GameStop Ratings and Reviews

Shop Now At GameStop
Shop Software or
Choose a Category
Top Rated Product

Product Reviews

NHL 10

On the heels of capturing 12 Sports Game of the Year awards, the platinum-selling franchise returns with NHL 10. Take to the ice as the deafening sound from a towel-waving crowd ignites an arena while the hope of an entire franchise and the dreams of thousands of fans rest upon your shoulders. Using a physical style or playing with finesses, prove you're tough enough to battle the most skilled hockey players in the world in your pursuit of the ultimate prize - the Stanley Cup Championship. Inspire your teammates, carry a franchise, and make history with NHL 10.
Average Customer Rating:
8.963
9
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (38 reviews)
10 stars
11
9 stars
10
8 stars
5
7 stars
0
6 stars
0
5 stars
0
4 stars
0
3 stars
0
2 stars
1
1 star
0
26 out of 2796%of reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for NHL 10
Review 1 for NHL 10
Top NHL Game out their
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:7/16/10
@nimal
I rarely give a 10 to any game but this game was top notch. This the first 10 ive ever given and ive never been more sure about it. The graghics were great the only little flaw in it was that sometimes the camera angle would mess up, but other than this game was picture perfect. I didnt have NHL 09 so i cant tell you witch one is better but it would take alot to beat the game. Im a pretty tough reviewer so when i give a 10 that means it was something else. I would recommend this game to anybody, even if you havent ever bought a hockey game start out with this one. You couldnt make the online any better the features are fun and awsome. Even though their coming out with NHL 11 they just made this game to good to buy that one. Thats about all i can say about this game.
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
2 of 2 found this review helpful.
Review 2 for NHL 10
Unbelievable Game, but not yet a masterpiece
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Sound: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Posted on:2/7/10
omnvijnefibiefghrtnh
Once again EA Makes a great game. They fixed many bugs and glitches in NHL 09, but still has many challenges to fix in NHL 10... Be A GM, the replacement for Dynasty Mode, It makes it more Difficult to make trades.. You can't just go overall for overall, you have to choose between going young and going veteran... Plus Other GM's around the league will consistantly track your record and won't trade with you if you do dumb things like overpay a player of Underpay a good prospect... You can start out in the draft or the begging of the 09-10 season, where ever you wish to be... and right away teaches you how to make trades right off the top.. Their are finally PS3 Trophies, even a noob can still get 10 or 20 of them. Roster Updates lack, and They over rate and under rate so many players, like Toskala, does he really deserve and 85 overall? and H.Sedin, leading scorer and all he gets is an 89.
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Sound: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Review 3 for NHL 10
Demo feelings
Posted on:8/31/09
Counterbeat
After playing the demo there are some great changes, additions and somethings that I hope will be improved or given the option to change ourselves. The physical game is fantastic, much improved over the whimpyness of past iterations. The phsysical game makes forechecking much more realistic. In past games the pass accuracy has been way too high, this is hockey not ping pong. But this year the passing is more comparable to the real thing. The board game is great and adds the potential of new strategies. I like the 1st person fighting myself but it was a big of a slugfest. What I didn't like was the slow pace of the players; hockey is after all one of the fastest sports in the world. Hopefully speed will be an option we can change. Maybe it was because the demo was so short or the teams involved but it seemed very defensive to me, hopefully the game will strike a good balance.
Review 4 for NHL 10
nhl 09 is better this is why
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Gameplay: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Posted on:1/7/10
zachary gray49
i think nhl 09 is better for several reasons the gamplay is alot faster the boards trap play in nhl 2010 is so stupid that is like the only thing that is new besides the new gear you can choose from and the playoff crowd but really thats all they could come up with ive played hockey my whole life i mean did they run out of ideas for this years nhl game heres some things they could have put in for this years game broken sticks,delay of game,to many men on the ice penalty,the glass shattering,player introductions,player warmups before the game, i mean they want to make the game as real as possible all of those things they could have done this year i think the gameplay is so much better in 09 its alot faster and i like the passing game in it the gamplay in nhl 2010 is so slow i hope easports looks at my review and does something about it thank you
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Gameplay: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Review 5 for NHL 10
Great when it works!
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 10
2 out of 10
Gameplay: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Posted on:9/30/09
NukleUp
This game is awesome when it is working, however this game suffers from severe bouts of freezing. Check the EA forums at EA.com to see the numerous complaints regarding this games technical issues and you will definitely have, and should have some second thoughts about paying full price for this product. I got the game home, was totally amped to play, ripped off the packaging, popped it in the Playstation 3 and what do you know, it freezes up on me. So after being forced to hard reboot the playstation 3, I try to run another game on the play now setting. Halfway into the 2nd period, I get called for a penalty and as the cut scene began to ran, guess what? Yep, it froze. Returned the game to gamestop, got a new disc, same crap happened again and again. Got a new disc, same crap. At this point tired of exchanging discs.
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 10
2 out of 10
Gameplay: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Review 6 for NHL 10
The Best Gets Better
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:4/3/10
Tom In NY
......and I thought NHL 09 was awesome! The new offering is stunning, especially in HD. The new board play feature lends itself to more realistic hockey action. The goalies are beefed up and you better play your A game in all modes in order to score, no cheapies here. I personally love the new right stick shooting feature although it took a bit of time to get used to but once you get the hang of aiming you will be as deadly as Ray Bourque was in the accuracy shooting part of the NHL All Star game.....well, when he was playing. I rented both NHL 10 and NHL2k10 and 2k10 just doesn't deliver compared to NHL 10. Playing online is simply fantastic, especially in the team play mode where 6 players take a side and battle it out. Can't wait to see what EA does to improve the game in NHL11. This is a 100 star game.
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Review 7 for NHL 10
Great game I love it!
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:2/23/12
Supermann72098
Location: Boston Ma
This game is perfect for: casual gamers
If this game can blow me away, it will DEFINITELY blow you away! This is by far the most detailed sports game i have EVER played. I don't just recommend for casual gamers, I recommend it for all gamers. If you get this game you should be proud of yourself because I liked this more than NHL 12 and I spent $15 instead of $60! Its a win for your wallet and for yourself! Its a must buy game!
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 8 for NHL 10
good but not great
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Gameplay: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Posted on:11/10/11
m5creed
Location: N.C
This game is perfect for: casual gamers
this game is good but after a wile it gets kind of boring. be a gm is good but the season is to long and wen you reach half it gets kind of dull.
be a pro is good it is the least dull.
the anounsers get onouying after a wile. they are very repetitious but get kind of funy wen they are way off.
but overall i would get this game.
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Gameplay: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 9 for NHL 10
I bought 2K10 and NHL 10 this morning...
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Graphics: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Sound: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Posted on:9/15/09
THEMISSING
If I could somehow morph 2K10's intro's/stadiums and faces into NHL 10 I would. But that's it. This game is great. Yes, it looks at first just like 09 but once you play for about an hour, you'll notice great little touches have been added this year. The board play is GREAT and something they have been missing for a long time now. It feels way more realistic to trap a guy against the glass and struggle for the puck. The goalies and defenseman actually move and aggressively track the puck. The crowd bangs on the glass...it's all starting to really come together to be realistic. 08 and 09 were great. This is actually better and worth a purchase. My only complaints are the faces (2-3 guys on each team look perfect, the rest are generic), and the sounds. I wish the crowd wasn't so dull and level all the time. They get super loud at the wrong times and it just feels old. I also wish there was a slight "boost" or turbo button. Nothing crazy but I hate how most of the skaters are all exactly the same speed. If a guy is on a breakaway, you should be able to give him a little extra. Other than that, NHL 10 is the hands down winner again. Great game that seemingly is getting better and better.
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Graphics: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Sound: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Review 10 for NHL 10
NHL 10
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Posted on:3/7/12
y3shy
Location: Berlin, CT
This game is perfect for: casual gamers
Im not a huge hockey fan myself and this is only the second hockey game i've ever bought but, I was surprised at how smooth the gameplay was. The controls and graphics are both clean and responsive. This is a great buy for anyone who enjoys a sports game, highly recommended.
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 11 for NHL 10
The Best gets Better!
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Posted on:9/18/09
ps3playa
been playing NHL ea since like NHL 92 on sega off and on i had 08 didnt get 09 , i played 08 mostly online but NHL 10 be a pro is awsome and the best superstar mode besides MLB The Show, better then madden's . game is very good all around and fun , try playing be a pro mode on low camera its sweet, havn't tried online yet but i know it has online leagues and stuff, i havn't played 2k but i played the first 2k for ps3 and it was lightyears behind EA, i think the graphics are good but if they could improve anything it would be the graphics, i noticed new goalie saves , the new fighting is cool just short fights , board control is great and works well , i loved 08 i still think the skating in 09 and 10 arnt as smooth as 08's but the overall game is better.
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Review 12 for NHL 10
Interesting...in a good way
Posted on:7/26/09
Skeptical at Best
The main concern I had with 09 was that fictitious players (those drafted GM mode) had their names all messed up by the announcers, though I was more upset that the economy of the game was unbalanced, as the marketplace did not reflect the player's value in relation to other free agents, (year 10 you have multiple 90+ players still on FA). Post whistle might be annoying, and I hope it won't prolong the games as in 09 it was still fun to just run around and hit players for 3 seconds. As well, intimidation means more balance to work with, so hopefully it is well tested. It will be interesting to say the least, but from my experience even when EA Sports games have many bugs, they are still highly enjoyable.
Review 13 for NHL 10
Dawesome!
Posted on:9/7/09
Maxifan61
Can't wait for this game to be released, I had my PS3 fixed just to buy this game, I mean it gets better every year! This game has become a ritualistic part of my pre-game celebration here in Buffalo for the last three years. Every game night before I head downtown I have to get in a game, it has become a superstition, and must be done. I put my trust in EA each and every night. I play 09 for hours at time, this game, this franchise, this everything is addicting, and for every hockey fanatic it just got a whole lot better. Should be a dandy! Cudos EA Sports, you have done it again.....just hope they update the rosters, and center ice logos tho.
Review 14 for NHL 10
Best EA Sports Game Made
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:3/28/10
NHL10er
Nhl 10 is truely the best EA sports game ever made. The first time I played this was at my friends house on his xbox 360. He let me play practice mode first to get used to the controls and even though most people say the controls are tough to get used to but i was scoring goals nonstop after about 10 minutes. Last week I played this game on the PS3 and then yesterday I played it on the Xbox 360 and I was very disapointed because the PS3 has 10x better graphics and the gameplay is way faster even when we had them both on normal. It is a great game on either system but better on the PS3. So if you are looking for a great game purchase this one.
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Review 15 for NHL 10
Good game, but I'm disappointed.
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Gameplay: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Posted on:9/23/09
Manshoon
I've been playing the NHL games since NHL 97, and I have to say they haven't gotten it right yet. Don't get me wrong, I do love this game. But there are certain things that I keep seeing year after year after year that are bad and they don't fix them! For example, it's a horrible idea to have the default pass button be the same button that changes the player you control. There are so many instances where you think you have the puck, and you don't. SO you end up switching players instead of passing, and it messes you up completely. Another example is that the passing really stinks. Several years ago the passing was crisp and clean, but the last few years it's been bad. It's so flippin easy to intercept and disrupt passes it's insane. Not only that, but players miss on one timers more then ever in this game! It suddenly became rocket science to receive the puck from another player! The last gripe I have is that it's too hard to score. Not only did they make one timers suck cuz of the passing, but the deke never fakes out the goalie anymore. *sigh* There are a number of great things in this game like the online play, the graphics, and the sound. They're hit a home run with the frachise and online modes. But the SIMPLE things are still the problem. Please EA! Fix the passing, fix the dekes, fix the one timers, don't make it so horribly difficult to possess the puck and score goals!
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Gameplay: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Review 16 for NHL 10
Best game ever made.
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:1/20/11
Bruinsfan
Location: Midland, MI
This game is perfect for: casual gamers
I love NHL10. It's my favorite video game of all time. The only downside is the fact that a new one comes out every year. I've never played anything like this, at all. I bought a handful of games around the same time I got NHL10, and the others just collected dust. If you're looking for a new hockey game between 10 and 11, go with 10 and save some money. Plenty of people are still online with 10 and it's just as good if not better than 11. I don't think I can trade this one in, even though it's outdated, it's my favorite and I'm keeping it.
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Review 17 for NHL 10
WOW, Didn't expect that!
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Posted on:3/4/11
coltsfan18
Location: Columbia, SC
This game is perfect for: casual gamers
I got this game a couple weeks ago because I was tired of playing football games. Now I don't know the first thing about hockey, but I do know that this game is amazing. The graphics are great, the game play is awesome, and the fights are amazing. But I gave NHL 10 an over all rating of 9 because in "Be a Pro" mode it is almost impossible to stay in the NHL, I almost always get demoted to the AHL. But if you can over look that, then it is a great game. I would recommend this to anyone who is wanting to try a new sports game.
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
0 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 18 for NHL 10
Good hockey game.
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Posted on:5/12/13
Shamus
This game is perfect for: casual gamers
NHL 10's pretty good. It places a premium on homing your skills before you actually play. I;m just fine with that, but the game wants to teach you how to start a fight with a player from the other team. I know that's a part of hockey, as well as sports in general, but who wants to learn how to do that? The gameplay is pretty good, so I don't really have a problem with this game, it's very good.
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Review 19 for NHL 10
Wow ...NHL 10 is a fantastic game buy it !
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:9/30/09
princesslisa
This game has Fantastic Graphics and great control . Everything from the crowed to the players on the ice are very well done its got to be the best hockey game ever made so far .You can even get into a hockey brawl on the ice just like they do in real life . The game has new features that drive home the ambience of the game and make it react a bit more realistically. The board play is key, especially if you are aggressive in forechecking, and the first-person viewpoint in fights makes for a more entertaining (‘in your face,’ if you will) experience.I have not run into any problems with the game freezing what so ever . The game has played fine on my PS3 system . The game has lots of different features which is very nice .Don’t want to play an entire season (there is a new season mode as well; and all modes are customizable) in franchise mode to get to the playoffs? No problem, one of the new modes centers on the playoffs. Battle for the Cup is the series to determine the winner of the Stanley Cup, while the Playoff mode is the series leading up to the championship/Stanley Cup series. When you go into franchise mode, there is now a trade deadline in place and trades just became smarter. You can’t stack a team on a shoestring budget, but rather the AI has been improved to scoff at ridiculous trade attempts. On another AI note, the crowd has been tweaked and has a memory. If you come into their arena, get into a fight and beat an opposing player down and/or injure them, the crowd remembers and greets you with boos the next time you play there.
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Review 20 for NHL 10
Easily the best NHL game of the year.
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Posted on:12/28/10
Cornwallis32
Location: New York, NY
This game is perfect for: casual gamers
This game was awesome considering it had great graphics and the controls were easy. The gameplay is sweet! You can play Battle for the Stanley cup, season mode, and much more. This game is an overall a good game for a hockey lover. The only flaw is the fighting engine. It is a little difficult to fight because of the joystick punching. But you easily master it after a lot of fights. This is an overall BEAST game!
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
1 2 next>>