GameStop Ratings and Reviews

Shop Now At GameStop
Shop Software or
Choose a Category
Top Rated Product

Product Reviews

Splatterhouse

Follow Rick and his mystical Terror Mask as he unmercifully tears, cuts and beats his way through denizens of unearthly creatures in an epic adventure to rescue his girlfriend from the clutches of deranged occult figure Dr. West.Embodying the unfiltered, primal aggression of its namesake, Splatterhouse combines visceral, adrenaline-soaked combat with horror elements to deliver an original gaming experience that defies the boundaries of the traditional action category with over the-top gore and shocking new gameplay mechanics.
Average Customer Rating:
7.172
7.2
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (43 reviews)
10 stars
3
9 stars
7
8 stars
10
7 stars
1
6 stars
2
5 stars
1
4 stars
1
3 stars
1
2 stars
1
1 star
2
22 out of 2976%of reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Splatterhouse
Review 1 for Splatterhouse
Not your typical action game
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Gameplay: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Graphics: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Sound: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Posted on:11/23/10
DrLeprosy
Location: PA
This game is perfect for: casual gamers
If you are looking for a God of War rip off or a devil may cry kind of game play; move along, there is nothing to see here. SplatterHouse is a game that stands on its own, without ripping off other games. Stylized, almost comic book like graphics come to life in constantly changing and always bloody environments. The controls take a bit of getting used to but become second nature quickly. The heavy metal soundtrack chimes in during the fighting to make the game play that much better. If you remember the old side scroll arcade game, and you want something new and interesting, you will love this game. It sometimes gives you a taste of that old side scroll action with a new twist. This game is not very hard but it does have a few frustrating moments. I played it for 6 hours today and I am only taking a break to let my PS3 cool down a bit. One bad thing is, I think this will be a short game. I am already on chapter 8 and it feels like it will be over soon. All and all I recommend this for anybody that loved the old school game or loves action games. Its ultra violence is just a legendary as you would expect. I think at one point i ripped out some lungs.
My Photos:
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Gameplay: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Graphics: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Sound: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
3 of 3 found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Splatterhouse
Finally, the time has come...
Posted on:11/17/10
Kewlio
Location: The Beach
This upcoming tuesday marks the day this longly anticipated game comes out, if you ever loved beat 'em ups or were old enough to remember this game, you owe it to yourself to own this game... This and Darksiders will make a great match together...
My Video:
(click on the play button to start movie)
 
My Product Recommendations
 
 
2 of 2 found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Splatterhouse
Holding my breath
Posted on:11/18/10
DrLeprosy
Location: PA
God I hope this does not get pushed back again. Loads of Gore, buckets of blood, chainsaws severed limbs used as weapons and real time limb and wound regeneration with epic enemy's to battle after fighting your way through hordes of monsters. And all of it set to a hard metal soundtrack. I haven't looked forward to any game as much as this one scene GOW 3. I just hope it meets my expectations.
My Photos:
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
 
My Product Recommendations
 
2 of 3 found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Splatterhouse
Goreful Good Time!
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Posted on:11/26/10
Fleaman
Location: Laughing Skull
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
i bought this game expecting just a fun revamp of the older titles but i gotta say its just amazing!
now granted its not for the smaller kids,, there is cursing ALL the way through this game, hardcore gore and violence even mortal kombat would blush at (well other then that new mortal kombat which looks amazing)
tons of nudity (which to me is an added bonus!) dark comedy abounds,
honestly this game is like a fun horror movie, not everyone will enjoy it. its not final fantasy, you wont find any really epic sweeping stories or even tons of different settings like God of War, but for what it DOES do, it does great
the only thing i wish they had done is add more enemies then they launched with. there is only about 4 or so enemies total, they re-skin them different ways but there isnt any fun finishers/fatalities to them after you kill the 3rd or so monster. after that it becomes sorta boring to do the fatalities over and over to them. but that is one problem. god of war did that better, but Splatterhouse has the comedy, fun and gore vote hands down
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
7 of 7 found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Splatterhouse
What a blast!!!
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Posted on:11/25/10
therage
Location: CA
Namco did a pretty darn good job with this! Been playing for a few hours and i am enjoying it! The slight comic book art style and great fighting gameplay is simply awesome! Tearing your victims apart, bashing and beating them down. It just has a very good feel to it. It really is in somewhat a league of its own. When youre done with story mode, it unlocks all three arcade Splatterhouse games! There is also a survival mode and of course you get to upgrade your character, along with all kinds of moves! Trying to collect all pieces of paper to form a different nudity shot in each chapter, is a great way to get people to wanna collect all the hidden pieces! What a great game, Splatterhouse fans must play this and beat em up adventure fans alike need to get yourself a copy. Still has a nice old school feel to it as well as new! The main story i believe is a 10 to 12 hour game, with around 20 chapters! The side scrolling parts definately add a nice touch to it as well, changes things up a bit. Well, back to the splatterfest!!!
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Splatterhouse
Hardcore & Gore
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:1/24/11
SoulShine
Location: Earth
This game is perfect for: casual gamers
THIS GAME ITS WELL WORTH IT DESPITE THE POOR REVIEWS !!!! Finally a good game comes out that has plenty of content and awesome replay value ! FUN FUN FUN hacking and splashing blood about the place while good tunes amp up the gameplay. Controls are flawless. The only downfall is the slight timely loading wait, but its not really all that bad. I Hope they produce more Splatterhouse games ! and/or come out with more add -on content. Cus this is a winner !!! and the possibilities of what a sequel could offer would be quite the something to look forward to furthermore the amount of awesomeness it would be to work on and be part of the team creating ! I'm glad they remade it and hope they keep em comin.
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
3 of 3 found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Splatterhouse
Nice little beat'em up
Overall Rating: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Gameplay: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Posted on:6/10/11
Chasepijr
Location: Chicago
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
This game is pretty awesome. Its a great beat'em up and kept me playing. Though i do have some complaints. The platforming parts of the game i found kinda stiff. I also found myself beating one or two phases at a time as the senseless beating the stuffing out of monsters got repetitive. These things are kinda major but really didnt stop me from enjoying my time. I dont think ill ever forget the first time i cut a monster and "juice" spewed everywhere.
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Overall Rating: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Gameplay: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
4 of 4 found this review helpful.
Comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
YUH26
Miami, Fl.
 
Please wait while more information about YUH26 is loaded.
Additional information about YUH26 could not be loaded.
Old School!
Posted 7/12/11
Look....I wasn't going to buy this game but I decided to give it a try. This game is full of action and violence. If you are looking for a bit of a change in games than I suggest you try this out. There are a lot of upgrades in combat for this game and I can say that I am very pleased with the gameplay. Its a REAL beatem TO DEATH game with lots of gore and crude humor. I can say that I am enjoying this game and have been playing it for about 4 hours now and I will be keeping it! I recommend this game to people that like fighting games and want a change.
Comments (1)
Comment (1)
Review 8 for Splatterhouse
Fun to play with a great soundtrack
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Posted on:1/12/11
Cacti
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
Its a great game to play and a pretty good story line. (the mask makes the story). The upgrades to your skills makes it interesting along with the different weapns you find. The heavey metal soundtrack is perfect for fighting zombies!!! The game is like a classic horror zombie movie thats come to life. If your into that then you'll love the game. I have seen some bad reviews for the game. I believe its because of the violence and language, not for the game itself. It is rated M after all.
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
3 of 3 found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Splatterhouse
blast from the past next gen style
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Gameplay: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Posted on:12/31/12
nomorefanboys
Location: Colorado
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
First off the negative about this game the load times are bad and the game can be glitch have had it freeze up a couple times. The good the game play is like God of War but you get fist heavy light attacks and meat clevers, boards with nails and QTE kill moves which require quick inputso anyone that puts this game down must not like god of war if they do they are a hypocrite. The graphics are good they set the game mood real well but do not break any new ground at times they can be a bit bland. The sound is good but me personally I don't care for the music but the voice acting is as good as any game out there. A major plus is unlocking splatter house 12 and 3 the classic games. All in all a good game worth the money some how I lucked out getting it for 3 bucks from a going out of business sale but I would've paid 20. Buy it if you like GOW or Darksiders. Load times a glitches are small problems and over look able.
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Gameplay: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Review 10 for Splatterhouse
Splatterhouse
Posted on:8/13/10
HammerOf TheSoul
I have been looking at this game for quite some time I must admit it looks F^$#* cool! This one I will pick up for sure because I been looking for a good survival horror type game for a long time and this is the one, I know this is a remake of the original Splatterhouse but I have never played the original...plus all the metal soundtrack is a welcome addition since I'm a metal head myself. I have a good feeling I will enjoy the game as well as the soundtrack in fact I already am because you can hear some of the game soundtracks in the official Namco site lol!
9 of 14 found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Splatterhouse
godofwar300000
Posted on:10/2/09
kingofgods
wow this game incredible so much gore and at the same time its a total classic its part of the next generation of games i saw the trailer and some images and alot of good old characters are back like a very likeable biggy man with button sensitive kills amazing graphics and sound the atmosphere of the game is so fantastic oh my god its so scary and the main character is really buffed up in this part hes huge as heck and also heard about some new percks and previws and gameplay if you like this series like the game your parents let you buy it and you are not suffering from heart disease or anything of that kind then buy this game
2 of 2 found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Splatterhouse
not bad
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Posted on:5/15/11
gamefreak1
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
People say this game is bad but I dont agree. The game is hard but good. I cannot stop playing it even after I beat it. The gameplay is great, the action is insane. The weapons are great and i really recommend it to hardcore gamers.
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
3 of 3 found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Splatterhouse
Rent it first
Overall Rating: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Gameplay: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Graphics: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Sound: 
3 out of 10
3 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Posted on:11/24/10
jjsbrowser
Location: San Jose, CA
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
If your a hardcore Splatterhouse fan than you will love this game, lets start off with as soon as you load your game into the system you are already playing within a min or two. There is no tutorial in the begining just punch and jump, I would recomend that you pause the game to see what the options menu says about how the controller is set up. Another thing is there are no items to recover your health you find out later after you have died about a dozen times over that if you press L1 and circle you pull the blood out of the enemies around you to regenerate. Once you get the hang of the controls it's not that bad, as you get further into the game you get to unlock other moves as well as the classic games, Slatterhouse 1-3. As for the graphics they are ok nothing ground breaking, if you have played the Wolverine game were as you take damage you can start to see exposed ribs and guts this game has the same thing, Rick can take a pounding even get his arm ripped off and grow it back. The sound for this game kind of sucks it fades in and out sometimes when someone is talking they get cut off and you have to read the subtitles if you you have 5.1 sound like I do it's not supported and if it is you can't tell. This game has moderate replay value but I would suggest that you rent it first before you buy it just to make sure it's something you want in your game library.
Overall Rating: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Gameplay: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Graphics: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Sound: 
3 out of 10
3 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
2 of 3 found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Splatterhouse
A Bloody Good Time
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Gameplay: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Posted on:1/18/11
BigSister17
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
I had heard HORRIBLE things about Splatter House. But despite what I heard, i took a chance. It was worth it. What I found was an incredibly satisfying, violent, jaw dropping adventure. Jim Cummings nails the role as the Terror Mask. Absoultely perfect. The combat is brutal and fast. And the difficulty becomes crushing. The only complaint I have about the game is that the checkpoints are a little far apart. But that is a minor issue compared to the brutal horro fest that splatterhouse is. One of the biggest surprises of the year. And The Terror mask is my pick for Character of 2010. Amazing.
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Gameplay: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Splatterhouse
This is going to ROCK!
Posted on:3/22/10
Dvdxploitr
Loved the arcade game, loved it on Turbo Grafx back in the day, and have the Wii Virtual Console version! Can't wait to see this in its full HD goodness!! Would be so awesome if they made some unlockable content such as the original Splatterhouse arcade classic re-done in HD or something like that. But, there is still time, you never know if this will get added in or not!! I will be getting this game regardless if it has the classic in or not!!
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Splatterhouse
Ummm.....
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 10
3 out of 10
Gameplay: 
4 out of 10
4 out of 10
Graphics: 
4 out of 10
4 out of 10
Sound: 
3 out of 10
3 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
4 out of 10
4 out of 10
Posted on:11/30/10
Crossfire
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
I had been looking forward to this game for a long time, for i am a gore hound in terms of video games. This game just looked incredible. So, I bought it without rental. I was looking for a "venting" game where there was not much thought involved and just a brutally raw beat em up. The graphics aren't bad, although not next gen quality either. The main character of this game is not Rick or even the mask, but its the excessive blood, which it did not shy away from. Beating guys felt really good. And then I was killed, no surprise there. So I continued, and the in game load screen appeared as did two horrifying creatures that appeared to be fighting...10 seconds past and they were still making the same noise and fighting...another 10 went by, as the game continued to load...and then another 10. Finally the game continued and i progressed. This long loading time was insanely inconvienent during my first boss batter with no weapons and a strike by the boss that diminished 99% of my life. I was ready to try another tactic, but had time to get a drink, check my email, eat dinner, and finish reading a book (i was halfway done with it) and then 2 minutes later the game continued. Obviously there was exaggeration, but with the lower-grade graphics and gameplay being played on a latest gen system, a game like this should load in about 5 seconds AT MOST. But gamestop was telling the truth about the 40 second load time. Completely unacceptable. This also is pretty bad when you are fighting tough enemies without weapons. The game could have been awesome, but the overlong loading time destroying any momentum adds serious demerits. Will be trading this game in when i get a chance
2/5 stars
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 10
3 out of 10
Gameplay: 
4 out of 10
4 out of 10
Graphics: 
4 out of 10
4 out of 10
Sound: 
3 out of 10
3 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
4 out of 10
4 out of 10
4 of 8 found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Splatterhouse
this is bad a**
Posted on:7/13/10
Anonymous
this will have all the originals to be unlocked in it so i cant wait....( quit pushing it back, it looks great) nothing like gore and heavy metal
3 of 5 found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Splatterhouse
WHAAAAT?! Splatterhouse + Next-Gen = AWESOME HORROR!
Posted on:1/22/09
NJz Loko
This game goes is a CLASSIC! I saw the pictures of it on GameSpot and WOW. HD graphics, totally redesigned, extremely gory, CRAZY! This game is going to be DOPE! Can't wait to play it! I'm definately going to buy this game upon release. If you're a SplatterHouse fan, there should be no problem buying this game.
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Splatterhouse
give this game a chance.
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Posted on:2/27/11
bigtt
Location: southcarolina
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
i love this game.the blood and gore is insane.if u love bloodie games then this game is for u. the loading times only take 20 sec. not 40 like u hear.i havent been able to put it down.a must have game for ps3 owners.tf u take the time and look where the game came from.u ll see its came a long way.
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Splatterhouse
wtf
Posted on:5/19/10
Anonymous
im gettin rather mad at the pushbacks on this game....i know, i know... they gotta fix the bugs and lags and glitch's, but come on already.....I WANNA PLAY THIS GAME
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
1 2 3 next>>