GameStop Ratings and Reviews

Shop Now At GameStop
Shop Software or
Choose a Category
Top Rated Product

Product Reviews

Avalon Code

A crimson sky... You stand tall atop a tower looking down upon a world consumed by flames. An old man beside you opens his mouth to speak; "Time has expired for this world, but the records of this book shall create the next..." Your eyes snap open. You jump out of bed, covered in sweat. It was only a dream, but one you've been having quite often lately. Dazed, your eyes wander about the room when you notice a book atop the desk. The pages in it are all blank...A spirit arises from the book and enlightens you on the prophetic nature of the book you behold. Upon the insistence of the spirit, you leave on a journey to complete the book and change the world. From the creative minds behind Rune Factory and Harvest Moon with the development studio responsible for the Final Fantasy III and Final Fantasy IV DS remakes comes Avalon Code, an action RPG boasting incredible graphics, a deep and engrossing story and innovative game play mechanics. Using the main character's 'Book of Prophecy', players can modify the rules of engagement during battle as well as change weapon and monster attributes. The player even has control over the story as it changes depending on which gender the player chooses to play as, enhancing the ability to immerse themselves into the story.
Average Customer Rating:
9.786
9.8
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (15 reviews)
10 stars
12
9 stars
1
8 stars
1
7 stars
0
6 stars
0
5 stars
0
4 stars
0
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
0
14 out of 14100%of reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Avalon Code
Review 1 for Avalon Code
Avalon Code is a great RPG game for anyone!!
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:9/6/11
JayKay
Location: San Jose, CA
This game is perfect for: casual gamers
Avalon Code is a great RPG game for those who enjoy puzzles, adventure, a bit of romance(optional), and fighting. Anyone who likes one of these, or all of them Avalon Code is the game. Great graphics, music and an interesting storyline and tough challenges.
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
1 of 2 found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Avalon Code
Remains One Of My Favorites
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Posted on:8/15/11
Starfishiey
Location: San Diego, CA
This game is perfect for: casual gamers
I bought Avalon Code used because I thought it'd be an okay game to pass the time. What I got was one of my all-time favorite games! Let me quickly break down my review:
Gameplay- (I'm not really sure what gameplay is, but I'm assuming it's how the character plays and story of the games. So here goes...)The gameplay was an 9 because it had lots of character-interaction (and romance ;D) and the story was well written, intruiging, and unique.
Graphics- The graphics earned a 9; the game consisted of beautiful landscapes, many different types of terrain, and was asthetically pleasing in general. DS may not support the best graphics, but from what I saw in the game, the graphics pretty dang good!
Sound- An 8 for sound (well they can't ALL get 9s, now can they? lol ). The music was catchy and entertaining, especially the opening song and the town music, but I sometimes found it repetitive. Fortunately, it never got to the point where I could call it annoying. And besides, when you find yourself humming the music that plays in the town, you know you can't honestly give the music portion a bad rating. (:
Lasting Appeal- Another 9 for lasting appeal! I replayed this game several times so I could go through the story, do the quests, and flirt with the heroes *wink wink, nudge nudge*. All the while I didn't once find it boreing. And thus, a 9.
Overall Rating- *squee* Yes, a squee. And if I must translate that, a 9. I can't give a 10 because I'll hold that for when they make a sequel (whenever they decide to listen to what fans say and do it). This is one of the best games I've played, if not, it's my favorite.
So what're you waiting for? Get the game!!
PS- This is one of those rare few good quality games put out there with romance in it. So if romance games are what you're looking for, try Avalon Code! And even if you aren't looking for romance, try Avalon Code anyway!!
 
My Product Recommendations
 
 
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
4 of 5 found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Avalon Code
If you like Final Fantasy...
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:3/5/11
Savanna
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
This game is absolutely wonderful. I have spent over 72 hours playing this game, and it has seized to bore me! It's much like the original Final Fantasy games, with a deep storyline and equivalent graphics. I grew up with Final Fantasy, and it has always amazed me, though it was quite hard for me to play because I have hardly any coordination. Avalon Code for matter though, is a bit easier than FF. It doesn't have the same role-play fighting, it's just free roam. But holding two different weapons at once was a great plus (especially when fighting Kullervo). I love how everything is custom made using the book; including weapons, attributes of the people you meet, items, and even the following world. The only thing that wasn't really changeable was the fact that you can't change your appearance, you can only add to it. The characters all have great personalities that differ from each other quite well. Having a boyfriend or girlfriend (according to gender) is optional, but makes the game much more fun! And not only can you date the Heroes or Heroines, but the Spirits as well! As for bosses and fighting, some of the bosses, like Perkele or Antelobibnen only require constant slashing. Torsol requires a more unique way of being defeated, as does Malcahatu and more. Certain bosses are only weak against certain types of weapons, and it is harder to defeat them just using a sword (my choice weapon). Weaons vary from swords to hammers, guns to axes and maces, and shields to bombs. All weapons have different power ups and different difficulty levels when using them. Hammers for one, when powered up allow you to fly in one direction for a short amount of time. Majority of monsters only require hitting repeatedly with any sort of weapon. The game does require some thinking and technique, but for advanced/expert gamers it will seem simple. I personally really enjoy this game, and you will too, no matter what your tastes in gaming are.
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
1 of 2 found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Avalon Code
best game ever
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:9/21/10
Yoshi891
Location: NY
This game is perfect for: casual gamers
This is definitly the best game ever, it not only lets you create a world your way but has the best graphics I've ever seen for DS, it also gives you a challenge with boss's and if they made a second one for it I would definitly buy it right away.
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Avalon Code
Great Game, But Too Easy...
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Gameplay: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Posted on:6/2/10
Truebluehero
Avalon Code is definitely a great idea for a game, and it plays very well. The only downside to it is that it's way too easy. The idea for the code system is cool, and lets the player customize weapons, armor, even other characters and enemies! The graphics and sound for this game are both incredible. The story so far is okay, but I haven't finished it yet, so I would't know. The easiness is the only problem with the game. First, once you can use the Judgment Link, you can regain your MP, and so your health, much too easily, and at no cost. Also, the special attacks don't use any MP and can simply be used over and over. Generally, It's a great game, just doesn't offer much difficulty. If those two problems weren't in the game, it would definitely be my favorite DS game.
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Gameplay: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
2 of 2 found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Avalon Code
great game but kinda short...
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Posted on:5/19/10
Aruru
i was in gamestop looking for another game to sink my teeth into, so i bought this game. it only took me a few days to beat it but its an amazing game. the storyline is okay and the graphics are good for a ds game, none of those pixels. some of the puzzles are a bit annoying and tedious but overall its a great game. i really liked the customization aspect of the game and am thinking of replaying, but the puzzles still haunt me. the controls are simple, using the d-pad to move around but in some boss battles it can be a hinderance. the weapons are cool, there are 4 classes:swords, hammers, projectiles (bombs and knives), and shields (if you can consider that a weapon). now that im finished with the game, i can say i cant look a ds rpgs the same way. i always end up comparing other games to this one. i hope that can make a sequel or another one like this. i'd buy it right away.
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Review 7 for Avalon Code
AMAZING!
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:3/20/10
silvershadow
(long post but it's worth reading!) I got this game on a holiday break because I had too much extra time. Well, I'll tell you, if you've got any kind of time, you should buy this game. I especially recommend it if you like Sims, Harvest Moon, Rune Factory, Runescape (online), and/or Animal Crossing. This game has probably set my standard for other games because I thought it was very mystifying. The storyline was very intriguing and entertaining. All the characters included are unique and you can tell they put a lot of work into this game. Everything is customizable in Avalon Code, anything you 'code scan', anyway. From weapons to hair accessories, monsters to the new world, you can make anything the way you want it to be. You can't change your outfit or hair, but the customization of it all was enough. Fighting in this game was overall not too tough. I bet the final boss in all of thirty seconds with the right weapons, but otherwise, going through the game can be somewhat hard. The bosses and large monsters have a good level of challenge to defeating them. If you like games where you can level up, this game is good as well. You can also use the Spirits' powers as well as your own regular fighting (sword, hammer, axe, projectiles like guns and daggers, bombs, and shields). One con is that I wish it could've lasted longer and had more to do after you beat the game. After the official storyline is over, there's still plenty to do, but the store never restocks on anything else, there aren't many new sidequests, and the characters (unless you are planning on wooing the opposite gender) won't talk about much besides the fact of you defeating Kullervo (main boss). Overall: an amazing game with great game play.
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
1 of 2 found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Avalon Code
Best game ever but a little hard
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:2/6/10
Stella
This is the BEST GAME EVER! Except for the fact that it is SUPER HARD, it is an AWESOME game! The beginning is great, the only bad thing about the game is that it is really hard and I'm still stuck. It may be hard, but I'll manage. I'm really looking forward to the end of the game though, since you get to create your own new world! I bet the end will be fantastic! I will edit this post when I finish the game (which is probably not going to be any time soon, considering that I'm still on chapter 5). Don't let the challenge get you down, it's a great game! I know that being stuck is frustrating and you sometimes just want to buy a simulatation game and give up on your RPGs, but if you don't, good surprises will greet you when you play. For me, I just give up for a few months and then try again. Here's a helpful hint: when you have a bunch of RPGs which you are stuck on, a light-humored simulatation game can help. Like Artelier Annie (I'm sorry if there are spelling mistakes), Princess Debut, or even the Sims! Good luck!
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
0 of 3 found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Avalon Code
Best game i played.
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:9/10/09
Pluplu
I love this game, great music and the story is unique to you.The graphics are great for a ds game and the story is nicely balanced. Most ds games i seen don't even come close to this game either they lack in graphic or lack on storyline. There's only two things i wished this game had first thing i wished it had is wifi connection or some multiplayer mode in it and the second thing i wish it had is that it had a longer storyline or maybe something to do after you finished it because there isn't much you can do after the storyline is over either you can fight monsters, improve your weapon, go back into areas and try to get a better score, or just finish some puzzles that you left undone.But still this is a great game for anyone that likes rpg.
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
2 of 2 found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Avalon Code
My goodness! A breathtaking game! So epic!
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:6/18/09
Onepumpedgamer
Ok so I've been meaning to buy this game seeing it several times at ebgames before. The front cover definateley caught my interest and hearing the gossip about how this game was suppose to be a mix between runscape and harvest moon made me get it. Even though I'm still beating it, I've got to say... this game took my breath away. And I'll explain that in 7 reasons. 7 reasons why this is a must have game for your RPG collection or if your looking for some romance,action, adventure and discovery. All together this game is so amazing it's like describing the taste of water ...it's impossible! 1.Romance- being able to hook up with anyone you want IS a must have, and Avalon code dominated it. Giving gifts, having confession scenes, hugs, a kiss, breaking up, going with another person...it was all very heart warming. And having relationships with everyone is fantastic, especially being able to see their interests without having to look up what they like as gifts.2.Action- Ok I have to admit I'm not a huge fan of action games, but this game's action is so much fun, thrilling and challenging that you'd be silly not to love it! Weapons of all sorts, being able to morph them into any type you like, making new ones. Ha! total bliss. Mazes, dungeons traps, it's all challenging yet fun for the player and the controls make it even better...but we'll talk about that later. 3.Storyline- The whole end of world thing and the book of prohencey is pretty neat. Being the only one to create a new world gives you a feeling of power. Having people betray you makes you go through so much emotion. Saving spirits (even maybe hooking up with them) destroying evil...so epic :D 4.Length- So I've been playing this game for a week, 2.5 hours each day and well ahaha not really in the end yet. So yes this game is pretty long, yet it still grabs your attention each time you play. 5.Controls- Having the book is a MAJOR advantage in the world of evil. Controlling codes, making new things, cracking tablets, sure it all seems confusing at first but trust me, you WILL get the hang of it. Think of the book as a giant key to the door you need to unlock to save the world. The book let's you control everything item and weapon, characters codes, and monsters codes so it's all up to you to shape your own world. And controlling your weapons also is fairly easy. 6. Entertainment- My my, where to begin? I'll just sum it up, from what you read so far do you think it's entertaining? Being a hero, love , action, saving the world, discovery of new things, sound effects. From the looks of it ..this game is very addicting, and so much to enjoy. Even you may feel some emotion out of the events that happen. Avalon code is very very entertaing.7.Graphics- the only way this game can use a bit of tweaking is in it's graphics. I mean yes, the DS can't hold wii standard graphics but some of the characters in this game are just plain blocky looking. On the bright side the graphice of you and the hero's and everyone else that is important are fabulous. Because you have to hand it to the DS, for a DS game the graphics are really pretty. And the sound effects, if you use proper headphones are just another way to indulge on this games awesomeness.And that's 7 reasons why this game is a must. I'm not saying you HAVE to buy it but I highly recommend it, it's a great way to have some fun inside away from the heat or cold, or just to have a lazy day. Thank you for your time. :D I gotta go play Avalon code now
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
3 of 4 found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Avalon Code
Best Game Ever Made!
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:6/1/09
RuneBladeWielder
I may be limited in what games I play. I may only have true access to the DS and the PC but I can honestly say that you CAN NOT beat Avalon Code! It is wonderful! The plotline grabs you and pulls you in from the very beginning. You can't help but LOVE the characters, all of them! I love how you can really bond with people and become friends with each character in the game. Every person has a different personality and you need to find different ways to get to know them. The aspect of falling in love in the game is probably my favorite! You start out liking one person but that can easily change as all of the characters capture your heart in different ways! Another awesome romantic thing is that every time you give a character of the opposite gender a gift or talk to them, you see them thinking about you after you leave. I just found that to be completely ADORABLE!!! Not only that, but you can become intimate with the Spirits as well, and the Spirits are simply incredible! The graphics are amazing and the gameplay is like nothing I have ever seen before! I have NEVER had this much control in a game before! I can make new weapons, food, assessories, etc. The possibilities are endless! Battling is also a lot of fun. In other games, battling bugs me after awhile but battling in Avalon Code never gets old! There are endless weapon possibilities and the outcome relies completely on your skill. You don't take turns. It's an all out free for all, which adds to the challenge and overall involvement. I have spent HOURS on this game! Seriously, when I first got it, I played for FIFTEEN HOURS STRAIGHT! Do yourself a favor: If you have a DS, buy Avalon Code! If you don't have a DS, buy one and then buy Avalon Code! You won't regret it!
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Review 12 for Avalon Code
THE BEST GAME I EVER PLAYED!
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:4/17/09
RuneBladeWielder
I was seriously mesmerized by the pure awesomeness of this game! The graphics are awesome, the plot is amazing, the characters are TOTALLY loveable, and the monster fighting is WICKED! I have never had such control in a game before. The Book of Prophecy creates a whole new gaming experience. I can create amazing weapons, new assessories, different foods, and better monsters! I also love how you can become intimate with humans AND Spirits! The romantic encounters are TOTALLY adorable and that alone is enough to keep you going through the game. The Boss battles are Challenging but, thankfully, not totally impossible. You just have to learn how to fight them correctly and avoid getting hit! The diversity between characters is also amazing. No character has the same personality. Everyone is different in their reactions to you. This game has the perfect balance of action, creativity, and social input. If you have a DS, get Avalon Code! If you don't, buy a DS and THEN get Avalon Code!
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Review 13 for Avalon Code
awesome game
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Posted on:4/12/09
xXRPG-GAMER4EVAXx
First of all this game is great for anybody that likes rpg games. the story line and events can differ depending on certain thing you do like giving presents to someone, and raising affection levels. there isn't much of a tutorial in the beginning, but after a hour or so you'll start to get the hang of it. it does get a little annoying though by switching from the stylus and the pad in battles when you scan something like a flower or a monster. the graphics are pretty good for the ds and the sounds are good too with a nice opening theme song. as you move on in the game there are more challenges and puzzles that you need to solve for moving on with the story or getting a new item. the customization in this game is AWESOME with almost an infinite number of combinations of codes to use to strengthen your own weapons and armor while decreasing the power and health of your enemies after you scan them. Avalon Code will take at least 2 weeks to finish ,unless your a hard-core gamer that plays like 10 hours a day, because of all the new things that appear like new areas, new side-quests, etc. the story line is just sooo interesting that once you played for a hour os so you'll be hooked on it, wondering what will happen next or just being anxious to further on the story line. this is just an all-around awesome game with fierce battles, odd twists, and romantic screens that will differ depending on what you choose to do.
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Review 14 for Avalon Code
Great game for Rune Factory lovers!
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:3/13/09
DSkimDS
If you liked Rune Factory I think you will enjoy this one! It has kind of the same concept in terms of the whole forging items to make them better. The graphics are pretty good and it has some cool music too. I think this game has a good challenge to it as well. Only because you have to remember what codes to put together to make a certain item and because there is not much of a tutorial in the beginning of the game so you pretty much have to figure out how certain things work on your own. The only annoying thing about the game is there isn't enough slots to hold available codes so when you need room in your slots to move stuff around you have to put the codes anywhere you can just to make room, which then causes you to forget where the one you need is and you have to flip through page after page to find it. But all in all, I think it is worth playing.!
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Review 15 for Avalon Code
ilikegames
Posted on:3/6/09
ilikevideogames
I am going to get this once it comes because it is totally awesome when I some some of the game play in the trailer, however the game did remind me of Kingdom Hearts because I think the main character uses a keyblade as a weapon I don't know but I am still getting this game.
0 of 4 found this review helpful.