GameStop Ratings and Reviews

Shop Now At GameStop
Shop Software or
Choose a Category
Most Popular Products

Product Reviews

Eat Lead: Return of Matt Hazard

Get ready for a fictional account of the world's most popular video game hero...of the 1980s. Matt Hazard is coming out of retirement and makinghis next-gen"comeback"against all his old enemies in a hilarious parody of the last 25 years of gaming.
Average Customer Rating:
3.909
3.9
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (15 reviews)
10 stars
0
9 stars
0
8 stars
0
7 stars
0
6 stars
0
5 stars
6
4 stars
2
3 stars
1
2 stars
0
1 star
2
8 out of 1173%of reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Eat Lead: Return of Matt Hazard
Review 1 for Eat Lead: Return of Matt Hazard
It's got it's perks!
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 10
4 out of 10
Gameplay: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Graphics: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Posted on:3/6/09
Bacon4thetakin
So I kind of bought this game on a whim. I was looking for a new game and something was dragging me towards buying this one. I'm happy to say that I'm not disappointed. Starting at a price *** less than other new releases, Eat Lead is worth the money in my opinion. With a slew of trophies/achievements (That are pretty easy to get shall I say) and 8 long levels, this game offers a good feel of gameplay with a good sense of humor. I think the best way to describe it would be Army of Two for one person. It has a great cover system and the controls are pretty solid. Gun selection and enemy variety is great as well too! Warning to all who love multiplayer though: There is none. The game is just the story mode, with 3 different difficulties. The hardest difficulty does bring a good challenge too, so you're not just running through the game guns a-blazing. Overall I give Eat Lead around a 7, because it's not going to have the replay value of other games, but is a great title that should be experienced by all.
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 10
4 out of 10
Gameplay: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Graphics: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Review 2 for Eat Lead: Return of Matt Hazard
great game
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:3/8/09
littlevince
This is one of the best games i ever ever played. give it a shot. graphic are excellent. the replay value is great. and its a lot of fun to shoot people.Eat lead the return of Matt Hazard is an amazing shooter with a cover system (similar to gears of war) and an array of different weaponry. It also has some awesome push button sequences and lots of interesting boss battles. This game's gameplay will draw you in automatically.this game is fairly simple but thats what i like about it. the graphics are great. Eat Lead marks the return of famous video game hero Matt Hazard. What, you've never heard of Hazard? Well, perhaps you know his games: A Fistful of Hazard (1987), Conflict of the Deities (Featuring Matt Hazard) (1990), and the all-time classic You Only Live 1,317 Times (1995). What, you've never heard of these games? Well, neither has anyone else--they're all merely a handful of fictional games that Eat Lead's Hazard starred in back in the "good old days." At the beginning of Eat Lead, those good old days are behind Hazard, who's since gone into retirement.this game is perfect. i recommend it to everyone overall: 10/10
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Eat Lead: Return of Matt Hazard
It's Hazard Time!
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Gameplay: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Posted on:3/9/09
ChromeReaper
When a corporate game creator can't beat the games you play the lead role in, he decides to re-vamp your next game, mid-production; Eat Lead: The Return of Matt Hazard. Eat lead touches base with all of Matt Hazards' previous enemies from his previous games. Between Space Marines and Western Gunslingers, this game packs not only diversity in the enemies you fight, but your weaponry as well. An ever-constantly changing environment from level to level keeps you on your toes, gluing your thumbs to the joysticks in wait for the next strange area you'll end up in. The lead role played by Matt Hazard, fires up the game with his smart-allic comments and cocky attitude so you can bet on a story line that engulfs you into a sick action-shooter full of hilarity. All you need now is a cheesy catch phrase.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Gameplay: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
2 of 3 found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Eat Lead: Return of Matt Hazard
great game
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:3/7/09
littlevince
This is one of the best games i ever ever played. give it a shot. graphic are excellent. the replay value is great. and its a lot of fun to shoot people.Eat lead the return of Matt Hazard is an amazing shooter with a cover system (similar to gears of war) and an array of different weaponry. It also has some awesome push button sequences and lots of interesting boss battles. This game's gameplay will draw you in automatically.this game is fairly simple but thats what i like about it. the graphics are great. Eat Lead marks the return of famous video game hero Matt Hazard. What, you've never heard of Hazard? Well, perhaps you know his games: A Fistful of Hazard (1987), Conflict of the Deities (Featuring Matt Hazard) (1990), and the all-time classic You Only Live 1,317 Times (1995). What, you've never heard of these games? Well, neither has anyone else--they're all merely a handful of fictional games that Eat Lead's Hazard starred in back in the "good old days." At the beginning of Eat Lead, those good old days are behind Hazard, who's since gone into retirement.this game is perfect. i recommend it to everyone overall: 10/10
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
0 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Eat Lead: Return of Matt Hazard
great game
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:3/8/09
littlevince
This is one of the best games i ever ever played. give it a shot. graphic are excellent. the replay value is great. and its a lot of fun to shoot people.Eat lead the return of Matt Hazard is an amazing shooter with a cover system (similar to gears of war) and an array of different weaponry. It also has some awesome push button sequences and lots of interesting boss battles. This game's gameplay will draw you in automatically.this game is fairly simple but thats what i like about it. the graphics are great. Eat Lead marks the return of famous video game hero Matt Hazard. What, you've never heard of Hazard? Well, perhaps you know his games: A Fistful of Hazard (1987), Conflict of the Deities (Featuring Matt Hazard) (1990), and the all-time classic You Only Live 1,317 Times (1995). What, you've never heard of these games? Well, neither has anyone else--they're all merely a handful of fictional games that Eat Lead's Hazard starred in back in the "good old days." At the beginning of Eat Lead, those good old days are behind Hazard, who's since gone into retirement.this game is perfect. i recommend it to everyone overall: 10/10
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
0 of 2 found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Eat Lead: Return of Matt Hazard
Not What You Think
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 10
3 out of 10
Gameplay: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Graphics: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Sound: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Posted on:3/7/09
daddyholdem
Ok, when you play it you got to get the feel for the game like Hitman, it plays and controls just like it. The comedy is in the game, so you get to laugh a bit. I don't really care for it because you play it and its like okay where is the rest of it. You get the commercials but people I'm going to tell you to get the demo if you can. I can say that when I started I was into it but as I got into it I had to just stop because I was disappointed that I was going through the levels and hitting the guys with head shots like it was too easy. Most of the time the enemies come out at you and that's a fight but sometime you go on like too much talking. See I'm an action junkie, I got to have all the action in my face. But the game is good for those whom need a game with some comedy but I give it a 6 for that.
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 10
3 out of 10
Gameplay: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Graphics: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Sound: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
0 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Eat Lead: Return of Matt Hazard
just awful!
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Gameplay: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Graphics: 
2 out of 10
2 out of 10
Sound: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Posted on:1/17/14
manbaby
Location: spokane wa
This game is perfect for: party gamers
I kind of like this game but it didn't last long for me! the stuff is just plain not fun at all puu!
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Gameplay: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Graphics: 
2 out of 10
2 out of 10
Sound: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Review 8 for Eat Lead: Return of Matt Hazard
Great Game for Classic Gamers!
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Posted on:3/14/09
Chazz1973
I have been playing video games since before the Atari 2600 and when I first heard about this game, I became very excited. I wasn't expecting much; the game was hard to find, price was ****** and I wasn't very impressed with the studios last game, "Dead Head Fred", but the idea of the video game parodies intrigued me so I made the purchase. I wasn't disappointed. I was more interested in the story than the actual game play, so I played the game on easy and it still proved to be challenging. The movement of Matt Hazard is unrealistic (kinda bounces like Mario), but kinda works for the game. The mechanic is similar to games like "Gears of War" with an over the shoulder view similar to "Resident Evil". Graphics aren’t as good as they could be, but, once again, work for the overall story line. The enemy AI is challenging, until you get to the end of the game and face the "human" controlled game programmers (or, at least their avatars), but once again, kinda works for the game. The best part of the game is the script. The game makes fun of several classic video games. The ones I noticed were Super Mario Bros., Socom, Gears of War, Tomb Raider, Perfect Dark Zero, Red Dead Revolver, Mario Kart, Resident Evil, Final Fantasy VII, Stranglehold and Call of Duty. The script also makes fun of movies like Lethal Weapon, Die Hard, Pirates of the Caribbean and Commando. The wit of the lines is sharp and (sometimes) unexpected. I found myself having to pause the games several times because I couldn't stop laughing (which I earned a trophy the first time I did pause the game for taking my first break! Yes, it even makes fun of trophies and achievements). Over all, I think the game is refreshing and fun. It's challenging without being irritating. Some levels breeze by quickly while others throw repeated enemies at you that take different levels of attacking to defeat. They mix the slow moving zombies (head shot), with the tougher to kill "Gears of War" like soldiers (laser gun works best), Call of Duty type soldiers (presented in both 3D and 2D, the latter your not able to melee) and Female robots that can only be destroyed with a melee attack. I recommend this game to anybody in the mood for a great game and a good laugh! No multi player nor online gaming, but I still received a trophy for them!
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
2 of 4 found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Eat Lead: Return of Matt Hazard
ok
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 10
4 out of 10
Gameplay: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Graphics: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Posted on:4/5/11
ChainGang315
Location: New York, NY
This game is perfect for: casual gamers
it's a good game. there is a quick zombie mission which is kinda cool. i think that's the only level that has replay value. also, it has easy trophies. rent it first
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 10
4 out of 10
Gameplay: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Graphics: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
1 of 2 found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Eat Lead: Return of Matt Hazard
Best game ever!
Posted on:1/7/09
yeaboi!
Well to start i would like to say i have never played a game in the Matt Hazard series. I have seen trailers and short gameplay videos. I will for sure be on the lookout for this game. This game is awesome I like the way you get to fight robots, aliens, cowboys, etc. all at once! From what i understand the game takes place inside some sort of a video game where Matt Hazard has to fight a lot of bad guys to get out or something like that. Well just by knowing that you get to fight all sorts of bad guys, I want this game. I'm going to pre order it today!
Comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
gamer98
California
 
Please wait while more information about gamer98 is loaded.
Additional information about gamer98 could not be loaded.
Doesn't look that great
Posted 9/22/10
This looks old and boring
Comments (1)
Comment (1)
Review 11 for Eat Lead: Return of Matt Hazard
amazing!
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Sound: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:8/23/13
videogamedude123
Location: New York, NY
This game is perfect for: casual gamers
this game is so much fun! it adds a lot of humor to the game and is loaded with fun!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Sound: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Review 12 for Eat Lead: Return of Matt Hazard
Dang This Game is Freakin Crazy
Posted on:12/1/08
DespereauxLtd.
This game is pretty cool because you get to fight retro enemies from past games. Its so random because in one level you will fight cowboys or zombies or maybe even both. I had a little discussion with a gamestop clerk and he was telling me all about the funny extras like when you punch someone you can literally see the game data break away. I don't know i kinda just wanna see this game fulfill my inner desire to play a game made strictly for no reason and just cause it will make you smirk.
Review 13 for Eat Lead: Return of Matt Hazard
Haha
Posted on:1/12/09
Anonymous
This game should be hilarious, not sure if it'll be worth a buy, but checking it out ought to be worth it. The title is one of the funny parts and that's probably not even going to be comparable to the script. The title is funny because this is Matt Hazards first game, there are no other games with Matt Hazard in them, referenced, yes, starring, no. It should be a pretty solid shooter throughout though.
0 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Eat Lead: Return of Matt Hazard
Would buy this but.....
Posted on:1/21/09
RiTZo
There doesn't seem to be any mention of any online gameplay. I love 3rd person shooters and am just plain sick of all the FPS's for the PS3. Honestly I wish all games gave you the option to switch between the 2 views like oblivion/older Socom. Probably rent this game since its just going to be a story with no multiplayer.
0 of 1 found this review helpful.
Ratings-Only Reviews for Eat Lead: Return of Matt Hazard
Based on 1 ratings-only review
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Would recommend? Yes 0 out of 1
Gameplay: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Graphics: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Sound: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10