GameStop Ratings and Reviews

Shop Now At GameStop
Shop Software or
Choose a Category
Most Popular Products
Top Rated Product

Product Reviews

Bioshock 2

Set approximately 10 years after the events of the original BioShock, the halls of Rapture once again echo with sins of the past. Along the Atlantic coastline, a monster has been snatching little girls and bringing them back to the undersea city of Rapture. You are the very first Big Daddy as you travel through the decrepit and beautiful fallen city, chasing an unseen foe in search of answers and your own survival.
Average Customer Rating:
7
7
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (11 reviews)
10 stars
1
9 stars
3
8 stars
1
7 stars
1
6 stars
1
5 stars
0
4 stars
0
3 stars
1
2 stars
1
1 star
0
6 out of 967%of reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Bioshock 2
Review 1 for Bioshock 2
more of the same? hardly.
Posted on:1/28/10
Millor
Alot of people are saying not alot is changing from bioshock 1, if that we're the case... who cares, its a great game and will still last another sequal. But what more is there to add to this game? The combat works great and trying to change it to much would probly ruin it. Taking the role of a big daddy with a drill and rivet gun is a great change of pace. It will be easier to kill enemies, but now splicers are going to gather in larger numbers to try to take you down, meaning weaker enemies (still quite deadly), but bigger, more frantic fights. and the addition of big sisters and splicer brutes will still give you tougher enemies in smaller fights. New weapons, plasmids and the addition of being able to use a weapon with one hand a plasmid in the other should provide all new strategies. Multiplayer has been added, allowing you to rank up, unlock new weapons, plasmids, and tonics in 5 diffrent multiplayer modes. Multiplayer being good or not, definately worth getting.
Review 2 for Bioshock 2
Great Game
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Posted on:7/8/11
Sakeykinz
Location: Florida
This game is perfect for: casual gamers
I bought this game at a low price for my pc and it installed perfectly everyone saying it doesn't install, is either your doing something wrong or you suck at putting discs in a comp. I have a okay comp and i can play the game with high graphics i recently got an alienware comp which is windows 7 and it still works perfectly. I don't know why it isnt work maybe your computers aren't good even if you have windows 7 doesn't mean its a great computer.
Okay now talking about the game, it is a great game i liked this one but i have to admit with alot of people the first one really grabbed me and i had alot of fun don't get me wrong i love bioshock 2 also but i love the first one more. The game had great graphics beautiful scenery as when you can get to actually go in the water its pretty cool. I like the new camera feature in here where you dont have to refill the film which i liked even though in the first one you could buy it, i still like have unlimited of film. I give bioshock a 8/10
HAVE FUN AND KEEP THOSE TRIGGER FINGERS GOING!!!!
-Sakeykinz
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Review 3 for Bioshock 2
Bioshock, worth the money and the sleepless nights
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Posted on:11/3/10
TheArtOfRuin0
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
Bioshock is one of those rare stellar games that comes out once a year if you're lucky. There are very few bad things I could say about this game and none of them make me regret purchasing, or even playing, the game. The main aspect I’ll focus on in this review is the connection between plot and gameplay. Many games seem to lack any connection between the two. In most games there’s a sequence: cut scene, game play, cut scene. You perform a mission that initiates a cut scene with little to no connection to the mission you just completed. This is repeated over and over again with minor variations. Gameplay can be fun, but in these games it’s separate from plot. Bioshock is the polar opposite. Because plot information is given to you during gameplay in Bioshock, there are no such divisions between missions. Game play and plot are not two separate entities. They are almost seamlessly woven together throughout the game in ways you won’t completely understand until you complete the game. They are integrated very well so the player stays engaged and still gets a large amount of information on Rapture and what the character is doing there. First off, there are very few cut scenes. Most “cut scenes” take place by sealing your character in a room while something is shown or someone talks to you. You retain control of your character during most of these but cannot move on until they are done. Also a large amount of plot information can be found through the environment. The developers use everything from audio diaries to corpses to rubble to give you some background information on Rapture. Also, the objectives you complete are directly related to the plot. There are no filler missions to add gameplay time or something to do between cut scenes. The developers even manage to make the restrictions of game play into a plot element. They do a wonderful job of feeding you information about the plot during actual game play. This makes the game flow much better than many other games. It also helps you stay immersed in the game world. The game rarely rests control of your character from hands and even when it does there is a very good reason for it. Overall, this is one of the best games I have ever played. I was hesitant to purchase it because I’m not a fan of scary games, but I’m glad I did. Bioshock is worth both the money and the sleepless nights. I recommend this game to all.
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
4 of 4 found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Bioshock 2
Worth it
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Posted on:2/16/10
rallymonkey12
Good: This game has a really great ending to the game, I won't give it away now, but you will be very surprised. The multi-player is a great new aspect of the game. The animation is fantastic, just like the original. Bad: The game doesn't allow you to use a controller making you use the mouse which takes a lot of getting used to. The entire game has a lot of lag on it especially during multi-player and during action scenes. The multi-player needs you to level up a lot until you can get a weapon that will actually kill somebody. And the storyline doesn't start getting good until about 10 hours into the game. Conclusion: This is a good game that is worth the buy especially if you are a fan of the original bioshock and because it has amazing visuals and a lot more weapons/plasmids to use than the original bioshock. This game also gives you a new multi-player aspect of the game that is really fun if you have patience with the lag and the fact that you have to level up to around 10 in order to have any chance against the other players. All in all, get this game it's worth it.
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Review 5 for Bioshock 2
Did not live up to it's predecessor
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:3/3/10
Hoggmeiser
I purchased the game as a bundle containing both Bioshock as well as the sequel. My plan was to completely beat the first game, then immediately play the second, so the story remained fresh in my head. As always, the environment, graphics, storyline, and gameplay were all excellent, very much so living up to the first one. Where the game took a course for the worst was (1) in the strange change to the controls from the first one, (2) they changed the way to hack, seemed easier to me, not a big issue though, and finally (3) the game was much shorter than the first. I'll admit, it took me a few days to get through the first one, probably totaling 12+ hours of continuous play. I was able to knock it's sequel out in about 5 or so continuous hours of gameplay. All in all, excellent game. Would definitely recommend purchase, especially if you beat the first one. A+
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Review 6 for Bioshock 2
Great! when it Works...
Overall Rating: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Posted on:3/27/10
glamdrig2000
This is a game that I really do enjoy. It has a a great storyline as well as as good character handling. It is every bit an atmospheric thriller as the first but even more fun and in depth. This would be a great game if it wasnt for one problem, and a large one it is too. This game simply WONT WORK FOR PC. You can start the game up and play for some time and then randomly and without warning the game will cause the computer to crash so bad that CTRL, ALT,DEL wont even work. My system is definately way past the requirements for this game and I never had this problem with other games far more graphically advanced than this game. My case is hardly an isolated one with so many other people with the same problems shown on the games forums. so bad and often is the crashing that I believe that this game was not even beta tested. If you are lucky and it does not crash on you then you will have a fun game with lots of rewarding challenges. Good luck! As far as graphics are concerned, they are not bad but there is definately room for improvement. I believe that the graphics are the same as the first but considering the distance of time between the two and after factoring in the delay in bringing out the second game I feel that the game should have significantly better graphics. Overall, if beta testing was actually done and more patches were released i would give a much higher rating. Good luck if you buy this, but i would suggest waiting until the kinks are ironed out.
Overall Rating: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
3 of 5 found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Bioshock 2
for $10 it's alright. Crashes really kill it...
Overall Rating: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Gameplay: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Posted on:7/26/11
Tylerkills0012
Location: Myrtle Beach, SC
After playing the first Bioshock, I expected alot from the second game even though the original developer was not designing the game. I was somewhat let down.
Graphics:
The textures load slow like most Unreal Engine (Except Bioshock 1) games which sucks since I never had this problem with the first game. The do load quickly when you get near the texture but it still sucks to look at from a distant. Alo many textures are low res and up close can appear ugly and blurry.
Gameplay:
The game responds well to a keyboard and mouse but the game constantly crashes randomly. This is a big let down due to the fact they have had patches released for the game. This should had been fixed.
Multiplayer:
Multiplayer is alright. It supports internal mics which is nice but Games for Windows Live does not support party chat like its Xbox 360 counter part so don't expect much . The gameplay online is problebly the best part of the game.
All in all if you can deal with random crashes, slow loaidng textures, and your graphics card can handle DirectX 10 and you liked the first game then you will want to play this but if your looking for an amazing game experience this is not for you...
Overall Rating: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Gameplay: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
0 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Bioshock 2
Very Good!
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:2/14/10
Rplix
Very good game. The story was easy to follow and had a lot of meaning with it. Multiplayer is very fun also, even though it has some bugs. The game took me about 7 hours to fully complete on easy. I hope to beat the game 5 more times to unlock the other alternate endings. The end was not what I expected (wont give it away) and left me wanting more. There are no major bosses in Bioshock 2 which made the game slightly boring. The multiplayer is fun. I really like the leveling system they have for it and the unlockables including new plasmids, guns, and tonics that you can get for leveling up. They highest level you can achieve is around 40 and takes effort to get that high. The leveling process is fast which makes it more fun. The only bad thing is the lag on some servers, but that's the case in any multiplayer game. Overall, Bioshock 2 was definitely worth the wait. I would still prefer the first game since the story makes you think more, which I enjoy. The transition between the first and second game stories was easy to follow and made more sense once you play the game for awhile. Great game and can't wait for the next Bioshock they put in our way. Pros: Great Story, good graphics, easy controls, awesome multiplayer. Cons: Short game (6-9 hours), not very hard game-wise.
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Review 9 for Bioshock 2
why u shouldn't get it for the pc
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 10
2 out of 10
Gameplay: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Graphics: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:7/1/11
droid364
Location: la
well i now that this is a good game but all am saying is that u dont buy it for pc because u cant even install it i tried to put it in but it didnt even work so just dont buy this for pc
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 10
2 out of 10
Gameplay: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Graphics: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
1 of 9 found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Bioshock 2
Everything shows it to be good but...
Posted on:1/23/10
SirAllred
Doesn't look like much has advanced from the original title, which could either be a blessing or a curse that 2K isn't taking this game too seriously to not just make a complete re-hash.
0 of 2 found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Bioshock 2
not worth it
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 10
3 out of 10
Gameplay: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Graphics: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Sound: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Posted on:6/12/11
tacoTACO
Location: new york, ny
This game is perfect for: casual gamers
this game wouldnt even work on my windows 7 and i just spent 20 dollars on it what a waste
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 10
3 out of 10
Gameplay: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Graphics: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Sound: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
0 of 1 found this review helpful.
Comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
killmnobill357
ALBUQUERQUE NM
 
Please wait while more information about killmnobill357 is loaded.
Additional information about killmnobill357 could not be loaded.
Posted 7/7/11
u can play bioshock on winws 7
Comments (1)
Comment (1)