GameStop Ratings and Reviews

Shop Now At GameStop
Shop Software or
Choose a Category
Top Rated Product

Product Reviews

Brutal Legend

Brütal Legend marries visceral action combat with open-world freedom, set in a universe somewhere betweenLord of the Rings and Spinal Tap. It's a fresh take on the action/driving genre, which is full of imitation coverbands.The vivid and wildly creative world of Brütal Legend is brought to life through a spate of chrome, leather, rockerbabes, epic music, fire-breathing/stud-wearing beasts, mountains made of guitar amps, and more. Follow Eddieas he embarks on a tour of epic destruction with an axe, a guitar, and his minions as he commands the powerof rock in epic band battles. It's lighter-flicking awesomeness that will melt your face clean off.
Average Customer Rating:
9.143
9.1
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (81 reviews)
10 stars
30
9 stars
11
8 stars
2
7 stars
3
6 stars
1
5 stars
1
4 stars
0
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
1
45 out of 4992%of reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Brutal Legend
Review 1 for Brutal Legend
A Metal Experience
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Posted on:7/19/13
Chaos396
Location: Lynnwood, Wa
This game is perfect for: casual gamers
Okay, one major thing for this game: if you don't like metal, do not get Brutal Legend. It's the only kind of music in the game. If you do like metal, then be prepared for a treat. This game is the pinnacle of gimmicked hack-and-slash open-world games, and my gosh is that a statement! Brutal Legend has everything: big threatening monsters, interesting lore, a beautiful world, Tim Schafer comedy, Jack Black comedy, and metal! The combat works, although you can die easily if you're not careful, but really that's not a bad thing. You get a fair amount of combos in the game, although it is possible to win by button mashing, but in a hack-and-slash that's not abnormal. You get a car, which is upgradable, but more importantly it spews sweet Metal tunes. The story is acceptable, with one or two good twists and turns (but one bad cliché that I'll leave for you to find), but nothing spectacular or new. The one place where the game dips is in the latter three quarters of the game where all of a sudden every story-based mission takes the form of an RTS segment. And don't get me wrong, it's not bad because it's broken or horribly out of place (okay, it's a little out of place), but it can just be pretty boring when you really get the hang of it. I really didn't feel very challenged until the last RTS, but that's because they throw a bunch of new random enemies at you. Thankfully the Metal playing all throughout the RTS segments keep me from getting too bored: while the enemy is dying, I'm normally head-banging with my troops. But no matter what, this game is a lot of fun, and it owes a lot of that fun to the actual soundtrack (a big save in a lot of the game), and if you like Metal you should most certainly get Brutal Legend.
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Review 2 for Brutal Legend
Jack Black is hilarious in this awesome game
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:3/16/13
strayrogue
Location: Harrington Park, New Jersey
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
i hve owned this game for over 3 years. this game has everything humor, metal loving death creatures and death metal. Jack Black is awesome game along with Metal Legend Ozzie Osbourne. every popular metal and death matal song is here in this game and you would want to play this game.
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
2 of 2 found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Brutal Legend
Great game for metalheads
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:11/30/12
Dhaley6
Location: Texas
This game is perfect for: casual gamers
Beat this game 2 times on each difficulty and i never got bored of it. It is fun and humorous and the soundtrack rocks! Only thing i dont like about this game is that you cant jump, yet you can carry giant things? Whats up with that? It makes it a little bit harder when walking around but you still get where you wanna go. The size of the playfield is ginormous. Similar to GTA4. There is never a dull moment with this game, i recommend it to all my friends. GET THIS GAME IF YOUR A METALHEAD!!!!
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Review 4 for Brutal Legend
one of the best games ever
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:7/17/12
Ch0sen1
Location: Crossville,Alabama
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
Brutal Legend is a fantasy hevy metal game.With a huge assortment of songs. Great gameplay.And a very famous cast ,such as Ozzy Ozbourne ,I absolutely love this game. Its alway fun slicing a demon in half or summoning lightning with your guitar.the story is great and has a great twist you'll never see coming.all in all its a great game.
 
My Product Recommendations
 
 
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Review 5 for Brutal Legend
...Metal
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Posted on:6/7/12
sgtmcmuffin
An amazing game in all aspects. even a friend of mine who didnt like metal and always thought jack black was stupid now worships both of them. definitely hits my top 5 favorite games of all time, and after buying it on release date in 2009, i still play it to this day. i wouldn't be able to explain my frustration when i learned that a sequel was planned and started but thrown out the window. for anyone who has played it there is a petition going to get a sequel made. just look up make brutal legend 2 on youtube for info on where to sign. its an incredible game with greatt kameos from lemmy, ozzy, and more. its soundtrack is untouchable by any game or movie, the game play is intense and rewarding, and the story is epic and deep. go pick it up if you haven't already.
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
2 of 2 found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Brutal Legend
A really good game
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:5/28/12
W3R0
Location: CALIFORNIA
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
i really like the game im not into metal music but this game is for everyone you don't really have to like metal to like this game is really cool and funny in the beginning of the game is not hard the other levels are kind of hard but oh well every gamer needs a challenge right?
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Review 7 for Brutal Legend
the best metal game on earth
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:4/9/12
metalmonster
Location: ny
This game is perfect for: party gamers
This game is amazing I love heavy metal and now I can play a game with my favorite music which is awesome. I use to wish i had a sword or something and slay demons listening to heavy metal now i can. The voice acting in this game is amazing no one was better for the job than jack black. And luckily if one of your kids wanted to play it but you are aware of jack blacks swearing there is a setting in the options menu to take out all vulgar language. you can also disable gore so this game i would say is actually okay for any child that likes heavy metal.
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Review 8 for Brutal Legend
Awesomeness Beyond Awesomeness
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Posted on:1/28/12
jowafa
Location: Chicago
This game is beyond amazing! The music is a lot of rock and metal by a lot of amazing artists. The comedic genius of Jack Black in this game is hilarious throughout the entire story. The story itself is great and I loved playing through it. I definitely recommend this game to anybody!
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Brutal Legend
This is the second best game i have ever played!
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:12/23/11
Rockability75
Location: Edmond, OK
This game is perfect for: party gamers
I have spent my whole life playing video games, and i have never played a better game than Modern warfare 3. This game nearly blew that game off my #1 favorite list. The down side of the game is you can't climb nor can you jump. I can not wait to get online and play this game. Try to play this game online and it will knock your socks off.
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
0 of 7 found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Brutal Legend
awesome game
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:12/18/11
joker999
Location: seattle, wa
This game is perfect for: casual gamers
this game is really cool and it has a very good metal sound track.
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Review 11 for Brutal Legend
Great Metal game,and soundtrack.
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Posted on:10/22/11
NewEnglandGamingFiend
Location: wallingford,CT
Jack Black as the protagonists voice was the icing on this games cake. If you like Metal, humor, and kicking but, GET THIS GAME! Like a metal mosh pit of fun.
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Review 12 for Brutal Legend
Jack black is awesome in the game
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:9/4/11
garica
Location: California,CA
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
he send outs lightning with his guitar pretty sweet
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
0 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Brutal Legend
Skip the story.
Overall Rating: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Gameplay: 
4 out of 10
4 out of 10
Graphics: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Sound: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Posted on:8/23/11
JunkGamer
Location: Lakewood, CO
This game is perfect for: casual gamers
Brutal Legend has everything a game about Metal should have, except an enjoyable story. Jack Black, Frazetta-esque landscapes, Brian Posehn, Ozzy, brutality, etc. The side missions are fun, if somewhat quick to be boring. The world is engaging, and dialog is often hysterical. Then you try to play the story missions and the whole thing collapses into a grind. This isn't a hack-and-slash in the story missions, it's some kind of horribly executed RTS. Suddenly you have to gather souls in order to purchase units, work within unit number limits, and send wave after wave of weak, slow units against quick, extremely powerful enemies. Many of these missions can be beaten with strategic use of your car and a minimum of RTS elements, but in the end most of the story forces you into very un-metal gameplay. If you get this cheap it's worth playing the parts outside the story, but if you're looking for a metal-themed hack-and-slash game, wait for something better to come out.
Overall Rating: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Gameplay: 
4 out of 10
4 out of 10
Graphics: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Sound: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
1 of 3 found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Brutal Legend
Tell mr.Schafer to make a brutal sequel.
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Posted on:8/1/11
kingofthegamers
This game is so epic I beat over 10 times now Im kinda of bored with it but, it is still one of my faviorte games of all time. I was realy mad when tim schafer said he was not going to make another brutal legend.
 
My Product Recommendations
 
 
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Brutal Legend
the perfect RPG
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Posted on:7/15/11
ElectroOveride
Location: Atlanta
This game is perfect for: casual gamers
Brutal Legend is by far the most incredible game i've ever played. Never have i had so much fun slaying demons and rocking out all at once. In the game, you run into Lemmy Kilmister and Ozzy Osbourne who are there to aid you in your battle for the liberation of humanity. Also, the DLC packages for this game allow you to purchase new weapons, threads, paint jobs, and multiplayer maps to only maximize the playing experience. Rock and Roll fovever.
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Review 16 for Brutal Legend
BRUTAL FUN
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:7/6/11
egjbphwjghrwlhrt
Location: chicago il
This game is perfect for: casual gamers
this is that kind of game that would make u laugh and have fun at the same time i suggest u buy this game and you fight with famous people like ozzy ozbourne and more BUY THIS GAME ITS AWESOME
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Review 17 for Brutal Legend
its fun to play and is cool
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:6/24/11
bimbo
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
its really fun and intresting to play online and campion
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
0 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Brutal Legend
An epic of pure epicness about an epic!
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Gameplay: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Graphics: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Posted on:6/22/11
NewbornRiddler
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
First and foremost, this game was made for rockers and Jack Black. I mean seriously this is the thing Jack Black talks about in "School of Rock" and "Tenacious D the Pick of Destiny". The gameplay is repeditive, but fun because you can switch from hitting people with your battle axe or playing a quick riff to do some massive damage. At times youll have a "big battle" which is where you have stage as a base and you summon up soldiers(headbangers, bassits, roadies and more) to fight for you against the evil of the world such as The Black Tear(emo kids) and more. Along the way youll meet people like Ozzy who gives you buffs, new moves and cool gadgets to add to your car. Between each main battle you have little missions you gotta do that can become repeditive. The best part of the whole game other than Jack Blacks commentary is the awsome soundtrack! The music is metal, but more of Led Zepplin, Black Sabbeth, Ozzy Osbourne era type stuff. The game does have a decent enough story, but because the combat is repeditive you might lose sight of it every once in awhile and have to recap. This game isnt for everyone and some people might think its too repeditive and not really be into the music and thats ok. All in all this is a great game for any Jack Black lover, fan of big battles type games and into the classic metal genre.
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Gameplay: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Graphics: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
3 of 3 found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Brutal Legend
The gameplay isn't as good as the soundtrack.
Overall Rating: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Gameplay: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Graphics: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Sound: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Posted on:2/27/11
Mooseninja
Location: Wichita, KS
Really, it would be impossible for this game to meet my expectations. It's made by the developers of one of the best platformers of all time (if you don't know what game I'm talking about, then I am truly sorry for you) and it's all about heavy metal. The soundtrack alone was enough to coax me into putting down a pre-order; seriously, they've got freakin' Angel Witch and Bishop of Hexen in this game! It's great to see that Judas Priest and Ozzy don't dominate the soundtrack. The gameplay, however, slightly disappoints.
Brutal Legend is a standard open-world adventure game, nothing more and nothing less. The enemies are repetitive, the gameplay is dated, and the story isn't as well thought-out and funny as it could be (though there are a few moments that brought huge belly laughs out of me). As a huge metal fan, I was disappointed at the lack of heavy metal in-jokes. But the game IS fun. Sure, there are a million games where you drive around an open world slaughtering everything in sight, but when did that ever stop being fun? Easily the best part of the game are the RTS battles; I absolutely SUCK at console strategy games, but Double Fine has mastered the art of blending strategy with hack-n-slash action and made an experience that's enjoyable for RTS noobs. If you like rock music and are looking for a fun action-adventure game for under 20 bucks, than Brutal Legend shouldn't be missed. Who knows; maybe you'll discover a new favorite band!
Overall Rating: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Gameplay: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Graphics: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Sound: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
2 of 2 found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Brutal Legend
Excellent game for all people!
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Sound: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Posted on:2/24/11
Nickolai
Location: New York
This game is perfect for: casual gamers
This game is one of the best I have played in a long time. The gameplay is unblievable. It has an easy to use system and controls that make it both fun or challenging if you choose. There a couple of difficulties, one being extremely easy and one being very difficult. The campaign is great and definetly re-playable with a incredible storyline. There are cameos of metal gods like Ozzy, Rob Halford and Lemmie that make the game exciting. Not to mention an awesome sounds track for when you are playing the game! There are countless comedic parts that make the game humorous as well to play. The online systems is decent. It basically a strategy game which can be fun at times as well as frustrating, im extremely bad at it it seems. You build units and have to destroy the enemy stage. Your armies fight to obtain towers, the towers give more resources to build units to try to destroy the enemys stage. Essentially you want to control as mant towers as you can so have more resources and thus, build a stronger army to destroy your enemy. There are opportunities to upgrade your vehicle and attacks which helps to motivate you to get credits and keep playing the already amazing game. There are some pretty cool upgrades for your car, like a ram in front of it and machine gun/ rocket turrets on your car and different vynl. There are also countless optional side missions you can do even after you beat the main storyline, they include things like races, or kill a certain amount of creatures in a limited amount of time. These missions offer credit rewards to upgrade your abilities of vehicle that you use quite frequently. Overall, it has an excellent storyline and gameplay with many hours of quality gameplay but lacks a stong multiplayer system.
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Sound: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
1 2 3 4 5 next>>