GameStop Ratings and Reviews

Shop Now At GameStop
Shop Software or
Choose a Category
Most Popular Products
Top Rated Product

Product Reviews

The Chronicles of Riddick: Assault on Dark Athena

With The Chronicles of Riddick: Assault on Dark Athena, players will not only be challenged to survive Butcher Bay, but will also engage in a new single-player experience and, for the first time in the Riddick universe, take action in intense multi-player combat. The game introduces the ominous Merc-ship Dark Athena, which sits silent like a marauding spider, awaiting helpless prey in the dark reaches of the galaxy. Players must face a large, bloodthirsty operation led by the dreaded Captain Revas and her slaves-turned-controllable combat drones, storm though death-defying events and fight fierce enemies in a battle of malice and gore.
Average Customer Rating:
8.5
8.5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (28 reviews)
10 stars
7
9 stars
5
8 stars
1
7 stars
0
6 stars
2
5 stars
0
4 stars
0
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
1
13 out of 1681%of reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for The Chronicles of Riddick: Assault on Dark Athena
Review 1 for The Chronicles of Riddick: Assault on Dark Athena
Riddick
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Posted on:4/23/09
Also A Customer
I played Escape from Butcher Bay a long time ago and absolutely loved it. Playing as the baddest character in the universe was something that just blew my mind. When i heard that a new remake AND expansion were coming out, I jumped for joy. Riddick easily competes with games like Halo and Gears of War because it is a fun game to play. The graphics amazed me when i first turned on the game, and truthfully, how many games let you see your feet and shadows. Although the graphics downgrade as you play online, the offline gameplay is marvelous. Shadows are the key, so if you're a run-and-gun person then steer away from this game. Vin Diesel shines as his Riddick character, and he is monotone because that's who Riddick is, a hard guy who does it his own way, but when something is truly horrible that someone does, then they get messed up. I highly recommend this game for Vin Diesel fans and stealth fans alike, but run-and-gunners, try it and see what you think. You may find that you have a new style.
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
4 of 4 found this review helpful.
Review 2 for The Chronicles of Riddick: Assault on Dark Athena
Vin diesels Best Game
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:4/15/09
NativeSk8er
I think this is one of Vin Diesels game ever made about him & his movie. Butcher bay remastered is way better than the regular xbox game. It keeps you wanting more and more. The biggest thing about this game you should know is if you like Stealth kills, and a guy with a bad attitude of the Dark side. Cause both games on one disc will give you exactly that. I've played butcher bay over and over again, and still find it interesting, just because the sweet ways you can execute a enemy. This game also online, which i haven't played, but since i heard it really wants me to try it online. Also i had the old Xbox menu on my system, and this game updated it so i could make my own avatar, and changed the xbox 360 menu so it looked more advance, So in other words, this game was worth every penny of it due to the storyline,stealth kills,Riddicks Attitude, and how close it came to feeling like how it was in the movies he made like Pitch black, and Chronicles of Riddick.
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 3 for The Chronicles of Riddick: Assault on Dark Athena
Fantastic Game
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:4/7/09
deathb10w
This game is a great addition for anyone who enjoys the Riddick character and for most that don't. Butcher Bay is just as good as it used to be but with better lighting and textures. The Dark Athena chapter is also a very good story. With both campaigns, you are most likely looking at 20 hours of gameplay. The Voicing is done beautifully in this game. Vin Diesel delivers the monotone voice because that is how Riddick spoke in the movies, so it would be dumb for him to change it. Graphically, it holds up well with other 360 games(as Butcher Bay did 5 years ago). The game will offer you quite a challenge as well, so don't expect to breeze through it. Pitch Black mode online can also be quite a bit of fun and offers some suspense. Overall this is a great game and anyone who digs the Riddick Universe(and even most that don't now the Riddick stories) will love this game. Look up some reviews of Escape From Butcher Bay to get some closure if you are considering purchasing.
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Review 4 for The Chronicles of Riddick: Assault on Dark Athena
Simply Amazing
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:4/13/09
SoD PH0B1A
Alot of people are saying this game is terrible because of the health, sneak and weapons systems but their just mad because they don't have the problem solving skills necessary to complete this game. there is two great games on one disk, you have butcher bay (remastered version) and assault on dark athena. ill start with the pros and cons of butcher bay. I personally find it to be a great game, and the sneaking around in the dark makes it so much more fun! After all we are talking about riddick who's near invincible in the dark. this game has great execution moves and every weapon has two so its always great to switch it up. the only thing i hated about it was the voice overs. in dark athena you have to be more stealthy because every enemy will have a gun. the story line in athena is not as good as butcher bay and the voice overs are just as bad but the gameplay is much more action packed. all together both chapters will take about 20 hours to beat. this game has an online mode that kinda feels like unreal tournament 3. i don't really care for the online modes but i would definitely recommend this to anyone who is a fan of the movies or enjoyed butcher bay on xbox 1.
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 5 for The Chronicles of Riddick: Assault on Dark Athena
Awful
Overall Rating: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Gameplay: 
4 out of 10
4 out of 10
Graphics: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Sound: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Posted on:4/7/09
a customer45
I bought this game toady thinking it would be great but it is not.First off the gameplay is all centered around stealth and gunplay which is fine if it worked good.But the controls for melee are awkward and hard to use,the guns don't seem to pack a punch plus you cant aim down the sights.The story of this game is awful and takes itself too seriously and vin diesel delivers one cheesy one liner after another.The graphics look like a two year old game and most environments have aliasing issues.The AI is just plain dumb and will only rush you or hide.i have played the multiplayer and it is even worse than the single player it is laggy and way too cheesy to get hooked on.Please save yourself the money and buy another game Yes you get two games in one disc but they aren't that great this is definitely a game you should rent first or buy used.I will be selling in my copy shortly.
Overall Rating: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Gameplay: 
4 out of 10
4 out of 10
Graphics: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Sound: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
0 of 3 found this review helpful.
Review 6 for The Chronicles of Riddick: Assault on Dark Athena
Starbreeze is out doing themselves again!!!
Posted on:2/23/09
Master Ninja 84
I've played the original Chronicles of Riddick on xbox; and I thought " this is the start of something big". Now Fast forward a few years to today and now Starbreeze is not only re-releasing the game that made them synonymous with visual story telling, but adding not only a new campaign, but also multiplayer? Wow! I honestly cannot wait to play the original story (yes again) but also get to experience the new story and multiplayer. Before i played the original on xbox, I never heard of Starbreeze. Now, after that game and The Darkness to me personally they are a household name. I'm always impressed with what these guys do, and will always be impressed. To put it simply (too late), I can' t wait for this game to be released on the masses. Once again, the guys at Starbreeze are proving to us again why their games are always worth the wait.
Review 7 for The Chronicles of Riddick: Assault on Dark Athena
Best Game EVER!!!
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:4/5/10
Toofast4u1964
I highly recommend this game, first your paying the price of 1 game for 2 games. I played the original butcher bay, and now that they remastered it, it is so nice. Combat is amazing, and since the original butcher bay they tweaked the finishing counter so its a lot easier to reverse a move and kill the guy. Dark Athena was nice but the only disappointment was Johns was sleeping the whole time, and in my view one of the main characters have to be part of the story, and the end of Dark Athena made me wonder what happened to Johns. But overall, this game is as good as it gets, it has stealth, action, gunfights, hand to hand, and the best part is shooting out the lights and using Riddick's eyeshine to see and the dark and play with the blindsided enemies.
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
1 of 2 found this review helpful.
Review 8 for The Chronicles of Riddick: Assault on Dark Athena
Get this game NOW!!
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:4/7/09
xxgotmilkxx
Obviously my friend who wrote before me never played the first riddick before or he would know exactly what this game is all aobut. I've been playing the first on the original xbox for years and still find it enjoyable. Now this time around the graphics are twice as good with better physics and upgraded move list for killing ppl. The guns still play the same as the first game which let me adapt all the more easily. The controls are different from the first but only slightly. The only problem I have with the game this time around is that it is so much harder to kill some of the key characters and I actually had to play those fights multiple times. The only other problem i've seen is with riddicks face and body. He is kind of unporportioned and his face lags but still looks good in comparsion to the first.
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Review 9 for The Chronicles of Riddick: Assault on Dark Athena
Splinter Cell meets Halo?
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Graphics: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Posted on:4/13/09
Brownie556
The Chronicles of Riddick: Assault on Dark Athena is a great package for those who are new to the series (like i am) and to those who had already played as ninja/ super soldier Riddick in Butcher's Bay. The Controls are good; it feels odd using the Y button as your action button inside of the normal A or X. I liked how it combined the stealth action of Splinter Cell with the run and gun action of Halo or CoD. The games (both Butcher's Bay and Dark Athena are included on one disc) are challenging on normal so don't except a walk in the park. It's not impossible but a Riot Mech in the last place you as a player want it does make the game harder and more fun. The game is not perfect; the graphics occasionally don't fully generate so there are some black patches on people's shirts during game play and Riddick lowers his weapon at some inopportune moments but nothing that cripples the game. I don't know anything about multiplayer; I haven't tried it yet. The Chronicles of Riddick: Assault on Dark Athena is Vin Diesel's Orange Box. Two full games for the price of one and online multiplayer. It's not Sam Fisher meeting Master Chief or "Soap" MacTavish but it is Altair meeting Private Miller from CoD WaW. My recommendation: buy it.
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Graphics: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Review 10 for The Chronicles of Riddick: Assault on Dark Athena
The Chronicles of Riddick
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Posted on:4/8/09
alphawolf423
There are plenty of good things to enjoy with this game, the first being that there are two games on one disc. Yes, the added Escape from Butcher Bay on there but they re-mastered it for the most part. Butcher Bay was a great game then and is still up to epectations now. Dark Athena is the sequel to that game and picks up right where Butcher Bay had left off, it seems to feel the same as Butcher Bay instead of being in prison you are trapped on a ship of mercs and drones. The gameplay is enjoyable, there are few irritating spots where you just can't seem to get past that hallway with swarms of drones and turrets but it all passes. The controls are good but the responsiveness is lacking in some spots that might get a bit irritating, such as trying to navigate the ladders along the ceiling. The sound is really refined since you need to be able to clearly hear well to get the drop on your enemies. The final call on the game is that it is an enjoyable experience for those sneeking fans out there (ex. MGS4, Splinter Cell, etc...) but if you are someone looking for a run and gun game this is not for you. Yes there are sections of running and gunning but only after you sneek and silently kill your way through several enemies. The Chronicles of Riddick is a solid game but not for everyone.
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Review 11 for The Chronicles of Riddick: Assault on Dark Athena
I spent $60 for this? Where the f*** is my receipt!
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Gameplay: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Graphics: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Sound: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Posted on:4/12/09
0WN3D
Okay, Riddick is a cool character and everything, but his game sucks. I was excited to get it, I thought it would be a cool and interesting game. Little did I know that it's just based on running away from guys with guns. It's crap, it truly is. I thought there'd be more to it, but there's not. To start things off, the health system is horrible. Just to kill a guard you have to sneak around to the back of him or take him out from in front, and if he notices you the fight is mostly in his favor. One, because he has a gun, and two, because it'll only take him a few seconds to kill you with it. Also, what's up with the impossible tasks? I got to the mines in Escape From Butcher Bay and I find myself running away from tons of those riot guards (they're big robots), and all's I have is a bat and my fists. Does it expect me to sneak up behind one of them and choke it out? Heck, the game was so confusing that's what I thought I was supposed to do and I tried it a few times and died before I could even touch it. I couldn't stand it anymore and turned off my Xbox. Next thing is the storyline and all that good (not really) stuff. I am new to the Riddick series, but still, I should get a little bit of what's going on in the game and I'm understanding squat. Also, it's as if Riddick's turned gay because he's talking way to much, and mostly everything he says is cheesy. If the makers of the game made a better sneak system, health system, and more weapon varieties it would be a decent game, but they didn't and I would not recommend this game to anyone. Period. You're better off wasting your money on the Wanted game.
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Gameplay: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Graphics: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Sound: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
3 of 19 found this review helpful.
Review 12 for The Chronicles of Riddick: Assault on Dark Athena
Looked promising, now looks like a flop.
Posted on:11/22/08
Anonymous
Let me expand on the buzz title, at first I saw that there was going to be a new riddick game then I saw it is being published and developed by Atari...so The Chronicles of Riddick: Assault on Dark Athena will probably be nothing like The Chronicles of Riddick: Escape from Butcher's Bay..why you ask? The latter was developed by Vivendi Universal and published by Microsoft. Such a shame to see a great title like Riddick be sold off to the highest bidder.
Review 13 for The Chronicles of Riddick: Assault on Dark Athena
Keep making games Vin....
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:4/13/09
MR1ch
First, I would like to point out the parts of the game I did not enjoy.1. The length. This game seemed way too short to me. I bought the game on 4/7 and finished Dark Athena (on normal setting) on 4/11 by only playing maybe 3-4 hours per sitting. I know it comes with Butcher Bay and has multi-player, but c'mon, don't shortchange us when we shell out $edit for these games. I want a in-depth, lengthy, challenging game and Athena almost gave it to me. Oh well, as I stated, they added Butcher Bay to give me more.2. The checkpoints reset! Games like CoD4/5, after you beat the game, you have the option to go back and start from any "chapter" if you will. Well, Athena gives you the finger and tells you that if you want to go back and get any missed content, you have to play thru the game again. While not a huge deal, I still found it as a slap in the face.3. Linear as a ruler. Yes, there are some side quests you don't have to finish, but they are all easily finished by progressing thru the main story. Basically, there was no problems what-so-ever finding the next area, door, hatch, etc. Roaming the ship was pretty limited and back tracking to previous areas to search, heal, etc was not an option.Ok, all that being said I enjoyed this game immensely and it left me wanting more. The story flowed well, the voice acting was great, the script was very adult (i.e. Riddick-like). It was pretty close to a Riddick movie. I was even surprised and elated when the C-bomb was dropped. I cant recall hearing that in a video game before, props Vin.The graphics are also a strong point of the game. The detailed environments offer up many places to hide so you can skulk around undetected and assassinate at will. If that's not manly enough for you, you have the option to go toe-to-toe with the drones and mercs if you want, and probably go down in a blaze of glory for your troubles. Sneaky = successful.With the additions of Butcher Bay and multi-player game, it makes the replay value high. I will be playing this title still in the months to come.
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
1 of 3 found this review helpful.
Review 14 for The Chronicles of Riddick: Assault on Dark Athena
VERY Promising
Posted on:12/8/08
Blank 26
Yes this game is under a different publisher, Atari instead of Vivendi. But it is under the same development teams at starbreeze/tigon games. It was originally reported to be mostly an update to the original title with better graphics, but now looks like much more. After seeing the recent trailer there seems to be more story elements as well as rumors of a multiplayer mode. This will be even better than the original.
Review 15 for The Chronicles of Riddick: Assault on Dark Athena
This game should've stayed in the shadows...
Overall Rating: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Gameplay: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Graphics: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Sound: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Posted on:4/14/09
The Viegas
I played the first one on original X-Box. I enjoyed it. I played this one on the 360, and still thought i was playing the original on X-Box. I am not a fan of playing "new" games that look and feel last-gen. Let's start with the graphics and work our way down. Almost everything in the game have jaggies. I mean everything...Nothing looks worse than environments, weapon models, character models and minor details that all have jaggies. Vin Diesel's character is rather blocky as well. I couldn't stand to look at him in cut scenes when his head and rest of his body wasn't smooth. They had plenty of time to develop this game, and this games visual display is highly disappointing. Now if you don't like bad graphics, you probably don't like bad dialogue. This game is just chock full of horrid one-liners and conversations. Honestly, this game's dialogue is worse than all of Vin's movie scripts thrown into one and then thrown up on. You might like listening to the jibber-jabber, but unless you are hard of hearing, trying to stomach it can induce bleeding from the ears. Hmm, combat. Where to start? You can shoot and melee. Shooting works. Melee attacks are trouble some unless you are in the dark. Just deciding to go toe to toe with enemies is a bad idea. They just seem to hit you no problem when close. It isn't the same for you. Enemies can take a beating from your blades, and i couldn't tell you why. If the only way to change weapons in combat is by having something pop up across most of the screen and selecting desired weapon without being able to pause, this game does that right. And ends up killing you most of the time. I'm not going to touch on the story. If you played the first one and seen the movies, little needs to be said. If you haven't, it doesn't matter since the story doesn't make the game any better. All in all, if you like Vin Diesel, this still might be a disappointment if you like good games. If you don't like Vin Diesel, don't play this game. This game can be compared to Walker Texas Ranger, some will take it seriously. For the rest of us with working brains, we just laugh.
Overall Rating: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Gameplay: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Graphics: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Sound: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
2 of 9 found this review helpful.
Review 16 for The Chronicles of Riddick: Assault on Dark Athena
One of the best games money can buy.
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Posted on:5/28/11
Stone113
Location: Pittsburgh
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
There is no reason not to get this game now seeing is how its only 12 dollars. You get two great singleplayer campaigns and an amzing multiplayer mode called pitch black. And yes there are other MP modes like DM and CTF but Pitch Black is the star in the MP. Go get this game, try, love it, and you won't regret it.
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Review 17 for The Chronicles of Riddick: Assault on Dark Athena
This game sounds awesome
Posted on:11/8/08
RedCell Lives!
I mean, if it's as awesome as the 3rd and final movie in the trilogy it'll be amazing, I mean it's freaking Riddick, but if its like escape from butcher bay (Terrible Game) then i'll be disappointed, because I would really like to c a great game about one of the most amazing Psychotic killers of the movie genre.
Review 18 for The Chronicles of Riddick: Assault on Dark Athena
the chronicles of Riddick: Assault on Dark Athena
Posted on:4/3/09
Anonymous
This game is going to be awesome i had the chronicles of Riddick escape from butcher bay for my old xbox and it was one of the best games i have ever played on xbox or xbox 360. I am pre-ordering this game today and i cant wait until it comes out starbreeze has done an excellent job again
Review 19 for The Chronicles of Riddick: Assault on Dark Athena
looks great
Posted on:1/8/09
shooterfan159
i saw the trailer for this game and it looks amazing. i also read a little preview from a website saying this was acually two games in one. you get the original chronicles of riddick escape from butcher bay as well as chronicles of riddick assualt on dark athena. its freakin awesome!!
Review 20 for The Chronicles of Riddick: Assault on Dark Athena
Should Be Good
Posted on:11/8/08
AlphaForceRecon
I'm hoping this comes out sooner than March 3rd next year, but if it doesn't, it will still be worth the wait. The single-player campaign expansion might be better than the original game is, if they do it right, maybe less gunfights and more stealth or hand-to-hand combat this time?
1 2 next>>