GameStop Ratings and Reviews

Shop Now At GameStop
Shop Software or
Choose a Category
Top Rated Product

Product Reviews

Guitar Hero: Metallica

The next Guitar Hero is here! Get ready to thrash withthe definitive collection of Metallica's music and over 20other rocking bands on guitar, drums, vocals and bass.Gamers Shred, Drum and Wail While Unleashing Their Inner Rock Stars With Over 45 Mind-Blowing On-Disc Tracks
Average Customer Rating:
9.69
9.7
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (57 reviews)
10 stars
23
9 stars
4
8 stars
1
7 stars
1
6 stars
0
5 stars
0
4 stars
0
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
0
29 out of 29100%of reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Guitar Hero: Metallica
Review 1 for Guitar Hero: Metallica
Mind blowing.
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:4/3/11
Hyperswyper
Location: Missouri
This game is perfect for: casual gamers
Wow is all I can say about this game. The developers knocked it out of the park with this guitar hero installation. I've played almost every guitar hero game, and this one is the best by far. Not only am I a huge Metallica fan (understatement), I love music and playing it. Now to the game. It has a fantastic song selection, that provides a special difficulty if you think the other games are too easy. All the instruments are fun to play even if you've never tried. I love how the developers put the pure emotion of metallica into the game. I've had this game for months, and I always find myself wanting to keep going back to it, even having beaten it. However, that brings me to my one flaw of this game. There really is no story line. You basically keep playing songs until the end. But you'll be having so much fun along the way you won't care. The online is really fun too. Whether it's one on one, or band vs. band. This is a must have for any collection if you like guitar hero/rock band games.
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Review 2 for Guitar Hero: Metallica
Great game
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:4/22/09
johnodd4
Finally they fixed all the problems they had with aerosmith edition. The metallica edition isn't just for fans this game just flat out rocks i am not a fan of the group at all and i had a blast playing the game it is challenging. This Game does a nice job complementing guitar hero world tour if you have world tour and want to try something harder this game is for you the challenges are great even in easy mod the use of the drums the mic and the guitar perfect 100% this game dishes out the best and shames all the rest. The content isn't bad at all videos from the band motion capture sessions and the guitar Hero contest winners. to name a few. Downloadable content is great with death magnetic not only does the content work in world tour but in this game as well nice job!!! The only thing that was weird was the interface they added ghtunes to this game to download more custom tracks from other players and half the time the game disconnects you from xbox live in ghtunes But worth the cash hands down the best guitar hero yet
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Guitar Hero: Metallica
One of the best Guitar Hero games yet!
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:4/13/09
TacoCheese3
When I heard that they were coming out with Guitar Hero Metallica, I immediately decided I was going to buy it. I am a huge (and I mean HUGE) fan of Guitar Hero. I have every Guitar Hero game for the Xbox 360, and I beat all of them on the guitar on expert. I woke up with torticollis that day, which is when you pull a muscle in your neck. Not able to move my head to the left, back, or forward, I went out to buy it. I was debating whether or not it was worth going out to buy it, but when I played it, I decided it was well worth it. I wished it would have been a little longer, because I beat it the day it came out. I love how it is difficult, because Guitar Hero 2, Aerosmith, and World Tour weren't too hard. The songs and the graphics are great too. I played this so much, that after 2 weeks of playing the guitar on expert, I broke my strum bar. If you are a hardcore Guitar Hero player, I recommend you buy this. I think this may be the best, and if not, second best, Guitar Hero yet.
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Review 4 for Guitar Hero: Metallica
TALLICA !!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:3/31/09
Ta Ta Tallica fan
The game is amazing, and the songs are extremely well done. One thing to point out from reading the other reviews: If you are questioning the set list for the Non-Metallica songs, these songs are mainly covers Metallica has played over the years. You can find most of these songs on the "Garage Inc" double cd. Disc 1 was a compilation of the old Garage Days bootleg CDs and include songs like "Am I Evil" and "Stone Cold Crazy". Disc 2 was the the "new" covers Metallica covered including "Turn the Page". Its cool to play the original version of these songs, but it would of been awesome to play those songs using the Metallica cover versions.. Best part was watching the "extra" on "Orion". You can actually play a video from their London concert where they played "Orion" for the firs time in many years. Trujillo rocks out on the bass and of course they pay homage to Cliff Burton at the end. It's better to play the song. If you love Tallica, you have to pick this one up....
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Review 5 for Guitar Hero: Metallica
Great for the experienced GH player
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Posted on:3/29/09
s1lv3w0lf
Guitar Hero Metallica is a great game for experienced Guitar Hero players, the songs by Metallica have great drums tracks to play and Metallica's guitar solos are ridiculous. The better you are the more fun you'll have, these songs are difficult for novice players, the charts look harder than previous Guitar Heroes (I looked even though I don't play beginner-Hard ). The song list is full of great Metallica songs, the songs by other artists... well... not that great. There are still plenty of good songs in the game that aren't Metallica's (Turn the Page, Tuesday's Gone, War Ensemble, and a couple more). The graphics are the same as GH World Tour's, so don't expect any new graphics. The main menu and other places look totally different and the Rock Meter and Score Meter look different and now tell you how many stars you currently have on the song you are playing .Overall the game is probably my favorite Guitar Hero out right now, especially because of expert + on drums (Double bass). I recommend this to anyone who loves Metallica and Metal.
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Review 6 for Guitar Hero: Metallica
Best Guitar Hero Yet
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:4/11/09
xAPoKnightmare
I was completely mad when i bought world tour. This game is so much better. I have been playing guitar hero since number 2 and i think this is the all time best. Any self respecting guitar hero or metallica fan should like this game. The song selection is amazing. The graphics are good and this game is just amazing overall. I was kind of skeptical about buying the game at first but when i got it i was very happy. I was very happy with how hard they made the game. I like a difficult game. It is so much more fun. The only thing that got me mad was that there weren't too many songs in the game. I was also mad about the game not having blackened or ride the lightning. The other songs are very good though. Overall this is such a good game and i cant wait until the next guitar hero.
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
2 of 3 found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Guitar Hero: Metallica
GO FREAKIN METALLICA!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:4/15/09
sdcharger
Well that was the best guitar hero i have ever played holy cow that was good . the guitar is wicked the song choice was beast. the only problem was the bass part were you have a note that looked like a drum note. but the rest is good .... i love metallica and when it came out i got it right away and it took a while to beat. on expert man it was crazy. i also like how the have made the original guitar hero characters look finally cool. even thow id rather be a memeber of the group. the sound it good. the charcters looked up the date and so do the band memebers.it top of the line . i also love how they make it feel you are in the crowd watching it just feels like your really there . also the only other small problem was the guest act didnt really care for most of them. but that still doesnt take away any points form the best band my favorite band game........................GO METALLICA!!!!
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Review 8 for Guitar Hero: Metallica
Great Game!
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:4/27/09
Guitar Hero Metallica Fan
This is positively the best Guitar Hero game to date. I am a huge Metallica fan in general and this game really captures the action and on-stage excitement Metallica has to offer. One thing bad is that the graphics for the Metallica band members are weird and also the interface could use some adjustments. All in all this is a really great game, the set-list has a great selection of music throughout their career. The other songs are also great and are fun to play. This game is hard to get sick of so you know you are getting your money's worth. Beware of one problem with the drum-kit. The cymbal (for me it was the yellow but some have had problems with the orange) can get glitchy. I got past the problem, though, by wiggling the wire a little. BUY NOW!
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Guitar Hero: Metallica
Love IT!!!
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:11/22/12
metallica99luv
This game is perfect for: party gamers
this game is the most perfect guitar hero eva!! when i got his game i didnt even know who metallica was but until i played career i was in love!! i couldnt stop playing for 3 weeks!! i got it for the ps2 and im getting it for the xbox so i can experience the specialty of the game . it doesnt matter if dont know them but when you play only one song youll be happy that you bought the game!!!
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
2 of 2 found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Guitar Hero: Metallica
Best Music Game out there
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:3/30/09
apfhtllrsp
Guitar Hero Metallica is by far the best music game out there. If you are looking for a challenging yet fun music game with lots of song variety that this is the one. Everything about this game is impressing. Graphics: an improvement since the last game. they mo-capped the band so it looks real Responsiveness: as expected its flawless. i heard one person complain about the 2nd kick pedal not working but mine works perfectly fine, and its really fun to play on expert + Gameplay: funnest yet. songs are ridiculously fun, and if you play expert than you will definitely enjoy this game. the songs are very challenging compared to world tour (which i thought sucked). And don't worry if you hated GH Aerosmith, this game is nothing like it. That was even worse than World Tour. Basically, if you like music, metal, Metallica, guitar hero, rock band, or any combination of those, GET THIS GAME.
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Review 11 for Guitar Hero: Metallica
Metallica
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:3/30/09
Quatsch72
Great game! The graphics seemed to have had an upgrade from World Tour to this product. Such things as the bass drum/open bass are changed a little bit. The customization for the characters/instruments is still phenomenal. Metallica looks and acts like true to life Metallica on stage. The difficulty is still amazing especially with the Expert+ for the drums (double bass pedals are necessary). I still like Rock Band 2's listing of songs better with the difficulty of each instrument shown but it is a small detail. Comparing the vocal instrument to RB2 I still think RB has the thumbs up compared to Guitar Hero's vocals (opinion). The song list for Metallica is amazing! My jaw dropped when I saw Orion on the list. Years and years of pure rock is included in this game.Great game. Spent all day of opening day going through all the songs and every one is worth every penny.
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Review 12 for Guitar Hero: Metallica
It Came Through
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:3/29/09
Jedimaster
Let me start by saying, I couldn't wait for this game. I think they should have made it instead of Aerosmith. Now, at first, I was skeptical, even being a HUGE Metallica fan, that this game would fall short just like Aerosmith. But instead it pulled through with flying colors. The controls are awesome and you easily move from one menu to another and load time has been cut down. One of the only downfalls is the song variety from other bands. All of Metallica's greatest hits are here and more, but the other bands don't have great songs on the set list, especially Queen's "Stone Cold Crazy". Let me say this also, if you like to play the drums, you really need to get a second bass pedal. It enhances the game even more than it already is. It makes you feel like you are actually Lars Ulrich. This game sets the bar very high for the next Guitar Hero. Rock on Activision!
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Review 13 for Guitar Hero: Metallica
YES
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:4/6/11
dmillz
Location: United States
I love Metallica as a band and when i heard this was going to come out, i freaked out and preordered it. I went to midnight release and got the game. It was a dream come true. I coundn't believe I had been playing Guitar Hero : Metallica. I'm not saying this because I love Metallica, but this was one of the best Guitar Heroes. They have Lars's facial expressions, Rob's signature windmill in Seek and Destroy, Kirk's expressions, and James's expressions. They are all perfectly done with the Mo-Cap [Motion Capture]. If you play or get this game, you will see what I mean.
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
2 of 3 found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Guitar Hero: Metallica
Not Sure...
Posted on:3/22/09
Who could this be?
The Guitar Hero franchise had me at GH1, but it lost me at GH:Aerosmith... I loved 1, 2, Rocks the 80's & 3, with 3 being the best, but GH:Aerosmith seemed like it came out of nowhere. It was nothing like its predecessors [I don't think that's spelled right]. GH:A sucked & GHWT was even worse. When I got GHWT I wound up bring it back the day after I got it. I had never been so disappointed in a game in my life. So I just turned to the Rockband series & they are amazing. Hopefully they won't sell out like GH did. I'm still probably going to rent this. It depends on how good it is. I have heard that they are going to make this one really good to make up for GHWT's embarrassment. GH, I'm giving you one more try... Don't screw this up. If GH:Metallica is bad, I'm never going to get another GH game... Rockband's better in my opinion anyway.
Review 15 for Guitar Hero: Metallica
Awesome game
Posted on:3/24/09
apfhtllrsp
I have been playing Guitar Hero since the first game, and after playing the demo and seeing the setlist I honestly feel like this could be the best game. In my opinion, GH 2 is the best one and all of the new ones have failed to live up to it. GH 3 had songs that people liked but werent necessarily fun songs to play, and GH world tour was even worse, and it was way too easy. but playing the demo, especially the non-metallica songs, it felt like GH 2 in the sense that the songs are going to be very fun to play. but the game is about metallica and those are going to by far the funnest songs to play. i think its ridiculous to complain about not having enough slider in the songs on the freakin demo. the graphics are sick, especially when the screen shakes when you hit those chords in sad but true. can't wait for the whole game, get it
Review 16 for Guitar Hero: Metallica
FINALLY!!!!!!!!
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:4/3/09
CoreyC1333
This game is absolutely perfect. the set list is awesome the graphics are stellar and the xbox live and bonus features couldn't be better. This game is everything i can ask for as a huge metallica fan and guitar hero fan. This game was tailor made for those hardcore guitar hero and metallica fans and has everything i could have possibly asked for. It couldnt get any better. All the songs play awesome and im glad that this game was made for the entire band and not just guitar. Obviously all the metallica songs are sweet but the guest acts are fantastic also with names like system of a down, lynard skynard, and motorhead. And if u downloaded the death magnetic album it makes the game an even better buy. All in all i would say guitar hero metallica is a great game that i think all guitar hero and metallica fans should own!
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Review 17 for Guitar Hero: Metallica
way better then gituar hero II
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Posted on:4/23/09
Chris V.
I love this game and I would totally recommend this to any video game or Metallica fan because it's worth the money you pay for it. The only major problem with it is you need to buy the world tour pack to get the other stuff and I just believe they should have included that in the game itself instead of making the customers pay extra for the other things that should already be included. Their are some great things that this game includes such as the music studio where you can make your own music and that's a great idea no question. They also put the guys in the game which is a great thing because it's their game and they should be in it. I also love all the things you can unlock throughout the game itself. I just can't wait to find out what else Harmonix adds to the game via downloadable content.
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
0 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Guitar Hero: Metallica
Way Cool!
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:7/23/11
NewWaveNinja
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
I would not offhand consider myself a Metallica buff but, this game is awesome! They have all the really classic songs on here: Battery, Fade To Black, For Whom The Bell Tolls, Disposable Heroes, and more. Couple that with great guest acts like Queen, Foo Fighters, Lynyrd Skynyrd...well, you get the idea. The songs are just as epic as you would expect so, be prepared to strain your arms. They have a lot of cool extra stuff like, live clips, song facts, Metallica logo gallery, and more. Also, of all the band-themed Guitar Hero games, this is the most realistic one. I really mistook it for a live concert, at first...and I missed 10 notes, because of it! The only reason this game does not deserve a 10, is that it doesn't have "Ride The Lightning". It's not even available as DLC =(
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Review 19 for Guitar Hero: Metallica
One of the best Guitar hero's Live Name KMH 765
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:3/30/09
KMH 765
i think this guitar hero is basicaly one of the best guitar hero games so far. The songs on metallica are very amusing and they will keep you playing and listening to the songs. I think metallica really diserved getting a guitar hero because they have many awesome songs that keep you moving and if you have never heard one before you should because its really awesome to listen to metallica. I recommend this game to many people such as guitar hero fans, metallica fans (thats why i bought it), well i also had world tour but metallica is way better. 10 out of 10 !!!! I recommend this game to many people such as guitar hero fans, metallica fans (thats why i bought it), well i also had world tour but metallica is way better. 10 out of 10 !!!! So buy the game and have fun.
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Review 20 for Guitar Hero: Metallica
cool game
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:4/5/09
cord
I'm a huge fan of Guitar Hero World Tour, I'm even a bigger fan of Guitar Hero Metallica. My biggest fear when I bought the game that my favorite Metallica songs wouldn't be on it, boy was I wrong. This game has everything I could ask for. I especially loved the intro to the start of a career when Metallica walked on stage and the first song to kick off career mode was for Whom the Bell tolls. If you're a huge Metallica fan then I suggest you buy the game and have fun rocking out to the best band to ever step foot on stage. It's challenging, fun and well worth spending the extra bucks to own. I think that Guitar Hero Metallica will win the game of the year award, hands down and I'm pretty sure that there's a lot of gamers out there that agree with me.
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
1 2 3 next>>