GameStop Ratings and Reviews

Shop Now At GameStop
Shop Software or
Choose a Category
Most Popular Products
Top Rated Product

Product Reviews

Teenage Mutant Ninja Turtles: Smash-Up

The Teenage Mutant Ninja Turtles are partnering with Ubisoft to celebrate their 25th Anniversary with a brand new game - Teenage Mutant Ninja Turtles: Smash-Up. This is the first Ninja Turtles video game that is not directly tied to a movie, television show or comic book. The 4-player action brawler features a variety of battle modes including online multiplayer gameplay, minigames, and an original story mode for single player co-created with Peter Laird.The game is developed for the Wii system from Nintendo by Game Arts - part of the team who worked on Super Smash Bros. Brawl. While similar to their past project, Smash-Up offers some new surprises and features for a new shell-raising experience. Throughout the game, fans will be treated to unlockable surprises celebrating 25 years of Turtle history.
Average Customer Rating:
8.538
8.5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (16 reviews)
10 stars
4
9 stars
3
8 stars
3
7 stars
2
6 stars
1
5 stars
0
4 stars
0
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
0
12 out of 1392%of reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Teenage Mutant Ninja Turtles: Smash-Up
Review 1 for Teenage Mutant Ninja Turtles: Smash-Up
Good game
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:6/4/11
metaknightreviewr
Location: mo
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
tmnt smash up is clearly a brawl clone, but its a pretty good 1. the gameplay for single player is fun and i acuatually like the cutscenes. THE multiplayer is really fun too , and i also like the tag team mode it has and creating an aura for the character ur playing as. my fav characters r nightwatcher, leondo, and raph. but haviing the rabbids was jus kind of stupid i thought. this was for the turtles not splinter cell rabbids or rabbids go home ones. and since this is the tmnt 25th aniversary game i would have liked to see morecharacters and stages so i hope there is another smash up game.
My Photos:
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
3 of 3 found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Teenage Mutant Ninja Turtles: Smash-Up
you got to get it, you won't put it down!
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:10/2/09
monster expert
This game is extremly awesome! I was a turtle fan for a little while when I was younger and I've been a super smash bros. fan since the first one came out. They don't have as many characters as Super Smash Bros. and they didn't put Hun in the game. The unlockables are kind of challenging to unlock which I like, I don't like it to be really hard to unlock but I don't like it to be to easy or I would trade it back into GAMESTOP for some cash. The story line isn't to creative and the cutscenes don't help you. At least the story mode makes since in this game (unlike SSBB), and they used a comic book style for the cutscenes were made it a little better. They also put in some really cool characters that I unlocked the day I got it. If you don't want to know then stop reading this review because that's all thats left. The cool characters are a raving rabbid and a raving rabbid copy of Splinter. It looks hilairious! Thats all folks, hope you enjoyed it as much as I did!
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Teenage Mutant Ninja Turtles: Smash-Up
Smash Bros. Meets TMNT!!
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Sound: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Posted on:9/22/09
Turtle_Soup
First and foremost, if you do not like Super Smash Bros. Brawl or Teenage Mutant Ninja Turtles you will not like this game. Now that thats out of the way, this game is a TMNT fans dream game. It features several recognizable characters and a fighting system thats, well, excellent. If you've played SSBB you know how satisfying it is when you are fighting. Playing the game is really good and its play very smoothly. Another good thing about this title is that when playing with friends it excels. But of course with every good thing there are some gripes. Although this has some recognizable faces it is missing some characters. You would think that Having all of the turtles legacy behind them, they could have an all-star cast. Also, the story mode (if you wanna call it that) isn't that great. Something about Splinter taking over time. It's extremely stupid and the cutscenes don't really help either. Although the have a unique art style and the voice acting is top notch, it just would have been better if they took a cg approach towards the cutscenes. All in all this is a fantastic titles that is great to break out when you have three friends and you wanna whoop on some turtle butt! COWABUNGA!!!!
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Sound: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
2 of 2 found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Teenage Mutant Ninja Turtles: Smash-Up
Turtles count 'em off!
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:2/18/10
FlyersFan
After this game was released, I was fairly hesitant on buying it, hearing all the talk of a Super Smash Bros take off, but eventually I gave in. Despite the fact it plays like a Smash Bros game, even with the near exact controls as Brawl, the Turtle touch to it makes it all worth it. Being a fan of the "old" 1987 and 2003 series, this game had a lot to offer me: a Turtle game that was based off of its history (one of the spots it completely failed to take advantage of), a solid game to break off Brawl, and overall a better challenge. The game opens up similarly to Brawl, as in you're presented with several modes, all based off of something in Nintendo's fighter. You have your main mode, a sorta story in which you choose from the Turtles, Splinter, April, and Casey, to participate in a tournament against each other. After you complete several battles (yes, it's eerily similar to playing Classic Mode in Brawl) you're about to recieve a reward when the Fugitoid (our alien robot friend from the 2003 cartoon) is captured by Shredder, and the Classic expands until you face Shredder. Aside from that, there's your basic party fight, and some missions, plus a lot of unlockables. The major flaw I found in this game was that, for a TMNT 30th anniversary game, this one lacked a whole lot of content spreading 30 years of the Turtle. A couple references are made to the 87 and 03 TV shows in a pair of hidden stages, and a reference here and there, but the 2007 TMNT movie is where the game gets ALL its inspiration from. Character models, stages, the stuff that could have made a lot of fans smile, was missed, such as alternate looks instead of the goofy side costumes that are given. Only one reference is made. Perhaps '87 looks? Maybe an '87 Shredder and voice would look goofy, but seeing it would have helped. Where's Bebop and Rocksteady, anyhow? Krang? Again, the TMNT have enough of a history to put together a real show like Smash Bros. Brawl did. Aside from the lack of references, this is a sweet game to play. For a Smash pro, it's nearly exact in terms of moves. Little things like wall jumping and guarding (sheilding for SSBB players) are made similar and are exemplified in Smash-Up. Despite the lacking roster of TMNT characters, Ubisoft made a rather humorous addition of their own to the lineup by having three variants of their Raving Rabbids into the game, plus several other unlockable characters. In a gaming perspective, TMNT Smash-Up covers the bare necessities for a fighting game of its calibre: good controls, good flow, enough options to play with, and even giving an online mode. Unfortunately, it pales in comparision to what Nintendo did almost 2 years ago in Super Smash Bros. Brawl, and the reason is simply because there wasn't enough to allow TMNT Smash-Up to compete. Nintendo got people curious by adding so much from its illustrious past, with trophies and references galore. The Teenage Mutant Ninja Turtles have had enough history on their side to make such a game as Super Smash Brothers Brawl did, but unfortunately, failed to provide enough to give it a big enough chance. It's worth playing, and I'd recommend it, but if you're on the fence between this and Brawl, Nintendo's game is worth having first.
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
6 of 6 found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Teenage Mutant Ninja Turtles: Smash-Up
OKAY GAME
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Posted on:9/13/10
GAMESTOP
Location: MO
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
TMNT SMASH UP is trying to copy brawl.The game has a limited rouster of charecters though and having ninja is a bit stupid. the game looks good. It features the same controllers to play with as brawl. The controls are easy to use. This game has fun gameplay and lots of missions and a good story. I would say get brawl first and then this game. There are bugs here and there, but overall a fine fighter.
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
2 of 3 found this review helpful.
Comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
Boomshakalaka
 
Please wait while more information about Boomshakalaka is loaded.
Additional information about Boomshakalaka could not be loaded.
Posted 10/2/10
How is it trying to copy when it's made by the same makers?
Comments (1)
Comment (1)
Review 6 for Teenage Mutant Ninja Turtles: Smash-Up
gameplay is very fun
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
4 out of 10
4 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Posted on:2/2/11
Littelbigreviwers2
This game is perfect for: casual gamers
TMNT smash up is like Super smash bros brawl but not as good. It is very fun for a while but i got bored after 5 hours of play. their is Nintendo WI FI for those players who like playing online. 9 out of 10
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
4 out of 10
4 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Teenage Mutant Ninja Turtles: Smash-Up
Stands on it’s own
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:9/28/09
Zombie Monkey
If you liked Super Smash Bros and worry that this game is just going to be a carbon copy, stop worrying right now. Smash Up is awesome all on it’s own. Obviously the two games will share similar traits, being Smash titles. But Turtles Smash Up really is it’s own game with references to a rich history all it’s own. The various characters are fun to play for their own reasons and there is some very fun action online too. For single player I kept waiting for the game to stale into either starting to feel too much like Smash Bros, or starting to be too repetitive in it’s own way. These 2 worries were unfounded, the game is unique and fun throughout despite having a predecessor in the Smash line. Awesome addition to the Smash series, I hope there are more this good in the future.
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Review 8 for Teenage Mutant Ninja Turtles: Smash-Up
Cool
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:7/5/11
Emman
Location: Florida
This game is perfect for: casual gamers
I think you should buy it cause of the action and lasting appeal.
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
2 of 3 found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Teenage Mutant Ninja Turtles: Smash-Up
My Thoughts
Overall Rating: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:9/23/09
pnoi_gaming_on_nintendo
I just pick this game up when it came out. My thoughts at first would be like that there's gonna be a lot of characters to choose from like super smash bros. brawl, but you start off with 7 characters(which doesn't bother me at all, but they should of put more characters in the game.) Also, I would of thought they would do a finisher like super smash bros. brawl, but I guess wrong. I guess they don't have the rights to do that, since nintendo thought of it first. Anyways, this game is alright. The attacks is pretty standards and basic. Nothing more. The missions is pretty self explanitory, but it gets harder and harder to the point where you will end up getting annoyed(its just like the missions in ssbb, where it gets harder and harder. very challenging indeed.) I've been a turtle fan since way way back. With all the turtle games that out and it revolves to this. Anyways, the graphics is really good at its finest. After playing arcade mode, I tried the wi-fi. NO LAG TIME!!! That's the only good thing for this game. Getting the hidden characters is not easy. I suggest you get the strategy guide(seriously, you should). Anyways, I suggest you should rent this game before buying it because this game is just okay. If you don't like SSBB, don't get this.
Overall Rating: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Review 10 for Teenage Mutant Ninja Turtles: Smash-Up
THis GAME IS SHELL ShoCKing ADDICTING!
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Posted on:9/24/09
Shred Head
I cant stop playing it. its so fun! this game is for tmnt fans and brawl fans. theres not a lot of different characters and moves like in ssbb but you can unlock more ppl later. as for the moves, theres combo attacks that you can learn after playing around with all the buttons. its fun to just play alone or online. i wish the arcade and the story was longer. but you can play it with 7 different characters for 7 different endings and you can play it on easy, normal, hard, very hard and shell shocking! i havent tried that one yet. and i aslo wish that there was more ppl in the begining. but i have to wait and see who gets unlocked. hopefully everyone likes this game becuase its fun and i cant put it down. if you love the ninja turtles you better have this game! my favorite charaters are the turtles becuase they seem to have the best feel to it. i just got the game so i havent figured out much, like how to put your trophys up online so you can battle for them. and i dont know how to unlock new stages. but i will keep playing the game until i do. if your not sure if you wanna get this game because you dont think its fun, well it is. becuase you can play alone and have fun, play with friends and have fun, play online and have fun. thats what the makers were aiming for and they got it tmnt smash up should be a best seller! ...maybe im saying that cuz i love the turtles!
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Review 11 for Teenage Mutant Ninja Turtles: Smash-Up
Looks Like a Fun Time!
Posted on:9/5/09
monster expert
This game looks pretty fun, I've alreadly pre-ordered it and what makes it really cool is that the style is like Super Smash Bros. I'm not that big a fan of Smash Bros. or Ninja Turtles but it just looks really cool so I bought it. It looks like it will have a long replay value and I hope that Shedder will be a playable character. I heard that the Raving Rabbids are going to be in the game, but that's just a rumor. This game looks like a swash-bucking good time so I will play it all night once I recieve my copy! I hope you order it, too.
Review 12 for Teenage Mutant Ninja Turtles: Smash-Up
Where did everyone go?
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Posted on:2/3/12
probablyBatman
Location: I'm in a cardboard box with an outlet and USB port
This game was deffinetely fun, don't get me wrong. there are alot of fun challenges and some cool battle stages, but it lacks alot of classic TMNT characters. It doesn't have Leather Head, the elite foot ninja, any purple dragons, Doctor Stalkman, Bishop, the Triceratons, or Hun! I was impressed though that it had Proffessor Honeycut, but besides that there were very few classic TMNT characters. And some of the gameplay was frustrating as well.
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
0 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Teenage Mutant Ninja Turtles: Smash-Up
Amazing
Overall Rating: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Gameplay: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Posted on:4/7/13
Redpet10
Location: MI
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
This game is perfect. But if your not a person who has any friends who like game try nintendo WFC but sadly this game ofters no story. The closest story you will ever get is Arcade Mode. The reason why I like this game is because the way you fight. Donny is my favorite character.
Overall Rating: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Gameplay: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Review 14 for Teenage Mutant Ninja Turtles: Smash-Up
Worth pre-ordering
Posted on:5/15/09
pnoi_gaming_on_nintendo
This game is based on super smash bros. brawl (which are the makers for this game) and i think its a flash back from tmnt: tournament fighters. I am gonna really enjoy this game alot. To me, its just another continuation of super smash bros brawl, but this time, its with the turtles. Makes me wonder what are the "final smashes", items, and the hidden characters will be?
Review 15 for Teenage Mutant Ninja Turtles: Smash-Up
TMNT and SSBB collide
Posted on:6/17/09
Shred head :P
Once i saw this game i was blown away. it is 2 of my fav. things coming together and i can even play as others like april or splinter. I watched the 2 videos on gamestop i like the gameplay one and how good o'l shred head gets eaten.
Review 16 for Teenage Mutant Ninja Turtles: Smash-Up
Just like Super Smash Bros
Overall Rating: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Gameplay: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Graphics: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Sound: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Posted on:1/19/12
otz900
This game is perfect for: party gamers
This great game out of the ninja turtles series,is pretty much like the Super Smash Bros series.I think that's awesome.
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Overall Rating: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Gameplay: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Graphics: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Sound: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
0 of 2 found this review helpful.