GameStop Ratings and Reviews

Shop Now At GameStop
Shop Software or
Choose a Category
Most Popular Products
Top Rated Product

Product Reviews

Fire Emblem: Shadow Dragon

Medeus, the king of the dragonkin, has been revived and is forming an alliance with a fearsome sorcerer named Gharnef. Together, they threaten to the throw the entire continent of Archanea back to an age of chaos and war. Now, it's up to young Prince Marth and his small band of loyal followers to rise up and rally all those left in the land to make one last desperate push to free Archanea from the tyranny of the Shadow Dragon.
Average Customer Rating:
7.949
7.9
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (48 reviews)
10 stars
12
9 stars
8
8 stars
7
7 stars
3
6 stars
2
5 stars
4
4 stars
1
3 stars
1
2 stars
1
1 star
0
27 out of 3969%of reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Fire Emblem: Shadow Dragon
Review 1 for Fire Emblem: Shadow Dragon
Pretty good!
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Gameplay: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Graphics: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Sound: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Posted on:6/26/13
LEGOFan11
Location: California, CA
This game is perfect for: casual gamers
Hello, Fire Emblem fans! I am a little new to the Fire Emblem video game series, and I think the whole series from what i have seen is pretty cool! I first got interested in getting a Fire Emblem video game after I had played as Marth and Roy from the "Super Smash Bros." video game series (Well, more or less SSB: Melee). But onto the main game. Gameplay is pretty good, if you have ever played Risk Factions or Project X Zone, you'd probably have a good idea how the gameplay is, you control your characters called "Units" who appear on a turn-based platforms/maps. The music is okay, although I do love the Fire Emblem theme song that was borrowed from SSB: Melee, it is also used in this. I felt the story wasn't as good as previous installments of the Fire Emblem series, but if you want to understand Marth's story, this is the game (I might also mention this is a remake of Fire Emblem 3 originally from Japan). There is a couple of things you can do after you're done with the game, such as: leveling up your units, getting new items, replay the story to unlock more units. That's about it! Thanks for reading!
My Video:
(click on the play button to start movie)
Here is a prologue gameplay video!
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Gameplay: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Graphics: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Sound: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Review 2 for Fire Emblem: Shadow Dragon
Great for anyone!
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:9/10/14
FireEmblemGamer
Location: Colorado Springs, CO
This game is perfect for: casual gamers
Fire Emblem Shadow Dragon is a very unique strategy game. If you like the genre then it would be a perfect game for you. Just be sure to buy it at Game Stop because you know it will work and if you don't like it you or it breaks you can return it. But all in all it is a very great game for any Nintendo fan, or any gamer at all. If you buy it you will certainly enjoy it.
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Review 3 for Fire Emblem: Shadow Dragon
Fire Emblem
Posted on:1/12/09
CA
Finally the game is coming. The original NES title was Fire Emblem: Dark Dragon and the Sword of Light, the longest name in the Fire Emblem series. Fire Emblem Shadow Dragon is the first Fire Emblem game ever produced and fans of the Super Smash Bros. series will recognize Marth, the main character. From what i know, Marth is the prince of a kingdom that is overrun. He tries to save his sister, but she gives him her crown and he gets teleported away. Marth's journey is to reach his homeland and free it from tyrrany. I know from Japanese sites that there are characters who have children and you get their kids if their support level is high enough as playable characters. You have to defend a castle/fort at the start of each battle and defeat happens when you lost Marth or the castle/fort is overrun. That's about all i know. This game is going to be great, hopefully they'll release the rest of the Fire Emblem Saga. I really want Geneology of the Holy War and Thracia 776 to come to US shores.
Review 4 for Fire Emblem: Shadow Dragon
AMAZING!!!!!!!!!!!!!
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:9/2/11
historygamer
Location: washington,dc
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
I like that this game is not easy. I have beaten it twice,and I have developed strategies making the game very fun. As I said I have beaten it twice and it is as fun as when I got it. The only bad thing is that if one of your characters dies, he is gone forever. But, at the same time it makes the game more challenging. I get rid of the weak characters. If you do that you will be able to go to the extra levels in between some levels that have really good characters that can join your side.
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
7 of 7 found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Fire Emblem: Shadow Dragon
Snoozefest
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 10
2 out of 10
Gameplay: 
2 out of 10
2 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
4 out of 10
4 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
2 out of 10
2 out of 10
Posted on:6/5/14
jimmyster
Location: NY
This game is perfect for: casual gamers
I have played every fire emblem on the Gameboy but the ds versions did not appeal to me. Its boring and very repetitive. Honestly lost intrest after level 2. The GBA versions also were boring on occasions. Repetitive gameplay, boring story (some like it I don't),and very boring cast of characters. I have seen both Path of Radiance and Radiant Dawn and it seems the repetitive gameplay still exists and the story is boring (but well thought out props to Nintendo).I am planning on buying Awakening many positive reviews make the game seem appealing. Honestly Nintendo could have done better but they were lazy and just remade another previous game.
Pros
-Decent graphics
-Eh gameplay
Cons
-Boring story
-Repetitive Gameplay
-Remake
Nintendo don't get lazy now I could have made a better game then this.
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 10
2 out of 10
Gameplay: 
2 out of 10
2 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
4 out of 10
4 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
2 out of 10
2 out of 10
Review 6 for Fire Emblem: Shadow Dragon
I SO can't wait...
Posted on:12/17/08
PsiPhiTy
It is definately a good time to be a DS lite owner. With great games like Advance Wars DoR, Gauntlet, Moon and now Fire Emblem, I'll be hard pressed to find enough free time to finish any one of them. Fire Emblem comes from a long heritage of turn-based-strategy (TBS) games (8 previous ones). Fire Emblem does with Magic, Swords, Lances and Bows, what Advance Wars Did with Guns, Tanks, Copters and Missles. Between the great graphics and the new implementation of WiFi battles (that's world-wide-online) this game will quickly become a cult classic and an instant hit in no time. The strategy in this game is unlike any found elsewhere on the DS lite system (excepting Advance Wars DS). This game offers once in a lifetime (literally) opportunity to experience strategy on a handheld unlike any thing before it and with a pedigree of quality to boot. Don't miss it for the art, or for the game and don't miss the history in the making. If You Snooze [here] You Looze.
Review 7 for Fire Emblem: Shadow Dragon
Could be better
Overall Rating: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Graphics: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Posted on:6/8/09
ShotySniper123
First of all, I would like to comment on the graphics. At first, they may seem pretty bad or weird, but after a while it grows on you. The AI is pretty good, but sometimes if you leave a lvl 10 unit by itself, it will get killed fast. The challenge is pretty hard until you get generals and heros, etc. I only played on normal, so I don't know if hard is hard, haha. At like Ch.13 I had a lvl 20 general who dominated the field and never got hurt. I never really cared much about Marth even though he is the main character in the game. The storyline was easy to follow, but predictable. If they would have made a continuous play mode like in The Sacred Stones, that would have made this game much more fun and addicting. Not the best in the series but because I never played th Fire Emblem with Roy in it, I don't know if it's the worst. Overall a good game, but I wouldn't recommend it to anyone who has never played a Fire Emblem game, or is new to the series.
Overall Rating: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Graphics: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Review 8 for Fire Emblem: Shadow Dragon
Great Remake!
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:8/7/09
Kytle
Though many people think that the graphics are "bad",i actually like it. The graphics aren't bad, its just that they are using a new art style. Now for the animation, the battle animations are very well done but the character portraits could have used better animations to show more emotion. The music is great as always, but it seems they used the Monshou no Nazo's theme instead of the actual original one. Gameplay is what you expect from Fire Emblem, not much is new but its still very fun to play. The weapons triangle was introduced into this remake but the magic trinity was left out. The new class swap system is a bit weird but it's new and fresh addition to the series. Overall this isn't the best Fire Emblem but its still a good game and I highly recommend this for anyone with a DS.
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
2 of 2 found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Fire Emblem: Shadow Dragon
GREAT BUY
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:10/12/10
AnonymousWasTaken
Location: Indiana
This game is perfect for: casual gamers
So, I don't buy many games, nor do I play many. I usually do a ton of research on a game before I buy it, and the Fire Emblem games have always been a favorite so I decided to trust my gut feeling on this one; I'm glad I did. This game is incredible. I've been engulfed in it for days. I don't get to play it much, but whenever I do it amazes me. If you like Fire Emblem games, then you'll like this. It's just like its predecessors, except with a DS twist. The graphics are just like any other Fire Emblem game out there. The sound can get quite annoying at times, but other than that it's a great game.
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
3 of 3 found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Fire Emblem: Shadow Dragon
A good rent, but not a good buy.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Posted on:5/24/09
PsychoticYoshi2009
You need to be very good at strategy games to even pick up and play it. The challenge level are very balanced. The game doesn't do a good job with using the DS's 3D graphics. It only uses sprites. The storyline is understandable, but not very strong. It's too understandable. It needs a few more twists. It's almost impossible to pick up where you left off because you never get a chance to level up, and then you killed by the weakest of enemies. At the start of the game, they might as well say; thank you for your thirty dollars. You should've just bought Guitar Hero III. Every single time you die, you have to go through this whole big report on what you did, so the creators can rub it in your face that you died. The sounds are primitive and seem like they should be on a GBA. Instead of listening to the sound effects, you may as well play charades with a parakete. 5/10. Better luck next time.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Review 11 for Fire Emblem: Shadow Dragon
A good remake I guess
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Graphics: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Posted on:9/2/09
BlueAce57
This is a remake of the first Fire Emblem game on NES it was on japan only. When I heard of this remake I had hope it had all the great features in the previous Fire Emblem games but only a few made the cut. The good thing about it is a remake and the first Fire Emblem released outside of Japan and for the first time, Updated Graphics, new class units, and Wi-Fi battles and voice chat (If you have friends in your friend roster) so you can challenge people around the globe. The bad thing is there no support system (but there is conversations on some units) no rescuing units, no Assassins, healers only heal by half, and too many units make some of the characters feel like bricks, and to add at that Story mode is decent no much dialogue as the previous ones though So in my case pick up Fire Emblem Shadow Dragon if you are a Die Hard fan or just want a strategy game with RPG in it.
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Graphics: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Review 12 for Fire Emblem: Shadow Dragon
Err. Needs improvement.
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 10
4 out of 10
Graphics: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Sound: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Posted on:3/17/09
Mr.Stupendous
Being that I purchased it on the 2nd day it came out, I played it immediately when i got home. Playing many various Fire Emblem games I was quite disappointed. For example, this game is too handicapped, in which the movement it unrealistic. Marth runs 7 spaces which is like really strange being that he is not mounted. Also the graphics attempted 3D, but lacked in the end. Another thing is that Marth didn't get any classing throughout the entire game and remained a lord doing the same moves, which I found really pitiful for him. They changed his picture though after he grew up haha. I would recommend that those looking to buy fire emblem buy some other Fire emblem game like Radiant Dawn or something, because if first timer's play this, they'll get a huge misunderstanding of how awesome this series is. By the way the AI is like really dumb even in hard modes. The only thing I like about this game is having the ability to name my customized weapons into ridiculous things like naming a steel sword Pointy stick, and the last boss, the "shadow dragon" can be easily killed with marth and his falchion.
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 10
4 out of 10
Graphics: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Sound: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Review 13 for Fire Emblem: Shadow Dragon
I tell it as it is.
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:3/13/09
PopcornChickenDude
I was so happy when I got Shadow Dragon, I'm a huge Fire Emblem fan! The game is really addictive, and I never want to put it down! All the enemy characters have different fighting styles, so it makes the game a lot more interesting. For example, enemy Maneketes, (Dragon Warriors), never move, which means you have to go and fight them. I didn't like the story line for a couple of reasons: 1. Marth was in it. I like Marth as much as the next Smash Bros. guy, but I didn't understand why they needed to use him again. I thought the same thing for Radient Dawn with Ike. Nintendo, Make more lords! 2. Too...many...characters!!! On some levels, you get 5 more people!! When I was at Chapter 15, I had over 30 characters to play from! I don't have the money to buy 30 people weapons! 3. It wasn't as easy to follow as the others. I didn't really understand the plot line very much, they sped through the plot, so I had to go online to understand the small parts I missed. Over all, I thought that this game was really great, the graphics were really cool, and the sounds were nice. I mark 10 for everything except Story Line, which gets 8. Thank you for reading!
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Review 14 for Fire Emblem: Shadow Dragon
One of the more dissapointing Fire Emblems.
Overall Rating: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
3 out of 10
3 out of 10
Sound: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
3 out of 10
3 out of 10
Posted on:7/10/12
Lyndis
Location: Virginia
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
If you have played any other Fire Emblem, you may find this one disappointing. This game, compared to the rest of the series, has very minimal, if none at all, character development. The issue is, that is one of the things the series is known for.
The graphics are bland and dull. Everything is very murky. This is even more noticeable, because most of the series uses a fairly colorful somewhat anime art style. This game goes for a duller more realistic style. Which was executed poorly, the characters are very dull looking, and the battle graphics are fairly boring. Especially compared to the flashy GBA battle animations.
The game has the solid gameplay from the rest of the series, but the graphics make it seem pitifully boring compared to the rest of the series. It does have a wide selection of difficulty modes, so if you want a challenge, this game can give it.
It is perhaps best to play this game first if you are new to the series, it's lowest difficulty level is very good for newcomers. And, with this games lackluster quality overall, the other titles in the series really shine.
This game is a very faithful remake of a Japanese NES game, and the problem comes from it being too faithful. The game has barely any new content and the story is fairly simple by today's standards. What once was a great NES game for its time does not make a great Nintendo DS game.
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Overall Rating: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
3 out of 10
3 out of 10
Sound: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
3 out of 10
3 out of 10
4 of 10 found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Fire Emblem: Shadow Dragon
amazing game, worth the wait
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Posted on:2/21/09
soccer guy
This is why i keep my ds, so I can play great games like this. im always thinking about trading in my ds, but its game like this that make me continue to keep it. this game is amazing, very challenging, and very long. you will definitely get your moneys worth, and then some. this is a perfectly polished game, that nintendo didn't rush, it shows that nintendo still knows how to make a hardcore game. fans of the series buy it, if you have never played fire emblem before, still buy it! There is no denying how great this game is, the sound sounds great, the story line is good, the graphics are good for a ds title, the AI is amazing!, the challenge is great, sometimes you will even have to turn off your ds, just so u can keep a certain character, all in all this is an amazing title that deserves to be in anyones ds library.
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Review 16 for Fire Emblem: Shadow Dragon
Cool!
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:4/5/09
What?
The Fire Emblem is a great game that has a challange that you can pick. It has a good storyline, and the graphics are pretty good. It's easy if you have a strategy, but some of it is luck. You can save, and when you die (if you die) you can just turn off the DS and start again. A bad thing is that if you use one Unit to kill everybody, then all of your other Units won't be as good, so if the good Unit dies, you're out of luck. And, if that happens the bad thing is that you can't go back on the same file and fight other battles that you've beaten. At the begining, you anly have Marth. But as you continue, you will get mare and mare Units, unless lots of your Units have died. The next two Units are Abel and Frey. Marth is a swordsmen, and Abel and Frey are on horseback. I truly think that this game is really good. Bye!
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Review 17 for Fire Emblem: Shadow Dragon
Fire Emblem!
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Posted on:1/11/10
wikidude
A very challenging game! If you haven't played the first fire emblem then this one is perfect for you. If you dont like challenges then definitely don't get this game, if your favorite character died they are gone! The graphics are probably close to identical to old fire emblem. That's okay its a hand held system game! Storyline is great, but there is a lot of dialogue! The music will entertain you when you play the game! The challenge (as said above) is very hard and you would have to go to your strategy side! The length is pretty long and there is no complaining about the length at all from me! You have a medium length normal mode which will keep you busy and the very long hard mode which will definitely keep you busy! The interface is a good chemistry that is cool! That was my review of Fire Emblem Shadow Dragon!
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Review 18 for Fire Emblem: Shadow Dragon
This fire emblem ruined the seires
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Graphics: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Sound: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Posted on:3/2/09
Another sonic game.
This game is the remake of the first fire emblem at which I have played and didn't like.First of all Marth is the worst lord in stats and in looks, he doesn't promote and his Falchion has like 12 MT! Just about every character in this game has horrible growths for example abel has a 40% growth oj strength, what is that like 1 state in str like every 10 levels! All the pre-promotes have like every state below 10! Also sheeda as a 20% strength growth that just plain sucks. These characters are way out striped paired to the ones in the other fire emblem games. The graphics look like it was made on Microsoft paint, and they made some characters worse than in the other fire emblem games such Oguma he was like the best character in the last one and now he is worse than marth! This game is not for new comers to the seires.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Graphics: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Sound: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Review 19 for Fire Emblem: Shadow Dragon
hmmm....
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Posted on:5/19/10
StriderKiwi
Alright so i guess i'll start by talking about my biggest peeve about this game. The story is there but it's alot more basic than most other fire emblem titles, which is a big let down because that's one of the main reasons to buy a fire emblem game. Another complaint is that the sound track is good but not great like most other fire emblem games. Now then, that out of the way, the rest of the game rocks. The strategy game play works like a charm, and graphics are new and interesting. But the best feature by far is the online gameplay. It adds a whole new reason to grind xp for your characters and make the best team ever made. Plus the addition of new classes are always a welcome in any fire emblem game. So if you're a fire emblem fan and you can put aside the ok story, then this an opportunity not to pass up.
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Review 20 for Fire Emblem: Shadow Dragon
1 of the best Fire Emblems ever made!!!!
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:3/4/09
One More DAY
The first time I heard that they were coming out with a fire emblem for the DS i overexcited. I went out like a week or two before it came out and pre orderd it. When i got the game i thought to myself OMG this is going to be amazing, and finally when i played it, it was everything that i hoped for it to be. It had alot of characters and they all had different attributes. It has alot of different levels to go through like the gamecube version. I also like that fact that it still had secrets in how to get hidden characters.I always loved the fire emblem games but by far i would have to say this is one of the best one they have made so far.When i first started palying it though it was kind of hard to gert inoto but when you get passed the tutorial it well amaze you like no other game has in your life.
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
1 2 3 next>>