GameStop Ratings and Reviews

Shop Now At GameStop
Shop Software or
Choose a Category
Top Rated Product

Product Reviews

Eat Lead: Return of Matt Hazard

Get ready for a fictional account of the world's most popular video game hero...of the 1980s. Matt Hazard is coming out of retirement and makinghis next-gen"comeback"against all his old enemies in a hilarious parody of the last 25 years of gaming.
Average Customer Rating:
5.875
5.9
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (10 reviews)
10 stars
0
9 stars
1
8 stars
3
7 stars
0
6 stars
1
5 stars
1
4 stars
0
3 stars
0
2 stars
1
1 star
1
4 out of 850%of reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Eat Lead: Return of Matt Hazard
Review 1 for Eat Lead: Return of Matt Hazard
It's a shooter
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Gameplay: 
4 out of 10
4 out of 10
Graphics: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Sound: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
4 out of 10
4 out of 10
Posted on:4/17/13
nightkid921
Location: Atlanta, GA
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
The story line is not bad and is funny at parts but its shooting can be difficult at some parts. The game is your standard third person shooter but the character knows he is in a game and that kinda changes things up a bit.
My Video:
(click on the play button to start movie)
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Gameplay: 
4 out of 10
4 out of 10
Graphics: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Sound: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
4 out of 10
4 out of 10
Review 2 for Eat Lead: Return of Matt Hazard
A very action-packed and funny game.
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Posted on:3/20/09
BIGBOY27
This is one of the funniest games i have ever played. I think the story line is ingenious, to have a video game about a fictional video game character. I enjoyed this game from the moment i started playing it. You play as Matt Hazard a video game character who was at the top of the video game world during the 80's, but of late has fallen. Now he try's to get back on top in his new next generation title. But things are not what he expects them to be..... With very tight controls and maneuver ability you try to get down to the bottom of what's going on. The weapons are great and the achievements you earn are both funny and somewhat easy to get. Eat Lead: Return of Matt Hazard is a great Third-person shooter. I'd recommend this game to people who love action packed games.
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
3 of 3 found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Eat Lead: Return of Matt Hazard
Fun for Everyone
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Gameplay: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Posted on:11/29/10
PoWnEr
Location: longview tx
This game is perfect for: casual gamers
I got this game mainly for the achievements, but it was actually pretty fun, it did have a lot of achievements and some funny achievements but this was a fun game with some funny quotes and gameplay. I had fun playing this game but once you defeated it there's nothing to do left but sell it on ebay. I would recommend this to a 10 year old because I think he would have more fun with this game than me, but still good!
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Gameplay: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
4 of 4 found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Eat Lead: Return of Matt Hazard
EAT LEAD!
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Posted on:3/21/09
Njdevils901s
I rented this game expecting to get my hands on a game that really wasn't that good. Thankfully I was surprised! Eat Lead: The Return of Matt Hazard is a comic-shooter and almost reminds me of a game like Timesplitters. It does lack no multi-player, but the game is pretty long. It had good controls and easy to play as well. I really enjoyed the first few hours of this game, however it got boring towards the end when you fight the same enemies holding water guns and use the same melee moves. The weapons in this game were awesome, but even with a good note like that this game suffers some major flaws. First, the AI is dumber then a toothpick. All they do is go into cover and pop out every so often. I rarely found my self in close-quarter combat because all I could do to my enemy is aim for their head and pray. I enjoyed the game a lot, because of a solid story, good weapons, fun gameplay, and despite the lack of AI it was fun to pull of head-shots. I don't understand though how a game rated (T) can be called EAT LEAD! I thought this game was going to be massive havoc o blood and gore until ESRB gave me the news I didn't want to hear. Also some of the bosses are quite difficult and I could not have done without looking online. Despite all the criticism I have gave Mr. Matt Hazard I think it is a solid game I would give it an 8/10.
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Eat Lead: Return of Matt Hazard
Just For kicks
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Gameplay: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Graphics: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Sound: 
2 out of 10
2 out of 10
Posted on:5/29/10
Dee35
This game is just for kicks. Nothing to do when you beat the latest title and your waiting for the next greatest title to come out, then kick around a little hazard. This Game was ok to pass the time. 3rd person shooter? By definition only! If your looking for a laugh, then this game will put a smile of two on your face. When you buy this game make sure you understand that this in not the "Perfect Shooter"(Rainbow Six_V2" Instead its a clunky off beat shoot and hope you hit your target game, using wise-cracks as its backbone to keeping players interested. The graphics, aren't that Great, but that shouldn't be a surprise. Some areas, I had to adjust my Tv just to make it to the next level. But all in all, I guess you can't complain when the price was only seventeen.
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Gameplay: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Graphics: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Sound: 
2 out of 10
2 out of 10
1 of 13 found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Eat Lead: Return of Matt Hazard
Cheap deaths and clunky controls...
Overall Rating: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Gameplay: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Graphics: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Sound: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Posted on:10/29/11
peacefrog95
Location: Stillwater, OK
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
I bought this game on a whim and wound up returning it. Eat Lead has an interesting story with a great sense of humor, but the sub-par graphics and clunky controls really took away from the experience. I played on the "Normal" difficulty expecting a challenge, but all I got were more enemies and some excruciatingly cheap deaths. I wouldn't recommend this game unless you felt absolutely compelled to check it out.
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Overall Rating: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Gameplay: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Graphics: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Sound: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
2 of 4 found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Eat Lead: Return of Matt Hazard
Making Fun of the Last Two Decades
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Gameplay: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Posted on:2/28/09
Darth Mel89
This game takes everything the video game industry has done in the last 20 years and turns it into one of the most hilarious parody games ever made. The Game starts with telling the history of Matt Hazard he had been a video game star in the early 80's to late 90's being a classic shooter star from a Doom like games to Halo but his career in the late 90's begin to go sour and desperate for money made any game he could get in even strangely like a Mario Cart game. Apparently the Video Game giant Marathon has hired Matt Hazard from the dregs of video game history to be in a new game called Snipers Shoot. Matt needing the money and wanting to be back in the spotlight accepts. During his first mission in the game a Arnold schwarzenegger look alike says he must kill Hazard for the head President of Marathon before Matt is defeated in the boss fight a hacker girl named QA saves his life and saves he must survive until the end of the game to continue to not be erased from video game history. Eat Lead The Return of Matt Hazard is absolutely hiliarious video game making fun of the last two decades in video games making fun of Doom, Halo, Tomb Raider, Perfect Dark, Dead or Alive, Leisure Suit Larry, Castlevania, Resident Evil, Dead House, Kill Zone, Red Dead Revolver, Turok, and 70's, 80's, and 90's action movies. What makes the game funnier is the constant breaking of the 4th wall and cracking on classic video game puzzles, plots, and dailogue and the bizzare relationship between the female hacker QA and Matt Hazard trying to find out why the President of Marathon Games has taken away Hazard's pervious game saves so Matt can revert to come back to life and why the President wants him dead and erased from video game history. Honestly I would not say this is the BEST shooter ever but highly decent and plays similar to Gears of War if you just want a shooter game with a hiliarious story and parodies of the last 20 years of video games I would highly recommended it.
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Gameplay: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
2 of 4 found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Eat Lead: Return of Matt Hazard
cant wait
Posted on:2/21/09
GHOSTMAN101
I can not wait for this game it is going to be awesome.looks like I'm gonna have to trade in fallout3 and MK vs DC for this one.it is kinda weird with the zombies i thought it was going to be M but then i saw there was no blood *sigh* but it looks really funny like when they are shooting each-other with water guns.it looks like you can get power ups like a frozen arm or some kind of a rampage mode.this is definitely a good game for gamers to put in your collection it is the first matt hazard on next gen consoles so hopefully it is good.be sure to pick it up
Review 9 for Eat Lead: Return of Matt Hazard
Return Matt Hazard or don't buy
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 10
2 out of 10
Gameplay: 
2 out of 10
2 out of 10
Graphics: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Sound: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Posted on:6/9/12
noncamper
Location: KY
This game is perfect for: casual gamers
I like third person shooters, this was a serious, serious flop in my mind. It was clunky and unfluid to say the least. The jokes were funny sometimes but sometimes they emphisized how horrible this game was. the bosses were not at face value hard but many one hit kill bosses dragged out what could have been fun to a terrible time. I had to fight not quitting and trading in numerous times because of mechanics. DO NOT BUY.
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 10
2 out of 10
Gameplay: 
2 out of 10
2 out of 10
Graphics: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Sound: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Review 10 for Eat Lead: Return of Matt Hazard
the determining factor
Posted on:1/15/09
Bulldogg
This game looks awesome depending on if it can execute what is says it will do, the story sounds fantastic: a parody of video game shooters from the last 25 years. Awesome, i think as long as the gameplay is solid this will be a very entertaining game, and if it does have multiplayer that it will be able to be around long enough to get a large audience.
0 of 2 found this review helpful.
Comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
likeaboss
orlando
 
Please wait while more information about likeaboss is loaded.
Additional information about likeaboss could not be loaded.
OK-Not So Good
Posted 6/14/11
This game is ok. I played it the first day I got it which was like 6 months ago and I havent played it since. I give it a 4 of 10.
Comments (1)
Comment (1)