GameStop Ratings and Reviews

Shop Now At GameStop
Shop Software or
Choose a Category
Top Rated Product

Product Reviews

Mario & Sonic at the Winter Olympic Games

Mario and Sonic head to the slopes! Choose from your favorite cast of characters, including a few new faces, and get ready for exciting ice and snow action in Vancouver and Whistler, which are hosting the 2010 Winter Games. Warm up those muscles, get your Wii balance board ready, and go for gold on the Wii and Nintendo DS!
Average Customer Rating:
7.875
7.9
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (32 reviews)
10 stars
4
9 stars
3
8 stars
11
7 stars
4
6 stars
0
5 stars
0
4 stars
1
3 stars
0
2 stars
1
1 star
0
22 out of 2492%of reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Mario & Sonic at the Winter Olympic Games
Review 1 for Mario & Sonic at the Winter Olympic Games
Brief Review
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:12/17/12
OGameReviews
Location: Death Star
16 different sports, adventure mode, party games, all in one package. You can even play with your friends! I hope you buy and enjoy this game - it's great for the price. This was my first DS game - back in 2008.
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Review 2 for Mario & Sonic at the Winter Olympic Games
Play it Over and Over Again
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Gameplay: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Posted on:11/15/12
lvn4him
Location: ILLINIOS
This game is perfect for: kid gamers
This is a great game! All of the Mario and Sonic olympic ones are! Very pleased with it! This is a good game to play any time. The story mode is fun, but I'm stuck on a part of it and can't pass it. It's a great game to play with friends!
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Gameplay: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Review 3 for Mario & Sonic at the Winter Olympic Games
LOVE IT!!!!!!!!
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:8/26/12
yoshilover
Location: madison WI
i love this game!!! i play it all the time! my favorite part of the game is the story mode!! it keeps your attention for a long time! i've had this game for almost a year and i still play it all the time!! the olympic sports are super fun!! overall i love this game!!!!!!
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Review 4 for Mario & Sonic at the Winter Olympic Games
fun game
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Gameplay: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Graphics: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Posted on:6/19/12
awesomness1212
Location: phoenix, AZ
This game is perfect for: casual gamers
this is a really fun game lots of diffrent events to do from hockey to bobsliegh to snowboarding if you are a fan of the mario and sonic olympic video games you should by this game.
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Gameplay: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Graphics: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
2 of 2 found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Mario & Sonic at the Winter Olympic Games
good game for the DS
Overall Rating: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Gameplay: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Posted on:5/30/12
MARIOFAN25
Location: CHARLOTTE,NC
This game is perfect for: casual gamers
mario and sonic return to the olympics once again this time in the winter olympics. the adventure mode starts when bowser and dr.eggman team up once again. they capture the snow spirites so it stops snowing so mario and sonic can't host thier olympic games. so mario and sonic must gather team members from across different areas to rescue the snow spirits and stop eggman and bowser. most of the events in the game are really good and use the stylus really well. from snowboarding and hockey to bobsledding and skiing. the dream events shake this up with new rules and obsacles. from deluxe halfpipe and fever hockey to curling bowling and snow machine fights. your favorite characters from the mario and sonic franchise team up and try to stop bowser and eggman. but there are somethings that aren't to good. during the adventure mode there are buckets that you can open for hearts, omachao and stupid news briefs or adventure logs. news briefs are stupid because they say the stupidest stuff you can imagine. for example one says that peach is mario's girlfriend. like what the heck that is so stupid. but overall this game is a good one and is worth buying it to expand your ds repitiore.
Overall Rating: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Gameplay: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Review 6 for Mario & Sonic at the Winter Olympic Games
Awesome story mode! In my opinion..
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Gameplay: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Posted on:4/28/12
AnomynusWolf
Location: Manchester,NH
This game is perfect for: casual gamers
This is a review for the DS version..
I got this game for Christmas about two years ago.. and I LOVED IT!
The events in the game were entertaining and could include any character. The story mode can actually kick your butt if your not to careful.
Along with Olympic events the game has Dream events which are based of Olympic events but with a special Nintendo/Sega twist. Odds are if you love Sonic/Mario you'll enjoy this game!
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Gameplay: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Mario & Sonic at the Winter Olympic Games
Was Pretty Good
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Gameplay: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Posted on:4/25/12
UltraGuy
Location: Lynwood,CA
This game is perfect for: party gamers
It was actually pretty fun for a DS game, but I think they should have made the Adventure Tour thing longer though
 
My Product Recommendations
 
 
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Gameplay: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Review 8 for Mario & Sonic at the Winter Olympic Games
Pretty good!
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Gameplay: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Posted on:3/25/12
Beesterbunny
This game is perfect for: casual gamers
I really like this game! I already had the original on DS, so I knew I had to be certain and pick this up when it came out. Being a DS game, I am extremely impressed with this, although no game is perfect; it has its flaws. The graphics and sounds are amazing for the DS, but I suppose it's not a suprise as the two best gamemakers worked closely on this project. Most of the sports are fun and the controls are quite simple, although a few games are slightly confusing or are a bit boring. I love the how we get so many choices for characters, and they all behave and work a bit differently. I also like the fact that I can replay this game and never get bored, as the games can get harder and there is just so much to do. Story mode isn't particularly amazing, but it still is a good time-waster and adds to the fun of the game. The mini games are also kind of fun but I don't play them very often. The multiplayer is kind of fun, but they give you a very limited selection of games to choose from. All in all, this game is quite fun, lasts for a while, and it has great quality. I really recommend it.
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Gameplay: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Review 9 for Mario & Sonic at the Winter Olympic Games
Love it Love it LOVE IT
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Posted on:12/27/11
sonicfan86
Location: New Jersey
This game is perfect for: casual gamers
I have to say, when getting the game, my first impression was awesome. The "Mario & Sonic at the Olympic Winter Games!" sound seems really weird and awkward, that you want to skip it really fast. Then I made a file, and all that stuff, and found things overwhelming. But you can get used to it and LOVE IT :). The tutorials for the games are a lil annoying too because it's a video, but it really helps. The graphics also are INCREDIBLE, besides in gameplay it's a little blurry-ish; not as good as you expect it, but it's still good. Speaking of gameplay, it's all really fun, you can get the controls easily. :)
There is also Adventure Tours mode, a story mode unique to the game (not in any other). I happen to love stories in a game, so I find it totally fun. But you can tell it can be more aimed towards younger kids. I still absolutely love playing it and seeing a connection between Mario & Sonic characters. Its really interesting!! Lots of puzzles to solve. It gets repetitive though, but you overall enjoy it. :D I love the music to it, by the way, very fun. :) Might take a while though. *_*
This game can last for a while, seeing that you have "records". There are medals, emblems, trivia, & more to unlock making the game more of a challenge to complete. This, would actually be the goal of the game. (I must have goals in my games! :P)
I just got this 2 days ago (for Christmas) and I can't stop playing it being so funn!<3 I would recommend this to YOU! :)
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Mario & Sonic at the Winter Olympic Games
A little longer next time
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Sound: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Posted on:8/26/11
maxlevelplayer530
This game is perfect for: casual gamers
The game was kinda short. If you like killing the cpu for fun, this is definitely your game. Had the story lasted longer and there be more to accomplish, it could be a 9 or 10. The games were great though. I still play once in a while.
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Sound: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Review 11 for Mario & Sonic at the Winter Olympic Games
OK
Overall Rating: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Gameplay: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Graphics: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Sound: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Posted on:8/20/11
nikkimel56
This game is perfect for: kid gamers
This game is ok but i think the wii version is MUCH funner than the ds version. this ds version could've had more inprovements added 2 the game, but its OK.
Overall Rating: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Gameplay: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Graphics: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Sound: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
2 of 2 found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Mario & Sonic at the Winter Olympic Games
Really fun game
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Posted on:6/4/11
cocacolakid298
Location: Kansas City, KS
This game is perfect for: casual gamers
This game has pretty much all of the real olympic events on it, as well as some made-up olympic games called 'Dream Events' there is also a story mode you can play which is really fun, and you cvan even race against people's ghosts from around the world! Also you can play against a friend. All and all a very fun game.
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Mario & Sonic at the Winter Olympic Games
about time!
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Gameplay: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Posted on:4/6/11
1012killer
Location: Atlanta, GA
this game is sort of like the summer olympics version (mario and sonic at the olympic games) with different events (all in the winter time) a storyline that gets cheesy because it involves rescuing snow spirits (which also happens to become too easy), graphics that could be improved for any ds game, and some new characters (4 of them). Here's the team roster if any of you forgot: Team Mario: Mario, Luigi, Peach, Bowser, Bowser Jr., Yoshi, Wario, Waliugi, Daisy, and Donkey Kong. Team Sonic: Sonic, Tails, Knuckles, Eggman, Amy Rose, Shadow, Metal Sonic, Blaze, Vector, and Silver.
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Gameplay: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
3 of 3 found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Mario & Sonic at the Winter Olympic Games
Mario & Sonic At The Winter Olympic Games
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Posted on:3/22/11
Disambiguation
Location: Minnesota
This game is perfect for: casual gamers
this game is really fun, there are tons of mini-games and ton of characters to choose from, it's just a blast to play.
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Review 15 for Mario & Sonic at the Winter Olympic Games
Great
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Gameplay: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Posted on:1/26/11
dolphinboy
This game is perfect for: kid gamers
This game has fun minigames but after you beat the game there is nothing else to do except sell it.
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Gameplay: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Mario & Sonic at the Winter Olympic Games
mario and sonic are going to vancouver!!!
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Gameplay: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Graphics: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Sound: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Posted on:11/26/10
burnout712
Location: Cherry Hill, NewJersey
This game is perfect for: casual gamers
The adventure starts with bowser and dr eggman taking all the snow away from areas and mario and sonic have to travel through different areas and do different events trying to find snowflakes to bring back the snow to the places.
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Gameplay: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Graphics: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Sound: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
4 of 6 found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Mario & Sonic at the Winter Olympic Games
NOT THAT GOOD
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 10
2 out of 10
Gameplay: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Graphics: 
3 out of 10
3 out of 10
Sound: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Posted on:11/25/10
coolkid27
Location: New york NY
I bought this game for myself and I played it for about a month and it got very, very boring. I got this game new for $35 and one month after I was conplaining to return it and My mom said no. If you unlock dream advents and play snowboarding and do half pipe it is so dome . I recamend that you do not waste your money on this!!!
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 10
2 out of 10
Gameplay: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Graphics: 
3 out of 10
3 out of 10
Sound: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
2 of 5 found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Mario & Sonic at the Winter Olympic Games
not bad.........
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:10/25/10
cooliopiedude101
Location: i like pie
This game is perfect for: party gamers
ok well first of all dont buy this game if u dont have a ds/dsi/ds lite or dsi xl obviously i dont think any1 would be that dumb but heres the main point. second, u GOTTA and i mean GOTTA have a pen that comes with the ds like the stylus that pen thingy, if u dont have that ull be stuck using ur finger or something, if u donnot have a pen lost it broke it etc, they sell a bunch at gamestop or anywhere else in varities of colors types everything so thats important. and 3, if ur the mario fan out there um u need this game, actually u can hate mario and still luv this game, im not obsessed with the dude, but i like like bowser bowser jr, they have all those dudes! its pretty cool how they created liek 20 characters so thats another up, but the con is if u dont like playing like winter olympic games on ur ds basically (snowboarding skating) then dont buy this game ull love it if u do like olympic things but dont if not i honestly think its a way if ur bored to pull it out and just play it for hours on end it has 3 minigames u can play multiplayer and this like adventure mode where u can like do all these things u go to different worlds with diff dudes and play different things so its a thing to pull out when ur bored so i recommend for the mario lover but not to the non mario luver or the nonolympic fan........just saying listen to me
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
3 of 4 found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Mario & Sonic at the Winter Olympic Games
Loved It
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Posted on:5/24/10
starburst
I Loved It. It was very fun. Loved it how they made it as Mario and Sonic. They also put all of the character from both games of Mario and Sonic. Even Bowser from Mario and Dr. Eggman from Sonic. Also it was cool that you got to pick what character you wanted to be. It was very cool that you could play some Olympic Winter Games. Like Snowboarding and skiing and other stuff too. Also you than had Dream Sports which were skiing but with like mushrooms and other creatures like the turtles. My favorite is Snowboarding and Ice Skating. Also wat is cool is that you can also do the half pipe. There is lots of different kinds of skiing such as Alpine skiing and cross country skiing. Then you can go on to a adventure and explore and take on differents missions to figure out wat is going on with the snow!!!
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Mario & Sonic at the Winter Olympic Games
Good game but...
Overall Rating: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Gameplay: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Graphics: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Posted on:11/25/09
Ezio1696
Mario & Sonic at the Olympic Winter Games is a good game once you get it. The events are fun and exciting but after a while they just get boring and old. Compared to the first one, this game seems to have less events than the original. One of the good and bad things about this game are 2 things. 1: they took out the challenges. from the first game, the challenges were sometimes hard but aaatleast entertaining and I was suprised to see them gone. 2: The adventure tours. It's actually a story mode when you can switch form playing as Mario or Sonic and you meet characters from the Sonic universe and Mario Universe. I won't tell you the story so you can find out for yourself. My point is that sometimes adventure tours can be extremely boring and you just want to do someting else. One of my favorite features in the game are the party games. They're just like event mode but with their own unique twist. Overall, this is a good game not great but good.
Overall Rating: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Gameplay: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Graphics: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
0 of 1 found this review helpful.
1 2 next>>