GameStop Ratings and Reviews

Shop Now At GameStop
Shop Software or
Choose a Category
Most Popular Products
Top Rated Product

Product Reviews

Ghostbusters

Ghostbusters: The Video Game, based on the smash hit motion picture franchise and featuring a completely new story, is coming to six game systems in 2009. Coinciding with the 25th anniversary celebration of the film's original theatrical release, the game reunites original cast members to recapture the unique blend of humour and fright that established Ghostbusters as a pop culture sensation. Penned by original Ghostbusters writers Harold Ramis and Dan Aykroyd, Ghostbusters: The Video Game brings members of the original cast together for the first time in 20 years. Bill Murray, Dan Aykroyd, Harold Ramis and Ernie Hudson lend their voices and in-game likenesses to the original story set two years after Ghostbusters II, with Manhattan once again overrun by ghosts and supernatural forces. Players will have the chance to chase, attack, and catch ghosts in a funny and frightening battle to save New York from its latest supernatural plague.
Average Customer Rating:
9.2
9.2
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (13 reviews)
10 stars
4
9 stars
5
8 stars
0
7 stars
1
6 stars
0
5 stars
0
4 stars
0
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
0
10 out of 10100%of reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Ghostbusters
Review 1 for Ghostbusters
"We got one"!!!!!!
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:6/17/09
fxtek76
Ok so a major Ghostbusters fan here. I have had this pre ordered for some time now and it came today 6/17. I am about an hour into it and am loving it. I like that RedFly did not try to make a lower quality version for the Wii. Would I like to have the more realistic looking people yes and no. You totally forget about it once the character voice acting starts and you get into the story. Their are so many great throwbacks to the movies. I mean come on even Vigo the Carpatheians painting is sitting in the containment chamber. woo hoo.. With being an hour into the game on easy it says I have completed 14% of it so many more fun hours to come. I do like the control it is very much like Metroid Corruption so if you were ok with that then this will be fine for you. The music is pulled straight from the first soundtrack and really works well. I am glad I bought this one Wii and am actually playing for fun and to see how the story goes. Now if I can lose a few pounds to get into that free shirt that came with it. yippie.
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Ghostbusters
who you gonna call?
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Graphics: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:7/22/09
SpyroDude13RA
This is Ghostbusters at its best. The story is the best thing about the game it really feels like a Ghostbusters 3. The sound is perfection because of the real cast of the films doing the voices of the characters and the extremely realistic proton pack sounds. This really does deliver the full Ghostbusters experience. I was worried at first that I would not like this version of the game because of the more cartoonish graphics than the ps3 and 360 versions but I now have nothing to worry about and neither do you the graphics fit the game just fine no problem. This is definitely a game to pick up if your a Ghostbusters fan or are just into ghost kind of things or just having a good time this game is for everyone. I would definitely recommend it. WHO YOU GONNA CALL? answer: YOUR LOCAL VIDEO GAME STORE!
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Graphics: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
3 of 3 found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Ghostbusters
Ghostbuster Realism!
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:6/17/09
ZOEY VS THE ZOMBIE
This game is designed to give you the feel of actually using ghost buster equipment to blast away and trap ghosts. You use you wii remote to point and shoot at ghosts and wear them down, and after wards you have to follow the directions on the screen to bash the ghost stuck in your stream to weaken them so you can trap them. There are other equipment you can use and it is easily switchable on the wii remote so you have total control. The graphics are made in a pretty cartoon fashion and are fun to watch and well in real life people don't look exactly the same after 25 years. The bottom line is although the characters are of a cartoon style fashion the original cast is still there do the voice overs and the game revisits old and new ghosts such as the stay puff marshmallow man, the gray lady, the spider witch, and much more, this game still has all the action and adventure and personality that we all expect from a ghost busters film just in a video game. Also wanted to add that there is a co-op option before you start any mission or stage so you can take a friend and split screen the fun of being two rookie ghostbusters.
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
2 of 2 found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Ghostbusters
The Ghostbusters have a new thrill!!
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Posted on:1/24/12
Triforce1
Location: Helena,MT
This game is a great game. It starts as you being the new ghostbuster and you get to go trap ghosts. You go through many adventures trapping ghosts. You even get to trap some of the original ghosts like Slimer and the Stay Puft Marshmellow Man. It is a thrilling game and I recommend it highly.
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
4 of 4 found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Ghostbusters
Not bad for an avid Ghostbusters fan...
Overall Rating: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Gameplay: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Graphics: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Sound: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Posted on:6/17/09
Neighborhood Weatherman
The game itself is fun. The Wii is the only system out there that can make you feel like you are using the proton pack. Unfortunately, the Wii version is different from the other systems: shorter story line, cartoonish characters, less weapons and side quests. Supposedly, Nintendo is coming out with a proton pack controller insert similar to the guns you see for first person shooter games. Controls are simple, missions are co-op capable. If you spend a good afternoon, you can beat the game. Overall game play is simple and fun. Don't expect too much from the Wii version though. If you want more of a challenge and detailed game graphics, stick to PC, xBox 360, or PS3. I think I'll keep my Wii game for fun, but get the PC version to satisfy the more hardcore gamer within me.
Overall Rating: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Gameplay: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Graphics: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Sound: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Ghostbusters
who are ya gonna call!!!!!!
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:3/20/11
awesomeman510
Location: stowe,vt
This game is perfect for: casual gamers
This game is just simply great. This game makes you feel like you are really busting the ghost. I usually play with my bro and it makes it even better so i recommend co-op. You get to use the normal stream, a slime blower,p.k.e. meter and goggles. i like the ghostbusters cartoon,game and theme song. it is also a good price!
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
3 of 4 found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Ghostbusters
I Ain't Afraid Of No Ghost
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:11/1/10
nintendofan4life
Location: canada
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
I got this game and just got hooked. Perfect for any fan.
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
3 of 4 found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Ghostbusters
Better looking
Posted on:4/13/09
cjh
I saw the previews for this a while back, and it looked very cartoonish. This version looks so much better. It looks more realistic. It seems more like a video game than a movie where you get to play sometimes, while still retaining a good-sounding storyline. It seems less like a crappie videogame based on a movie, and more like an original story with 2 great back stories.
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Ghostbusters
Amazing!!
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:7/15/09
southern hope76
This is one of the best games that I have bought for my Wii. I bought it based on the advice of a GameStop associate. He is about the same age as I and we grew up with the Ghostbusters. This game keeps up with the quality of the original movies. The ghost are just as cheezy as the movie ghost, however that is part of the charm. It was really funny fighting the "STAY PUFT" marshmellow man My three year old loves to watch me play. She likes to shake the nunchuck and get the slime off. I do not like playing the two player mode however. It is difficult to locate your target(esp. if they are on the celing) and you sometimes get confused and slime your partners. One player mode is the best. I would recommend to anyone to try this game. It is better if you grew up with the original movies.
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Review 10 for Ghostbusters
Fun
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:4/29/11
314159265
Location: AZ
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
I know wii has bad graphics, but come on. Luckily for Atari, what this game lacks in for grapics, it makes up for with the controles. Thanks to the wii controller, the terrible controls on xbox and ps3 have been fixed.
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
2 of 3 found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Ghostbusters
Great graphics...for Xbox or Playstation
Posted on:6/11/09
cranberly
I am uber-excited about this game. Unfortunately, the graphics shown in the trailer are not the Wii graphics. The Wii version looks much more cartoonish. You can check out the Wii version at Game Spot. I am disappointed that Game Stop is using the Xbox trailer to advertise the Wii version, as they are very different looking. I would hate for Wii game purchasers to be surprised when they get theirs. Perhaps Game Stop should show the Wii Ghostbusters trailer for the Wii version too?
1 of 3 found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Ghostbusters
Ghostbuster Awesomeness
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:3/12/11
Halifax
Location: SLC, UT
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
Excellent game play. Great story line that follows the movies really well. Challenging! Was hard to put controller down! Graphics are great for what they are. Might be a little cartoony, however, I found to be brighter and richer than X-Box.... meaning that you can see what you are doing when in the darkest rooms and areas. Loved the new weapons you get to "test". Over all Ghostbuster Awesomeness! Good for anyone that loved the movies!
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Review 13 for Ghostbusters
WOW
Posted on:11/15/08
lazarjl1
Ive been waiting for this game since the first time I read about it. (a while ago) None of my friends think it will be good, but I have faith on my side.It's even got dan akroyd and Bill Murray in it. With slimer and all the good charactars from the old movie, and some new ones. It's gunna be great. "It's the stay puft marshmellow man"