GameStop Ratings and Reviews

Shop Now At GameStop
Shop Software or
Choose a Category
Most Popular Products
Top Rated Product

Product Reviews

Ghostbusters

Ghostbusters: The Video Game, based on the smash hit motion picture franchise and featuring a completely new story, is coming to six game systems in 2009. Coinciding with the 25th anniversary celebration of the film's original theatrical release, the game reunites original cast members to recapture the unique blend of humour and fright that established Ghostbusters as a pop culture sensation. Penned by original Ghostbusters writers Harold Ramis and Dan Aykroyd, Ghostbusters: The Video Game brings members of the original cast together for the first time in 20 years. Bill Murray, Dan Aykroyd, Harold Ramis and Ernie Hudson lend their voices and in-game likenesses to the original story set two years after Ghostbusters II, with Manhattan once again overrun by ghosts and supernatural forces. Players will have the chance to chase, attack, and catch ghosts in a funny and frightening battle to save New York from its latest supernatural plague.
Average Customer Rating:
7.5
7.5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (9 reviews)
10 stars
1
9 stars
0
8 stars
4
7 stars
0
6 stars
0
5 stars
0
4 stars
0
3 stars
1
2 stars
0
1 star
0
5 out of 683%of reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Ghostbusters
Review 1 for Ghostbusters
Decent
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Sound: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Posted on:6/21/09
ThatGuy57
This game is set up in a very strange way. The health bar, and the energy bar for the proton pack are both on the proton pack itself, which makes for cumbersome gameplay. I do give credit for this creative idea, as it does keep the screen from being cluttered up with health and status bars, but it does actually make things a little more difficult. This game is a graphically intense game, and does require at least an ATI X-1800, or an Nvidia GeForce 8400 graphics card. The controls are fairly standard, though you cannot jump, which in more than one place can be frustrating. It is very short. I played through in a little over 6 hours. Good graphics, good sound, though the lip sync does not run in proper time with the voice overs. The storyline is, however, the big benefit to the game. There is no statement that I can make to state how well written the script is. Outstanding, to say the least. I am very disappointed with the incredibly short gameplay, though. It's worth paying the $30 for the PC version.
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Sound: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
1 of 2 found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Ghostbusters
A great game that is lacking.
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:6/22/09
TheCovy
After long anticipation, I have to say that I am both pleased and disapointed with this game. The graphics, script, and voice talent was fantastic. The gameplay and most other aspects were great. My biggest complaint is the amount of content that was left out of the PC version that wasn't left out of any other version. For the PC version, there is no multiplayer gameplay available. Also, there is no "endurance mode" where you take on wave after wave of ghosts. There also is no downloadable content. I can't think of any reason why they needed to leave all that out. It really hurts the game. Finally, the game was way too short for my taste. I beat it in about 6-8 hours. Even with all it's pitfalls, I'd still recommend getting it if you're a fan of the Ghostbusters franchise. The fact that all the original cast does the voice acting, and Harold Ramis and Dan Akroid did the script makes it all worth it.
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Review 3 for Ghostbusters
A real action adventure....
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:11/14/10
chicho
Location: USA
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
This is what a real action adventure is all about.. you can get yourself immerse in the story easily due to the excellent production in graphics, sounds, effects, animations, life like scenario/buildings, movie like story direction, incredible creative ghosts and weapons, kinetix ai, etc.. Intensive care was given to make it feel like a funny - trilling - mystical experience and with an awesome replay value. I would also say that the game was made for 2012 computers (when the movie is supposed to be released), because It kind of gets slow in my 2008 - 24inch iMac.. And this was with low level detail settings. When I purchase my next upgrade I will definitely play it again with high detail. Also It took me a little bit to get hooked when I played it the first time, but Its worth it.
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Review 4 for Ghostbusters
Not for the PC
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 10
3 out of 10
Gameplay: 
4 out of 10
4 out of 10
Graphics: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Sound: 
4 out of 10
4 out of 10
Posted on:6/17/09
Rerbo
I could not wait for this game to be released. I loved the first movie and played the original game for the Sega system. I preordered this a couple months ago as well. I have a very robust PC that handled all the latest games out there with flying colors and with no problems at all Boy was I disappointed. This game is just one bug after another. I do not recommend this for the PC, Voiceline is off by about 2 seconds and it froze up within 5 minutes of gameplay. This happend the first 4 times I started to play it, and I gavve up. The voices are the real guys and the settngs look great but it is unplayable.Garbage, amazing potential, but Atari should be ashamed releasing this. I THREW THE GAME OUT AS IT SHOULD NEVER HAVE BEEN RELEASED ON PC
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 10
3 out of 10
Gameplay: 
4 out of 10
4 out of 10
Graphics: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Sound: 
4 out of 10
4 out of 10
0 of 4 found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Ghostbusters
Who ya gonna call?
Posted on:1/17/09
Raziel5150
I am honestly psyched they're making a Ghostbusters game. An also the fact that it's not some quick "here, we gotta movie coming out, make a crappy game to go along w/ it!" release that movie games are usually noted for. It's great to see that it's an original storyline, being written by the same guys who did the movies! From what I've read the game seems to be coming together nicely after a few minor bumps in the road here & there. OXM said the controls were extremely tight on the game, so I can only imagine they'll be even better on the PC. Looking forward to this one, big time.
Review 6 for Ghostbusters
Good game but with issues
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Gameplay: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Posted on:10/27/09
Ghostbuster1
To be fair, once you get this game up and running, it's great. I love this game, graphics are good, sound is decent. Controls once you get them configured are good. I prefer to customize mine differently from the defaults so can't comment too much on that. But once you get everything working, the storyline pulls you in and makes you want to see what happens next. The bad part for the PC is the setup. Two MAJOR issues to be aware of. I'm a computer tech as well, so this is from my point of view. 1st issue, the installer appears broken. In other words, when you install, you must install to the default location. So just leave it on the easy setup install option. If you try customize the install so that it installs to a secondary hard drive for example, I ran into the issue that it copied fiels for about an hour or so, then gave me a message that the the system was not modified and that the installer could not complete. It boiled down to the fact that the setup had copied all files to the specified directory, but not the actual files such as the .exe file needed to launch the game, and about 5-6 other various files. The workaround is that you have to run the installer again, and also be sure that it goes to the default directory on your C: drive, and don't customize it again. It then makes the files you are missing, which you must then dig into the C: drive for, find, then copy into where you actually wanted the game installed. After figuring that out, I got an error when I attempted to launch the game, I believe it's known as a tcp error. I found out that although I have Windows Vista 64 bit which comes with Direct X 10 installed, to stop this error that I received, you must go back to "My computer", find where you have the dvd inserted, then right click on it, and click open. Then you must dig into the setup folder I believe, then you must run the setup for Direct X 9. That resolved the issue for me. All in all, it took me 3-4 hours to get this game installed by the time I figured out how to actually get it installed correctly, activated, and then troubleshooting the other issue, and all the time I spent researching attempting to figure out what I was doing wrong. I am glad I'm a computer tech who has patience for these things. However, an end user should not have to deal with these types of issues, some of these bugs may have been able to have been worked before the release. I don't care for the activation feature either, but you should know that going in. I just feel sorry for end users who only want to play the game and are unsure about these issues. In all actuality, if you put aside the issues I had with this game as far as getting it to install and troubleshooting issues, and take the game for what it is, the game is awesome! It's the best 20 bucks I've spent on a game in a long long time. In my opinion, the positives outweigh the positives and be prepared for potential issues installing, you should be fine, and once you get it up and running, you don't want to put the game down. It's especially wild when you are like me, and your PC is in the basement, and you've got the sound set up right and you start hearing noises behind you and you are in a hotel for example and you are tracking a giant spider lady.
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Gameplay: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
1 of 2 found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Ghostbusters
One for the FANS
Posted on:4/11/09
[RDH]Ex[WO]
If it's not a next gen Ghostbuster game it's a Ghostbuster game with the original cast in it! the game is getting alot of hype from the fans of Ghostbusters, if the game lacks anything the fans will still buy it and hold it high next to the old Ghostbusters VHS tape in the corner of each Den in the household! this is a must for FANS!
Review 8 for Ghostbusters
w00t
Posted on:4/25/09
Consti2tion
Dan Akroid wrote the Script for the game so this is going to be a great game especially with the Original cast as well.
Review 9 for Ghostbusters
Who ya gonna call?
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:6/16/09
Mykkul
Ghostbusters!! This game has been hyped as an underground hit since its inception, and for the most part, the game delivers. Solid storyline, rich, vibrant graphics, all the familiar voices from the original cast...you really can't go wrong here if you loved the original movies. The PC version is exactly the same as the console versions, EXCEPT there is no 4 person multi-player....so for half the price, you get the same (or better, depending on your system) graphics, the same storyline...but sacrifice the ability to co-op the game. Personally, that works for me, as, PC games for the most part are single player or have limited multi-player options. For others, that might mean purchasing the console version. As mentioned, the game takes place after the first two movies. Our beloved Ghostbusters are involved with the city proper, and the game is set in the early 90s. No 20 year drift here...so if you are a younger player, some of the references and humor might not be as relevant to you....after all, the script was written by Aykroyd and Ramis. That isn't a bad thing, however, as too often people make games to cash in on a movie or franchise...this is the project...and the movie, all rolled into one. Great animation, great dialogue...it's what you would have expected from a 3rd movie. Far as gameplay goes, the interface is intuitive, the camera cooperates with you, but the game is fairly linear...i.e, to progress there is only one path....you can walk down a side passage, but it really isn't a sandbox world. Those of you used to free form shooters will be disappointed by the limited options the game allows....there are some secret items, which you find with your PK meter, but there are no secret areas that you have to delve each level for....so if a door is locked and closed, and you can't activate it, move on--there is nothing behind that door. It would have been nice to have more options in that regard, but overall the game is pretty solid for what it sets out to do, and that is tell a story first, and offer some quick gameplay second. You can easily go through the game in a night or so, too, so some might argue that its too short...more levels needed, etc...and that is where co-op mode comes in on the consoles. There are 3 levels of difficulty, so there is some replay value...the harder levels do add a nice degree of challenge, which is good....it's practically impossible to fail on easy mode. On the downside--the DRM sucks. But what do you expect...there is a key code included inside the manual...which is needed to activate the game, after a long install process. I have a pretty hefty system, a brand new DVD burner that extracts at top speeds, and the compression on the DVD is such that the game takes a good 20 minutes or so to install. I understand trying to fight piracy, but Atari did go a bit overboard. Overall, I'd give the game an 8 or an 8 and a half out of 10. Definitely a solid game...it was so good, that it left me wanting more. It would have gotten a 9 IF the PC version had multiplayer support...perhaps Atari might patch it back in, since they stripped it out ;) The graphics are far better on my machine than they are on the XBOX 360 or PS3, however, so for half the price I can live with the loss of multiplayer. If you are a child of the 80s, love the Ghostbusters movies, or just like blasting giant marshmallow men, this is the game for you.
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10