GameStop Ratings and Reviews

Shop Now At GameStop
Shop Software or
Choose a Category
Most Popular Products
Top Rated Product

Product Reviews

Dead to Rights: Retribution

Dead to Rights: Retribution is a visually stunning 3rd person action game, rich in story, character and brutal combat. The game follows vice cop Jack Slate and his canine companion Shadow as they fight to expose the shadowy figures of Grant City and bring order back to the crumbling metropolis. Deadly on their own, Jack and Shadow are even more formidable as they team up to defeat the threats they will uncover.
Average Customer Rating:
8.412
8.4
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (26 reviews)
10 stars
10
9 stars
2
8 stars
2
7 stars
1
6 stars
0
5 stars
0
4 stars
0
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
2
14 out of 1782%of reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Dead to Rights: Retribution
Review 1 for Dead to Rights: Retribution
This game is not worth buying.
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Gameplay: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Graphics: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Sound: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Posted on:9/12/11
klownarm
Location: CA
I bought this game on the premise it was a shooter not a fighting game with exhausting combinations (my hand cramped up). The graphic are early tomb raider with people ending half in walls half out, the fighting action is poor and unrealistic. If you really want this game wait till it is only a couple of bucks or rent it.
My Photos:
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Gameplay: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Graphics: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Sound: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
1 of 5 found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Dead to Rights: Retribution
Hated this game so much
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Gameplay: 
3 out of 10
3 out of 10
Graphics: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Sound: 
4 out of 10
4 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Posted on:6/14/14
RC1138
This game is on my list of worst games ever played. I'll have to actually go back and think about which one is my worst game of all time, and I wouldn't be surprised if this took the cake. I'm sure there are people who enjoyed it a lot and progressed through the story enough or whatever, but the whole entire time I was frustrated with the gameplay. This is the only game to ver make me so mad that I ejected it from my xbox and ALMOST broke it (I didn't, I got my money back instead). But never have even come close to doing that before. Defiantly my ultimate rage quit game.
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Gameplay: 
3 out of 10
3 out of 10
Graphics: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Sound: 
4 out of 10
4 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Review 3 for Dead to Rights: Retribution
Good sequel to a good series.
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Gameplay: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Graphics: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Sound: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Posted on:4/1/11
Willbgamer
This game is perfect for: casual gamers
Some may think the game was short but I thought it was right on par with a good fun play through void of many annoyances such as bad frame rate or glitches that hindered my gameplay at least. Being able to utilize Shadow and even control him in some instances was rather fun but I still wish it was a tad more interactive in that respect. Control and camera usage was fairly smooth. Gunplay was simple and fun including a decent array of weaponry but still could have used a bit more. Take-downs always seemed fun regardless of the repetition that will occur. They did a good job of mixing it up. The lighting effects were also pretty good depicting an older Noir action flick. May not be worth it to keep this game but definitely a good game worth a quick take home from the used section.
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Gameplay: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Graphics: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Sound: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
2 of 2 found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Dead to Rights: Retribution
what a surprise.
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:5/10/10
DumbRAmbo
i had heard about dead to rights before but i wasnt expecting this game to be this good. Even though all the hype went to the release of splinter cell conviction and lost planet 2, this game deserved some attention. this game was so freaking awesome. it had almost everything a game needs. shooting, fist fights, sniping, stealth and guess what you even get to control Shadow( awesome dog, i wish i had one like that). Even though this game lacks multiplayer i recommend everyone to at least rent this game and give it a try, you wont be disappointed. this game is clearly one of the underrated games out there. Play it and you will find out how good this game is. the storyline has a little twist as well which made the game even more interesting.
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
2 of 2 found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Dead to Rights: Retribution
Dead to Rights Retribution Review
Overall Rating: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Gameplay: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Posted on:6/10/11
TravisH
Location: South Dakota
This game is perfect for: casual gamers
To me, this game really wasn't too amazing. Looks like every review before me thinks this game is a 10/10, but I just didn't see the 10 in it. It's like a Gears of War type game set in the Police Zone, except you dont get to hold onto your weapons long because you throw the gun on the ground whenever it runs outta ammo, although that may be more realistic in the situation. Yes there's quite a few guns, finishing moves and what not, and playing as Shadow is pretty cool, but after I beat the campaign I didn't have the too much of a feeling to go back and replay it. This game passes some time, but overall it's just okay-good.
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Overall Rating: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Gameplay: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Dead to Rights: Retribution
Hope its as good as it looks....
Posted on:2/21/10
gamernerd #100
The video looks superb it gave off lots of energy of the game. The abilities you can do and your little doggy, well get ready to get dog eaten. Talk about a guard dog, this dog will do anything you'll tell him to do. Now that's awesome. And it even looks like you are able to play as him that's G. The whole game looks good, but i hope it'll be as good as it looks.
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Dead to Rights: Retribution
Very good game
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Posted on:5/7/10
Shinrgele
I was a big fan of the first Dead To Rights for the PS2, but the 2nd one was terrible and I did not like it.. I rented this game and it was a GREAT game A+++ this was a big improvment than the 2nd one.. It has a great story line, good weapons, plus you can control shadow in certain parts which was very fun.. Plus you can do different disarms and fighting combos which will knock the enemy on the ground, also I was suprised at how long the game was and the achievments are easy to get.. This is by far the best game I have played all year and I really hope they continue the series, if you like fighting, shooting, and killing people with a dog this game is for you.. It has I think three levels of difficulty so you want have a problem passing it, give it a try you will like it!!
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Review 8 for Dead to Rights: Retribution
best game ever
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Posted on:9/1/11
awesomereveiwer123
Location: lemon grove CA
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
played on normal xbox and is sick!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! the funnest was with penicle!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
2 of 3 found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Dead to Rights: Retribution
sweet game
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Posted on:1/20/11
DuhBombDiggity
This game is perfect for: casual gamers
sweet game. plays like an arcade game. definitely a shoot em up type game that plays really well
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Dead to Rights: Retribution
Undeserved hate
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Posted on:4/28/10
rhin042O
I pre ordered this game the day I heard about it. First off I just want to give a bit of back ground on my play style, so you can see where you might fit in. This year I've bought and beat FFXIII, SC:C, Metro 2033, MassEffect 2. I'm a true gamer in that I like an array of different genres. I heard alot of negativity towards this title. I know that some people are making those judgements based on the xbox game from 2002. I personally enjoyed it on the xbox but that doesn't even begin to compare to this version. The graphics which everyone said were terrible, I found very enjoyable as they fit the setting of the game perfectly. They have a gritty, feel to them...which I found to be quite appealing. It's as good as bioshock 2 or metro 2033 grapically. Now for the combat...since this is a mix of brawler, 3rd person shooter. The combat is actually very fluid when in hand to hand fights, and easily switches to shooting at the pull of a button. The take downs and executions are amazing (but can drag on after seeing them 50 times) and visually impressive. I enjoyed the realistic approach to the cover system...the fact that it's destructible makes the pacing all the better. If anyone ever played MK shoalin monks, that's what the hand to hand fighting reminds me of(which IS a good thing.) The contols were all very responsive. But the best part of this game is shadow...he truly is the thing that sets this game apart from other 3rd person shooters. The stealth missions are an enjoyable break from the constant combat that is the core of Dead to Rights Retribution. He's even useful when commanding him while playing as jack...something lacking in the original one. In closing i'd just like to say wow, the story is far better than even I expected. Infact my girlfriend even cried in one part that takes place very early in the story. I was even a little teary eye'd....I'm telling ya check it out!!! I don't think you'll regret it. Although the lack of any multiplayer or co op may make this game a rental for most gamers.
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
2 of 3 found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Dead to Rights: Retribution
Why??? :(
Posted on:3/3/09
Miz
I loved the first one, so I know this will be another game I will buy this year. I just bought a PS3 which means I now have a PS3 and a XBOX 360 but I get off the point, while I will most likely buy this game what I don't like is why it seems every year as of late all great game titles coming out always seem to do so at the exact same time. And now that I own a PS3 as well it brings the number of must have games I want that much more. I currently have 47 Xbox 360..... 10 for the PS3. So why can't game makers use all the months of the year to put out new titles rather then putting out 7 different titles in the same month? Well at any rate I will most likely buy this game as well.
Review 12 for Dead to Rights: Retribution
better than the last 2
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Posted on:7/20/11
sonnyc
Location: spring hill, fl
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
this one is way better than the last 2 because of the new brutal counter kills.and the graphics are much better too;overall great game to the series.
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
1 of 2 found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Dead to Rights: Retribution
SURPRISINGLY GOOD!
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:4/22/11
ringu217
Location: mt. pleasant, SC
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
I never played or even heard of the "Dead to Rights" collection until I stumbled into the local GameStop the other day. The part I love about this game is that you can play as both characters, Jack Slate (the dark and vengeful cop) or his dog Shadow. Either way you're guaranteed to like this game especially if you're a hardcore gamer like myself. Whether it's kicking butt Mortal Kombat style or ripping the throats out of enemies...this game is definitely worthwhile. Not for children! Intense violence and language and drug use.
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Review 14 for Dead to Rights: Retribution
I agree, Not gonna be Great...
Posted on:4/26/10
SCOTTLE
I must agree with some other people this Game doesn't seem like it will live up to it's predecessors. It seems so unrealistic that I don't see what the makers we're thinking... I'll still be playing my Saint's Row, and Splinter Cell: conviction when this releases. I may give it a rent that's about it. Unless I am really impressed from renting it, but i doubt it.
1 of 6 found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Dead to Rights: Retribution
What happened to the old Jack?
Posted on:4/20/10
Xx_SaVaTaGe_xX
I have been watching some of the videos for this game and to be honest I am a little disappointed on how cartoony it looks. I loved the first game but I have to say the 2nd game did not even come close to the first and now the 3rd one so far looks a bit unrealistic and quite frankly cheesy. I guess we will have to wait and see, but if this is as bad as it seems in the videos, I would have to say the series to me will be pretty much be dead. It will end up being another Shenmue.
Review 16 for Dead to Rights: Retribution
What happened to the old Jack?
Posted on:4/20/10
Xx_SaVaTaGe_xX
I have been watching some of the videos for this game and to be honest I am a little disappointed on how cartoony it looks. I loved the first game but I have to say the 2nd game did not even come close to the first and now the 3rd one so far looks a bit unrealistic and quite frankly cheesy. I guess we will have to wait and see, but if this is as bad as it seems in the videos, I would have to say the series to me will be pretty much be dead. It will end up being another Shenmue.
0 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Dead to Rights: Retribution
WOW Really truely Bada**
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:6/7/11
dex55
Location: easley, sc
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
i just got this game today pre owned traded three of my sixteen games to get this game they were bulletstorm which was getting boring to me way different from gears of war , alone in the dark was boring but was okay , and madden nfl 10 already had that game in 09. this game dead to rights is one of the best fighting is so pimped. gameplay is good so far and playing as the dog in some parts are awesome. hope they make more of dead of rights series.
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
0 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Dead to Rights: Retribution
should get game of the year!!!!
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:7/11/12
Mandy1303
Location: ATL, GA
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
i think this game should get game of the year. the storyline is the best ive seen in awhile. the graphics are great. the shooting style is great, lots of good guns, the use of shadow is the best, he is very useful in this game. i just love it i could play it all day long if i could.
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Review 19 for Dead to Rights: Retribution
Not Sold
Posted on:2/21/10
MNCB Cowboy
I love the first game, which I played when I was 13, I'm now 21. But now the game looks just way out of this world different in a bad way. I hope I'm wrong, and it's awsome. I think I'll rent it, o B.T.W. how many times does Jack and Shadow have to save Grant City from being corrupted?
Review 20 for Dead to Rights: Retribution
I already reserved it
Posted on:12/15/09
The Merc with a Mouth
the first to dead to rights were so fun (especially the second). The thing that made these so great was how your dog can attack your enemies and looks like in this one you can actually play as him. This is probably the game i am most excited for for 2010 besides aliens vs predator.
1 2 next>>