GameStop Ratings and Reviews

Shop Now At GameStop
Shop Software or
Choose a Category
Most Popular Products
Top Rated Product

Product Reviews

Phantasy Star Portable

PLAY PHANTASY STAR UNIVERSE ANYWHERE, ANYTIME! Fans of the acclaimed Phantasy Star Universe series can now explore Gurhal on-the-go via the PSP (PlayStation®Portable) system. Up to four friends will team up to unravel the exclusive new storyline that picks up where Phantasy Star Universe ends and before the start of PSU: Ambition of the Illuminus. The infestation of the alien SEED was thought to be under control by the end of PSU, but a new menace has stricken the Gurhal system. Alongside a new character named Vivienne, players must investigate the contamination and clear out the affected wildlife. In this intriguing new installment, players will delve deeper than ever before into the mysteries of Phantasy Star Universe.
Average Customer Rating:
9.067
9.1
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (30 reviews)
10 stars
8
9 stars
5
8 stars
1
7 stars
0
6 stars
0
5 stars
0
4 stars
0
3 stars
1
2 stars
0
1 star
0
14 out of 1593%of reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Phantasy Star Portable
Review 1 for Phantasy Star Portable
I kind of like it.
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:4/25/10
Crekcurt
I have played phantasy star universe for both the playstation 2 and the xbox 360, so I was already familiar with the basic story line that was going on in phantasy star portable. I did find it refreshing to actually get to play the story mode as the story mode for universe is really bad and very uninteresting. I found the game play to be very much like you would expect to see on the playstation 2, minus some camera control. As far as the camera controls go I had to pretend I was playing a hybrid of PSO and PSU where you just hit the shoulder button to center the camera as you turn. I did find the inability to go online with my character to be annoying. I loved the fact that they added extra weapons and higher skill sets for the job types in this game though. I think that it's great that I can be a CAST/fight master and still have the ability to use magic. This minor change made me and a few other friends get this game and we have been playing together for months.
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Review 2 for Phantasy Star Portable
A New Fan To The Series!!!
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:3/7/09
CaptainFalcon07
I gotta say i've never been a fan of this series only because i wasn't into rpg's at the time when i heard this game come out for the dreamcast i let it slip by but after going to a video game design school you learn to open your mind to different genres of games and i played the hell out of every rpg game since big guild wars fan now and then i heard this was coming out for the PSP and i wanted to know what ive been missing out on all these years which was a lot this game is INCREDIBLE character customization is the best ive ever seen in any game to date and the fighting is like that of watching your favorite fighting movie i can't stop playing this game it's so good i would recommend this game to anyone that plays current rpg's on the home consoles like mass effect because its just as addicting also the upgrading of your characters job, class and weapons is awesome too please if you have a PSP go pick this game up NOWW!
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Phantasy Star Portable
I had this game and I gotta say I lost myself init
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:7/8/14
YoungIsaac19
Location: New York Greenburg White Plains
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
I first had this game when i was ten years old, i got it for my birthday. And when i played i wouldn't stop playing it. It was that good. I mean there was good story telling in at which i sometimes cried when the bosses sometimes hurt or killed some of my comrades. the multiplayer was ultimately awesome. So if i had to recomened this game i would you need to get this game.
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Review 4 for Phantasy Star Portable
Freakin Awesome
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:5/1/10
Saechao
If you love anime looking type of games, this is the one for you. By far this is one of the best psp games I've played so far. The character creation customization is very nice! you can wear anything you want and your attributes are based on your job selection and glowing line stuff on your body xD I beat the whole game once and replying it isnt bad either, and after you beat it you can keep playing it! The lvl's go up pretty high, you can also play with other friends if you want. I have this black wings on my character that I think is pretty awesome! If you love RPG Like me then this is one of the best one's out there for psp! You can choose from different race, and create the voice sounds+ size of character. If you played the sequels you'll probably know what Im talking about.
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
3 of 3 found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Phantasy Star Portable
A relaxing, fun and portable Phantasy Star
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Posted on:3/25/09
NightSky72
Let me start out by saying that Phantasy Star Portable is essentially Phantasy Star Universe in portable form. However, it has many additions, including achievements that yield exceptional rewards, many new items (including plenty of S-ranks) and 8 different type (class) options. I'll be honest that the game is quite easy, but that makes the game very enjoyable and relaxing (in my opinion). You feel your character grow stronger with each class, character and skill level. There are plenty of free missions to undertake (after going through the Story Mode) as well. Do not purchase this game with the intent of experiencing a riveting story however. It can be mildly interesting at certain points, but the story is just as bland (or weird, depending) as Phantasy Star Universe. Overall, if you are looking for a very fun action-RPG where finding high-ranked items is fun, leveling is rewarding, and completing achievements is worthwhile, this is the game for you.
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Review 6 for Phantasy Star Portable
Perfect For Combat
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Posted on:7/24/12
SecretGamerGirl
Location: Virginia Beach, Va
This game is perfect for: casual gamers
The game play was amazing! I loved the customization and the limitless combinations that you can have. The weapons, armor, and even the races themselves all circle around the kind of person you want them to be. The only problem I had was the lack of cut scene and animation it brought. There was no problem with the plot twists, just getting there was a hassle. Plus, if you are playing a new file as a different race, you have to go through the tutorial ALL OVER AGAIN! Overall this game is so worth buying for the PSP. It's like getting a really great game for a really great price.
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
3 of 3 found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Phantasy Star Portable
Worth it for sure!
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Posted on:4/2/09
NiteMist
I am somewhat of a new player of Phantasy Star, I had friends that played the older versions, I got this game a few days ago, it became instantly addicting, when you first start you pick from so many options to customize your character with, I swear I spent at least a good 20 minutes just picking out everything! The first few missions are very easy and the tutorials although you can skip them are very helpful. If you have a PSP and are into RPG games i deeply recommend getting this game, Its not so hard but not so easy, it gets you thinking but has a relaxing effect to it, which is great after playing certain challenging game. I have become so addicted to this game its all I have been thinking about lately! If you have thoughts about getting it but you arent so sure, trust me if you dont get this game you will regret it later :D
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Phantasy Star Portable
Great so far
Posted on:2/15/09
TruJustice
I've been playing the demo version and am I'm addicted. It's no 360 version of course but it's a GREAT port over for the PSP. The graphics are as good as the PSP can get and so are the sounds. You don't get the open world within the city, but the levels are the same you are use to seeing on the main system. I've played the demo version until I capped at the Lvl 20 cap (demo only limit). If you don't destroy the boss in the second mission of story mode, you make it easier to play the Multimode over and over. Defeated the bosses on "C" and "B" there, and it's making me want to play it again when the actual game is released. If you never played this game on the major systems before, I don't know if you will like it. If you are familiar with the series and are a fan, I can not see how you could NOT like this port over to the psp. It seems very promising so far and have enjoyed using the weapons I have found. A very decent hack and slash RPG to experience. I only hope the levels are also randomly laid out as they are on the major systems. The PSP Demo version hasn't shown that.
Review 9 for Phantasy Star Portable
Old School Phantasy Star Player....
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:3/27/09
Foulutaka
I've been a Phantasy Star Player since the 90's. And I have to say, sense Sega had it for the Sega Saturn, and then the Dreamcast. I played the hell out of Phantasy Star, now since it's been release for Playstation 2 and X-Box, and Now the PSP. YEE-HAW no more online pay! But so far I've beatin the game, and I love the graphics, weapons, the customize characters, and you can pick there jobs. If you don't know about Phantasy Star, you need to try it! Believe me I got hook on it at 14. Now I'm 26 and I still love it. Great Storyline, 3 worlds to explore, alot of quest, awsome weapons, rare items "Armors, Weapons, New Clothing, Skills, and et ceretra. Look me up. I'll help ya out on quest. Character: Foulutaka Level: 89 pace: Newman Class: Hunter
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Phantasy Star Portable
For RPG fans
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:3/6/11
Ar15Shooter
Location: Suisun, Ca
This game is perfect for: casual gamers
Similar battle-system to Final Fantasy 12, which I for one really enjoyed very much, a free roam environment in which you can run away from enemies to heal(except for bosses, they can chase you down). I got for Christmas and I really enjoyed. would recommend this to Final Fantasy, Persona, and Tales of ..... Fans everywhere.
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
2 of 2 found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Phantasy Star Portable
Sounds fun and I like Space RPGs!
Posted on:2/2/09
Gunwing
I have been keeping tabs on Phantasy Star for many years, even back in the PS2 days. I never rely got into Japanese RPGs, of any kind till about 2 years ago when Final Fantasy: Crisis Core hit the PSP system. I was vary impressed by the quality of the English voice overs, the great graphics, and even more the smooth as silk gameplay that never got old, and was both fun and challenging to the last second you played it. Now I too have been convinced that Japanese RPGs are worth the trouble and time it takes to get into them. PSU Portable will be my first venture into the Phantasy Star Universe and while I loved Final Fantasy I think I will like this one even more as I'm a huge sucker for Space Oprah style RPGs. (Mass Effect, KOTOR, KOTOR2 etc) This year I also hope we will at least get a full announcement on a truly 3D Star Ocean game like my Xbox360 will be getting this year!
Review 12 for Phantasy Star Portable
What did I just buy?
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 10
3 out of 10
Gameplay: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Posted on:8/16/09
Metroid Maniac
I reserved the game Phantasy Star: Portable when I first heard about it. I have been following the series ever since I found out about it 6 years ago so you better believe I was excited. When I picked the game and played it for a little bit I thought it was missing a few things. For example a compelling story. The characters were kind of wooden, story elements were life-less and any attempt at a twist just made it all the stupider. Another was the AI. Their combat abilities was that of a rock with a sword. Lastly no online play. This really made me reconsider returning it because none of my friends own a PSP or a copy of the game so multiplayer was lack luster. Also, when I finally found someone who would play with me, there was so much lag I could run a mile in between button presses. I only could find two things good about this game. One, you can make your own character and use it in the story mode and the multiplayer modes, but because of no online play whats the point? Second, the graphics and sound during the missions are quite good for the PSP but some of the same monster models are re-used over and over again. The only way I would recommend this game is if it were free on the PlayStation Network. My advice, stick with Phantasy Star II on the Sega Genesis.
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 10
3 out of 10
Gameplay: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
5 of 12 found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Phantasy Star Portable
Best PSP game so far.
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Posted on:3/4/09
Sf2fan
If you've played Phantasy Star Universe for the PC/Ps2 or xbox 360, its essentially the same game but on the PSP with minor tweaks (MAGS ARE BACK!). This game has the best graphics i've seen on the PSP. You can play with your friends for FREE unlike the PC/Ps2 or xbox 360. I have been a fan of every Phantasy Star Online game since the dreamcast, and this is by far the most epic game sega has released. Its too bad the english Phantasy Star universe servers don't have many players. This game is similar to monster hunter (I believe thats what it is called) and is probably one of the best action / adventure / rpg games on the market. The game is quite challenging and very fun multiplayer. The controls are fairly easy to grasp. The sound is OK.. some of the english voice acting isn't great but the story is well written. I've never seen so many character customization options (The only thing you can't pick from PSU is height). All that is missing is online play, you can however use ad-hoc for multiplayer and I believe you can download ad-hoc party from the PS3 or use xlink on the PC. Due to lack of online functionality I rate it 9/10!
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Review 14 for Phantasy Star Portable
Possibly the best PSP game
Posted on:3/2/09
Sf2fan
I have played the Japanese version (which was very hard to get mind you, was sold out for weeks after its release in japan) and it is honestly the best game I've played for the system. If you've played Phantasy Star Universe for the PC/Ps2 or xbox 360, its essentially the same game but on the PSP. This game has the best graphics i've seen on the PSP. There is a bunch of downloadable content and you can play with your friends for FREE unlike the PC/Ps2 or xbox 360 versions. I have been a fan of every Phantasy Star Online game since the dreamcast, and this is by far the most epic game sega has released. Its too bad the english Phantasy Star universe servers don't have many players. This game is similar to monster hunter (I believe thats what it is called) and is probably one of the best action / adventure / rpg games on the market.
Review 15 for Phantasy Star Portable
Before you buy!
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Posted on:6/3/09
Tiggy
PS:P lives up to it's predecessors in the sense that it is a port. Yes! A port as far as gameplay but with a different storyline. I purchased a copy and was very disappointed that the missions (maps) were all the same as the ones found in PSU and Ambition of the Illuminus. The other problem is that the game can only be played "ad hoc". Want to play with your PSU buddies from across the world? Not happening here. You can't raise your own Partner Machine and you cannot decorate your room. Even though it may be a bit of a disappointment to PSU fans, PS:P can be a great hit for those who have not experienced PSU. It's fun, still addicting, and makes a good 4-player multiplayer (if you have 3 friends that own a copy). It would have been nice if you could take your console characters to the portable console and vice versa.
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Review 16 for Phantasy Star Portable
One of the best games for PSP
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Posted on:4/11/09
CptBoomstick
The story line is weak but what you would come to expect from a Phantasy Star game, so no big deal. I thought the graphics were pretty top notch for a PSP game. The level of customization is also very good and adds a nice addictive element. The main issues I had with the game is the targeting and the boss battles. While the bosses themselves are impressive, a lot of them are actually the exact same creature just a different color or face. Also, while there are certain spots that do more damage to the bosses, the best strategy is simply to run in circles and you will rarely get hit. The AI in this game is pretty poor. However, if you love PStar, character customization, and sci fi you have to get this game! I also thought the leveling up was pretty balanced as well.
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Review 17 for Phantasy Star Portable
Limited to Ad-Hoc Multiplayer
Posted on:2/18/09
Scuffles
I have played the demo myself for hours on end and find myself looking forward to the full game. The Only down side I can find is the lack of Online Multiplayer, Yes it does support Multiplayer but only through Ad-Hoc so you essentially have to be in the same room with whoever you are playing with. Sony will probably get around to doing the same thing they did with Monster Hunter 2G, which is set it up so you can tunnel your connection through your PS3 to play with other people online but I'm personally not going to go out and get a PS3 just to play Phantasy Star Portable with other people online. I dunno I guess that just kills 3/4 of the fun for me since most of my friends who would play PSPortable don't live anywhere near me.
Review 18 for Phantasy Star Portable
The Action/RGP Gods have blessed this one...
Posted on:12/23/08
Lord Hammerheart (on PSU)
I preordered this game the second i seen it was on here. As a Phantasy Star Universe (and previously Phantasy Star Online) player with almost 500 hrs. invested in PSU I'm definitely looking forward to play this game. I love PSU and that's what this game is based on, but it's sounds like it's more of a streamlined version... which for a handheld is a good thing in my opinion. This game is what made me go out and get a PSP, and soon I can play Phantasy Star even when I'm away from my house and going through withdrawls. This game will offer tons of hours of play time, and a huge supply of weapons, armor, armor slots, and items to buy and hunt for. Top quality Action/RPG serious videogame addiction soon coming to PSP... I can't wait.
Review 19 for Phantasy Star Portable
NOT a port of PS2/Xbox versions...
Posted on:3/1/09
jordanlund
There seems to be some confusion regarding this game and after maxing out my character in the demo I think I can clear things up. First, this is set in the same "Universe" as Phantasy Star Universe on the PS2 and Xbox 360 and it features some of the same characters, item building system and maps, but the story is NEW and UNIQUE to the PSP. This is NOT the same game as the original PSU or the sequel "Ambition of the Illuminus." Major differences: Mags are back! (YAY!) Partner Machinery (your very own Cast that you can add as an NPC). City maps are done via a top-down "mouse style" interface. You don't have to walk from store to store. You click on the counter you want to go to or the NPC you want to talk to.
Review 20 for Phantasy Star Portable
CANT WAIT
Posted on:1/25/09
Creeps
I can't wait for this game to come out. I have played the other Phantasy Star games and loved them and now that I am going to have it on the go is awesome. I've played the japanesse demo and had a hard time reading everything(because it was in Japanesse) but the gameplay was great. The only thing I didnt like was that unlike the other ones it isn't an open world. You just pick your mission and then you do it (The missions are more of an open world) And when you finish you go back to the ship and can go to shops and do whatever. But your not walking to the shops you are just clicking on a link to go to the shop. So it looks like a great game if you din't care about the open world thing.
1 2 next>>