GameStop Ratings and Reviews

Shop Now At GameStop
Shop Accessories or
Choose a Category
Top Rated Product

Product Reviews

Xbox 360 Hard Drive 120GB (GS-Refurb)

The Xbox 360 120GB Hard Drive provides the best storage option for media enthusiasts and hardcore gamers. Compact and spacious, it offers the most room for videos, music, pictures, demos, game saves, Xbox LIVE Arcade games, and more.
Average Customer Rating:
8.42
8.4
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (50 reviews)
10 stars
33
9 stars
5
8 stars
3
7 stars
0
6 stars
1
5 stars
2
4 stars
0
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
6
43 out of 5086%of reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Xbox 360 Hard Drive 120GB (GS-Refurb)
Review 1 for Xbox 360 Hard Drive 120GB (GS-Refurb)
Works great, but there was a mix up!
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Performance: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Value: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Design: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Posted on:2/10/14
CoffeeandCosplay
Location: Spokane, WA
Age: 18-24
Did you buy this product for yourself or someone else? For me
I bought this hard drive last week, and I even though the sticker said "120gb", it turned out that it was just a 20gb hard drive with a 120gb sticker! Luckily, when I called the store, they were happy to exchange it for the correct hard drive, and so far, it works great.:) You get much more space for your money if you save up just a little more for this one vs the 60gb.
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Performance: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Value: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Design: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
1 of 2 found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Xbox 360 Hard Drive 120GB (GS-Refurb)
perfect,
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Performance: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Value: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Design: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:12/22/13
bordercollie21
Location: michigan
Age: Under 13
Did you buy this product for yourself or someone else? For me
its perfect for if you have more than five games. even though it says 120gb, its gamestop refurbished so mine only came with 106gb, not a big deal. i tried to download gta4 to my hard drive and even though i downloaded it it still tells me to "put in original game disc" which i honestly don't get. but i took mine apart and put it into my white slim model and i works perfectly. great for the price.
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Performance: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Value: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Design: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Review 3 for Xbox 360 Hard Drive 120GB (GS-Refurb)
Great for the price
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Performance: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Value: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Design: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:12/31/12
xxxprogamerxxxMw2
Location: Natick,MA
Age: 13-18
Did you buy this product for yourself or someone else? For me
I needed more space because my old 20 gb hdd that came with my 360 pro i've had for 4 years had run out of space. I went out to my local game stop and bought this. To my surprise when i got home the hdd was from an elite. I spent about 30 minutes copying my data to my new hdd. This hdd is recommended to all gamer and pro's everywhere!!
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Performance: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Value: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Design: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
xxxprogamerxxxMw2
Natick,MA
 
Please wait while more information about xxxprogamerxxxMw2 is loaded.
Additional information about xxxprogamerxxxMw2 could not be loaded.
EXTRA
Posted 1/8/13
Please don't leave a comment
saying i'm not a gamer. i play alot of online stuff so I don't need space. But I do dowload map packs and movies often. So I need more space for my new gaming style. I have completed about 20 games after i bought this hdd
Comments (1)
Comment (1)
Review 4 for Xbox 360 Hard Drive 120GB (GS-Refurb)
Great Product and Great Price!
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Performance: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Value: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Design: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:12/2/12
SoulSmash3r
Age: 18-24
Did you buy this product for yourself or someone else? For me
I bought this 120GB Xbox 360 refurbish hard drive from this website for an incredible low price of $25+shipping, don't know how and why it was that low in price but I took a chance and I'm very pleased, the hard drive arrived in almost new condition, almost no marks that it had been used at all and so far it's been almost 1 year and still going strong, I ripped 3 games to it, MW3, Halo Reach, and Bayonetta and I still have more than 80GB left..... Anyway, I highly recommend this refurbished hard drive to anyone.
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Performance: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Value: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Design: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Review 5 for Xbox 360 Hard Drive 120GB (GS-Refurb)
BUYER BEWARE!!!!
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Performance: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Value: 
4 out of 10
4 out of 10
Design: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Posted on:7/10/12
Mrmcslugger
Location: Kansas city, KS
Age: 13-18
Did you buy this product for yourself or someone else? For me
I bought this thinking it was a great value and it would have been if it hadn't have corrupted my system. About 2 weeks in it broke and I lost all my save data, but luckily I kept my old hard drive just in case. It's a 50/50 chance on these refurbs, it's up to you if you want to risk 45 bucks
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Performance: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Value: 
4 out of 10
4 out of 10
Design: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
1 of 4 found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Xbox 360 Hard Drive 120GB (GS-Refurb)
Perfect
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Performance: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Value: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Design: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:6/5/12
360beatsPS3
Location: Michigan
Age: 18-24
Did you buy this product for yourself or someone else? For me
I was a bit worried at first after reading about the misfortunes some people had with this product but I decided that I had no choice but to try it out. And everything worked out far better than I had expected.
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Performance: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Value: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Design: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
8 of 9 found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Xbox 360 Hard Drive 120GB (GS-Refurb)
Good, but isn't this a little too much memory???
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Performance: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Value: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Design: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Posted on:5/22/12
Coolyo
Location: Boston, MA
Age: Under 13
Did you buy this product for yourself or someone else? For me
This is great, don"t get me wrong, but do we need this much memory? This is good if you are the type of person who wants tons of demos and add-ons for games.
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Performance: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Value: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Design: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
1 of 16 found this review helpful.
Comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
343RULE
 
Please wait while more information about 343RULE is loaded.
Additional information about 343RULE could not be loaded.
yea but....
Posted 9/17/12
that true but if your a guy like myself who has allot of games on your hard drive (i have like 10 full games) you do kinda need all the memory
Comments (1)
Comment (1)
Review 8 for Xbox 360 Hard Drive 120GB (GS-Refurb)
Great value
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Performance: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Value: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Design: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Posted on:5/11/12
Fader
Location: Boston, MA
Age: 45-54
Did you buy this product for yourself or someone else? For me
Have had no issues and at half the price of new how can you go wrong. Needed to buy transfer cable but transfer was a breeze.
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Performance: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Value: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Design: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
0 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Xbox 360 Hard Drive 120GB (GS-Refurb)
Not worth the risk, lost all my data
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Performance: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Value: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Design: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Posted on:5/5/12
tmmwt2
Location: Mid-Missouri
Age: 25-34
Did you buy this product for yourself or someone else? For me
I have been a Gamestop customer for years. In April of 2012 I decided that I needed to get a larger hard drive for my Xbox 360 so I, per usual, went to Gamestop. I read the reviews online and saw that a lot of people had good luck and some that didn't. I honestly figured those that had negative reviews just did something wrong or had sour grapes, so I bought the refurbished hard drive.
When I received the hard drive, I hooked it up and it operated properly, so I transferred all of my data to the new hard drive with no issue. Upon transferring the data I played a game and then turned off my system until the next day. When I started up my system the next day I got an E68 error message and the flashing 'red ring of death' on my Xbox. The E68 message is notification that there is an issue with the hard drive. I contacted Microsoft to see about resolving the issue or at the very least to recover my data. After consulting with Microsoft and attempting their recommendations it was determined that the hard drive was lost and all of my data was permanently lost. So the hundreds of hours that I had in Skyrim, Fallout 3 and other games are completely lost. The Mass Effect Series that I had continued and transferred from game to game is lost, with the painful fact that I had not yet, but almost, completed Mass Effect 3.
To summarize, some people may have had good luck with this product, but there are others out there, myself included, who have had worse than bad luck with this product. It is not worth the risk to buy this product when you can buy a new hard drive for just a little bit more. Take my word, it is not worth saving $40 or $50 dollars on a product, only to have the product be faulty and you loose years of saved game data in the blink of an eye.
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Performance: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Value: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Design: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
6 of 9 found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Xbox 360 Hard Drive 120GB (GS-Refurb)
Great. Gamestop Sold Me a Brick.
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Performance: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Value: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Design: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Posted on:4/24/12
Anonymous
Location: Savannah, GA
Age: 25-34
Did you buy this product for yourself or someone else? For me
So here's the thing: Microsoft's Xbox 360 hard drives are normally fine products. However, buyer beware when it comes to GameStop's refurbished products, because my experience was not satisfactory. I purchased this particular hard drive via Gamestop.com, but when I plugged it into my 360, it didn't show up as a storage device. My old 20 gb hard drive works just fine, why didn't this new one work? Plugged it into my laptop via a transfer cable and discovered that it was previously re-formatted on the 360 dashboard as a 16 gb usb storage device. There's really no means of returning it to its original factory state without some serious haXXor skills (which I sadly lack), so my options are to use this as a 16 gb memory card or reformat it and use it as a 120 gb external drive for my computer. Neither option is acceptable really, because I bought it as a storage device for my 360. I think the HD Gamestop sent to me was either pre-owned (and the owner made the mistake of re-formatting it) or somebody in the fulfillment center dropped the ball and sent out a defective HD.
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Performance: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Value: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Design: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
4 of 6 found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Xbox 360 Hard Drive 120GB (GS-Refurb)
Just what i was looking for
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Performance: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Value: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Design: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:3/20/12
ToothPick
Age: 18-24
Did you buy this product for yourself or someone else? For me
I started off with a 20 GB hard drive and as we all know that doesn't hold much, I got into downloading game content like for Black Ops and before i knew it I already got down to 5.6 GB and there wasn't really anything I could delete, so I checked up on here and seen this hard drive 120 GB for $50 refurbished and couldn't believe it, so the next day I went and picked it up, transferred all my data and still had tons of space left, so if your looking for something that holds alot of space but don't want to pay alot or simply don't have much to spare on a hard drive (especially an older model 360), then id HIGHLY recommend this product, also I'd recommend getting Blur too, great and fun game.
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Performance: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Value: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Design: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
3 of 3 found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Xbox 360 Hard Drive 120GB (GS-Refurb)
Trash
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Performance: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Value: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Design: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Posted on:3/19/12
LWABonez
Location: FL
Age: 18-24
Did you buy this product for yourself or someone else? For me
The one i got mailed to me cant play any games, when i try to play halo reach or any download it will suddenly freeze for about 1-2 seconds then practically restart to the main dashboard.
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Performance: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Value: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Design: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
2 of 5 found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Xbox 360 Hard Drive 120GB (GS-Refurb)
Bad Luck
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Performance: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Value: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Design: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Posted on:1/27/12
Smokeymountain
Age: 18-24
Did you buy this product for yourself or someone else? For me
This could be a good buy if you get a working refurbished hard drive. The one I recieved in the mail froze after installing it and trying to move some data onto it from a scandisk. Restarted the xbox and receved an error message telling me to contact microsoft. Took the 4 year old hard from my brother's 360, installed in the same way I did the referb and success. Total waste of my money, can't get a refund for trying to install their corrupt hard drive myself.
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Performance: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Value: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Design: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
3 of 6 found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Xbox 360 Hard Drive 120GB (GS-Refurb)
A much needed upgrade
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Performance: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Value: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Design: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:1/16/12
Mindmerge
Location: San Tan Valley, AZ
Age: 35-44
Did you buy this product for yourself or someone else? For me
I have the bargain priced XBOX 360 core... which did actually come with a hard disk. Less than 10Gigs of user space however which made installation of titles a bit of a pain. I had to remove older games and install the newer games. With Battlefield 3 however I ran into a final capacity limit. I was able to get multiplayer up and running with the patches and the new map pack however free space was down to 1.8 Gigs... not enough to install anything else. So I decided to spend the $50 on this drive. I did research and looked for other ways to do it... which I am entirely capable of... the price is still not completely reasonable if compared to normal disk drives... (Dollars to Gigs) Gamestop does makes the price much more acceptable. In the end I decided I didn't really care enough to go through the hassle of hacking my own drive into the current drive enclosure... so I bought this one. I will recommend the upgrade to others. I am happy with the end result. FYI, there is no need to use the transfer cable... it makes it a one step transfer however I just used a removable USB drive and moved all of my content to it... powered off the XBOX.... swapped drives and then powered up and transferred the content back onto the larger drive. It's a pretty painless task overall.
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Performance: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Value: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Design: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
5 of 7 found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Xbox 360 Hard Drive 120GB (GS-Refurb)
Works great.
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Performance: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Value: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Design: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Posted on:1/13/12
WTeen8
Location: Earth, Milky Way Galaxy
Age: 13-18
Did you buy this product for yourself or someone else? For me
It does exactly what it's supposed to. And offers a great amount of space for 50 bucks. And even if it isn't the full 120 GB due to what the guy below me said about decimals and whatnot, for this price it's great. Be warned though that if you buy it for your fancy new Xbox 360 Slim 4 GB, you will need to unscrew the shell with a torx 6 and torx 10 screwdriver to actually get it to fit in the machine. There are tutorials on youtube on how to do this. But otherwise it's great, and you will have room for more games and data, and be able to play Xbox Originals. Worth it.
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Scott Pilgrim vs. The World: The Game - Xbox 360 Live Marketplace 800 Points
9.3 out of 10(9)
 
 
 
Castle Crashers - Xbox 360 Live Marketplace 1200 Points
9.6 out of 10(34)
 
 
 
 
 
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Performance: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Value: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Design: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
15 of 15 found this review helpful.
Comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
Diehards92
Memphis
 
Please wait while more information about Diehards92 is loaded.
Additional information about Diehards92 could not be loaded.
Posted 6/26/12
Can I use this on the black Xbox 360
Comments (1)
Comment (1)
Review 16 for Xbox 360 Hard Drive 120GB (GS-Refurb)
good value, works on Xbox Slim
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Performance: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Value: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Design: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Posted on:1/13/12
Anonymous
Location: Tempe
Age: 25-34
Did you buy this product for yourself or someone else? For me
This is the way to go to avoid getting gauged $100 for a Microsoft harddrive for your Xbox Slim. No, this item does not plug directly into a new Xbox without removing the Hard Drive's Shell first. There are tutorials on how to do this everywhere on the internet. Long story short: You can save yourself 60$+ by spending 5 minutes removing this HD's casing and plugging it into a new Xbox Slim.
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Performance: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Value: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Design: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
4 of 5 found this review helpful.
Comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
triggerhappyprick
las vegas
 
Please wait while more information about triggerhappyprick is loaded.
Additional information about triggerhappyprick could not be loaded.
really dude
Posted 1/16/12
u do realize for double the price u get more than twice the storage on the 250gb hdd without having to unscrew anything
Comments (1)
Comment (1)
Review 17 for Xbox 360 Hard Drive 120GB (GS-Refurb)
It got shipped broken
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Performance: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Value: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Design: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:1/12/12
Ereviscale77
Location: Michigan
Age: 25-34
Did you buy this product for yourself or someone else? For me
looked fine on the outside and no dents or scratches. but when plugging it into my 360 console it never got detected and thus unusable. returned and hoping this time they check their supplies of these refurbish hard drives before sending.
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Performance: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Value: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Design: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
2 of 3 found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Xbox 360 Hard Drive 120GB (GS-Refurb)
NOT for the slim.
Overall Rating: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Performance: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Value: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Design: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Posted on:1/11/12
Dman981
Age: 35-44
Did you buy this product for yourself or someone else? For me
I have no idea why some of the reviews state this works so well for their Xbox Slim... it for the old console, NOT the slim. Make sure you know which drive you need before purchasing.
Overall Rating: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Performance: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Value: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Design: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
1 of 16 found this review helpful.
Comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
cheiflongbarrel
Albany
 
Please wait while more information about cheiflongbarrel is loaded.
Additional information about cheiflongbarrel could not be loaded.
reply to post
Posted 1/20/12
It is because you can modify this drive by taking the casing off and and plugging the internal drive by jimmy- rigging it to the new 360 slims. It is possible i have seen it in the youtube videos but i would stick with factory recommendations for best results.
Comments (1)
Comment (1)
Review 19 for Xbox 360 Hard Drive 120GB (GS-Refurb)
Awesome, just like new w/o the new price
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Performance: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Value: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Design: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:1/8/12
Raidermania
Location: Orlando,FL
Age: 35-44
Did you buy this product for yourself or someone else? For me
This drive is exactly what you get when it is new. For those talking about not getting 120MB, it is nothing to do with being refurbished, it is what hard drives are. Manufacturers advertise capacity using decimal multiples meaning 100MB is 100,000,000, however windows systems read storage differently using binary multiples (power of 2) so 100MB would be 104,857,600. So you are buying a 120GB drive (in decimal format). This is true in almost all windows disk storage, even DVD's.
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Performance: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Value: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Design: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
6 of 7 found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Xbox 360 Hard Drive 120GB (GS-Refurb)
good but didnt have 120gb
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Performance: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Value: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Design: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Posted on:1/4/12
Ghostryder131
Location: Laurel,MD
Age: 13-18
Did you buy this product for yourself or someone else? For me
i got this for christmas cause i needed the space but it didnt have the full 120gb it only had 106gb. i really wanted my money back but i didnt return it cause then its back to square one. gamestop please see if it has 120gb.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Performance: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Value: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Design: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
2 of 66 found this review helpful.
Comments (6)
Comments (6)
Customer Avatar
MrDavidPX1
 
Please wait while more information about MrDavidPX1 is loaded.
Additional information about MrDavidPX1 could not be loaded.
Posted 1/10/12
this only has 106gb since it has to sync to ur xbox ur not always gonna have the right amount so
Customer Avatar
kazaa
 
Please wait while more information about kazaa is loaded.
Additional information about kazaa could not be loaded.
Posted 1/10/12
This is how every hard drive is for every device. They sell it as 120 gigs because that is the amount of space on the drive before it is formatted. You will never have the full amount that is printed on the package.
Customer Avatar
jmanx455
 
Please wait while more information about jmanx455 is loaded.
Additional information about jmanx455 could not be loaded.
Posted 1/9/12
the reason is formated memory.
Customer Avatar
MasterBlud
VVGtv
 
Please wait while more information about MasterBlud is loaded.
Additional information about MasterBlud could not be loaded.
I don't agree
Posted 1/8/12
The reason for it being a 106gb is that it needs to make room for all of your system settings that it can't fit in the actual unit itself. You should really read up on why it is actually 106gb and not 120gb. Just like when you get a computer, it is loaded with software and has about 15gb of memory missing because of installed programs.
Customer Avatar
Alka
 
Please wait while more information about Alka is loaded.
Additional information about Alka could not be loaded.
Posted 1/8/12
Pretty much all HDD manufacturer's do this. Since space conversion isn't even, they round up so when you see the advertised storage space you should expect a little less. You should not blame Gamestop.
Customer Avatar
Blueriver
Columbia, MD
 
Please wait while more information about Blueriver is loaded.
Additional information about Blueriver could not be loaded.
Top 1000 Contributor
Posted 1/7/12
ANY HDD maker's size indication is in decimal. Means, if it's 120GB, it is actually 120000000bytes. In here, 1KB = 1000 bytes. But computer sees differently. Computer uses binary so 1KB = 1024 bytes. So, what makers saying 120GB is actually 114.44GB. On top of that, some space is used for system data, etc. So what you get is pretty normal. You will NEVER find ANY HDD, no matter whether it's for PC or game consoles, that has the full capacity as advertised available to the user. You can say this is marketing, but this is the reality.
Comments (6)
Comments (6)
1 2 3 next>>