GameStop Ratings and Reviews

Shop Now At GameStop
Shop Software or
Choose a Category
Top Rated Product

Product Reviews

Dante's Inferno

An abducted soul. A lifetime of sins. A journey to the depths of despair. Based on the immensely influential classic poem, Dante's Inferno takes you on an epic quest of vengeance and redemption through the Nine Circles of Hell. You are Dante, a veteran of the Crusades who must chase his beloved Beatrice and try to free her soul from Lucifer's grasp. As your pursuit takes you deeper into the pits of Hell, you must battle ever more fierce and hideous monsters - while also facing your own sins, a dark family past, and your unforgivable war crimes.
Average Customer Rating:
8.713
8.7
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (143 reviews)
10 stars
31
9 stars
29
8 stars
14
7 stars
6
6 stars
2
5 stars
2
4 stars
2
3 stars
1
2 stars
0
1 star
0
79 out of 8791%of reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Dante's Inferno
Review 1 for Dante's Inferno
INFERNO THIS!!!!!PERFECT
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:2/7/12
red420dog
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
This is the best action/adventure game out for the 360 just like playstations "God of War" you go and cut to shreds and kick babies in the head....yes.Game has great top knotch Graphics the Gameplay is gonna make you have a new Addiction and once you beat the game.A combat wave thing is availiable .. very great buy overall needs a dantes inferno 2and3...heres a montage of the waves you have 50 to go thru and as you progress it gets more difficult.. PERFECT!!!!
My Video:
(click on the play button to start movie)
dante's inferno(montage) music by:Skrillex
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
2 of 2 found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Dante's Inferno
AWESOME!!!
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:1/17/11
Inferno666
Location: Tempe, AZ
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
This game is AWESOME! playing this well listening to DevilDriver "Not All Who Wander Are Lost" is the best!!! cant wait til a new chapter of this game comes out!
My Photos:
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Dante's Inferno
It's Just a Spastic, Below-Avarage, Hack and Slash
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 10
4 out of 10
Gameplay: 
4 out of 10
4 out of 10
Graphics: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Sound: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
4 out of 10
4 out of 10
Posted on:1/9/11
Fish
Location: Kelso, WA
Dante's Inferno actually sounds like it would be a cool game. I was skeptical how the epic poem would translate onto a video game (of course the developers screwed it up) and was eager to see how it all came together.
Well, it didn't. To begin, I love hack-and-slash games. Ninja Gaiden did it right, God of War did it right, Devil May Cry did it right. Dante's Inferno really felt nowhere close to as good as those games. The combat has very poor force feedback, lacks fluidity, and has some pretty bad camera angles. It really feels cheap when you only have to use ONE move to obliterate every enemy in the game. There really isn't fair challenge here. I can't see how people get to the end of this game without shutting off their console out of sheer boredom.
And one note about the graphics. Playing Dante's Inferno on anything that isn't a nice High Definition TV is going to be almost impossible. Everything is tiny and unreadable on a Standard Def TV
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 10
4 out of 10
Gameplay: 
4 out of 10
4 out of 10
Graphics: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Sound: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
4 out of 10
4 out of 10
5 of 8 found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Dante's Inferno
best game ever!!!!!!!!!!!
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:2/12/10
jakedarkman
This game is a great game.It is about a man named dante who after cheating on his wife while at war comes home only to find his wife and father dead then he chases her soul into the pits of hell.There are so many good things about this game lets start with the challenge it is fantastic for you will have to figure things out all the time and some times it can be very difficult.The controls are great throught the entire game I had no trouble with tthe controls.The grapics were my favorite part of the game for they look so real and frightning at times.The interface was great..The length was great for a modern day game for it was about seven hours which is pretty long compared to some games.The sound was fantastic at all times for I could here even the smallest scream from one of the cursed.Now the storyline was another great thing about this game for you understand everything and it all unravels at the end.I would give this game a ten and reccomend this game to anyone who wants a good time
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Review 5 for Dante's Inferno
Amazing take on the original epic poem!
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Posted on:8/2/11
Jono0055
Location: St. Petersburg, FL
This game is perfect for: casual gamers
I really love the creative imagination the artists had to recreate Dante's epic poem, "Inferno" from "Dante's Divine Comedy" from the 14th century. The graphics are visually stunning and each circle of the Inferno is done with remarkable believability as described in Dante's writing. My only complaint is that the game-play is short. It only took me 7 1/2 hours to beat the game the first time playing it. Once you beat the game, you can enter "Resurrection Mode" where you can play the main part of the game again with all your powers intact and collect things you missed along the way the first time. Playing the game gives you many options, Holy or Unholy, along the way to choose from making each person's gaming experience unique. I'd give the ease of controlling the character an 8/10 as there are some spots where he doesn't jump very well or gets "stuck" on objects. Overall, I would definitely recommend this game and give it a 10/10 for story and graphics.
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Dante's Inferno
Dante's Inferno, a definite rental game.
Overall Rating: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Gameplay: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Graphics: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Sound: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Posted on:3/21/10
Nubtanx
Dante's Inferno presents the gamer with a piece of Dante's "The Divine Comedy", and brings the gamer into Hell where they must experience the nine circles of Hell in order to save Dante's beloved Beatrice. The game itself is very accurate at depicting each circle of Hell and brings a fairly good story itself, and it is not that all repetitive as each circle presents the gamer with something entirely new. This is perhaps what both makes the game as well as breaks it. The game is very focused on giving the gamer every last detail of the nine circles of Hell and does not present the gamer with a more in depth story, and the combat presents no more if not less than what God of War offers. The games challenges and puzzles are not at all puzzling. The game is also very short, it takes about 7 hours to beat the game. This game presents no actual replay value whatsoever. It is simply a "beat it and never touch it again" game. it is far better to save $* and just rent this game.
Overall Rating: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Gameplay: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Graphics: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Sound: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
0 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Dante's Inferno
Devil May Cry+God of War+The Divine Comedy = This
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Posted on:5/24/11
FatalSneeze
Location: Dracut, MA
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
People keep complaining that Dante's Inferno is too much like God of War or Devil May Cry. But you know what??? It does it well! The graphics are beautiful, the gameplay is fast-paced and frantic, and the combat and monsters are horrific! And to tie all that up, the story, VERY loosely based on The Divine Comedy, is completely engrossing. Overall, one of the best hack 'n slash games out there!
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
8 of 8 found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Dante's Inferno
Great game, but seemed short
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Posted on:10/6/14
sbass
Location: Sterling Height, MI
This was an impulse buy for me and ended up being rather fantastic. The character's reaction time is great, and the graphics are good. It's brutal, bloody, a bit stomach turning, and everything a game about the 7 levels of heII should be. My only complaint is that the game seemed short. I blazed through it pretty quickly, and while you can make the difficulty harder, the game itself isn't one I can play over and over. Wish it would have been longer or had a sequel.
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Review 9 for Dante's Inferno
Great game, but short
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:3/14/10
Nitachi...
Ok when I seen this game I had no idea what it was about and I thought it was G.O.W. knock off. But then I decided to purchase this game when my other game was sold out. So i brought it home and fell in love with it. This game is good all around the storyline is great I loved it, the graphics where beautiful gameplay and cinematics, the only thing that brought this game down was the length of this game. The length of this game reminded me of the length of Star Wars The Force Unleashed. Cause that game was great just like this but to short for me. I like games that take a little while to beat and you can run though them more then once without feeling to strong or overpowered (not saying it's bad to feel that way like in the orginal Fable) But overall this game kept me content for six hours and then i got bord with it. but the storyline and the graphics is what makes me rate this game so high. I like sotrylines so this one really was a good one...
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Review 10 for Dante's Inferno
Looks pretty good.
Posted on:2/1/10
Sqigley
I played the demo, and I'm gonna start off saying yes, it basically plays almost exactly like GOW did. You've got your strong attacks, quick attacks, jumping, magic spells, many combos, dodging with the right stick, and countering your enemies after a well timed block. You also get your grabs through which you can finish off enemies via a few different gruesome kills. Add to that the button prompts and there you go, Dante's Inferno a la GOW. The main difference here is going to be the story. It is based on the poem of the same name and the game changes a few things, like the fact that Dante is fighting at all. That aside, the gameplay is still fun and engaging; It's still fun to slice through multitudes of enemies and demolish the bigger, more vicious ones. If you enjoyed the GOW games, you'll probably like this. It plays very similarly, and sports the updated graphics, sound, and effects that come with the generation gap between the two games.
Review 11 for Dante's Inferno
Pretty Sweet, But....
Overall Rating: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Gameplay: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:2/20/10
a dev
..Annoying. The game is solid, graphics amazing, controls are good. The ONLY thing about the game I can't stand is how annoyingly difficult it is. Often, you will find yourself mobbed by these lady things that dodge everything you do, interrupt your actions (but when you're hitting them their actions are not interrupted,) and have attacks you can't dodge or block. I am playing on the hardest difficulty, so that may be why, but still, most of the time thus far into the game has been redoing fights again and again and again and again until I happen to get lucky enough to kill everything... I have found the sacred quake gets rid of them w/o me being hit too often, but it takes forever, LoL. Then, when you have to fight a group of these ladies with a mini-boss.. whew.. I've been in one part now for.. hmm.. not even sure how many hours. The story is great, everything else is great. Devs did a fantasic job creating what Dantes hell would look like.
Overall Rating: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Gameplay: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Review 12 for Dante's Inferno
Great game.
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:3/21/10
GamerJock14
I got this game about a week ago, and I got to say, ITS AN AWESOME GAME. I highly recommend this game, especially if you are a fan of God of War. Some people say that Dantes Inferno is only a rip-off version of God of War. Trust me, its not. I've played God of War before, and this game is way better. The graphics are incredible, the storyline is just amazing, the things I did not like about this game is the amount of nudity and the length. I really do not get the point of putting so much nudity in the game. I expected it to show nudity once or twice, but its pretty constant. Id say in the first... 4 circles of hell. The rest are pretty low on that. And then the length of the game is pretty short. I beat the game in about 10 hours. I wasn't very disappointed because after you beat the game, you unlock different styles to play the game. And theres also the 'Trials Of St. Lucia' Add on coming soon, and I am really excited for that. So, yes. I highly recommend this game, BUT FOR APPROPRIATTE AUDIENCES. From about 16 years of age and up.
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Review 13 for Dante's Inferno
Truly Amazing
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Posted on:1/1/11
NerdsNirvana
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
When I first started playing this game, I was blown away from start to finish. The storyline, the graphics, the combat, it was all just amazing. And just because it has the same combat style as God of War it doesn't mean that it's bad or it's a ripoff, it just makes the game all the better. I am a huge fan of the GoW series, and I just wished that more games would be like that because it was just a mind-blowing game. Nothing nowadays can be original because everything has been done pretty much in every single game, so we are bound to come across a game with the same style as another game. You shouldn't discard this game for "ripping off" GoW, it doesn't matter if the style is the same, as long as the games are good, does it even make a difference? We all need to look passed the negatives to find positives, and if you don't, you won't find anything good or original any more.
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Dante's Inferno
Some minor corrections...
Posted on:4/27/09
That one guy, you know...
Kurtastrophy: It's the Divine Comedy, not tragedy. It was written in Italian and therefore was a comedy by the standings of that time. Also, perhaps, Virgil shows up in gameplay. His most plausible role would be as a guide helping you work your way through hell. After all, this was a promo clip, and they aren't going to show him talking with Virgil, they're going to show him killing stuff. (Also, they showed Limbo in another clip I saw, and the people there aren't as nice as they were in the original Inferno) Despite the above; I personally think this game will be awesome. As said in other previews, this could be a compelling story-line in which you get to fight hell's greatest. The only problem is that if he's killing people in hell, where do they go. Also, there is no way people will want to play this game's sequel: Dante's Purgatorious -- yeah, that's definitely going to sell as an action game. My main hope for this game is the prospect of killing some demons. God of War rocked, but you didn't get to be in Hell. This will be cool.
Review 15 for Dante's Inferno
Amazing Game.
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:3/12/10
L3m0nLun4t1c
I think Dante's Inferno is an all around amazing game. It's only downfall is the fixed camera, but then again it does pose more of a challenge to find Relics and Judas Coins. It's amazing game even though my friend say I just play to see boobs the whole time (which is 80% true). This game definitely falls in My Top 3 games category. Along with Assassin's Creed 2 and Prince of Persia, this game is definitely worthy of a 10/10. Many PS3 lovers say that Dante's Inferno is a Rip-off of God of War. I've never played God of War, so i can't really say that Dante's Inferno is 10 times better (But it probably is) and from what I've seen I think Dante's Inferno is a better form of God of War. If you read the book, then you could follow the storyline with ease, But for those gamers who just run through the game and don't get the full effect, that's just too bad for you.
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Dante's Inferno
Dante's Inferno is a hot ride
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:2/13/10
Powerjam9
I really wanted this game after I played the demo on XBL. I got the game the 1st day it came out. This game has outstanding graphics. The different locations of hell (total of 9) can be very disturbing. The developers really used their imagination in creating what hell might look like. The character Dante is easy to control and the button combination to use his different powers is easy to pull off. The music in this game helps give of a very epic feel to the game. The sound effects of spirits crying out in hell and flames burning sound very realistic. There are several puzzles in this game. Some are easy to figure out, while others will have you scratching your head. I found myself not wanting to stop playing this game because as I finished each level I wanted to see what was going to happen in the next level. By the time I got to the final boss (Satan), I was thrilled by this game. It took me almost 10hrs to beat the game. I honestly state that I enjoyed every minute of Dante's Inferno. I will give this game a 9 out of 10. Great work EA.
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Review 17 for Dante's Inferno
It will make you PRAY!!
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:10/9/10
monk
Location: Hendersonville, TN
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
a game based on a poem from the the mid 12th century about Dante is one of the best ideas that made this game. The way dante fights and journeys throught the nine circles to find his fiance's soul and kill the devil is pure gold; the weapons dante uses such as the sythe and beatrice's cross is genius. the graphics makes it look like you are in the inferno for they look so realistic as well as the monsters you fight. If you want to experiance the quest Dante's Inferno is the game for you.
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
3 of 3 found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Dante's Inferno
Incredible game
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:5/1/10
Alexis Rios
This game came as a surprise for me. Missing God of War on the XBOX 360, this game is released. It could be a God of War rip-off to some, but the game is marvelous, the storyline, action, weapons, combos, sounds. This is a must have. Only storyline can be played, no multiplayer, but it is an excellent game for XBOX 360, without a God of War on our console. The game shines on its own, its not the same as God of War. The fighting system is somewhat similar, but the game itself is going down through Hell to save the soul of your love one Beatriz who was taken by dark souls, you need to go down, with your holy cross and fight all the way down to get her and save her. There are many items to pick, puzzles, the boss battles are awesome and challenging, at best of all Epic. I am pleased that i purchased this awesome game.
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Dante's Inferno
Amazing Game
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:6/20/11
EROCK1
Location: North Carolina
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
This game is a perfect game. This game is hard at some points but overall it is amazing. This is a MUST HAVE game.
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
3 of 3 found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Dante's Inferno
Attractive at Best Addicting at Worst
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:3/14/11
Rayvencraft
Location: Tampa FL
This game is perfect for: party gamers
If you have read the book, you might see some fundamental flaws in the story line. But if you're just playing it for fun its super attractive. What first appealed to me about this game was the fact that I've read the book and i wanted to see if they did the game justice. i have to say besides some very elementary flaws in the story this game is top notch. after playing this game it was hard not to get lost in the game play. this game is super addicting. if you can spare the 20 bucks its worth every teeny penny plus interest.
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
2 of 2 found this review helpful.
1 2 3 4 5 ... 8 next>>