GameStop Ratings and Reviews

Shop Now At GameStop
Shop Software or
Choose a Category
Top Rated Product

Product Reviews

Pokemon Platinum Version

As the story unfolds, players will encounter the mysterious new Distortion World, an area unlike any seen in a Pokemon video game before. The Battle Frontier area (first introduced in Pokemon Emerald) has been added to Sinnoh, containing five new Battle Facilities for Trainers to challenge, each with its own special rules. Players can explore the new Wi-Fi Plaza a virtual Pokemon amusement park filled with activities, including three new mini-games where up to 4 players can compete at once.
Average Customer Rating:
9.373
9.4
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (196 reviews)
10 stars
76
9 stars
24
8 stars
13
7 stars
1
6 stars
2
5 stars
0
4 stars
1
3 stars
1
2 stars
0
1 star
0
115 out of 11897%of reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Pokemon Platinum Version
Review 1 for Pokemon Platinum Version
Simply Pokemon
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Posted on:3/23/09
gules222
Pokemon Platinum is the anticipated 3rd installment into the 4th Generation of Pokemon games. It definitely lives up to its expectations. As with Diamond and Pearl, Pokemon Platinum deals with Pokemon in the Sinnoh Region and the evil Team Galactic. But this time, the evil leader of Galactic, Cyrus, has decided to not only summon Dialga and Palkia, but Giratina as well. This causes the portal to Giratina's dimension, known as the Distortion World, to open up all around Sinnoh. This creates a much colder environment, therefore Dawn and Lucas must wear much heavier clothing. The game has some slight changes in the story and dialogue, but the main changes in this game focus on two aspects: The Wi-Fi and the Distortion World. Wi-Fi is completely enhanced, allowing you to not only battle online, but play mini-games and do other such things over Nintendo Wi-Fi with your friends and/or random strangers. The Distortion World really pushes the graphics system in the DS and completely succeeds. Aside from those changes, other changes include Gym enhancements, a stronger Elite 4, and a Cafe' where you can fight Gym Leaders and other one-timer trainers. There are also 3 Pokemon who get different forms. The main one is Giratina, who now has his Origin Forme. Then there is Shaymin, who has access to a Sky Forme. Finally, there is Rotom who can change into a Heat, Wash, Mow, Fan, or Freeze Forme. If you are a DS owner and do not own a copy of either Pokemon Diamond or Pokemon Pearl, then Pokemon Platinum is a MUST GET. But for those of you who have Diamond or Pearl, I would still suggest you get this game, as it is completely enhanced. But if you don't, that is your choice. All in all, Pokemon Platinum is a wonderful installment to the Pokemon Series and I highly recommend it.
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
76 of 83 found this review helpful.
Comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
PokemonLOVER
USA
 
Please wait while more information about PokemonLOVER is loaded.
Additional information about PokemonLOVER could not be loaded.
COOL!!!
Posted 11/8/10
Ok ,Let me just say i REALLY want this game, but the thing is it is almost completely the same game as Pokemon Diamond Version with the Team Galastic HQ in the windmill place!
Comments (1)
Comment (1)
Review 2 for Pokemon Platinum Version
The Best Pokemon Game Ever!
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:3/21/14
TomoyaOkazaki
Location: Miami, FL
This game is perfect for: casual gamers
This game has got to be the best Pokémon game I've ever played. I'm a huge Pokémon gamer and I've been playing it since Pokémon Silver and Gold were out. And I've been watching it for as long as I remember. This game is by far the best Pokémon game ever. I have, Diamond, Pearl, Platinum, Black, White, Black 2, X, Y, Sapphire, Emerald, and XD Gale of Darkness. And Platinum is great. I mean it's a little over priced but it still worth it. The best idea is being able to re-battle the Gym Leaders with evolved Pokémon and their stronger. Like the first Gym Leader, I forgot his name Rorck I think it is not sure, he has a Cranidos like in the Anime. Once you beat the game you go to a certain little town and you'll see all the old Gym Leaders and he'll be there with a Rampardos. It's great. The storyline's great, gameplay's great, graphics aren't as good now due to the amazing graphics we see today like Final Fantasy 13: Lightning Returns but still their pretty good. It's amazing, I recommend it to every Pokémon gamer out there.
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Review 3 for Pokemon Platinum Version
Excellent Overall
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:3/10/14
SadisticDude
This game is perfect for: casual gamers
this game is very good. It expands on storymode of diamond and pearl. The graphics are much better and the main story is great. The battle frontier is the best part. Its really fun and its actually beatable unlike Emerald. Best pokemon game for the DS.
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Review 4 for Pokemon Platinum Version
MY FAVORITE POKEMON GAME
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Posted on:2/10/14
MARIOFAN25
Location: CHARLOTTE,NC
Pokemon Platinum get my vote for the best pokemon game. You start out in Twinleaf Town and you meet your friend and you head out on the first route. Your friend, being the rambunctious kid he is, tries to go in the tall grass without a pokemon which is a no no. Just as he is about to enter the tall grass, Professor Rowan sees him and scolds him about not going into the grass. soon after dawn will bring a briefcase with the starters and you pick one. You can choose Turtwig the grass type, piplup the water type and chimchar the fire type. this game is almost the same as diamond and pearl except for the new battle interface and different story elements. Gen 4 is my favorite generation for many reasons. Sinnoh is a great region to explore with many places to visit. from MT. coronet and jubilife city to the distortion world and the spear pillar. The crime organization is Team Galactic and they have had the most catastrophic plan of any crime organization. their leader Cyrus not only wants to make a new world but he wants to make a new universe. The pokemon in gen 4 is my favorite roster. porygon-z, gliscor, infernape (my favorite pokemon), and the creation trio palkia, dialga and giratina. even arceus the pokemon god. so overall platinum is amazing and is well worth your time.
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Review 5 for Pokemon Platinum Version
its okay
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 10
4 out of 10
Gameplay: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
4 out of 10
4 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
2 out of 10
2 out of 10
Posted on:11/20/13
primus217
Location: cybertron
This game is perfect for: casual gamers
this is a so so game in all teh gameplay is mildly fun the graphics are pretty good for ds and the sound is horrible in all ok game 5.7/10
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 10
4 out of 10
Gameplay: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
4 out of 10
4 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
2 out of 10
2 out of 10
Review 6 for Pokemon Platinum Version
This game is awesome, and my favirote dsi game.
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:7/28/13
REdWo1f44
Location: MO
This game is perfect for: casual gamers
I loved this game so much that I restarted the game 5 time. I never got board of this outstanding game. And the thing is that I am a COD gamer so this can be for anybody!
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Review 7 for Pokemon Platinum Version
Best PokeGame Other Than Red and Blue
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:7/6/13
mrbunnyman498
Location: san antonio, tx
This game is perfect for: casual gamers
This game in three words: Replayable, Gorgeous, and Fun. I bought this game when it first came out, and I played it for 4 years after, just on the BattleFrontier. It looks amazing, the music is unlike any other pokemon game, due to the dark elements that only platinum has, yet identifiable as pokemon music. the storyline is great, though somewhat predictable it has a few great plot twists. Easily the second best pokemon game, second only to red and blue.
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Review 8 for Pokemon Platinum Version
awesome game
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:6/30/13
JAYMANISBOSS
Location: Windsor,CT
This game is perfect for: kid gamers
pokemon is an awesome game when you start to play it. you can catch different pokemon and have them level up and face gym leaders.
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Review 9 for Pokemon Platinum Version
Diamond and Pearl???
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Posted on:5/8/13
Stoffangadd
Location: Gotland
This game is perfect for: casual gamers
This game takes all that Diamond & Pearl has and makes it even better and it was my first Pokemon game for the Nintendo DS. It's a really great game especially if you're new to the handheld consoles like the DS or 3DS.
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Review 10 for Pokemon Platinum Version
amazing highly recomended
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:5/4/13
blackdragon1
Location: New York, NY
This game is perfect for: casual gamers
I love this game get it it is great for kids actually for everyone nomatter the age even at the age of 100
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Review 11 for Pokemon Platinum Version
Amazing game for all ages
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:4/25/13
Nameless0
Location: Sacramento CA
This game is perfect for: casual gamers
Never been stuck so much on a game in all my life would recommend any Pokemon game to anyone a great game.
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Review 12 for Pokemon Platinum Version
best.game.ever. period
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:4/17/13
legoland1324
Location: lawrence,MA
This game is perfect for: casual gamers
awesome game. its impossible to beat it in a day. My recommendations: infernape, staraptor, floatzel, lucario (you can get an egg that hatches into riolu on iron island) , garchomp, luxray
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Review 13 for Pokemon Platinum Version
Great Game
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:4/10/13
AceMan
Location: Sierra Vista, AZ
This game is perfect for: casual gamers
This is a great game where people can now trade pokemon with the whole world. It also has a great price $20 less than expensive wii games.
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Review 14 for Pokemon Platinum Version
Great
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Sound: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:1/6/13
billybob1268414654
Location: New York, NY
This game is perfect for: casual gamers
The game is great with challenges that you can do. You can get a bunch of pokemon that are found in other versions.
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Sound: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Review 15 for Pokemon Platinum Version
Pokemon Platinum continues the Famous Legacy
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Sound: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:1/1/13
Ciguy
Location: Greenville, NC
This game is perfect for: casual gamers
Throughout the years Pokemon has continued to be one if not the most original games out there, and Pokemon platinum does not disappoint. Experienced and new players can easily dive into the simple, classic game play and have an absolute blast. What makes this game so great? Tough puzzles, nail-biting battles, beautiful environment, and gripping story line keep every second fresh and fun. Besides this Nintendo has really hit gold with the enormous array of new exciting Pokemon. I loved every second of this game and have completed it with relish. My advice; skip Diamond and Pearl and get Platinum, it offers an overall better Sinnoh Region experience anyway. Pokemon Platinum is a great game that will amaze players of all ages!
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Sound: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Review 16 for Pokemon Platinum Version
BEST GAME EVER!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:12/29/12
FUNGAMES56
Location: mi
This game is perfect for: kid gamers
The perfect game for all ages.the aspect of the game is to beat the 8 gyms beat the elite 4 and to stop the evil team glastic! SO BUY THIS GAME RIGHT NOW!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Review 17 for Pokemon Platinum Version
Excellent
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Posted on:10/16/12
AngryLime
Location: Wisconsin
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
I bought this game at my local gamestop even though it didn't come with the case (thats a big deal to me ha). I am used to the old pokemon games, pokemon yellow to be more specific. I had no idea what pokemon that were featured in this game and when I started playing I was amazed. It seems like they have put pokemon from all generations and possibly included new ones! I instantly fell in love with this because I new a large amount of pokemon included and many were my favorites! The music is absolutely beautiful. It fits the atmosphere flawlessly. The graphics had improved ten fold from the games that I was used to. The animations are sharp and it proves to be challenging. I've only had the game 2 days and I have already put in 15 hours into it! The only thing I don't like is that I still have to trade to get some of my favorite pokemon, such as alakazam and gengar.
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Review 18 for Pokemon Platinum Version
An entire brain explosion adventure
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Posted on:8/23/12
EpicA
Location: New York, NY
This game is perfect for: kid gamers
I love platinum!!!!!!Let's say you just start the game you already just go on with the epic adventure.You encounter many legends, you get tough challenges,also you meet lots of other pokemon too!I would buy platinum over heartgold,soulsilver,black,white!!!All those game aren't like platinum to me.Platinum is for all people who want a good but not really long adventure!!! Also I give platinum 5 stars.
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
7 of 8 found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Pokemon Platinum Version
Loved it.
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Posted on:7/27/12
ScoutCraft
I played this game love it even more then diamond and pearl. But not as good as pokemon blue. loved the game play. :)
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
3 of 4 found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Pokemon Platinum Version
Best Pokemon game & best DS lite game too!
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Posted on:7/26/12
RotomPokedude
This game is perfect for: casual gamers
It was my second Ds game and I played it for like 200 hours! I love the underground, contests, & everything else! :D :)
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
1 2 3 4 5 ... 10 next>>