
I bought this game as a game to just "pass time". I didn't have any games for PS3 that were about fighter planes. I was always a fan of the Ace Combat series for earlier consoles's, so I figured I would give it a try. For a game under 20.00 this is an awesome game!! The initial download when you first put it in the PS3 is my only complaint. Other than that, have no worries when purchasing this title!!
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
5 of 5 found this review helpful.
Review 3 for IL 2 Sturmovik: Birds of Prey
Realism meets Fun
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Gameplay: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Posted on:10/2/11
Echo47
Location: Chattanooga, TN
I've been playing flight simulators since the early 1990's. My repertoire consists of Chuck Yeager's Air Combat, Microsoft Combat Flight Simulator, and the Ace Combat Series. So, you could say that I know what a good flight simulator consists of. I can tell you that this is the most realistic WWII combat flight simulator on the market for the PS3. The Arcade Mode enables novice gamers to enjoy the game without being overwhelmed, while the Simulator mode better suites the more experienced fliers. The graphics are solid, could be a bit smoother but nothing to complain about. The controls are easy to learn AND realistic: Each plane handles differently. The sound is great: listen as comrades and enemies alike shout over the radio as you maneuver the skies. A must-buy for WWII air combat gamers, young and old alike.
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Gameplay: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 4 for IL 2 Sturmovik: Birds of Prey
Good flight Sim
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:3/8/10
Dollon
I got this two days ago. I got to admit when i first turned it on I was like boring, but then I got better and better and now I can't stop playin it. You got 50+ missions and multiplayer,and tons of different WW2 airplanes.You do bombiing missions and dog fights.I also has online. I haven't triend multiplayer yet but if the mission are as good as they are the multiplayer should be better.The view is amazing . When you play over a urban area it looks like you are really in a plane and lookin down,and when you shoot a plane out it make a reealistic explosion when it hits the ground When you shoot a enemy in the wing his wing will fall off ,and If you shoot it in the engine it will go up in flames. This game is one of the best i've played in a while. I would deffintely recomend this to a friend.
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
2 of 3 found this review helpful.
Review 5 for IL 2 Sturmovik: Birds of Prey
Great Game! Good for plane fans!
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Posted on:3/23/11
Marine17
Location: Dallas, Texas
This game is perfect for: casual gamers
I bought this game last friday and will never turn it back in. It is simply the best combat simulator out there and is perfect on my shelf. I love how you can go to cockpit view or a different view. I also like how you can select your plane in instant action but i wish there was a cockpit view for the BF 109 which there is only a cockpit view for the planes you flew in campaign.
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
3 of 4 found this review helpful.
Review 6 for IL 2 Sturmovik: Birds of Prey
Great game
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:10/28/10
buckeyes
Location: Dyer,in
This game is perfect for: casual gamers
I Got this game about a weak ago and is great ! The graphics are just as Good as Modrn warfare 2, and the campan is very long 50 Missions, The onlin is not very big but you can still fnd people to battle with online and but there is no lag at all wich makes it a great.
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
3 of 4 found this review helpful.
Review 7 for IL 2 Sturmovik: Birds of Prey
FINALLY
Posted on:7/8/09
CGBish
I know a lot of people that have been waiting for a game like this to come out on the PS3. There have been aviation games for the XBox 360, like Blazing Angles, that have been huge successes. I think that this game will be a big hit among a lot of people because the game can take full potental of the next-gen system's abilities. There will be 50 missions! That alone says that the game developers have put a lot of time into this game and it isn't just going to be one of those experimental games. I know that I am going to get this game and I will recomend it to all of my friends and family that own a PS3.
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 8 for IL 2 Sturmovik: Birds of Prey
PC or Not PC???
Posted on:3/3/09
Miz
I have one of these games on my PC. And in that case I feel this will be a game I will buy. I enjoy a lot of flight games. I have both the 360 & PS3 so I'm unsure of which to get it for. On the one hand it seems that Xbox live and everything to do with the live area is a lot more user friendly. However I have also been through 8 systems. As for the PS3 I just bought one about 3 weeks ago. (no problems yet) However its online aspect (the store & online) is not at all user friendly like the XBOX is. I also like the 360's Achievements over Sony's trophies. So I guess I'll wait for more info on this game and see if there will be any large difference between the two. However at any rate I will be getting this game because if its anything like the PC then I'm pretty sure I'll like it. Hope its like its PC parents.
Review 9 for IL 2 Sturmovik: Birds of Prey
The greatest generation has their game
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Posted on:9/3/09
Tuco_az
IL-2 strurmovik:birds of prey, stands alone in both consoles as thee WW2 fighter sim. My understanding is that there is no differance between the PS3 and xbox versions. I bought the PS3 versions. IL-2 is known for mostly catering to the hard core flight sim player. This game has not left those people out. What IL-2 has done is invited everyone eles in as well. While most ariel fighters games present and coming soon, are strictly arcade, IL2 covers all the bases. You start in arcade mode, and unlock reailty and sim as you advance. So if flying cazy is youjr cup of tea or if stalling because you turned to hard is more you, IL-2 has it. IL-2 is sure to have DLC, after I installed to game to HD, the game automatically went looking for DLC. So I know there's gonna be crazy downloads coming. See you over Berlin
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Review 10 for IL 2 Sturmovik: Birds of Prey
Let down. Frusting controls
Overall Rating: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Gameplay: 
4 out of 10
4 out of 10
Graphics: 
2 out of 10
2 out of 10
Sound: 
4 out of 10
4 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
2 out of 10
2 out of 10
Posted on:6/11/14
DukeofLeeds
Location: Wichita, KS
It can take forever to shoot things down because of the bad controls. the graphics don't help, in fact they can make it to where you don't see somethings clear enough to avoid/kill them.
Overall Rating: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Gameplay: 
4 out of 10
4 out of 10
Graphics: 
2 out of 10
2 out of 10
Sound: 
4 out of 10
4 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
2 out of 10
2 out of 10
Review 11 for IL 2 Sturmovik: Birds of Prey
Totally Overated
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Gameplay: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Graphics: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Sound: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Posted on:1/4/11
Marchbaby
Location: Colorado
I heard such great reviews of this game so I decided to check it out. I got my copy for $20 a little while ago but based on the reviews I though I was getting a steal I was really misinformed. The Graphics are OK but I honestly think overall but the lack of almost any Allied AI and infinite lives in campaign mode except in the challenge missions in a game claiming to be realistic is pretty bad. Although you may get 3 different views the game is almost impossible to control except from the view behind the plane. The tutorials are boring and long and the things you unlock from them are not very impressive.Although it is nice to see that you have to go into a mission with a set plane but it can get boring not being able to select the plane you want to fly in which would have been cool even if only on arcade difficulty and the others were set due to the harder difficulties being more realistic. Health wise is pretty accurate except for hits from 30mm cannons such as an ME 262 which is underpowered when the computer controls it.Buildings look OK in the game but they are not even close the the planes which themselves are OK but lack enough detail when damages such as a bullet hitting the wing but no hole appears in some cases.Overall the game is a waste of time. In my Opinion either try out Heroes Over Europe or wait for Ace Combat Assault Horizon.
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Gameplay: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Graphics: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Sound: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
0 of 14 found this review helpful.
Comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
someguy212
 
Please wait while more information about someguy212 is loaded.
Additional information about someguy212 could not be loaded.
see your point but...
Posted 1/11/11
still i love birds of prey, so realistic, in my opinion, i played heroes over europe, but the graphics were like ps2, but still a good game, and i cant wait for assualt horizon, but im just saying, try il2 online!
Comments (1)
Comment (1)
Review 12 for IL 2 Sturmovik: Birds of Prey
great game
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:10/27/10
buckeyes
Location: Dyer,in
I got this game last week and it is great. The graphics are just as good as Modern warefare 2, and the campaign is very long 50 missions, The online is not that big right know but you can still find people to battle with and anouther great thing is there is no lag at all online wich makes it a great experence. and for for 20.00 bucks it is better than most games that cost 60.00 includeing modation and medal of honor
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
1 of 3 found this review helpful.
Review 13 for IL 2 Sturmovik: Birds of Prey
Played the beta
Posted on:9/1/09
Dekay
from PSN.. It's quite nice. It's good to see a more realistic flight sim on the PS3 (although you can play it arcade style aswell.) Graphics/FPS are surprising good considering how much action is going on on your screen at once. Damage is modeled like the original IL-2 (PC), like holes in the wings, engine damage etc and that affects your planes performance. Sound is on par. Demo missions are fun. So far it looks like a winner so I've pre-ordered it.
Review 14 for IL 2 Sturmovik: Birds of Prey
Classic Warbirds
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Posted on:12/31/11
blitzHappy
Location: Dallas, TX
This game really impressed me. Everything about it was realistic, from the maneuverability of each individual aircraft right down to the sound of the antique propeller-driven turbines churning through the war-torn skies. If you like realism and WWII thrill, it's definitely worth a spin!
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
0 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 15 for IL 2 Sturmovik: Birds of Prey
GOOD SO FAR
Posted on:8/22/09
BeastatCOD
I tried the demo of this game for PS3 and it had a lot of potential to be a good game. Its fun, the controls are easy to get used to, and its very realistic. this game will take the #1 spot for WWII airplane games. Its really cool.
0 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 16 for IL 2 Sturmovik: Birds of Prey
AWESOME GAME !!!!
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Posted on:8/30/11
jboz
Location: New Hope, MN
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
I bought this today.Put it in my PS3 and played it and it was so awesome. If you like planes.This is the game to get !! It's only 12.99 pretty cheap. It's worth the money! IL-2 WORTH IT!!!
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10