GameStop Ratings and Reviews

Shop Now At GameStop
Shop Software or
Choose a Category
Top Rated Product

Product Reviews

Guitar Hero: Metallica

The next Guitar Hero is here! Get ready to thrash with the definitive collection of Metallica's music and over 20 other rocking bands on guitar, drums, vocals and bass. Gamers Shred, Drum and Wail While Unleashing Their Inner Rock Stars With Over 45 Mind-Blowing On-Disc Tracks!
Average Customer Rating:
8.375
8.4
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (23 reviews)
10 stars
10
9 stars
3
8 stars
0
7 stars
0
6 stars
0
5 stars
1
4 stars
0
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
2
13 out of 1681%of reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Guitar Hero: Metallica
Review 1 for Guitar Hero: Metallica
My Favorite Guitar Hero Game!!!
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Posted on:10/28/12
Metallicafan123
Location: East Greenwich, RI
This game is perfect for: party gamers
I like this one best because it has all of Metallica's best songs and it has other great "guest acts" including System of a Down, Mercyful Fate, Slayer, Motorhead, and Mastadon. Awesome Game. Just pure Awesome.
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Review 2 for Guitar Hero: Metallica
Amazing
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:6/29/12
Metallicafan123
Location: East Greenwich, RI
This game is perfect for: party gamers
This is a perfect video game for a fan of Thrash Metal Bands like Slayer, Anthrax, Megadeth, Exodus, and Testament. I thinks wicked cool how the characters actually looks Metallica members( and how Robert Trujillo does his spinny thing with his bass.)
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Review 3 for Guitar Hero: Metallica
Awsome!!!
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:7/18/11
BlackOps17
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
I think guitar hero metallica is a good game. I think guitar hero warriors of rock is a good game also.
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Review 4 for Guitar Hero: Metallica
Good Game, Bro
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Posted on:7/15/11
Ardokal
This game is perfect for: casual gamers
It is a good game, but there could have been some attributes that could have been better, i.e. the Graphics and The Vocal System definitely. On all Guitar Hero's possibly Excluding Warriors Of Rock, The Vocal Systems were hard to sing to!
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Review 5 for Guitar Hero: Metallica
this sucks
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Gameplay: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
2 out of 10
2 out of 10
Posted on:5/14/11
sonicmate
Location: MA
This game is perfect for: party gamers
never buy this game it sucks to hard the lyrics suck
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Gameplay: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
2 out of 10
2 out of 10
0 of 5 found this review helpful.
Comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
harlequinn3
New York, NY
 
Please wait while more information about harlequinn3 is loaded.
Additional information about harlequinn3 could not be loaded.
Posted 7/12/12
Wow, Mr.Cowell. If you'd play something other than vocals you could probably enjoy it a lot more
Comments (1)
Comment (1)
Review 6 for Guitar Hero: Metallica
this game is by far the best GH game i have played
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:2/21/11
HitsugayaTaijo21
Location: Sioux City, IA
This game is perfect for: casual gamers
ive played it for tha ps2 when i had it...and i almost couldnt put my guitar controller down lol...pretty seamless music streams...combined with almost down to the last detail perfect solos...and it made for a very awesome 1st ever metallica GH...if this were a student in college...it would have guaranteed straight A+'s in every class...period.
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Guitar Hero: Metallica
Guitar Hero at it's best
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:12/6/10
mariofan4life
Location: pembroke, canada
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
I know alot of ppl have aid it before me but I have to say it again. THIS GAME IS THE BEST!!! First off Metallica is my favorite band of all time so that is a plus to this game. Graphically it's better on the 360 or PS3 but thats what happens without Hi-Def. The Song selection is great. I bought this game the day it came out and to this day I still like to rock out to "The Shortest Straw" and "Orion". I also like all the backstage videos of the band. But by far the thing I like most about this game is the fact that you can get the classic look for the band. METALLICA ROCKS!!!!!!
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Review 8 for Guitar Hero: Metallica
an awesome METALlica game for the wii
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Graphics: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:12/6/09
Mr.Customer
this game is a must buy for anyone who likes music games or the guitar hero franchise or any of that stuff because you know what Metallica rocks and that just all i have to say. moving on... the pros to this game is the actual sound is soo great and everytime you play you think you are at a metallica concert or in a recording studio jamming with them. the graphics are quite nice but seem to be blurry on certain levels. a great addition to this game is that you can use a double bass pedal to bring in that more of a metal feel. the actual game difficulty is quite great because at first the songs on past guitar hero games were too hard or easy and on this game they are just right. i would definitely recommend this game to virtually anyone who is a fan of the band or just an average Joe who wants to have a little fun on the wii.
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Graphics: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Guitar Hero: Metallica
The best guitar hero game ever!
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:9/3/09
wiiguy12
This game is without a doubt the best guitar hero game i have ever played! The song selection is great! A great seletion of metallica songs although i was disapointed that ride the lightning was no part of the selection. There is also great guest acts like Thin Lizzy, System of A Down,The foo fighters, and many more. A cool feature that this game has is that in the extras menu there are videos of metallica playing live. The challenge on this game is very difficult because metallica is a metal band with ripping guitar solos, fast drums and bass, and fast vocals. The online on this game is just like anyother guitar hero game when you face of against some random person. Creating characters in this game is also very fun because you get to equip with guitars or basses that metallica members use (although im not sure about the drums......). Anyway if you are not a fan of metallica like i am i wouldn't recommend this game if you are fan you should rush to the store right away to buy this game!!
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
0 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Guitar Hero: Metallica
Metallica makes rockband look crudy
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:4/10/09
Fight4
Guitar hero metallica is the best video game i have played ever it was at my friends on the wii i sung a few songs but one was my favorite to sing and play guitar i wish his drums still worked. But anyway guitar hero metallica is the best guitar hero ever i say aerosmith has nothing on this and then you can make your own person its awesome. I own a ps2 and cant wait till its out for ps2 its gonna be awesome i love metallicas music and on a video game now that shows how far we've come in society. But the coolest thing is you can make your own tracks on the game my friend made a techno beep song or whatever on expert its really hard too.My songs are going to rock hard and they are gonna be harder than master of puppets on expert your hands will be hurting if you play my songs. Felipe Jr out.
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Guitar Hero: Metallica
the most amazing game ive ever played
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:4/3/09
MetallicaFreak!!!
this game is the best game i have ever played. that includes non-musical games. Guitar Hero Metallica has the best songs from Metallica, and many of the best songs from the other bands who are on this album!! it definitely rocks hard. when i first got the game, i played it for seven hours, i would have played it longer but i had to go to school the next morning. this game is by far the best, and anybody who wants an amazing game needs to get this one. No matter if you like Metallica or not, if you have ever heard of them (which would be insane if you haven't)) it is a great game and definitely deserves your attention. buy it or you will forever be a loser. haha. it's difficulty is hard, but it is still fun and once you start playing you can't put it down. so go play an have fun!!
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Guitar Hero: Metallica
Song selection only so-so
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Sound: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Posted on:4/2/09
Jendra
I have played all the GH games on Wii or PS2, as well as both Rock Band games. This is by far the most disappointing for me in terms of song selection. I like a lot of different genres of music, including metal. The Metallica songs on here are fine, although I would have liked more older tracks and to see Blackened included (I know its DLC for Rock Band 2 and that's probably why it wasn't here). My issue was with the "filler" songs that were chosen by Metallica. I would have liked to have seen all studio versions and not live versions for one thing. I also thought that the songs they chose for each group just weren't that great. Also, I like the World Tour format with setlists of 2 songs or more rather than the old school style of one song at a time that they used for this game. It just felt like I was spending more time at loading screens than actually playing the songs. The screen captures for the band seemed really stiff and clunky (like GH Aerosmith) rather than the smoother style ala Rock Band. Part of this is a limitation of the Wii but you know, if Rock Band can make interesting and realistic band animations that look good on the Wii, I don't know why Guitar Hero can't seem to do it in any of their games. I wish I had rented it before dropping the cash on it. Once I finish it, I'll probably end up selling it back to the store or giving it away to my brother-in-law. I just don't see myself getting the replay value out of it that I have out of World Tour or the other GH games.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Sound: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
1 of 3 found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Guitar Hero: Metallica
5.0!!
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:4/1/09
MetallicaRocks22!!!
This game rocks! This is atleast an 8.0! The people who rate these games SUCK!! This have a bigger rating. And for Guitar hero World Tour to get an 8.0 is so dumb. This is by far the best Guitar Hero ever. I don't know if they dont just like metallica but this rating sucks for an awsome game. Now to tell the real reason i wrote this comment. This is the best game that they came out with. They actually took enough time to make a good game. i wasn't really glad with Guitar Hero World Tour. Since Guitar Hero 3 came out they hadn't made a good game. Until this.i have been waiting since christmas to get this and it was totally worth the wait!!! Not only have i had fun with this but it has made me start playin my bass more often.That is all that i ahve to say about this AWSOME game!!!
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Guitar Hero: Metallica
Best $** I've EVER Spent!
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:4/1/09
Riley H.
I picked up this game the first day it came out and all I have to say is that I was amazed with this game! When I started career mode I felt like Metallica was right in front of me! The characters that Neversoft designed for Metallica were amazingly accurate! The create-a-character feature is very close to World Tour's but has a larger selection of clothing accesories etc. Their are a few Metallica band shirts thrown into the clothes list which are pretty cool. The song list was a great collection of Metallica's hits but I just wish that they added Blackened and And Justice For All... to it but other than that it's a great assortment of their hits. The guest acts are great too but some of them make me wonder how they got in the game like the song The Boys Are Back In Town. I love this game and think that it is one of those games that even if you beat it, you'll still be playing it 5 years from now. Bottom line: It's amazing! Congratulations to RedOctane, Neversoft, and of course...Metallica!
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Review 15 for Guitar Hero: Metallica
Arguably the best Guitar Hero game I've ever played~
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Posted on:3/31/09
Madrman
The overall menu interface feels familiarly like that of Guitar Hero 2, the songs are as challenging as if not more than most of the songs in the previous games. The sound is good, the songs sound great. The graphics are the best so far out of all the games, with realistic movements programmed into this line-up of characters. Because of the realistic character movements, Metallica makes a great appearance in this game, and provides for a genuine Metallica experience. This game is every bit as responsive as any Guitar Hero game, but as always, playing on an HDTV may affect responsiveness if the settings are not calibrated correctly. Double bass pedal expert is challenging yet fun,and is a great addition to the Guitar Hero series. My only complaint about the controls is influenced by my laziness to navigate menus with the control stick on the drums. The overall interface of the game is simplistic and easy to use. The songs all have similar characteristics; most of them are enjoyable songs and are very rarely boring to play (especially on expert). The game has a lot of added features, such as listening to songs after you've beat them and drum-over mode, which lets you play songs while making up your own drum rhythms. The music studio is still present and has been altered to change the sound of custom songs. Guitar Hero Metallica is as fun and entertaining as Guitar Hero games come, if not the best one so far, and I'd recommend it to almost anyone, save maybe a few people who don't like heavy rock songs or will never get past medium.
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Review 16 for Guitar Hero: Metallica
Disappointed...again.
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Gameplay: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Graphics: 
3 out of 10
3 out of 10
Sound: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Posted on:3/30/09
nyrfan099
I found this game to be very unimpressive. As well, I felt that while the sound was good, the songs didn't sound good. I didn't feel that the gameplay was very responsive. I have been disappointed in Metallica ever since "...And Justice For All" came out almost 21 years ago, yet I am too stupid to get it in my head that Metallica's hype of everything they release isn't what they make it out to be. "Guitar Hero: Metallica" seems to be yet another one of those disappointments. Of course, just like with any type of electronic, movie, music, or video game media, you have to open the product to find out whether you'll like it or not. Now that it's open, I'm out ******, and James, Lars, Kirk, and Robert are laughing all the way to the bank. Personally, I'll stick with the other Guitar Hero games.
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Gameplay: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Graphics: 
3 out of 10
3 out of 10
Sound: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
0 of 7 found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Guitar Hero: Metallica
AMAZING!!! I've already played the full game!!!
Posted on:3/28/09
Anonymous
This is by far the BEST Guitar Hero game yet! Seriously, thanks to my local Blockbuster for renting it before release, because it's amazing! I'd say RB2 might beat it by just a little, simply in terms of the amount of material. As far as fun factor is concerned though, GH: Metallica blows the competition away. There is a great variety of opening artists and the Metallica tracks are the cream of the crop. The accuracy of feel is perfect, it feels like you are playing the riffs... Which is something I really can't say about most music games out there. Not to mention you can unlock some pretty serious metal Gods in the process. Also, you can unlock old-school looks for all the members of Metallica!!!
Review 18 for Guitar Hero: Metallica
HOLY CRAP!!
Posted on:3/27/09
Riley H.
This game is going to be so amazing. I'm a huge fan of Metallica and Guitar Hero so this is like a dream come true i just hope later on the make a game called Guitar Hero System Of A Down. that would be insanely Sick But Metallica is probably going to be the best game i OWN!
Review 19 for Guitar Hero: Metallica
OMG!!!!!
Posted on:3/6/09
PixieAlice_808
I can't believe that hey would create a GH Metalica version! I was freaking out and my mom ever since she heard they were making one she has been practicing GH so she could play. But knowing me and my mom we may camp outside gamestop so we can get the first copy! RIDE THE LIGHTNING!
Review 20 for Guitar Hero: Metallica
Metallica Review
Posted on:3/2/09
Anonymous
Lets get to the point.Since Metallica is my favorite band, it's pretty obvious that this is my ultimate dream videogame. I always knew that there was gonna be a Guitar Hero, Metallica. I love Metallica and I have Metallica galore.CDs, videogames, songs downloaded onto my MP3 player, everything. I play Guitar Hero so much, my eyes are gonna pop out of my head.Oh yeah, I almost forgot, Metallica RULES!
1 2 next>>