GameStop Ratings and Reviews

Shop Now At GameStop
Shop Software or
Choose a Category
Top Rated Product

Product Reviews

Mass Effect 2

Two years after Commander Shepard repelled invading Reapers bent on the destruction of organic life, a mysterious new enemy has emerged. On the fringes of known space, something is silently abducting entire human colonies. Now Shepard must work with Cerberus, a ruthless organization devoted to human survival at any cost, to stop the most terrifying threat mankind has ever faced. To even attempt this perilous mission, Shepard must assemble the galaxy's most elite team and command the most powerful ship ever built. Even then, they say it would be suicide. Commander Shepard intends to prove them wrong.
Average Customer Rating:
7.583
7.6
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (19 reviews)
10 stars
7
9 stars
1
8 stars
1
7 stars
0
6 stars
0
5 stars
0
4 stars
0
3 stars
0
2 stars
1
1 star
2
8 out of 1267%of reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Mass Effect 2
Review 1 for Mass Effect 2
Wow, surprisingly good!
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Posted on:7/18/11
obnxchs
Location: Monterey, CA
First off, I don't write reviews because most of what is written has been paid for, not in this case. I bought this game from a friends recommendation so if you are on the fence about it maybe this will help. The interface is easy to deal with, I liked the conversation options, game crashed once and I just adjusted down my video options to get past it, fortunately it was a very small amount of gameplay and then readjusted my video back to the max it was at originally. Got through to the end and now on my second run. Make sure you go to every galaxy and explore every planet, might get a little tideous but worth it for the salvage, upgrades and credits, and the creators spent a lot of time designing the star systems, etc. so worth the time just for that. Make sure you have the minimum recommendations for you PC before you buy, I do and other than the small glitch I stated above I had no problems. Save before you do a bypass or a hack in case it only gives you the one chance to interact with terminal during gameplay and make sure you get the extra time upgrades for both so you don't have make so many save points. Not a hardcore gamer, this game will make you lose track of time, don't stress if you die alot, it is fun experience and there are plenty of walkthrough sites to help. Good luck.
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
3 of 3 found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Mass Effect 2
Very good game! Bioware really did it this time!
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Graphics: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Sound: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:3/25/11
Anonymous
Location: Vancouver, BC
This game is perfect for: casual gamers
Very good game, downloaded the demo, tried it, worked like a charm! Even though it wasn't for Windows 7 operating system, it ran smoothly with barely noticeable lag. Although it wasn't the full version, I was still really satisfied with the performance, it features 2 action-packed levels and a basiclly unlimeted amount of customization options and choice making. If you have played the first game, it would be easier to understand the plot, even though it is still very easy to pick up and play. As I am very satisfied with the demo, I can only imagine what the full game is like! BioWare, you never disappoint me!
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Graphics: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Sound: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
3 of 3 found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Mass Effect 2
VERY BIG GAME!
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Posted on:2/3/10
Clintonsbn
This game starts off with a bang and keeps you asking for more even after the end. So many systems, planets, aliens, stories, and battles to explore will keep you entertained and infused into the amazing adventures of our good old Commander Shepherd and his expansive crew, containing some familiar faces and very interesting new ones that you go recruiting for your new suicide mission. Fighting enemies with an upgraded battle system keeps you looking for new ways to kill many waves of enemies using the different classes available and some new weapons. Using your biotech you can launch enemies into the air and shoot them as they fall/fly slowly towards the ground. Commanding your teammates to move to different positions in real-time or use a quick menu that pauses the game giving you full control to tell them to move to a vantage point and at the same time tell them to attack a specific enemy with their weapon or biotech power while they move. As Shepherd you get a 1-9 customizable action bar in which you can use your own powers, or swap your elemental ammo type. Enemies have a fairly expansive AI, and they do try to out flank you any chance they get, all the while they have some of the same weapons and biotech powers as you do. Throughout the game the boss encounters are challenging yet rewarding, knowing when to conserve ammunition, kill waves of enemies to get more ammo clips, use biotech powers, blow up cans full of explosives, turn enemies against themselves... will get you through the battles alive with your team and racking up on the rewards. With Bioware and their awesome 'choose your story' style storyline gives so many different paths to take, big decision choices that will effect the outcome of the game, and relationships with your crew including romantic ones. Aside from it the base story is yet again the path to saving the galaxy from certain destruction. Huge plot twists and interesting characters with great background stories which again interact with more choices you make to help your team get through their loose ends before embarking on your suicide mission. The love stories which you can get into are more in depth and realistic than what I found in ME1, you play the part and it makes you feel that you are the one living the story thanks to the many choices that you have. Exploring new planets and finding materials to upgrade your weapons, ship, armor, biotech etc. got a little easier, kind of fun, and a little repetitive, but farming these really makes the difference especially when the prices for upgrading get really expensive. While scanning planets, sometimes you will find that there is a distress beacon of some sort, or radio transmissions that you find and go exploring new areas that earn you money, experience, and materials. With over a hundred planets or space stations, there's the good old little bio that every single one gets with neat bits of information from how old it is, the science, minerals, specs etc. to read and learn some neat stuff that Bioware spent the time to As long as you have the requirements to run the game, it seems to run very smoothly and looks incredible. The machine I have was able to run the game on maximum (specs below). The cut-scenes are better than most movies. Gun play and biotech-powers all look great. Artwork of all the planets, the the environments, space stations and the various races all look very detailed and well done. I don't think there was anything that could be done better at this moment except for Shepherds facial expressions, they're the only thing that looks odd at times, but its never a big deal since there's so much else to not worry about. All in all, anyone who enjoys any kind of game should not pass up playing Mass Effect 2.
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
6 of 6 found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Mass Effect 2
Wonderful
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:1/27/10
Mac82
This game starts with a bang. I won't spoil anything for those who haven't played it, but you get right in to the story. The cutscenes are smooth and the graphics are outstanding. The controls give you a little bit of a learning curve. One of the best parts is that you don't have to play ME1 in order to get up to speed with the plot of this story. The character interactions in the beginning are full of gap-fillers. Being able to customize your look, the pre-order armors, and the array of weapons are fantastic. I have not played too much in to the game thus far, as I only got it last night, but so far it's been fantastic. Make sure you have a good graphics processor or you are just robbing yourself of the beauty of this game. My only complaint with the game is that the load times can be excrutiating. My computer is well above the recommended specs, but it just takes a while and you are left strumming your thumbs.
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Review 5 for Mass Effect 2
Wicked Sick!
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Posted on:2/1/11
LiquidZero
Location: New Albany, IN
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
After the completion of the first game in this trilogy, I found that the default keys for game-play were better positioned than the first. The graphics were pretty cool, too! The ability to import your ME1 character was an added bonus. The fact that the outcome of this and the first Mass Effect games could have a drastic effect on the third make it seem like I'm a kid reading a "Choose-your-own-adventure" book again!
 
My Product Recommendations
Mass Effect
9.2 out of 10(30)
 
 
 
 
Mass Effect 2 Official Strategy Guide
10 out of 10(2)
 
 
 
 
 
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
2 of 2 found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Mass Effect 2
Great game
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:2/1/10
Captain Queeg
I haven’t completed the game yet but I have already made plans to create new characters and play different paths. I would have to say the story line is very well done. I find myself playing to simply advance the store and interact with other characters. They really gave the game a great atmosphere and it is very easy to get caught up in the evolving storyline. Because you have direct control over how the story plays out it gives the game significant replay value. I only wish the overall story took a bit longer to evolve. It’s hard to enjoy a drink in a bar when you know a human colony was just whipped out and it’s your job to investigate. I like that fact the Normandy itself is upgradeable. It gives you a good reason to explore the galaxy and look for supplies. I find the battles somewhat predictable in that walking into a large room spells an ambush, narrow hallways means intense shootouts and when you find a heavy weapon ammo create it’s typically a good time to use a heavy weapon. It is somewhat disappointing that you have so many options when dealing with characters and the story but most battles play out basically the same. You run shoot up the place and get to a point where you may or may not have a choice. That is not say the battle are not fun, I had some great die hard shootouts it’s just predictable. Keep in mind I have played this game for hours and if not for having to work today I would be playing it now. In the end I would say this game is very very well done. Just wish the story took a little longer evolve and combat provided some alternatives instead of the run and gun. I greatly recommend this game!
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
2 of 2 found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Mass Effect 2
Suspect ME2 to be as gender friendly & awesome as ME1
Posted on:10/17/09
Nimbus
Not only was ME1 a great RPG, but it was not insulting to female gamers. You could play as female Commander Shepherd, AND without the scantily clad uniform choices most games force you to wear, (IF you are even permitted to play as a female, the majority of games do not allow you to play a female lead character). I highly recommend ME1 if you are a serious female gamer, (you will love it!), and I have no doubt ME2 will live up to the same expectations, since you can upload Commander Shepherd from ME1, or start again! Distance high 5 to the developers and looking forward to ME2 action!!!
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Mass Effect 2
First time playing Mass Effect... pretty cool game
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Posted on:9/1/11
Cass164
Location: Greenville, NC
I have seeing this game and just looked over it i finally decided to go buy it and after playing it for 8 hours I have come to the conclusion that this game is truly on its own league in other words is a hybrid. This game is like Star Wars mixed with a FPS... the story line pulls you right in from the beginning... the gameplay is nice a lot of options and customizable items... graphics are very good... overall i would recommend this game to any one
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Mass Effect 2
Most complete story telling I've seen in a game
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:12/22/10
Bailyn
Location: Bellingham, WA
This game is perfect for: casual gamers
Aside from a punk choosing to rate this game as a one everyone I have seen or talked to considers this among the best pure stories in game form. It took me a bit to adjust to the new interface but minor complaints aside, this game is so immersive that I find myself playing it over and over to explore all the possible permutations of the story arc. The DLC add ons expand and enrich the playing experience.
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
3 of 6 found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Mass Effect 2
ME2=AWESOME
Posted on:1/22/10
Anonymous
Just finished playing through the first two levels. PURE AWESOME. And before you say it, yeah, it is out :)
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Mass Effect 2
Darker Is Better
Posted on:1/26/10
Sandman208
As you might know, Bioware does not make bad games. Heck, most of their games are pure gold. Baldur's Gate, Knights of the Old Republic and Jade Empire to name a few. However, although the first one was an INCREDIBLE game it played like an RPG that happened to use a shooter combat system. No more. Mass Effect 2 plays like a shooter RPG elements. This is a great move by Bioware since they just released a pure RPG. Different setting, different combat system. Additionally, this game has a darker feel and a much less predictable story. The first one felt like a retro sci-fi game. This one feels like the darker sci-fi of the Dune series. Oh and you should definitely pick the first one up to support your save... The default decisions are HORRID
Review 12 for Mass Effect 2
I love the game and almost made out with the endin
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:3/12/11
JonnnyL98
This game is perfect for: casual gamers
The game was absolutely wonderful. I loved how it made you think with twists and turns that all can condemn our save your mission. BioWare really doesn't let on that if you kill some random Krogan your ship will have a heart attack(not really but you get the idea). I also loved how you could choose to use your save from ME1 which was wonderful. I would recommend this to everyone who likes a good game.
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
1 of 2 found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Mass Effect 2
Very difficult unless...you know "1"
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 10
2 out of 10
Gameplay: 
2 out of 10
2 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Posted on:5/27/11
Shagularpus
Location: Sacramento
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
I bought this game with no experience with either game (Mass Effect 1 and 2). Big mistake!
The creators seem to have assumed that everyone would be familiar with the original game.
Been playing for 25+ hours and I've only managed to recruit one character.
It is on the basic/easy level but keep on dying.
Everyone says how great it is and the wonderful ending and all. Yeah right!!!
How are you supposed to see all those great things if you cant get anywhere? Guess I could check You Tube videos.
WHAT A COLOSSAL WASTE OF MONEY!
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 10
2 out of 10
Gameplay: 
2 out of 10
2 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
2 of 55 found this review helpful.
Comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
Anonymous
Posted 2/25/12
So you don't like the game because you are bad at it? It's really not that hard.
Comments (1)
Comment (1)
Review 14 for Mass Effect 2
Whoooo
Posted on:4/15/09
Caman
Whooooooo I can't believe it Mass Effect 2. I have waited for so long for it. This game is going to be topnotch, the dialouge interface is going to be simaliar to the original so no fears. Also new weapons. Also to those people who have played the original the developers made it so that all your choices from the first game will be transferred over. For those who haven't you will have the choice at the beggining to make what happened in the first game.
Review 15 for Mass Effect 2
Can't Wait!
Posted on:8/30/09
Anonymous
I've been waiting for this one for a long time now and from what I can gather from the E3 trailer and the GC trailer, this will easily be a candidate for game of the year next yr (or when it is released). Along with Blizzard, Bioware's capacity to churn out incredibly easy to play but immersive games with an unrivalled depth of story means that I'll be pre-ordering the CE/SE of the game the instant that it's announced.
Review 16 for Mass Effect 2
Can't play as Turian/Asari?
Posted on:7/31/09
Prosthetics
I must say, a big disappointment for me and my friends would be that we all really liked the Turians, but were bummed that we could never play as them (unless you modded files to play looking like Garrus). This game still seems to be that way, you will only be able to play as Sheppard again (with the ability to do facial modifications). If that is the case, my hype about this game dropped about 80%.
Review 17 for Mass Effect 2
mass feller!
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Gameplay: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Graphics: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Sound: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Posted on:10/2/11
pacmanlover
Location: USA
BORING CLOD NOT INTERACTIFE game play and worlds Saning planits is boring the Vecills are hard to drive and boring! all u do is wach cut seans and pick whait to say its boring the story is awfull AND wired! the shoting is cuncey and hard to talk cover its not good at all its boring! I MISS THE JRPGS OF OLD! so boring and over rated a wast of mony! :) :( :)
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Gameplay: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Graphics: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Sound: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
2 of 73 found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Mass Effect 2
Avoid at ALL costs.
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Gameplay: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Graphics: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Sound: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Posted on:11/6/10
BHTrellis
I bought this game a few months ago hoping it would be like the first one, sans the bad battle engine. I wish I could go back in time and stop myself from wasting the money on this pile of garbage. The only improvement is the battle engine and that wasn't enough to save it. After 4 reinstalls, that's how many tries I gave it, I simply could NOT bear to play this waste of money.
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Gameplay: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Graphics: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Sound: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
1 of 66 found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Mass Effect 2
A game worth waiting for
Posted on:1/11/10
)(Jon)(
IF you liked ME1, or Star Wars Knights of the Old Republic, you will prob love this game because i loved both and they made em. Also for people that want that nice looking armor i think you can only get it if you download the game. But to be warned from the experience from those other 2 games that i mentioned were pretty slow paced at times.