GameStop Ratings and Reviews

Shop Now At GameStop
Shop Software or
Choose a Category
Most Popular Products
Top Rated Product

Product Reviews

Muramasa: The Demon Blade

A number of cursed blades exist throughout the world. Blades that thirst for blood the moment they're drawn. Even those blades thought to be holy slowly become corrupted over time as they are used in hatred and drenched in blood. Those who wield these blades slowly become homicidal. The curses laid on these blades are said to condemn those who use them to tragic and untimely deaths. It is in the Genroki era, a period of time in which the shogun Tsumayoshi Tokogawa reigned, that the force of the damned began to emerge, threatening the peace and prosperity that had long existed in the world. The cursed blades became the focus of the greed, self-righteousness, and arrogance of those who'd gain possession of them, and inevitably it was these conflicting desires that led to war. As the flames of chaos and disaster spread, denizens from the netherworld were dragged into the confusion as not only the evil spirits were summoned by the swords, but the Dragon and Demon Gods as well. How will the destinies of those drawn to these cursed blades unfold?
Average Customer Rating:
9.769
9.8
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (20 reviews)
10 stars
10
9 stars
3
8 stars
0
7 stars
0
6 stars
0
5 stars
0
4 stars
0
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
0
13 out of 13100%of reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Muramasa: The Demon Blade
Review 1 for Muramasa: The Demon Blade
Muramasa is the best Wii Game
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:9/7/09
BlueAce57
When I heard of this game the Graphics look absolutely good and as well the gameplay. Also the characters Momohime and Kisuke are also my favorite characters of the game because of their unique background in the game. The controls in the game as well are perfect when fighting Bosses, Ninjas, Samurai's, Oni's, and other creatures to fight. Also the sound and Music in the game is perfect every level and boss theme fits the stage music, the dialogue in the game is Japanese but that is perfect because English voice actors seem to not fit the voices of Japanese characters anyways. The Storyline is also good for Kisuke you travel finding your past memories while a ghost possess Momohime and you have to look for a sword while fighting and traveling as well. I recommend this game to anybody and buy it now!!
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Muramasa: The Demon Blade
An amazing follow-up to Odin Sphere
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:2/23/10
Pirostyle
I loved the Odin Sphere game for PS2, and ever since I beat it I had been looking for another game from Vanillaware, and here it is, Muramasa. I have to admit, I did miss some of the features like... -Large selection of characters -The seed, shops, alchemy and cooking features for extra hp and exp ...and it took me a while to get used to -The non circular maps -The enemies -Different weapons and breaking The things that made it so amazing, maybe even MORE SO then Odin sphere... -I loved the focus on samurai and ninja and japanese culture, the pure theme in general just blew me away -The characters you met were mostly based off of folklore and stories. (loved the kitsune girl!!) -The sword skill tree was the most amazing thing I had seen in the game, second to graphics of course... It's like Odin Sphere in japanese times with a skill tree Overall, even though I was only able to play it for an hour, it looked like an amazing and interesting game, I highly recommend it to others. -Kinda wish there were more characters -Longer and maybe more intimate storyline, -wink wink-
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
theforgivenone33
sacramento ca
 
Please wait while more information about theforgivenone33 is loaded.
Additional information about theforgivenone33 could not be loaded.
AMAZING GAME
Posted 6/9/12
this game is the best ninja art game i have ever played its good graphics,good gameplay and a very good lasting appeal.
Comments (1)
Comment (1)
Review 3 for Muramasa: The Demon Blade
Glad I picked this up!!
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Posted on:3/22/11
odogg
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
Didn't know much about this game, but someone at Gamestop recommended this game to me, so I took a chance, bought it, and it was worth it! This game looks and sounds awesome! Some of the best art and music I've heard in a video game! Even though the combat and enemy strategies are not too varied, there's something immensly satisfying about slashing up ninjas and epic bosses! I didn't fully understand the story because of some unfamiliar references, but oh well, it was still interesting. I also didn't really like wandering through lands with nothing happening for long periods of time, but again, minor setback. If you're looking for something with quick-paced and action-packed battles (Smash Bros and fighter fans, I'm talking to you) this is the game for you!
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
2 of 3 found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Muramasa: The Demon Blade
Player's choice
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:5/9/11
ssbbfan21656
This is like one of the best 2D platforming RPG game I have played. If you are looking for a game that has FAST combat, RPG elements, samurais, japanese audio, great music, then this is for you. Story is kinda weird, though.
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
2 of 2 found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Muramasa: The Demon Blade
Overall Amazing
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:5/27/10
Nolan Harris
The first thing you should notice when turning on this game, is that the game looks amazing. Very much like, yes "A Painting drawn to life." There are two stories in the game. You can play as either a boy or a girl. I chose the girl as the boy is just quite ugly, so i figured i might as well look at something pleasant for the first play. The story can be difficult to follow as all the voices are in Japanese. But you don't need to follow it at all, as a handy map system always tells you what to do. Combat is flashy and chaotic. Depending on what side of the fence you're on, button mashing is either the best way to go, or will get you nowhere. There is an extensive amount of moves, and each sword comes with it's own special move. Using these special moves will drain your sword's durability. When your sword's soul meter runs out, you sheath it, allowing it to heal and whip out a new one. While playing, I noticed that it has similarities to a whole lot of other games. It has the backtracking of Metroid, the combat of Street Fighter and Ninja Gaiden, and the exploration of Zelda. all of them go quite nicely together. The game is actually quite challenging, even on easy, with bosses getting hard as early as the 3rd. If that's the case, I don't even want to know what hard mode is like. This game is fun and enjoyable, and easily one of the best action games on the Wii.
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
2 of 3 found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Muramasa: The Demon Blade
Beautiful and Fun
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:9/13/09
seiferx
Vanillaware proved with Odin Sphere that 2d gaming is not yet over and such has created such a wonderful and beautiful game to follow in the same footsteps. The music and sound effects mix in nicely with the setting. When it comes to the gameplay it is simple but effective that is always fun to play. There is backtracking like metroid/ castlevania and often times you may encounter different enemies in the same place to mix things up. There is extra challenges to be found on hard difficulty with additional bosses and weapons if you want to get more out of the lenght of the game. I like how they included the ability to choose from 3 different control schemes work nicely to match your needs. I would say only cons are lenght of gameplay if your the type to rush through withouth attemping to do any of he extra content/ endings.
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Review 7 for Muramasa: The Demon Blade
Muramasa: The Great 2D Game!
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Posted on:9/7/09
ZOEY VS THE ZOMBIE
This is an excellent side scrolling game where you hack and slash bad guys such as ninjas, monsters, other swordsman, ghosts, and etc. The details are amazing as you go through a volley of different swords each one with a unique look and ability and the stages let you explore some rooms in buildings and villages from Medieval Japan. The voice acting is great, the story is interesting, the characters are fun to play with, and although it is a 2D game, it has definitely kept my 360 and PS3 waiting in line to be played until something better than Batman Arkham Asylum comes out, which won't be for a little while. In short if you have a Wii like me and do not have much time to play around, this game is definitely worth anytime you can spare because hey who wouldn't want to use a Muramasa Blade if you had one?
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Review 8 for Muramasa: The Demon Blade
Definatly a must have in a wii collection.
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:9/10/09
SmashingTipsy
This game is gorgeous. Everything is hand drawn and done really well. The storyline is based off of the 2 characters you can play as, Momohime and Kisuke. They both play the same but get a different variety of swords and bosses. This game will last a decent amount of time. It took atleast 10 hours to beat the story mode with Momohime, but this game has a good amount of replay value. Such as getting all the swords which you can share with Kisuke after you beat the story mode. Beating all the bosses and "challenges." The surprise ending shocked me at first. After beating the game and being able to destroy white barriers. A challenge room is available for level 92 and up. Once I had gotten high enough for it, I tried it. It was quite long, but the end was excellent. I nearly pissed myself. The FINAL final bosses are epic. I wont spoil it tho. Summary: Great 2D side scroller exclusive for the wii fun gameplay and tons of replay value nice storylines for both characters. provides good challenge. Bosses are creative and fun to play. Final final bosses are epic and will indeed shit your pants. Get it! So far for me 30 hours and I still need to level up and unlock everything.
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Review 9 for Muramasa: The Demon Blade
Wonderful, but limited
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:9/10/09
Varentill
This game is great. The characters are interesting, the story is engaging, & the action is non-stop. If I have any problem with this game, it's that it's short. I beat the first character's story in only 14 hours, & the second character's in even less. Even working to complete everything will only take you a couple days. The best elements of this game, in my opinion are the art, music, & story. The art is styled after old Japanese paintings, & does a great job of immersing you into this land of demons, samurai, & shinobi. The music adds to the theme perfectly, drawing you in even further. Finally, the story is well crafted & masterfully told. It manages to be the driving force of the action without forcing it in your face constantly. I would recommend this game to anyone who owns a Wii.
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Review 10 for Muramasa: The Demon Blade
games are art
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:4/18/12
Skalentoman7
Location: puerto rico
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
this game is wonderful to watch and should be in a art gallery.
It Kinda feels and sounds like your playing a samurai showdown like a side scroller.
its like playing a Japanese animation cartoon with the sub.
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Muramasa: The Demon Blade
Artistic Beauty
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:2/4/12
WhiteQueenAlice
I know some of you may be thinking, "I don't know...a samurai side-scroller?" However, this is some much more than that. Made by the same company as the hit Odin Sphere, this game features the same painted back rounds and art-like graphics. The musical score is authentic and rich. This, accompanied by two, not one, different story lines to play through make this game a real treasure. Each story is touching and exciting in its own way and leaves you wanting more. The story lines are replayable and it is probably required to get allthe swords in the game. The controls are simple and have you moving like a samurai in no time. A game almost on par with Okami, 10 out 10.
 
My Product Recommendations
 
 
 
 
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
0 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Muramasa: The Demon Blade
Classic gamers rejoice
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Posted on:12/26/11
epilis
Location: Austin TX
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
Simply: old school 2D style game with lush modern style graphics. I wish the music was more memorable but overall it's a must-have sleeper hit. At times, the game gets a little repetitious but that's expected when dealing with a side-scrolling hack and slash. You can choose from two characters and you can play the game in two styles: stealth or attack, so that's 4x the game if you're that hardcore. At times, the graphics really impress me. It's not the overall look of it, but what they do in certain rooms or parts of levels. The boss fights aren't too hard and the sword building system is very unique and awesome.
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Review 13 for Muramasa: The Demon Blade
The best Wii game to date.
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:9/6/09
Madd hatter
The biggest problem that has plagued Nintendo was the fact that there were no amazing games for the Wii. Now one game isn't enough of a reason to buy the Wii but if you already have one, then Muramasa: The Demon Blade is a MUST HAVE. This game has it all. Beautiful graphics that shows what the Wii can do, easy to use controls, interesting and deep story but by far the best feature this game has is the fact it doesn't use the motion control. You have your choice of 3 control styles. The Wiimote with nunchuk, the Classic controller or the Gamecube controller. In the game you play as 2 character. Kisuke, who tries to regain his memory and search for the most powerful sword around or Momohime, who gets her spirit kicked out of her body by the spirit of a master swordsman to kick some serious butt. There are 103 different demon blades, certain ones have the ability to cut down a colored barrier. The customizing leaves a little to be desired. You can carry 3 blades at a time which is the perfect number but you can only have 1 accessory. Personally I would like to have another slot but either way, it works. The battles are fun and the boss fights gives the game a great degree of difficulty. The fact that your blades will break also make the game more difficult but don't worry, your blades will be repaired after it has been sheathed. Now why are you still reading this boring review when you could be playing the best Wii game to date?
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Review 14 for Muramasa: The Demon Blade
Amazing
Posted on:8/25/09
NintendoSonyMan
When I first saw Muramasa I thought that it looked beautiful, I loved Odin Sphere, even with it's many problems. I'm preordering it today. I admit that I was sceptical at first, but when I saw the Japanese reviews and previews, I knew that I had to get this game. It looks like I'll loose several hours to this game. This just might be the best 3rd Party game for the Wii this year. But One thing to everyone. In Japan they only made so many copies and once they all sold, they didn't make anymore, so everyone get your copy quick!
Review 15 for Muramasa: The Demon Blade
The Literal "Art" of Video Game Making
Posted on:8/21/09
EvilSafetyboy
I really like the art direction. When I heard that Vanillaware was making an action game after Odin Sphere, I was really excited. My wife asked if I was going to pre-order this because she saw it on Facebook(?) and that it looked "really pretty" (girls!). The wall scroll is a nice bonus, especially because of the art style. Wondering who in their right mind would play this with the Wii-mote instead of a gamepad. Glad my Wavebird still works (after 8 years!)
Review 16 for Muramasa: The Demon Blade
What Could Possibly Be The Next Killer App for Wii
Posted on:1/18/09
Arigato!
I've seen videos on this game online recently and must admit that it looks ABSOLUTELY AMAZING! You have absolutely insane combo moves and incredibly created backgrounds, enemies, etc. The music is in the classic Japanese style too, which I think works great with the theme (obviously). Overall this could be the next killer app for Wii, and possibly the greatest game of '09. Don't let me down XSEED, I'm looking towards a great Japanese action platformer!
Review 17 for Muramasa: The Demon Blade
2-D Legend...buy it now!
Posted on:5/31/09
Captain Commando
I've been playing the Japanese version non-stop...simply put: a legend in the making. I often find myself just standing in the game environment and marveling at the level of detail these game artists have placed into the scene at hand. The game controls flawlessly, music is sublime in its ability to excite, and voice-work is top-notch. The only thing missing? A translation, of course! lol
Review 18 for Muramasa: The Demon Blade
A definite buy
Posted on:4/10/09
Madgame
I agree...this actually looks stunning on the Wii and looks to be a fantastic game. My Wii has been 'repurposed' as a coaster since last year but I'll definitely be dusting it off for this. Hopefully this will push the quality of upcoming Wii titles to this level (even though some of the visuals can be pushed farther due to it being basically being a 2d game). Can't wait!
Review 19 for Muramasa: The Demon Blade
Almost here!
Posted on:8/30/09
SmashingTipsy
3 more days till this awesome piece of artwork arrives for the wii. The backgrounds for every level are beautiful. Something that is unique about this game is that EVERYTHING is hand drawn, and done beautifly as it is. Iv been looking to buy a new game to play since i ran out of new things, and this should last me till tatsunoko vs capcom (hopefully) Cant wait
Review 20 for Muramasa: The Demon Blade
Next Awesome Wii Game
Posted on:8/31/09
BlueAce57
What can I say the graphics are simply amazing game play looks smooth and also the character designs are cool. Both playable characters also look cool so I will be wanting this game on launch date