GameStop Ratings and Reviews

Shop Now At GameStop
Shop Software or
Choose a Category
Top Rated Product

Product Reviews

Section 8

An intense first-person shooter, Section 8 allows players to dynamically alter the flow of combat as they see fit. Employing tactical assets and on-demand vehicle deliveries, players are given unprecedented strategic control over epic sci-fi battlefields.
Average Customer Rating:
6.5
6.5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (12 reviews)
10 stars
2
9 stars
0
8 stars
2
7 stars
0
6 stars
0
5 stars
0
4 stars
0
3 stars
0
2 stars
1
1 star
1
4 out of 667%of reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Section 8
Review 1 for Section 8
Awesome multiplayer
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:2/17/11
theworddeath101
Location: Virginia
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
I give this an 8 only because the single player was REALLY short but the multiplayer is one of the best I've ever tried. It's really intense and I'd suggest it to anyone because you can be fast paced or slow paced, and I'm someone who kind of likes to get into the heat of the combat and then fall back for a bit so this game is perfect for me. and it's only $5 which is awesome.
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Section 8
Great Multiplayer Game
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Posted on:10/25/09
Amac620
This game is simply fantastic. When I first saw the trailer for the game I knew it would be great. I downloaded the game from the internet directly to my computer, after a few hours of downloading I was completely hooked. I'll admit the single player campaign is pretty weak, but the game is truly all about the mutliplayer. The campaign was way to short and rather easy, but it had some cool cutscenes. Now on to the multiplayer. Players will be put on one of two factions Section 8 or Arm of Orion (doesn't change gameplay, just the appearance of characters and weapons). The object is to work together with your team to reach the target score before your opponent. This score will be set before the game starts. Points are awarded for kills, capturing command posts, and completing DCMs (dynamic combat missions). The DCMs are tasks that a team can complete to win points, and will spring up throughout the game. The missions range from escorting a VIP to bombing a command post. The enemy will try to prevent you from completing the tasks. The DCMs and an extra tactical aspect to the game. A team can choose to try and prevent the enemy from completing the DCM or they can use it to distract the enemy so they can get command posts, kills etc. The graphics are terrific and watching the battlefield unfolded below you as you burn in allows you to really take this in. All the weapons are very cool and specialize in different areas. Shotguns for instance dominate at point blank range but are use less from beyond 25 meters. The ability to choose your own loadouts of 2 guns 2 equipment and 10 passive modules of your choice allows you to really play the game you want to. Also deployables such as vehicles and turrets can be called in at anytime to give you an edge in the game. The tank is awesome. great controls 4 slots for players to get in and heavy weapons and armor make it nearly unstoppable. Or call in an AA turret and gun down your enemies as they drop in from the sky. This is a fastpaced, scifi shooter whose customization, DCMs, and deployables allow for endless hours of game play and you will never get bored. I have had the game for 3 weeks and still can't stop playing. Trust me if you buy this game you will love it.
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
3 of 3 found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Section 8
Don't buy this game!!!!!!!
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Gameplay: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Graphics: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Sound: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Posted on:10/6/09
doomsetter
When I seen the trailer for this game I was excited, so I when out and ordered it. I couldn't wait to install it on my computer and play it. The sad thing is, is that what you see in the trailer is the best of the game. I like the burn in feature for respawn, which is very orignal but that is where the orignality stops. The single player campaign is only about 3 hours long, which is becoming common place in some games now. When it comes to online play it's boring and mundate. After I beat the single player campaign I looked online to see what other people thought of it and I would have to agree with most of the post about this game, and that is if you like Unreal Tournment you might like this game, but then I would just recommend that you buy Unreal Tournment. The developer did poor job on this game, in my opinion but then again that's just my opinion. The bonus features that I got with this game because of my pre order where available online with a quick search in google with one additional one. If you like short story line games that you can beat in one day, or online play that is common in almost every other game then this is the game for you. The best part of this game is when you decide to trade it in for credit towards a good game or uninstalling it and using it as a chew toy for your dog. Me personal would like to get my money back but we all know that isn't going to happen.
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Gameplay: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Graphics: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Sound: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
0 of 7 found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Section 8
Multiplayer is where its at!
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Posted on:9/13/09
Codelius
I partook in both the closed and open version of the Section 8 beta, and i was instantly sold. I pre-ordered the game in hopes of something great. When I got it, I was very much excited. The single player campaign was dissapointing, I admit, but the multiplayer made the game. Being able to choose from multiple weapons, and having the option to upgrade your character was a great add on. As far as graphics go, I have to admit I am not impressed, but they are good enough to make this game replayable. The controls were nice, and being able to move my mouse and have the crosshair follow every stroke was great. The bots do add a nice challenge every now and then, and at their highest settings are able to match even the most seasoned gamer. DCM's, or Dynamic Combat Missions, are truly what makes multiplayer great. Constantly striving to assasinate an enemy player, or working to protect a convoy really make each multiplayer experience its own. Overall this is a game I recommend to any first person shooter fan who likes a good online challenge!
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Section 8
Horrible wannabe multiplayer game
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 10
2 out of 10
Gameplay: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Posted on:9/9/09
brak144
When I first got Section 8 I thought it would be similar to Mass Effect, Wolfenstein, or any number of FPS or FPS/RPG hybrids. There is virtually no story line, some customization with regards to load outs, but the game play is simply horrible. It is a poor reminder of when Unreal tournament came out. A pitiful excuse for a multi player game for those who prefer to not play on line. Checkpoint based game play works well in many other FPS games, but the instant re-spawn, lack of story and lack of team control such that you essentially have to win battles by yourself make this is sorry piece of programming. The lack of per-rendering enemies until an area is reach (example, you reach a checkpoint and while 4 sets of enemies eventually spawn, they don't even exist until you reach another checkpoint) diminishes all tactical game play such that it is similar to a non-stop deathmatch minus the other real people and a cooperative team. It seems as though it was only meant to look pretty and exist so that people who prefer crappy games can add achievements to their LIVE account.
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 10
2 out of 10
Gameplay: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
1 of 5 found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Section 8
Great game
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:9/5/09
Grumpy
This is a good game to try out you will not be disapoint in the game.Like call of duty its has no story line but you play multy player part of the game that what is all about. Graphic are ok but noting to brag about . its is simple make the game fun has no bugs so far what i have seen in the game. its made by a newcompany call south peak game. you get mec make it fun you also get more achement in the game like left for dead. all i can say is you wont be disapoint in the game at all but you dont need my world just by it try it out for your self. people say its like halo but no its al little differnt if any thing it more like ut use to be before the e game out now is that bad thing. no it make the game lot fun .the stroy line is very good so dont play this game fore that .
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
2 of 3 found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Section 8
So Cool
Posted on:8/28/09
Anonymous
I have looked at some walkthroughs for Section 8 and it was love at first sight. The game is well polished and high tech. If you notice in the walkthroughs, it looks like a cousin to Enemy Territory Quake Wars. This game is a must have if your an FPS fan. I recommend that you get this game as the graphics and interactivity are very good!! Endless multi-player makes it very competitive and the customization is infinite to create your own soldier with unique abilities, weapons and roles.
0 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Section 8
Solid but not special
Posted on:8/3/09
{TLS}Night
I have been playing the beta for Section 8 for a little while now. This game is not a bad game, its solid and has most of the basic features you would expect out of an FPS and moreover you don't need a great system to run it on relativity high settings. Do not think however that it is a spectacular game; really it bring nothing new to the FPS world and requires little real skill to play- it doesn't even register a difference a damage between a head shot and a hit to a players foot- the game even has a built in temporary aimbot! So I would not recommend this game to anyone who is any good at FPS games and are expecting a competitive experience online. This is more for people who are new to FPS games and aren't looking for anything new- just a solid easy casual game to have fun on.
0 of 2 found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Section 8
Alot like tribes
Posted on:7/20/09
Anonymous
If any of you played Tribes from way back section 8 is alot like it. Unless you have an overclocked machine you're gunna have issues even with the graphics and what not turned down.
0 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Section 8
cant wait for it
Posted on:7/20/09
p4rdyhARdy4LifE
it looks awesome.. im saving money to preorder it. the storline looks good from the trailer. the odst thing is nice. the graphics look cool and the jumpjet will be awesome.. the best games are the ones where they take the best parts of alot of games and cmbines them. thats what i think section 8 will do. and i cant wait!
Review 11 for Section 8
Should be good.
Posted on:6/12/09
Gunwing
A lot of PC owners are hopping mad about the swarms of Console ports. Of course they fail to read whats different, and new about them. IE Section 8 is going to use PhysX by Nvidia, Darkest of Days will as well, and so will Dark Void. On top of that thanks to Microsoft you can download, and buy a wireless receiver for your PC and use your Xbox360 controller to play games on it. Last but not least sadly for PS3 lovers this game cut the PS3 branch of it's project due to and I qote (Poor developer support, and overly complex dev kit tools) BTW for noobies the PhysX feature allows your GPU to do all the graphical, and physics based calculations and render them in real time on your PC screen rather then running them all through your CPU and slowing your PC down. (IE when done right like in Mirrors Edge, Scared 2: Fallen Angle UT3 patch 2.0) You can get ten times the performance out of the games you play. I hope they give the PC version buddie lists, and Gamespy support as well as free patches. It looks like a fun game.
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Section 8
Looks promising
Posted on:3/27/09
Anonymous
This looks pretty good, I just hope it has a nice storyline and good characters. Now I am going to have to put money aside for this and the new crysis bundle.