GameStop Ratings and Reviews

Shop Now At GameStop
Shop Software or
Choose a Category
Most Popular Products
Top Rated Product

Product Reviews

Dragon Quest V: Hand of the Heavenly Bride

What begins as an innocent childhood voyage of a boy following alongside his father's journey soon develops into an adventure of a brave young man travelling the world as he faces life-altering decisions. Step into the shoes of a hero in the makings to fulfil your destiny, befriending a crew of quirky monsters along the way.
Average Customer Rating:
9.4
9.4
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (9 reviews)
10 stars
3
9 stars
1
8 stars
1
7 stars
0
6 stars
0
5 stars
0
4 stars
0
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
0
5 out of 5100%of reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Dragon Quest V: Hand of the Heavenly Bride
Review 1 for Dragon Quest V: Hand of the Heavenly Bride
Waiting for this since I was a child.
Posted on:2/8/09
StarrGuise
After the PS2 version was cancelled for the US, I had almost completely given up hope. I had recently played the Super Famicon/SNES version of this with the use of a patch, but it still wasn't enough. Easily, this game is the best Dragon Quest game ever released. We watch our main character grow into a handsome young warrior, desperately in pursuit of the legendary hero in order to find his mother. Originally, only two women were available to be chosen as wives, but a new potential wife was added to spice things up. Also, you are allowed up to 4 characters in battle, unlike the original which only allowed for 3 characters. The monster collecting system still appears to be intact, which I'm looking forward to. Even the music is wonderful. The only thing that aggravates me about this game is that it's so much harder than IV! If you like challenging RPGs, you'll definitely be in for a treat. Please do not pass this game up. You don't know what you're missing out on.
Review 2 for Dragon Quest V: Hand of the Heavenly Bride
BY FAR THE GREATEST GAME I HAVE EVER PLAYED!!!
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:1/5/11
Lampboo606
Location: California, CA
Ive been a Dragon Quest fan for as long as i can remember but non of the Dragon Quest games by far came close to being as fun as this one, with its great graphics, standard rpg turn based battle system, to its fantastic, one of a kind story line. its my favorite Dragon Quest, my favorite RPG, and even be my favorite game of all time. So this fantastic remake for the DS is just stunning to say the least and i would recommend this title to all RPG fans new and old.
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
3 of 4 found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Dragon Quest V: Hand of the Heavenly Bride
Among the best of Dragon Quests.
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Posted on:1/23/13
FreeRPGer
Location: Troy, NY
This game is perfect for: casual gamers
I must say, Dragon Quest 8 for the PS2 used to be my favorite Dragon Quest game. But this (DQ5) is right up there with it. This game spans three generations -- you start off a young kid following your dad, then your older, and then your older yet, married, and leading your own kids. Masterpiece in storytelling. And it looks even better on the 3DS XL.
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Dragon Quest V: Hand of the Heavenly Bride
Good
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Gameplay: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Graphics: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Posted on:5/13/11
Snivee
This is a good game but i miss Dragon Quest IV because of the 5 chapters.The storyline and music is great but the game shoud of been longer like Dragon Quest IX and IV.Anyway this is worth it.
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Gameplay: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Graphics: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
2 of 3 found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Dragon Quest V: Hand of the Heavenly Bride
Don't let this one pass you up.
Posted on:2/13/09
ZenithianWarrior
At long last, Dragon Quest V, which in my humble opinion is the best Dragon Quest of them all, finally comes to US shores. I had played this with the use of a translation patch some time ago, and to say the least, I was floored. Without spoiling too much for the people who haven't played this, I can tell you the storyline is quite intricate. You start the game as a young child, and grow up, and get married. This was also the first game where you could get monsters to be on your team, I think this adds a deep level of customization to your eventual party. If I can sum that up in one phrase, if you own a DS, this would be a fine addition to your game library.
Review 6 for Dragon Quest V: Hand of the Heavenly Bride
A must get for the DS!!
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Posted on:3/18/09
nycmode
If you're not a huge RPG fan you can stop reading here. But chances are if you stumbled onto this page, you are a fan, and therefore would likely enjoy this game. After seeing the beloved Chrono Trigger game hit the DS, I was extremely happy to see DQ5 also hit the DS shortly after. Long story short - this game will eat up a lot of your time. Forget the fact there's an extra dungeon included in this game, but it's also got so many good plot twists and tons of mini games and sidequests that it will keep you busy for a substantial amount of time. For those who played DQ games before, this game will be very familiar to you. For those of you who haven't, you'll find a deep game with a solid battle system, intuitive controls, very good graphics and gameplay. Most importantly you will find a storyline that will keep you hooked for a long time. I won't spoil the twists, but let's just say it will keep you motivated for some time to find out "what's next." This game is a must get for DQ fans, and RPG fans alike. I really can't see any major flaws in this game, except that it uses very little of the stylus. But that's just nitpicking. Overall it's a solid port and it's always great for new people to experience what is one of the most popular and beloved titles in the DQ series. I'd urge anybody who likes RPGs or monster collecting to get this game.
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Review 7 for Dragon Quest V: Hand of the Heavenly Bride
One of the famous lost DQ titles....brought to the western shores
Posted on:11/25/08
Shadowsnake
This game is going to be great! Monster-catching was introduced with the original DQV title and it spans at least 3 generations of heroes as well and features a 3rd woman to choose as a bride! Even if your not a DQ game fan this should be great as it never been released to any of us on the western shores! Preorder today!
Review 8 for Dragon Quest V: Hand of the Heavenly Bride
MUST BUY
Posted on:11/20/08
lb19
I can't wait till this game comes out i am dying to play it because i'm currently playing Dragon quest IV for the DS and i highly recommend that and i can only imagine how much better dragon quest V is gonna be. Hopefully this game we can use the touch screen that would be nice.
Review 9 for Dragon Quest V: Hand of the Heavenly Bride
It's that good!
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Graphics: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Sound: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Posted on:2/18/10
buyTizGame
As you've read in the headline, it is that good. I'm not much of an RPG guy, not like i was in the past. Today i need a game that can keep me on edge. Games like DMC, God of War, and the recently released, Bayonetta. But like i mentioned i was a fan of the RPG genre. After going through several "Good RPGs" like Tales of Vesperia and ironically Dragon quest 8, none of them managed to hold my attention. I decided to give this one a try. After the first few hours, my love for RPGs that i've lost in past came back to me with a vengance. DQ5 has a great cast of characters that reel you in with their trials and tribulations especially the Hero, which is you. You'll practially play him from child through even marriage, hence the title, "Hand of the Heavenly Bride". The story itself is jam packed with plot twists and enough emotional moments that it'll make you weep for our hero. The story is really something else. My petpeeve with most RPGs are the always annoying random battles. Fortunately enough, the battles in DQ9 move at such a quick pace that it's hardly ever boring, although it still can get annoying when your trying to conserve your items for the boss. Speaking of which, the bosses don't give you too much difficulty save for the last 4 boss fights, but even then they arent too hard. Aside from the main quest you can also train monsters to fight for you in a pokemon kind of way. Training certain mobs grant you several handy spells like multiheal, which helps alot for the final boss. Theres also the casino where you can spend the coins you've earn for special weapons and armor, a knick knack museum to store your special items, and an extra dungeon with an extra boss. Yes, this game is worth your **$. i would pay the price of 1 PS3 game for this baby. DQ5 is amazing!
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Graphics: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Sound: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10