GameStop Ratings and Reviews

Shop Now At GameStop
Shop Software or
Choose a Category
Top Rated Product

Product Reviews

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at GameStop.

Cryostasis

Cryostasis takes place in 1981 on a nuclear ice breaker called the North Wind, which has become shipwrecked near the North Pole. The main character, Alexander Nesterov is a Russian meteorologist who must investigate what happened onboard the ship. But he's not alone and the North Wind is now plagued by dead crewmen who have undergone a bizarre metamorphosis due to the effects of the incredibly cold climate. Alexander must try to unravel the mystery of the ship captain's death and discover whether it was the cold or, possibly, something far more sinister...
Average Customer Rating:
7.286
7.3
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (8 reviews)
10 stars
3
9 stars
2
8 stars
0
7 stars
0
6 stars
0
5 stars
0
4 stars
0
3 stars
0
2 stars
1
1 star
1
5 out of 771%of reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Cryostasis
Review 1 for Cryostasis
Fun if you can play it.
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 10
2 out of 10
Gameplay: 
3 out of 10
3 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Posted on:5/17/09
jermus
This game is not compatible with Windows Vista x64, nor is it compatible with any mobile Graphics Cards except the 7600GT or the 7900GT-GTX. I tried playing it on my ASUS G50 gaming laptop and all it did was constantly crash and lag and basically shut down after a few seconds of playing. They should make people aware of this before selling the product, or just read closely at the back of the box if you do purchase it. The game itself seems very bioshockish, without all the fancy plasma and demented characters. Also folks remember this is s teen rated game so if your expecting a lot of grotesque language and blood then you may wanna go for something else. Well if the game would have worked it seemed worth the purchase but as i said its only compatible with those two OS. Sorry but most gaming rigs now use windows vista 64, someone should tell the company this.
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 10
2 out of 10
Gameplay: 
3 out of 10
3 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
2 of 2 found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Cryostasis
Great Game, Awesome story and graphics
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:9/13/09
Tornel
This has been one of the best single player shooters I've played in a long time. They have some really awesome hud effects (as long as your comp can do it, which mine can) that have to do with the cold environment. I love the story and it is very inventive in the way it's told. The mental echo is a great technique they use to that effect. To the guy who said it doesn't work with vista x64, you are wrong, I got it on day one and it works just fine (no patches still to this point, which is amazing for a game now adays). It even works with release candidate of 7 x64, so it is some other compatibility issue you are having. I don't know how you can say it has no story, since the entire point of the game is to explain what happened to the ship, and does so through various flashbacks and the mental echo ability (seriously the guy must be insane). I loved the story and the game has one of the coolest final bosses I have seen in a game. I highly recommend this game, both for the amazing graphics (which hopefully you can run it max like I can) and the great story and neat environments.
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Review 3 for Cryostasis
Not Bioshock, but still good.
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Posted on:4/29/09
CMD
Cryostasis is a survival/horror game unlike any other you will see. It has some very innovative elements, such as the "mental echo" ability where you get to see what the dead saw right before they croaked. While in the echo state you can correct the dead's mistakes and hopefully release their spirit (while finding answers to the game's burning questions). Graphics are top notch, but the game is a bit of a resource hog. To get the most out of it you will need a multicore processor and a couple gigs of ram. You might have to turn off the AF and AA as well. The water effects, snow, and frost all look amazing. The other good thing about this game is that it has no DRM whatsoever. No CD key, no online activation, no Securom, no nothin'. You don't even need the disc in the drive to play. For the price, you should give this a try.
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
0 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Cryostasis
OMG BUY IT!
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:4/23/09
werock22
I just bought the american version after beating the russian version and i'd just like to say this is the best horror game i've ever played. Walking down dark corridors and getting shot at by mutated crew members and the corpses of crewman killed by the mutants. The graphics are by far one of the most noticeable pros of the game. When you move into a room that has a light switch you will probably want to warm up otherwise you will freeze to death the system of staying warm and fighting for your life is so fun. When you get into the ship you have nothing but a chain pad lock that you had with you. Then you will slowly progress unraveling the story of the murdered crew and the mutants and how they became. You can also become one of the murdered crew members and go back and save their lives and they seem to disappear from the game world but its not as easy as it seems you be confronted with mutants that will be hostile. Mind you that the monsters don't just engage you in combat they may run behind you and push you and make you stumble. Or maybe your swimming and they will swim up and grab onto your dive suit and then just swim away which really adds to the feeling of the game. I would definitely spend **$ on this.
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Review 5 for Cryostasis
OMG... save your money!!
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Gameplay: 
4 out of 10
4 out of 10
Graphics: 
2 out of 10
2 out of 10
Sound: 
2 out of 10
2 out of 10
Posted on:5/5/09
Jupiter
This is horrible. Heck, I have played games like Crysis, UT, Quake, FEAR, etc. --- this game is terrible. There is absolutely no storyline. The graphics are extremely poor. You start off in a froze ship and you walk around for 15min looking for something to do... you do find bodies that just appear and then it breaks you off to experience some guy being pulled on a dog slid and falling through a break in the ice --- all the time you are thinking WHAT IN THE WORLD is going on. Before all of this... you get a goofy story about some band of people that were being poisoned by a lake and they could not retreat away from it and decided to sit by the fire and contemplate their death... again utterly stupid! I am running a Alienware X15x system fully spec'd out... this game looked like a cheap college dropout's worse nightmare for computer programming. I am sorry, I have never given such a terrible review of any game... but this one is a real stinker! The only thing I can think of is that the other guys that rated this a 9 out of 10 must be the producers looking to try to recoup some of their losses on this game. Please... if you don't believe me, just try it out for yourself and when you are uninstalling all 4.5GB of junk... please remember I told you so!
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Gameplay: 
4 out of 10
4 out of 10
Graphics: 
2 out of 10
2 out of 10
Sound: 
2 out of 10
2 out of 10
0 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Cryostasis
Rebirth of horror shooter
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:3/13/10
Soloreaper
Personally, i have to admit the hardware requirements of this game and its support of multi-core systems was lax. The game doesn't utilize multiple cores properly at least the last time i played it and was listed on forums, this leads to less than optimal performance on systems well over the recommended specs. Running a 3.0 quad core phenom, 8 gigs of ram, raid 1, with dual ati 4850's and I only maintained in the range of 23-30 frames a second running 1600x1200 res with everything turned up except for motion blur and sm 4.0 and hardware phys off. The game has an excellent atmosphere more designed around letting you experience the awe of the ships deterioration and atmosphere rather than focusing mainly on the shooting element which seems to be less of a concern in modern shooters. There is a Russian tale that is told throughout the game in the form of pages you find throughout the ship that are narrated by an older woman, probably the only part I wasn't necessarily fully on-board with in that it isn't quickly tie-able to the games storyline. The combat in this game is decent but nothing extraordinary, the stamina and life bars in this game are solely based off of the heat you can find in the game via pipes, fires, and warm electric components. Ammunition is given enough to not freak one out but on par with a survival horror in that you don't drown in it, you may even have plenty if you get savvy enough to swap out for a melee weapon occasionally which is a bit awkward to say the least. The basis of the games idea such as you moving throughout the ship slowly restoring its life by changing the past and clearing its evil inhabitants is very entertaining as each persons demise was different and interesting as is living out their final moments and saving their spirits restoring warmth and the ship along with it. I found the timing of the games difficulty rather interesting, in that the second you seem to have a handle on things they throw a new enemy at you. The game constantly changes in the many different areas, nothing quite seems like old news, with the chilly atmosphere it feels fresh and interesting right to the end "which is excellent by the way". It took me a few runs through the game to truly grasp the concept of the truth in the game in how much your character is truly doing for the ship and himself as you cleanse the ship. This game is excellent and it blew me away even as an avid fan of every horror game I can find. Definitely worth the price, if you have a system that can play this game I highly recommend it but if you don't have the system requirements the game just wont feel as good if it stutters
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Cryostasis
Good game
Posted on:4/22/09
JimK
Dislikes: Let me start with the bad first. The graphics are a bit unstable for even a high end system. I’m running a quad core extreme with a pair of 2gig DDR2-1066 memory and (2) Nvidia GXS 250 1gig in SLI configuration. I was able to max out the graphics but only to a resolution of about 1200x. At times the game will get pretty sluggish with my frame rates dropping down into the teens. There is a lot going on graphic wise, because the development team has done a pretty good job of using many of the DX10 special effects as ice freezes and thaws on your visor as you enter warmer environments in the ship. I say this because sometimes the distortion of your vision could be manifested as game slowness but it’s really not. Some of the cut scenes are a bit corny in the acting department, but most of the time the game plays out like a B thriller movie (which isn’t a bad thing in the gaming industry as bad acting is pretty much the norm anymore). Likes: Ok now with what I loved about the game. The sound effects! The sounds in this game will not only bring you right into the environment, but at times will scare the living crap out of you. It reminds me of the first time I played FEAR all alone in the dark.. The graphics, aside for what I mentioned in the dislikes are wonderful and completely realistic even further submersing you into the story. I loved the puzzles and flashbacks into the history of the ship. All in all I really enjoyed the game and it was well worth the money spent. Note: This is a very slow type paced FPS. It was designed that way. If you’re looking for a game with 5k kills per minute, then this game probably won’t do much for you.
Review 8 for Cryostasis
An amazing experiace that shows games acan be art
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:5/26/12
Chroma
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
Cryostasis: The Sleep of Reason
Developer: Action forms
Publisher: 1C company, 505 games, Aspyr Media (NA)
Version: 1.1 reviewed
Platform: PC
Modes: Single-Player
Genre: FPS/Survival Horror
Release Dates: NA April 20, 2009
DRM Free on DVD
Cryostasis is an amazing Russian survival horror/FPS that was lucky to be released in Europe and North America. Not often do game like this reach American shores or even into Europe. The game is very story focused in that you want to play this game more for the story than game play. That is not to say that the game play is bad, it's great. The graphics are also an amazing that immerses you into the environment to make you feel like you are there. Read on to learn more about this amazing game.
Story:
The story is about a meteorologist named Alexander Nesterov that is sent to the Arctic Circle to investigate a Russian ice breaker trapped in the ice. Things go terribly wrong when his sled falls into a pit of ice and must take shelter in the ship. As you investigate the ship you will find bodies that can change the fate of the people. During these segments you will learn more about what happened on the ship and how they all died. You will also learn the four most important people in of the crew. The captain, the commander, the security officer, and the chief engineer. During the game you will find pages of a Russian story called “The Flaming Heart of Danko” by Maxim Gorky, that relates to the main plot.
The game does a very good job with the story as it is not cliche written or simplistic good and bad. Their characters are complicated and have their faults that leads to the situation they are in. They are written as imperfect human beings that can be liked despite the bad choices they may make. The past segments really had me caring for the crew and feeling sorry for the predicament they were in. It lead to me to being compelled to do a good job to save everyone. It also does a good job in showing how the crew was handling things and what they experienced that you could care for them despite being nameless. I wish could learn more about the generic crew members and how they felt. The story is complicated and confusing at first that can take a second play-through to piece everything together. It will make sense in the end with no loose holes in the story and a satisfying ending. To me the story is some of the best I have seen in gaming.
Game play:
The game is in first person where at first 1/3 of the game you will be using melee weapons until you get a firearm. I should talk about the meters on the bottom left corner of the screen. The small red meter is your health which can be recharged by being warmed up by heat. The big red meter is the heat meter which will recharge your health to a certain amount. The yellow bar on your meter is your stamina bar which affects how many attacks you can do in a session and how long you can run. There are not too many times where you need to run though, you can save your stamina for melee weapons or a quick doge when needed. The heavier the melee weapon, the more stamina will be used and the longer the attack animation will be. You can do combos and attack differently depending on what direction you move while attacking. Guns don't use stamina but are old, have no cross hairs, and reload slowly. You can look down the iron sites to aim accurately though. The bolt action rifles and the semi-auto rifle fire slowly, and the SMG uses a lot of ammo to kill someone. There is a water gun you get halfway through the game if you instal the patch that is quite a game breaker as it stuns the enemy while you hurt them and you can get plenty of ammo in the form of icicles.
The game is linear with 18 chapters to complete. During the game you will come across bodies which you can jump in to change their past before they died. These segments are generally easy though you can't save in the middle of them. Some of them are difficult where you need to really pay attention in order to get through. The monsters you face are strange and unusual with some being creepy. Two of the SMG monsters will scare you when they come out in surprise. They are strong and very dangerous and killed me a few times when I was caught off guard. You will mainly face monster one at a time with with a few that come out with three at once. Many of the levels are long and difficult with the last 3 levels being very short. The game took me about 16 hours to complete. It never felt tedious to me and always compelled me to continue on. It isn't optimized for multiple cores so it can struggle on even high end systems.
Graphics:
The graphics in Cryostasis are amazing. Even on the lowest setting they are very detailed where it can be hard to notice the differences at first glance. On the highest setting, they are amazing with realistic water effects and ice freezing. The water flows in a realistic way when thawing that it can look real. The way the ice crumbles to pieces is neat as you see the little pieces fall part on to the ground and stay there and can be adjusted too in the ini settings. The animations for enemies look very natural and feel real and smooth that even your own fighting animations can be timed in rhythm. If you play the game with PhysX on, the graphical effects are even more amazing. PhysX didn't seem to support anything below shader 4.0 with no window mode. This game has a reputation of having some of the best graphics, comparable with Crysis on the PC.
Sound:
There is no music in the game and it's all atmospheric effects. This can create an uneasiness to the atmosphere when exploring the environment an helps keep you in the mood no matter what you are doing. So even combat does not ruin the horror but adds to the tension. The sound effects are great from the blowing of the wind, to the power turning on, to the swoosh of a weapon swing. The gun sounds are authentic and sound powerful like you are using a real gun. The voice acting for the game is surprisingly good even if it is in English. The Russian accents are not silly where they will ruin the atmosphere but sound possibly like what a real Russian person speaking English would sound.
Conclusion:
I really enjoyed playing Cryostasis. The story is amazingly written with complex and human characters that make mistakes. It avoids the stereotypical and cliche good vs evil and shallow NPC's that feel artificial. The graphics in the game are really amazing no matter what the settings they are on. The water and ice effects seem very realistic and impressive. You can get this game on steam or you can find it DRM free as a physical copy somewhere. Overall, I would recommend this game to experience great atmosphere and story.
Highlights:
Amazing Story
Story focused game
Story can be confusing at first
Graphics are technically amazing
No Music, just atmospheric effects
Recommended to those that want a good story game
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10