GameStop Ratings and Reviews

Shop Now At GameStop
Shop Software or
Choose a Category
Top Rated Product

Product Reviews

Dynasty Warriors 6: Empires

Dynasty Warriors 6® Empires combines thrilling battle action with strategic conquest! Unite all of China under your banner as a ruler, or fight for honor as a loyal officer. With open-ended gameplay and extensive character customization, you have the power to rewrite history!
Average Customer Rating:
8.6
8.6
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (28 reviews)
10 stars
8
9 stars
1
8 stars
2
7 stars
1
6 stars
2
5 stars
1
4 stars
0
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
0
13 out of 1587%of reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Dynasty Warriors 6: Empires
Review 1 for Dynasty Warriors 6: Empires
AMAZIN!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:12/22/10
lostspartan052
Location: lakeland florida
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
best of the series. i love the new combat system i downloaded every extra armor set and i cant stop using meng huo cant wait to get strikeforce
My Photos:
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
0 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Dynasty Warriors 6: Empires
WHERE IS DA QIAO?!?! And the other blanks.
Overall Rating: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Posted on:11/14/10
BukiOotaki1
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
After playing DW6Empires for awile, I began to really get into the game. But I found it EXTREMELY messed up that they did not add in some of the characters that were just missing. For EXAMPLE, Da Qiao, my favorite character, was just cut out of the picture. I feel that she played a major role in being Sun Ce's wife, and for them to only include the younger sister is just wrong. Meng Hou's wife, Zhu Rong was absent as well. I felt that Da Qiao was my DW hero, and my heart was ripped in two when I only saw Xiao. I understand that they have similar weapons, but they are very individual and deserve to be equally represented. As far as the game itself, I was very satisfied with the actual gameplay and the graphics, but there was still another thing missing....... where......is.........FREE MODE!!! There you could level up your character for tougher gameplay. The level was seriously brought up with the edit mode. So, FYI for the next installment, I betta see some more PEOPLE. Thank you and have a nice day ^_^.
Overall Rating: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
2 of 4 found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Dynasty Warriors 6: Empires
The EVOLUTION of the game series is REMARKABLE!!!
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:6/25/09
tiemysou
I was previously searching for a role playing game that had many fun aspects to it. The only other DW game that I had bought before this one was DW4. The changes I noticed from DW4 to DW6 Empires were abundant and alomst all of them were for the better. There is a lot more strategy involved in the latest game than one might anticipate. Players can choose to be the ruler who strives to ascend their kingdom to the top or can choose to become a loyal officer looking for companions to guide himself/herself in a quest to rise in the ranks while strengthening every apspect of his/her being. There is still a plethora of characters to choose from, and many of my personal favorites were back. One can also choose to create up to 100 of their own characters to fight in battle. Coop mode allows two players to play together on the same screen, but DW has not yet been able to take the game into the online world via xbox live, which in my opinion is the only flaw to this fantastic game. I have not finished the game yet, but I can see myself spending many hours playing this fun-filled game. Overall, this game is definitely worth buying and is a staple to any adventurous gamer's collection.
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
4 of 4 found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Dynasty Warriors 6: Empires
One step forward two steps back
Posted on:6/5/09
Slightly Disapointed Fan
I love this series and have played it since Dynasty Warriors 3, but with every expansion they seem to improve one aspect of the game but weaken another one. Each release was progressively better than the one before it. Before the release of Dynasty Warriors 6, I was excited about the new fighting system. It worked well but it seemed to replace combos with just more buton mashing. Also, instead of steadily adding characters and making each one more unique as they had been doing with each installment, characters were removed and only about a dozen characters of the 41 had a unique move set. Also some of the character's designs were improved, Gan Ning and Sun Ce for example, but many characters look much worse than before, Dong Zhou in particular. Along with the relatively low number of maps, the lack of Unique characters made this the first Dynasty Warriors game that I had ever sold back to EB Games. I'm hoping that Dynasty Warriors 6 Empires will fix some of those problems, but i can't say that I plan to buy another Dynasty Warriors game until they are fixed.
Review 5 for Dynasty Warriors 6: Empires
I cant wait !!
Posted on:1/29/09
I luv DW's
I have always been a DW's fanactic ever since my cousin gave it to me 3yrs ago. At first glance it didnt seem like a real hardcore game. But when I opened that box and plopped that game in my PS2 i could see that I was dead wrong! This game was so cool the first time a played I stayed up until 2 in the morning playing it and my brothers couldn't get enough of it either we were officialy DW's fans. Every since then we bought every single DW's game like DW4, DW4X, DW5,DW5X, DW5 empires and just recently we got DW6 for our 360 ill admit that DW6 is nice but it has some flaws like the removel of really nice characters like Jiang Wei and Meng Hou. Also how very few characters have musou modes that really got on my nerves. But neverless iam still a DW fan for life. But my brothers and I are filled with overwhelming excitement for DW6 empires this game is hopefully gonna be the real deal.
Comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
wolfblade
 
Please wait while more information about wolfblade is loaded.
Additional information about wolfblade could not be loaded.
dw6 empires rocks!!
Posted 4/15/12
The game is so cool the make a warrior is alsome and the wars are pretty cools my all time fav will always be Sun ce!
Comments (1)
Comment (1)
Review 6 for Dynasty Warriors 6: Empires
Good But Had Some Flaws
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Posted on:8/29/09
The Failure of the Spartan Program
I am a big fan of the DW series and have played all the expansion packs ever since DW4. I found this game to be very well made and continued the great DW line Koei has given us. But i was disapointed in a few things. One they have removed free mode which allowed players to create their own battles instntly without having to go into campaign. Two, unlike DW5 all the campaigns were there from the start. I found this to make the game lack in replay value as the game now had no real aim as there was nothing to unlock except clothing or Achievements and Trophies. Three, even thoguh Meng Huo was added to the game, the rest of the characters that were missing should have been re added to the game as well. Those were Jiang Wei, Zhu Rong and Da Qiao. I did find though that after every campaign officer levels reverted back to one which made the game much more difficcult than the others in the series but to counter this being allowed to keep weapon levels and attributes along with any horses purchased with the use of bonus points did somewhat fix the matter. Nontheless, i found the game to have definite improvements over its predecessors with better graphics, voice and music along with new character animations and improved AI acts. I would recomend this to any long time DW fan but not to those just discovering the game. I expect some improvements though in the next DW installment.
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Dynasty Warriors 6: Empires
Prefect For DW Fans
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Posted on:8/13/11
ZeroOfDarkness
Location: Iowa
This game is perfect for: casual gamers
This game is another great entry for those who are fans of the DW games(Which of course i am). Unlike the classic DW styles this version has you taking over differnt parts of China in The Three Kingdoms Era(Theres also a Land In Chaos in which its random leaders rather than the 3 mains and a few extras) This game has many varied ways to play(Playing Land In Chaos mode anyways)With the random leader you never know whos gonna lead what area you can also defect to other leaders. A nice add in is the varied endings.. depending on what happens in your play-through it will affect the ending clips.
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Dynasty Warriors 6: Empires
Fantastic and an excellent game
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Posted on:1/25/11
RisingDragon54
Location: Las Vegas,NV
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
This game is an excellent game in my point of view. Its an great game for players who like the Dynasty warriors series I own mostly all of the series this is by far the best I have played of them so far. An extraordinary game for those who like fighting and a hardcore story line.
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
2 of 3 found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Dynasty Warriors 6: Empires
favorite game of mine shattered here
Overall Rating: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Gameplay: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Graphics: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Sound: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Posted on:2/14/13
strayrogue
Location: Harrington Park, New Jersey
This game is perfect for: kid gamers
i know i love the dynasty warriors series but this game is not cool at all. its just so complicated dynasty wariors 5 empires was better than this one believe me. i have dynasty warriors 7 and its almost like this game but way better. this game i cannot give any higher than a 6 out of ten i just cant i dont like the game so much and im a huge fan of the series.
Overall Rating: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Gameplay: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Graphics: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Sound: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
2 of 4 found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Dynasty Warriors 6: Empires
This game is freaking amazing!
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:2/8/12
Timmy6897
Location: Moreno valley, CA
This game is perfect for: casual gamers
Oh my gosh, i've been waiting for this game for a year! I finally got it. Although it was difficult to track down-.-, it was worth it:). I would definetly reccomend this to friends and i already have and now they want it. I love the graphics of this wonderful game by koei. I love everything. A few of my favorite characters are zhou yu, yue ying, and... Well i only had like an hour to play so i didn't get the chance to try out all tge characters yet... but i will! I'm so excited to play this game. I love the 'Dynasty Warriors' series. Oh and one more thing, the, Create-a-character node or character edit is soooo amazing. They really did advance this mode since the last game; and it makes Dynasty Warriors 5 just look like an 'ok' game. Well... Than you Koei! -Tim;]
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Review 11 for Dynasty Warriors 6: Empires
Great New Empires Game!
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Posted on:6/26/09
Ninjamaster007
I have played Dynasty Warriors since 4 and i have loved them but i have always been partial to the empires series. I got Empires 5 on the 360 only to have it be not that much different that a ps2 game. So i was a little cautious but i decided to get 6 since i enjoyed playing Dynasty 6 so much. Boy was it a good choice! The graphics look clean and crisp good draw distances, no fog of war here lol, it has a lot of replay since you can take over china hundreds of times and it not be the same!. It has 5 difficulty levels that vary from laughable to extremely hard so there is something for everyone. The create and officer is much improved but i still feel it could use a little bit more items and clothing but hopefully thats in the future and the items that are there are good. This game also supports 2 player co-op and it's a blast to team up with your friend for some world domination. The strategy elements are still in play with the different regions offering different perks and the officers giving you cards that do different things. You can also play as an officer instead of ruler which is a neat new addition. Overall this a very fun and much improved Dynasty Warriors Empires and i extremely happy with my purchase! Thanks Koei!
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Review 12 for Dynasty Warriors 6: Empires
wasent what I thought
Overall Rating: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Gameplay: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Posted on:2/3/11
Bigmike121
Location: Pittsburgh
This game is perfect for: casual gamers
I love the DW series, especially the empires cause you can command your own empire. This game was good but wasent as good as i thought. I prefered number 5. The new stragedy system was boring, and wasent to much to it. They added some other cool features to the game, but not what i thought. So i give the game a 7. i was still a fun game, but they took some things out that made it not as fun as the other ones.
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Overall Rating: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Gameplay: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
2 of 5 found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Dynasty Warriors 6: Empires
I LOVE this game
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Posted on:6/2/12
xxbunnyjinxx
Location: hixson,TN
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
I was waiting for this game for so long! then my brother got rid of my xbox but i got another one and i'm soo getting this game! I think this one is one personal favorites other than strikeforce and orochi. Yes, i admit that Da Qiao and the others were missing but it's a great game overall i usually use Xiao Qiao or her husband. But i really love how you can change so much of the stuff on your custom person and how you can like get married to someone which im just like yess because i LOVE Zhao Yun. Well i like the gameplay because before you couldn't really go dependent on empire mode and i'm glad that you can now. Koei is doing a great job in making these games. I can't wait to get Orochi 3!
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Review 14 for Dynasty Warriors 6: Empires
i cannot wait!!!
Posted on:4/9/09
just call me BOB
I have been playing this game since the first one came out. It really has changed the way i feel about fighting games. It does have a little strategy so its not just a hack and slash. DW6 has changed the series dramatically, but i feel as though it did need a change. The limited mousou mode made it a weak game, but the details and the new weapons and everything else really made up for it. The empires version of the series really got my attention when DW4 empires came out. I got it and wow was it good. Everything you do affects how the game is going to proceed. This game looks very promising. I cannot wait until it comes out. I just cannot wait!
Review 15 for Dynasty Warriors 6: Empires
ehh...
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Posted on:6/29/09
SkipperWalker
I was super excited for this game when it first came out. In fact, I spent two weeks doing nothing but wait for this game (and fight night round 4) to be released. When I did obtain this game I spent two days straight playing it and by the time day two ended, I was sadly fed up with it. Honestly, I expected it, in the first place, to be nothing but an easy button masher, but I had hoped that the story line and the create a character mode would save it from being nothing more than mold in my eyes, and, for a little while, it did. Eventually, however, I found myself only playing the game to get all the create a character clothing to customize my character and even that was a droll experience. The empire mode felt very repetative after going through it all as an officer and then as a ruler once. The battle mode also gets very repetative as I felt that my officers couldn't fend for themselves on the battlefield unless they attacked one enemy officer in a group. Dispite all this, I'll probably end up purchasing the sequel if I see that it has a good edit mode. My suggestion to the series is that they should try to encorporate things they see in other games (such as Soul Caliber's edit mode, Koei's very own Bladestorm with the use of various units which the character can actually command; maybe even empire total war, with it's campaign mode which is very intricate.)
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Review 16 for Dynasty Warriors 6: Empires
AWESOME
Posted on:6/18/09
deathlord54
First off i would like to say i absolutely love Dynasty Warriors. First DW game i played was Dynasty Warriors 3 for X-box. Dynasty Warriors 6 Empires is going to live up to the hype. With the character creation coming back is a dream come true for most hardcore fans of the series. The graphics look stunning, and finally no more clone weapons that most of us detest in Dynasty Warriors 6. But I can't wait for this game to come out in 5 days I am ecstatic for this game. And Ma Chao's big beastly sword is going to be the best weapon out there
Review 17 for Dynasty Warriors 6: Empires
turn around
Posted on:6/14/09
DW vet
i was disappointed with DW6 the clones and the simplified fighting were a let down. i was wary of DW6 empires. buit i just saw the screen shots, which included several characters who were previously clones with different weapons but now have their originals. combined with the character creation. and some of the screen shots appear to bring back the old combo system. all of this is very exciting because it looks like it will bring back all the DW game play and combine with the better graphics.
Review 18 for Dynasty Warriors 6: Empires
hard to sit and wait for it!!!!!!!!
Posted on:6/16/09
Anonymous
I played the series starting with #2 and i liked it but i just hated Lu bu and i still do...but i didnt really like number 6 because they took out half of the characters like xing cai and DA qaio.But with the character creation it will help the game very much im gonna make all the missing people and im sure most of you will. It will be weird if they can get better graphics for these games because they are already good.I wouldn't mind if they even had a tv show here in America about it all
Review 19 for Dynasty Warriors 6: Empires
I can hardly wait!!!
Posted on:5/18/09
Tamiko
Ever since Warriors 6 came out I've been hyped up on getting empires. Even if they do an Xtreme it'll be awesome. I miss Da Qiao and most of the other female characters but I can't wait, I own all the other series so this will be another for my collection, but it'll be so much more, because I know I'll be playing it every chance I get. I can't wait to see how u can build you're own character and how everything will flow on the game. I'm keeping my eyes on this one!
Review 20 for Dynasty Warriors 6: Empires
ma chao is back
Posted on:6/20/09
johnzeppelin
DW6 was extremely dissapointing with all the people having the same movesets and the same weapon types but now from the screenshots it looks like the characters are all once again unique. The new strategy system looks cool and the sneak attacks sound awesome. In DW6 I missed the silver stallion but the new broadsword ma chao is sporting looks cool as well. Glad they finally made ma chao the powerhouse he's supposed to be.
0 of 1 found this review helpful.
1 2 next>>