GameStop Ratings and Reviews

Shop Now At GameStop
Shop Software or
Choose a Category
Top Rated Product

Product Reviews

MLB 09: The Show

MLB 09: The Show is back for the 2009 baseball season with expanded features and more of the classic baseball that The Show always delivers. New features include Road to the Show 3.0, Franchise Mode 2.0, Online Season Leagues, and many more...
Average Customer Rating:
8.215
8.2
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (80 reviews)
10 stars
38
9 stars
10
8 stars
2
7 stars
3
6 stars
0
5 stars
2
4 stars
1
3 stars
2
2 stars
0
1 star
7
53 out of 6582%of reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for MLB 09: The Show
Review 1 for MLB 09: The Show
Worth the time and effort
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:3/18/09
nycmode
This is the third installment of the franchise, and I've picked up all 3. I have to say this one is by far the most polished (though not perfect) ones I've played, and definitely one of the most immersive baseball experiences I've had on any video game console. Let's get to one of the big gripes - that this game is hard. I won't lie to you, this game isn't exactly a pick up and play kind of game with people who don't play video games much. Don't expect to play an exhibition game with your 50 year old uncle or girlfriend who never touched a controller before. But honestly, if you're apt at games and have any inkling of baseball and the strategy involved, it shouldn't be a problem to have fun here. Some of the controls are iffy (like baserunning, if you're not used to it) and the margin of error on some things (like timing baserunning) is quite small - but it definitely helps b/c it creates a strong sense that you really have to concentrate and focus to play a good game (kind of like in real life). In that sense, I think the added challenge definitely makes the game more fun with me. As for the other elements - the game play is tight. It is great to see some random events, such as a fielder botching a play due to a sharply hit ball, affect the outcome of a game. It's better than playing a predictable game when you know a fielder will get 99% of outs, or end up being a home run derby on the plate. Things such as fatigue, pitching or hitting stats, and even consistent performance - all play a role in the outcome, and really helps make this game feel real. That and of course the great graphics and sound in the game. The crowds seem more "alive" and even seeing random beach balls hit the field or hot dog guys walking up and down the stands makes the game feel more real. I am also impressed by how all the batting stances are pretty accurate. And there's also plenty of other modes to keep you busy, such as franchise and the (still iffy) manager mode (which is kind of a snoozer for me, but some may like it). For me the best part of the game is still the road to the show mode. Nothing beats creating a guy from scratch and watching him grow (albeit slowly) and move up the ranks to the majors. I still think one of the most satisfying parts is watching your noob play his first game in the majors after toiling in the minors for a few years and playing no-name guys and struggling to meet goals and improve your stats. It's definitely for me the most fun part of the game (on top of online matches). If you're a baseball fan, and you like video games - this game is for you. For me it's one of the few reasons why I love owning a PS3 and one of the few games I look forward to each year, regardless of the system it's on. This year baseball fans have been truly rewarded and I strongly suggest you should pick up the game if you're not deterred by (sometimes daunting) challenge, and really like strategy in your sports games as well.
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 2 for MLB 09: The Show
Rather get 2K10.
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 10
4 out of 10
Gameplay: 
4 out of 10
4 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Posted on:7/29/13
badcompany101
Location: Shelby, NC
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
I recently traded in my 360 and got a PS3. I had MLB 2K10 for 360 and it was great. It never got old. So when i got the PS3 i decided to try The Show 09. It really disappointed me. The graphics were spectacular but the announcers of the game were just poor. And it was nearly impossible to hit a homer. It'd be good for a player that just wants to have a slow paced game and not score much, but for me i like more of the home run games and being tied at around 4 in the bottom of the ninth. Like MLB 2K10....
 
My Product Recommendations
 
 
PlayStation 3 2010 Sports Bundle
 
 
 
 
 
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 10
4 out of 10
Gameplay: 
4 out of 10
4 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Review 3 for MLB 09: The Show
omg so awesome
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:10/24/12
xSuP3rSlaY3r97x
Location: Granite City IL
This game is perfect for: casual gamers
i hate sports and this is an amazing game get it now!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! !!!!!!!!!!!!!!
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Review 4 for MLB 09: The Show
in a word BORING
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 10
3 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Posted on:11/12/11
m5creed
Location: N.C
This game is perfect for: kid gamers
ok so i got this game just to get somthing new, i made a mistake. i will admit the game is pretty good, you know graphics and all but it is extremly BORING. i get the game i play it for a month and after that i just cant play it any more its so boring almost so much that is not worth geting. if you really want to get it fine but just rent it and if for sum merical you like it then pay 10 buck for it. i just bought it and i wish i could get my money back. but like i sed every thing is pretty good exept that IT IS SO BORING!
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 10
3 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
1 of 2 found this review helpful.
Review 5 for MLB 09: The Show
Really Good Baseball Game!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:10/18/11
JakRatchetarethebest98
Location: San Diego,Ca
This game is perfect for: casual gamers
This is a really awesome baseball game for any system. Buy this game.
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
2 of 2 found this review helpful.
Review 6 for MLB 09: The Show
gotta be smart
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Graphics: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Sound: 
2 out of 10
2 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Posted on:8/5/11
THEdeathRay
Location: ohio
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
Let me first tell you how bad the comentary is the same people since 06 the show.. that is the only down side. this game is great if you are a baseball fan and know what you're doing. franchise mode is fun (GO REDS!!) this requires you take advantage of your challengers mistakes. great baseball game.and great rosters. i have 11 the show but i still play this one..
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Graphics: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Sound: 
2 out of 10
2 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Review 7 for MLB 09: The Show
Love the GM detail
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Gameplay: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Graphics: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Posted on:1/20/11
Bruinsfan
Location: Midland, MI
This game is perfect for: casual gamers
Finally, a baseball game with a 40 man roster! I've been waiting my whole life for a realistic game like this. Everything a GM deals with is in this game, for the most part. The gameplay still hasn't gotten me hooked like MVP baseball used to, but I think it's improving each year. I would definitely purchase this game for $10 more that the 2k version.
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Gameplay: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Graphics: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Review 8 for MLB 09: The Show
great for baseball luvers
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Posted on:1/1/11
chris1234567890
Location: missouri
This game is perfect for: casual gamers
has way better graphics than 2k9. most say its hard but its really not that hard once u get used 2 the controlls
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
1 of 2 found this review helpful.
Review 9 for MLB 09: The Show
The Best
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Posted on:9/27/10
PhightinPhils
Location: Philadelphia,PA
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
I got this game not knowing what to expect and I gotta say The Show should be re-named The Best. It has The Best graphics. The Best game play. The Best everything! The only con I can find is the fact that it's hard to score runs. But, that's what's true to life. The Show no, no, no, The Best!
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
2 of 3 found this review helpful.
Review 10 for MLB 09: The Show
BEST SPORTS GAME EVER
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:3/20/10
redrobbin4546
This is the most realistic sports game i have ever seen. I am a baseball fanatic and I have experienced many varieties of games but this beats them all by far. The graphics and sounds are amazing and it feels like you are in the game. The road to the show feature just keeps getting better and I think is probably the best part of the game. Online is pretty laggy but no one really plays online so it does not bother me. Being able to update the rosters is so great for me since I like having the current rosters and before i had ps3 i had to do it manually. It was such a hassel and now its a breeze. Another feature that I think is great is the way you can see live scores of games going on at the main menu if you are signed into PSN. I just recently discovered that and it always keeps me informed. Bottom line is that if you enjoy baseball in any way possible this is an amazing game and it is not money wasted.
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Review 11 for MLB 09: The Show
Great baseball game
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:9/29/09
twindle
Mlb09 is definatley by far the best game of the mlb series and any baseball game there is out.Dont believe me well see the other reviews.It really is that good.A couple of things they can fix is the players batting stances and make the players statstics a little bit more accurate.But whos complaining overall the game is great.Anyone who loves this video game should be very excited for Mlb09 the show.Why you ask?Simple the graphics will probably will get ten times better,Minnesota Twins get anew stadium,statistics will be updated,new players are on new teams,more features and much,much more.Everyone who loves this game should wright a coment to express there love for the game.If you have any suggestions for this game for the creators of the Mlb series.
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Review 12 for MLB 09: The Show
Best Baseball Game In The Market
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:8/17/09
ZPC
The road to the show mode is so fun!! It's so realistic cause u actually spend 1-4 years in the minors before being called up to the majors which is way more realistic than in MLB 06 and MLB 07 the show where u get called up after ur first month in AAA. The controls are great except for the base running controls. the joystick is sensitive that when u slightly move it on accident ur player is running to the next base. The other thing I don't like about it is that it sometimes takes for ever to get through a hitter. It's so unrealistic cause they can follow of 20 pitches in an at bat. like once i threw a pitch in the dirt and it bounced and he swung and made contact with it and it was a foul ball. i know vlad did it but that was once. this happens at least once a game.
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
Baseball123
 
Please wait while more information about Baseball123 is loaded.
Additional information about Baseball123 could not be loaded.
AWESOME
Posted 9/27/12
Great Game
Comments (1)
Comment (1)
Review 13 for MLB 09: The Show
This game ownes any other baseball game
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:8/14/09
BoricuaBoi
Ok, i'll be honest when you first play this game you will get frustrated. But, once you get used to the game it will be very hard to stop playing. The graphics are unbelievable and so is the gameplay. If you are into sports games I would highly recommend that you get this game. But, i'm not finished. The story mode is very good and fun. This game has everything like Homerun Derby, Franchise, Season Mode, and plenty more. I This game is especially fun if your playing against someone. When I was playing online I thought I was going to get my bottom against all the other players, but I was wrong some did and some didn't. This game is perfect for fathers and sons, and also for people who love baseball and the PS3. I hope my review has persuaded you enough to make your decision and get this game. I really enjoy this game a lot because it has so many features, the graphics are awesome and it's just really fun. Thanks For Reading.
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Review 14 for MLB 09: The Show
CPU Comebacks
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Gameplay: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Posted on:7/29/09
LizardsPenguin
I love baseball and I would be able to enjoy this game if the CPU didn't comeback every game. I understand it is suppose to be as realistic as possible and teams do actually come back on other teams and win, but sometimes it goes way too overboard with it. For example, I just played a game against the Indians and I held them to 2 hits for the game and was up 3 to 0 in the ninth. I guess the Indians ate there wheaties in between innings because they came out in the ninth and smashed me for 16 hits in the inning and I ended up losing 17 to 3. I changed pitchers four times during the inning and was not able to get one out until the score was 10 to 3. I started hitting batters with pitches after the score was 13 to 3 out of frustration. If you think you can put up with unfair CPU offensive explosions almost every time you play then this game is the perfect headache for you. Enjoy
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Gameplay: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
1 of 4 found this review helpful.
Review 15 for MLB 09: The Show
Best sports game
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:7/18/09
Austin J F
This game is one of the best sports games you will find out there now! The statistics show you everything from homeruns rbi's and pitching records and stats. The challenge is great! you can pick rookie veteran all star or hall of fame. the only thing that i didnt enjoy about this game is that the career was HARD! even on rookie you couldnt be the best out there or close to being the best. But the franchise was great! But the best thing about this game is the graphics were probaly the best on any sports game i have ever seen! I dont know if they can ever make the graphics any better. It was like watching tv except you were playing as the people. The controls as always were great to this game. The sound was outstandind! Your ear couldnt miss a thing! So if you like sports games this one is the best one out there!
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 16 for MLB 09: The Show
Exceptional Game!
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:6/19/09
dacloza
I have been looking for a true to life baseball game for quite some time and I have definitely found it with MLB 09 The Show. The developers got it right - every aspect of the game is as real as it gets in a sports game. Because they had already developed what I believe is a superb gameplay engine last year, the developers could really fine tune the game and pay due attention to the more minute details. Typically, in a sports game I will go to the instant replay to see how the game really functions in slow motion. I was blown away by what I saw here - there are absolutely no glitches and it looks perfectly smooth. The Road to the Show game mode is awesome and well thought out. The signature styles of the players are incredible and their motions are perfect. The interface using the meter when pitching and the timing mechanism when batting is excellent. I also have MLB 2K9 and I was honestly relieved to not have to use the analog sticks to do everything. The pitcher - batter confrontations are great and they really capture the essence of the game. There are, however, a few negative aspects of the game that I want to point out. The first and most noticeable is the difficulty. Personally, I enjoy a difficult game because it offers greater satisfaction when something is achieved. I just wanted to make this clear though because for a gamer who is unfamiliar with baseball games like this, it may seem extremely difficult from the start. For instance, hitting (the most difficult part of the game) does not seem to play any different between veteran and rookie modes besides the controls. Also, timing is difficult because the ball comes in at the hitter at almost true to life speeds. (I also found that the pitch speed cannot be changed.) In addition, I found that load times are lengthly and frequent, especially when entering or exiting a game mode. The last thing that I found sort of strange was that when fielding a bunt with the pitcher, my pitcher would not turn around and threw the ball to third base (even though I pressed circle - this happened twice). However, these disturbances are much too minor to cause dissatisfaction while playing the game. With that being said, I really love this game because it depicts the game of baseball almost perfectly. There are virtually no bugs or glitches whatsoever, allowing the gaming experience to be enjoyable. If I were to score this game out of 100 points, I would give it a 97/100. A+ !
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Review 17 for MLB 09: The Show
MLB 09: The Show is no Joke!
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Posted on:6/15/09
Jordan A.
There is nothing I love more than cracking open an ice cold beer and watching a ball-game. This game honestly transforms me into that same exact place. The look of the game is pretty solid. They improved on a lot of the player animations (more batting/pitching stances, realistic hack/chop swings ect). The whole improved route to the ball thing is more real but doesn't add anything to the gameplay as far as I'm concerned. I don't notice the whole pitcher/hitter advantage where a good pitcher beats a bad hitter, good hitter beats bad pitcher.....you get it. I think the biggest thing with this game is that it is the complete Anti-Slugfest (I loved that game oh so much). You have to be patient, look for good pitches to hit and time the hit right. I love this challenge because by the end of 9 inning game I'm either barely winning or getting crushed. The occasional slug-fest does occur as it does in baseball. Road to the Show 2.0 is ALOT better now. The addition of batting sessions is nice (Why no pitching sessions?). They fixed little things that should have been fixed. Like god-forbid you wanted your player to have #48 and you forgot to switch it and you actually liked the player or you thought giving them the Lou Gerihg stance was funny until you tried to time the swing. On previous years you had to create a whole new player whereas now you can simply edit the player. Good small but still lacking fixed to this feature Overall the games a 9 simply because there isnt 1 thing that gives it the "WOW" factor. I bought the game and don't regret buying it but I don't consider it a must have. I just love baseball and to me it was natural to buy the latest installment of the best baseball franchise for PS3. If your intention is to buy this game just to slam a few fastballs with Pujols you are sorely mistaken and should get your $60 back and go buy another game. Anyone complaining of the game being too difficult or too hard needs to return the game because you either hate the sport of the baseball and bought the game to impress your friends (Remember: No WOW factor) or you thought it was a slugfest type of game and thought you could dominate the game from the start. Your wrong. Fun fun fun game for the person who wants to kick back, play alittle baseball and have a beer or 2
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Review 18 for MLB 09: The Show
THIS IS THE MOST REALISTIC BASEBALL GAME EVER!!!!!!!!
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:6/9/09
History_Rocks_101
I love The Show!!!Their games seem to get better and better.This game is very cool almost no problems unless you are not good at baseball games.This game is very different than other baseball games out there.It definitely has the most features of any game out there.It has (my favorite)Road to the Show the most amazing carrier mode ever!When you play fielding you play it from what position your playing from instead of controlling the pitcher and all the batters you only control you.The graphics are AMAZING it's like real life and the people in the stands and the players reactions are all AMAZINGLY real.The challenge can be kinda hard at times but you'll win a couple of games after a while.And batting practice is awesome I'm still trying to hit that high and inside fastball that Dustin has such a hard time with.AWESOME!!!!!!BUY BUY BUY.and if you dont have a Ps3 then get one right now.ahh I wish my parents would buy me one.10\10.
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Review 19 for MLB 09: The Show
The Show steps up and knocks 1 out again
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Posted on:6/5/09
DC0llins
I've purchased ever installment of The Show, but none have been this amazing. I'm a long time sports fan and I look for the most realistic experience, but as a gamer i look for a fun experience that will keep me busy igoring homework for a long time. The Show 3.0 delivers both of those requests. There is one thing that really stands out in this game, RTTS. RTTS 3.0 delivers the entire baseball carrer you could look for, spring training, the minors, the call up to the bigs, allstar games, world series', and the hall of fame. There are of corse some flaws. First of where the heck is the homerun derby? It just seems kinda like a no brainer to include that. Second the new baseruning controls suck. They can be mastered, but it has no margine for error. Third, I don't know if this has happened to anyone else, but I've had three homeruns robbed by someone running threw the wall. Lastly the fielding is way to over the top. Allmost every ball is caught. Every dive is succseful. Every jump, running catch, and line drive is caught. But aside from that this is an experience that all sports fans will love. The caracter modles are fantastic. The pitching and batting stances are spot on. And the cubs are still with out a world series until 2015 in Francise mode. If you like sports of want to give something differnt a try go for The Show 3.0!
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Review 20 for MLB 09: The Show
MLB 09 the Show: contradicts its new features.
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:5/30/09
super_bendon
I have been a fan of the MLB series and have been getting it since MLB 2005. I was quite excited this year, particually since my Philadelphia Phillies won it all last year. New features such as custom walk up music, pitching enterance, custom chants, and batting practice on road to the show. There is a long list of newer small things within the game, like proper arm angles during pitches, and outfielders rounding around to come up with a ground ball. However, a good majority of these new features contradict themselves into errors. 1. It is nice to have custom music for each player to come up to bat. But, for some reason the song will only be played maybe 2 out of 4-5 at bats during a game. A generic song will be played, or no song will be played during the other times. 2. Just the thought of custom chants is awesome. However, there is a problem with recording it. I have to scream in my blutooth headpiece just to hear the chant slightly. It does not record properly, and many others have had the same problems. 3. Having the 40 man rosters is another "up" for a new baseball game. But, the creators for some reason put all players on the same roster. So if you want to look at your pitchers, you will have to look at every pitcher you have from MLB-AA. It is annoying and confusing since you dont know who is on your MLB roster. All 75 man players are put onto one roster screen, annoying. 4. The road to the show still needs work. It is impossible to play as a closing pitcher. You may pitch once to twice a week, but you have 2 weeks to increase your stats. The goals make you fail, and its not your fault. (Also as a side note: the phillies AAA team is the Lehigh Valley IronPigs, but if you look at the scoreboard in the outfield, its initials are OTT. Ottawa is no longer the AAA for the past 2 years, I hope this will get fixed since this has been going on for two years.) 5. The creators wanted to make a realistic game, and they did. However, they went a little too far. It is very difficult to hit off of a pitcher, and it is hard to pitch to a batter. Even if you have it on rookie level, and the sliders for the cpu is down, they will still hit homeruns on a high inside fastball. Im not complaining too much, but i hope this is fixed for next year. I could go on and on about this game, but dont get me wrong, i love this game. THIS IS THE BEST BASEBALL GAME OUT THIS YEAR!!! I just want to make people aware of the minor things that need to be fixed in the the future.
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
1 2 3 4 next>>