GameStop Ratings and Reviews

Shop Now At GameStop
Shop Software or
Choose a Category
Top Rated Product

Product Reviews

Brutal Legend

Brütal Legend marries visceral action combat with open-world freedom, set in a universe somewhere betweenLord of the Rings and Spinal Tap. It's a fresh take on the action/driving genre, which is full of imitation coverbands.The vivid and wildly creative world of Brütal Legend is brought to life through a spate of chrome, leather, rockerbabes, epic music, fire-breathing/stud-wearing beasts, mountains made of guitar amps, and more. Follow Eddieas he embarks on a tour of epic destruction with an axe, a guitar, and his minions as he commands the powerof rock in epic band battles. It's lighter-flicking awesomeness that will melt your face clean off.
Average Customer Rating:
8.844
8.8
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (46 reviews)
10 stars
16
9 stars
8
8 stars
3
7 stars
2
6 stars
2
5 stars
0
4 stars
0
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
1
28 out of 3288%of reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Brutal Legend
Review 1 for Brutal Legend
The Legend Is Brutal!!!!
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:8/18/13
BlackAceZero777
You know, as a guy who is not a heavy metal fan, I was very skeptical about me enjoying the game. But after playing it for awhile, I love the heck out of it. So let's start the review:
Story: In a world where Heavy Metal is dead, you play as Eddie Riggs; a Roadie who wishes that Heavy Metal was still the way it use to be. During a concert, he is transported back to a Medieval Heavy Metal version of the world where a Demon named Doviculus has taken over the world and captured it's civilians. Now you must help a group of Rebels free all of the captured citizens through the power of Metal, and fight your way to Doviculus to end his reign.
Gameplay: The gameplay is sorta in a Strategy style. In certain parts you will play a regular adventure game, but most of the time you will play a defend/defeat the fort. You and your rival will build a stage and you must get all the fans on your side if you want to have any hope of destroying the rivals stage.
Graphics: The graphics are a mixture between Psychonauts and Guitar Hero. The world is vibrant, crisp and clear.
Music: Most of what you will hear is alot of 80s Metal. They will have some more modern day Metal, but most will be old-school.
Overall Opinion: The game has alot of humor to it. If you are a fan or not of Heavy Metal, it has other ways to pull you in. That's why I'm giving it a 10 out of 10. Overall another classic by Tim Schaffer.
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Review 2 for Brutal Legend
Great game, But just that.
Overall Rating: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Gameplay: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Posted on:6/30/13
BenCow
Location: Turlock, Ca
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
This is a great game, don't get me wrong. but once you beat the (short) story mode, the multiplayer isn't that great. The story is excellent, but it doesn't stick with you.
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Overall Rating: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Gameplay: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Review 3 for Brutal Legend
BEST GAME EVER CREATED
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:11/13/12
brutalrocker
Location: Honolulu, HI
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
this game is made for anyone who loves rock and wants to ride fast rides and kill demons and since its only $ 5 used GO BUY IT!!!!!!!!!!!
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Review 4 for Brutal Legend
Metal!!!!! I'll Allow It...
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Posted on:9/21/12
OMGitslikeababiesarm
Location: Washington State
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
All I can say is try to get all 100+ songs on this game for $5... You should buy it, what a deal! Lemmy is God!!!
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Brutal Legend
100% Heavy Metal Fan Game
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:5/18/12
Sigma88
Location: Sylacauga, AL
This game is perfect for: casual gamers
I absolutely LOVE this game! First off, I'm a big Jack Black fan and that right there added value to my purchase. Second, as a rock and metal fan this is THE game for folks like me. 100+ classic heavy metal song, flames, hot leather babes, and demons. not to mention LEMMY!!!!!
I caught myself singing along to the game most of the time and would have LOVED a sequel. If they made one I'd Pre-order it NOW.
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
2 of 2 found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Brutal Legend
crazy good
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:11/24/11
gamefan4564
Location: shelbyville mi
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
this is an amazing open world game pretty much inspired by heavy metal. it has good combat, really good missions, and plenty of extra stuff to do. this has sort of a cartoonish look to it as well, and that is also ok, because of the level of blood and violence make the cartoonish graphics even better. this also has a lot of good jokes to. this can get a little unusual to, like using a guitar to summon lightning to fight enemies, but that's fine to. this is an unusual, really cool game that should not go unnoticed.
 
My Product Recommendations
 
 
PlayStation Vita First Edition Bundle
9.8 out of 10(94)
 
 
 
 
 
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Review 7 for Brutal Legend
Good game
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Posted on:8/29/11
Opi8
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
Gameplay gets old fast in story so I try to find unlockables after a story every now and then. Music was great lines were funny and all in all a good game.
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
0 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Brutal Legend
great music and sound, gameplay style lacking.
Overall Rating: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Gameplay: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Posted on:7/18/11
acheron
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
When buying this game at first I was expecting a heavymetal fantasy hack and slash, I got it only to find the boring RTS gameplay hidden under it. Almost every boss is fought using this method, and it gets really hard really fast. overall though the open world mechanic is well done, and the sound track is great for any metal head. If your looking for a RTS that has hack and slash mixed in this is your game.
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Overall Rating: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Gameplay: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Review 9 for Brutal Legend
Brutal Legend is good
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Gameplay: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Posted on:6/15/11
Leon17
Location: FL
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
the gameplay may or may not put up some players into not liking. Personally i like it works well enough and Rts sections are fun. it can be repetitive at times but overall I really enjoyed. the biggest selling point is the comedy which is fantastic. I've never laugh so much in a video game than i have in Brutal Legend. Voice acting is also top notch with some famous metal artist like Ozzy Ozbourne and Lemmy Kilmister and actor Jack Black all doing a great job in their role. Soundtrack is also some of the best I've heard in games today with even some great under appreciated metal artist like KMFDM, Manowar, Iced Earth, etc. Though i did notice in gamestop's track listing that they misspelled "Megadeth with "Megadeath" but ignoring that obvious mistake.In my view its a enjoyable game with lot of great comedy and an awesome soundtrack. Definitely recommend this to anyone and those who enjoy meal like I do. Its a great game and applauded Tim Schafer for creating a great and yet unique story. Trust me its worth the $20 or 12.99 you spend it for.
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Gameplay: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Review 10 for Brutal Legend
Awesome
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Posted on:5/30/11
Dumbfounded
Location: Chicago IL
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
I honestly hate rock music but this game was so perfect it made me foorget about that the action was my favorite part and jac black's one liners were amazing.........DECAPITION!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! you'll get tht once you play the game
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Review 11 for Brutal Legend
Rock On!
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Posted on:5/25/11
Niick
Location: Mesa, AZ
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
If you are looking for a good video game to play, I HIGHLY recommend Brütal Legend (stylized with a metal umlaut), and it totally deserves the umlaut btw! Nearly all of the aspects of the game have a metal band feel to it, from trees made of exhaust pipes, to ridable fire-breathing beasts, to Jack Black as the main protagonist and Ozzy as the guardian of metal in the game, and even the main menu is an old vinyl in its sleeve. The world itself looks very much like Oblivion, with the exception of the Metal band additions. It can be best be described as a Strategy, Third Person Shooter, Action, Driving mashup, and it does it all quite well. There is no real tutorial for the RTS segment, other than a few small scattered tips, but it is still quite usable. Obviously the sound track rocks out loud too. The premise is that you fight your enemies in stage battles where you manage the fans, your "band" of warriors and the stage itself. There are also awesome drivable vehicles like a ford model B and various choppers. It has a really deep storyline and characters that are hard not to care about. Best of all, its below 20 bucks and available for the PS3 and 360.
My Photos:
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Review 12 for Brutal Legend
Only if you LOVE Metal music
Overall Rating: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Gameplay: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Graphics: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
4 out of 10
4 out of 10
Posted on:3/31/11
BonesJustice
Location: New York
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
------Pros------ GREAT Metal soundtrack with many artists and songs that will keep you rocking on. Large sand-box map with some great art-style. Very good voice-acting with a fair amount of well-known artists. Long story-line thats humorous, and interesting. ------Cons------ Gameplay gets repetitive fast and pretty difficult towards the end. This game lacks variety. Characters will constantly repeat the same recordings and it gets more annoying as you advance through the game.
Overall Rating: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Gameplay: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Graphics: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
4 out of 10
4 out of 10
3 of 4 found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Brutal Legend
DECAPITATIOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOON!
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Posted on:2/4/11
FryedMustard
Location: California
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
Ya my summary pretty much describes the whole game! Great music and hilarious ya buy this lol!
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Brutal Legend
Its Got OZZY and Lemmy
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Gameplay: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:1/23/11
Backwoodsmike
Location: Ny
This game is perfect for: casual gamers
Thisgame is worth the price just for the sound track. 20 bucks gets u over 50 or so kickass songs. This game is fun but i wish it had more fighting and better combat controls. I think teres only like five big fights. And the grapichs are so so but its still a cool game and fun to have around.
 
My Product Recommendations
 
 
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Gameplay: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Review 15 for Brutal Legend
Pretty Freakin awsome
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Posted on:1/12/11
thisguy33invisible
Location: my house
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
The number one reason i got this game was for the soundtrack. It is awsome and its the reason i keep on playing after i beat the game a few times. The gameplay is good but it seems empty when you go around the map. It was a bit short although it was a fun ride. The game is worth the money.
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Review 16 for Brutal Legend
alot of fun but kinda hard
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Posted on:1/7/11
PS3game222
Location: St. John, IN
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
this game is crazy fun and addicting... but the game is kinda hard and confusing. i'd recommend it to anybody cause the games alot of fun but if u don't like difficult games u shouldn't by it. but other whys one of the greatest games of all time. jack black at his best. and don't forget th rocking music
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Review 17 for Brutal Legend
THE POWE OF ROCK WINS EVERY TIME
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:1/1/11
db332
Location: holland
This game is perfect for: casual gamers
this game is amazen great storey were u get to use the power of rock to turn people faces to goo and its addicting so get this gameee
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
0 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Brutal Legend
IN DEED BRUTAL
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:12/31/10
Link825
Location: FL
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
AHH. The hardcore metal game we were all craving for.
Is chopping , slashing and decapitating demon's straight into our harts.
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Review 19 for Brutal Legend
Great Soundtrack, Mediocre Gameplay
Overall Rating: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Gameplay: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Graphics: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
4 out of 10
4 out of 10
Posted on:12/29/10
JuicePick
Location: Nashua, NH
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
Brutal Legend was a pretty big let down for me. I knew that I had to have this game when I first saw the amazing soundtrack. I just wasn't at all impressed with the RTS type levels. They were pretty boring for the most part, and that's largely what the game was comprised of. I also feel like they could have done a lot better with the plot and dialogue. There were a couple funny parts, but they could have taken heavy metal stereotypes so much further and made something really special. Despite the excellent music, I really can't reccomend this to anyone.
Overall Rating: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Gameplay: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Graphics: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
4 out of 10
4 out of 10
0 of 2 found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Brutal Legend
HEAVY METAL !!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:10/19/10
ilovegames1234
Location: long beach
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
this game is perfect for people who love heavy metal.The playlist of songs are classic and awsome the gamepla of this game is very good not complicated when it comes to the controlles.the sound of this game is sooo good espacailly when it comes to the songs and voice acting the story is perfect and humorous/haliarouis dont want to tell more cause of spoilers but go get this game it will rock your soul
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
1 2 3 next>>