GameStop Ratings and Reviews

Shop Now At GameStop
Shop Software or
Choose a Category
Most Popular Products
Top Rated Product

Product Reviews

Grand Slam Tennis

Developed specifically for the Wii, EA SPORTS Grand Slam Tennis delivers the deepest andrichest tennis experience ever developed for the platform with real life tennis strokes letting anyonequickly pick up a racket and use every shot type and inch of the court. It is the exclusive home ofWimbledon and includes all four Grand Slams: the Australian Open, Roland Garros, the U.S. Openand Wimbledon. The player line-up features some of the greatest and most accomplished everincluding John McEnroe in his exclusive videogame debut. Joining Mac is an impressive roster ofcurrent and legendary men's and women's players who collectively own 135 Grand Slam singlestitles, making this the most accomplished group of players ever assembled for a tennis videogame.
Average Customer Rating:
8.059
8.1
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (20 reviews)
10 stars
8
9 stars
2
8 stars
2
7 stars
1
6 stars
1
5 stars
1
4 stars
0
3 stars
1
2 stars
1
1 star
0
14 out of 1782%of reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Grand Slam Tennis
Review 1 for Grand Slam Tennis
Good Challenge...
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:6/18/09
DJ16
Well...I have owned the game for 3 days now...and it's all I have been playing, when my kids let me have the Wii. I created my character with great ease...signed up for the fitness challenge...and so far am on track to meet and probably beat my goal I set for the month. It's tough with your created character to win the first few games, unless you do a lot of exhibition matches. In the actual 'Grand Slam' mode...you want your character to build up the abilities you can use to improve your gameplay. I also purchased the Wii Motion, and using it with this game, does make it more challenging. When you twist your wrist and not realize it, the sensor does, and the game reads it...and next thing you know...you messed up your shot inadvertently. It's a good calorie burner exercise...and I love that about this game. The graphics are great, the gameplay is challenging. and I would recommend this game to anyone. I have to give the online play a try...but I wanna practice more, and get better at my gameplay first!!Enjoy!!!
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Review 2 for Grand Slam Tennis
Can't stop playing !!
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Posted on:8/9/10
Lady Lucinda
I've never wrote a review before but felt i had to do so this time. Being the owner of over 65 wii games ( alot of them being sports at least 5 tennis games alone) I LOVE THIS GAME im going to make this short and sweet its challenging ! ( yes i play real tennis too!) its fun ! its a great workout ! (if you mimic the actual tennis moves) a nice break from wii fit plus it is fun to play alone or with a friend ! I think the timing on your swings is right on ( compare w/ wii sports tennis) overall if you didnt like the game because it wasnt real enough hit the real court instead this is a game after all the only con i can mention is i could have done without the grunting :) especially Sharapova i guess thats part of the REAL FUN though !! 100% yes to anyone thinking about this game
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
5 of 6 found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Grand Slam Tennis
great, fun, and enjoyable
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:7/13/11
mcjimmy
Location: philly, PA
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
i've been playing tennis since i was 9 and i love the game. graphics are decent (but sort of childish), the play is great, and there are no stupid minigames or anything other games have. aditionally, he controls are easy and its simple to play in a tournament and such. a good job.
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
3 of 3 found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Grand Slam Tennis
WORTH BUYING!
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:7/21/09
nydesertrat
Let me start off by saying, despite the criticisms, I had high hopes for this game... Well, they were help up! This game is AWESOME! I have not yet had the opportunity to use the WiiMotion with this game, and it's still amazing! I can only imagine the reaction time with having that! The venues for the games rock with having around 8 different courts with all surfaces! Grand Slam mode is unlike any other career mode i've played, since you HAVE to be yourself! You start from the bottom and work your way up, aquiring skills and more unique wardrobe options. This truely is the best tennis game out there! I am glad that EA took the cartoonish approach instead of a pathetic attempt at realism that will never be achieved on any console! My only gripe is that the player variety could be more vast, but they chose the best in the game... and you can always just be yourself! Absolutely AWESOME!!
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Review 5 for Grand Slam Tennis
EA hits a winner with Grand Slam Tennis
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:7/31/10
Scrappy40
As someone who has played tennis my whole life, even playing in a handful of professional qualifying tournaments, when I got the wii and the motion plus I knew this game was top on my list to get. Let me tell ya, when I got it I was not disapointed. When you start off the challenge this game offers is downright insane. For me, I was trying to swing like I would out on the court, which made me miss more in a few games than I think I ever have in my whole life while playing out there. It took quite some time to get used to, and like many before have said ya need to hit the practice courts to get the hand of it, not to mention have a motion plus to get the most out of the game. Once ya get the feel for Grand Slam Tennis, you will find yourself playing it for hours on end. The Grand Slam mode is great, seeing as you first have to create your own likeness to work through it. Having to build yourself up makes this mode a fun challenge that will keep you hooked. The roster is absolutly loaded! Getting to play against Pete Sampras, someone I played against in the junior ranks is great, more so this time around since I was able to beat him. I would of liked to have seen EA add the likes of Ivan Lendl, Jimmy Connors and Andre Agassi, but the pros they give ya are still top notch. The sound from the pros are great too. Hearing McEnroe yell "you can not be serious" after a close call brings back memories of the good old Johnny Mac. The venues are as close to real life as they can be given the cartoonish feel EA has given this game. If you are looking for a fun challenging tennis game, pick this bad boy up, you will not be disapointed!
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
2 of 2 found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Grand Slam Tennis
awesome game
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:6/14/09
spoofit
This game has everything every other game for the wii has lacked. Online play is awesome. The controls respond wonderfully especially with the wii motion plus. It does take a little practice to get the hang of the precision but its right on. You can pull off really difficult shots with ease once you get accustomed. The online play is awesome and the matches are over relatively quick so you don't commit an hour of time like with tiger woods or madden. Also with tennis' international appeal there are always people playing online. Sometimes while playing at 4am i have a ton of options because the european folks are playing their nintendo wiis in the morning. The single player game has been quite fun thus far but i'm so into the online play i haven't fully gotten into it yet. All in all its an awesome game and after the disappointment of top spin3 an excellent effort.
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Review 7 for Grand Slam Tennis
Making History
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Gameplay: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Posted on:7/9/09
amerasianx15
I bought this game 4th of July weekend, and I was not disappointed. This game is way better than Top Spin 3 on the Wii. The graphics are cartoonish which I thought were cool. The players don't have to look like actual humans to have great graphics like in Paper Mario where Mario isn't in 3d the whole game.. I also bought this game with a Wii Motion Plus and it really added to the control. However, the controls took some time getting used to with the new device. Like in the Youtube video with Thomas Singleton, I tried to stick to my strong side and not my weak side. My character just didn't know whether to do a forehand or backhand when I wanted to do a forehand. This caused to a lot of air swings, or the ball landing out. Also, the the motions don't really do much. The first time playing, i tried to perform all top spin shots swinging low to high, and my character slices. Sure its nice to see the new control you have over the ball by making the ball curve with your slice, but I end up doing slice when i want top spin. After a few days of 6-0 shut outs and being "0-many losses" I got used to the controls and started winning. The types of styles they gave the players are realistic. Nadal is definitely a defensive baseliner in real life, and that's what he is in the game. Its also really fun rallying with Nadal. His grunts just make him a fun opponent. also, the serve and volley players are probably the most annoying players to face in the game. When they get up to the net, you better hit a nice passing shot, or perform a really good lob that just clips the baseline if you want any chance of breaking serve. The challenge is really great for the game. The harder you make the difficulty, you'll really see the effect on how hard it is to win points compared to top spin 3 where you can hit the ball and its already a winner. One thing that bothered me was the drop shot. It doesn't look anything like a drop shot. Its more like a short slice lob. The drop shot takes forever to drop so your opponent can get run up to the ball and smack it for a winner. Another thing is that the ball judgment is kind of "on and off". In professional tennis, you see if any part of the ball touches the baseline, it is in play, but in this game it seems as if the whole ball needs to hit the baseline or alley line to be in play. The sound is really good and the applause is really realistic if you keep up a rally. As far as camera angle goes, I like the different angles during points. but when your in a rally that goes up to about 50 hits, and your moving around with your opponent, the camera angle scares me. sometimes I'll be in a point and my opponent hits a nice cross court shot hits the line and my player runs and i hit the ball back down the line, and the camera angle makes it look like I'm going to miss the line. The roster is really good. you got the players you know and love like Federer, Roddick, Murray, and Djokovic. You got teh Williams Sisters and some of the good female players, even some players you've never heard of got into the game like nishikorri.. you also have legends like Sampras, McEnroe, Becker, and one problem. WHERE IS AGASSI!!! You have the good legends, but you forgot Agassi. Come on EA. you let some unranked guy in the pro tennis league in teh game, but you don't have Agassi? that's an epic fail. Overall this is a good game, and I would recommend buying this game, Good gameplay and roster.
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Gameplay: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
2 of 2 found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Grand Slam Tennis
Awesome
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:6/12/09
Totally Bear
This game is what I think people who want to have fun playing tennis on wii will find right in this game. The controls may not be as realistic as real life, but if you play tennis in real life why did you buy this to begin with? Its a game for people who want to get that tennis fell without having to look like a fool if you can't really play. It also has many great modes so playing with others is a blast. online can be a bit slow at some points so it may be best to just play with some friends or family. However if you do go online the experience may not equal that of other systems online with not that many people playing this game. I do not think that this should keep you from buying this great game. The graphics however cartoony they may look work perfectly for this game. They actually do look like the people they are modeled to be and just seem to fit in to this game so well. So on my final note it is worth buying if you want to play tennis with friends or just buying it to use your new wii motion plus.(works great in this game). If though you are looking for online play with a lot of people and faster loads look at a new game or even a new system
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Review 9 for Grand Slam Tennis
Not As Good As I Thought it Wood Be
Overall Rating: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Gameplay: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:6/12/09
a gamer's point of view
This game is pretty descent. The player variety is great, but where is Jimmy Conners? If you play this game with the wii motion plus, I must warn you, it is very sensitive. With the wii motion plus, you have to make a forehand/backhand motion, or it will make a shot motion that you do not mean to do and you either hit the ball out or completely miss it. To hit a shot without the wii motion plus, it is just a flick of the wrist, just like wii sports tennis. In career mode, you create a player and play at the Australian Open first. A unique feature in career mode, is that as you beat pros like Nadal, Roddick, or the Williams sisters, you get that pro's qualities. For example, if you beat Venus Williams, you get the ability to serve like her. Or if you beat John McEnroe, you get his anger! Ha Ha! Not really but still, it would be funny. When you play an execution match, it asks you if you are right handed or left handed. I said right, and I played as Nadal. Just because I said right handed, it made Nadal right handed, even though he is a lefty. Overall, you should rent this game first, but it is still a good game. This is the best tennis game I've played for the Nintendo Wii.
Overall Rating: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Gameplay: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Review 10 for Grand Slam Tennis
looks great
Posted on:5/27/09
Anonymous
looks like a really fun game. the graphics are good for the wii cause in virtua tennis they try to make it look real and the wii is very bad with that. This one also has a few great players who are not known as well. The only downside is that there are only three courts and virtua has many but I think this game is more worth the money.
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Grand Slam Tennis
Very Disapointed
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 10
2 out of 10
Gameplay: 
2 out of 10
2 out of 10
Graphics: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Sound: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Posted on:6/10/09
HighFlight2k2
I have been waiting for a good tennis game for the Wii since I first bought the console. When the MotionPlus was anounced, I thought it was finally time. I gladly dropped the $** to get this game and MotionPlus with high expectations. I'm sad to say I am very disapointed. I gave it ample time assuming it was me who had to get used to it but being a tennis player, I can say there is nothing natural about the controls. In fact, a good percentage of the time the player doesn't even swing. Or it swings on the backswing. The delay is also frustrating. You have to swing too far in advance. It also pauses way too long after hitting the ball before the player is allowed to move which causes you miss shots you otherwise could have reached. Needless to say, it's was a big let down.
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 10
2 out of 10
Gameplay: 
2 out of 10
2 out of 10
Graphics: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Sound: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Review 12 for Grand Slam Tennis
YES!!!
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:7/21/09
ultra athlete
This game is fantastic. It is one of the funnest games EVER!!!! First the game is great because of the authenticity of the game. You have every slam. Roland Garros, Wimbledon, US Open, and the Aussie Open. Alot of people are making a big deal about the controls but i actually think that the controls are good. I bought the Wii Motion Plus prior to buying the game and it makes the game a bigger challenge. One thing that im not happy about is the player variety. Where is Connors, where is Aggasi, and where is Del Portro. Big people there who are no shows in the game. The career mode is fairly easy. I've already won 11 majors in my first three years. But it's fun. Sound was perfect and so were the camra and statistics. Overall it is an amazing game that i strongly recommend.
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Review 13 for Grand Slam Tennis
great game
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:10/28/09
gamer27
Grand slam tennis is a great game I would recommend it to anyone who likes sports. The graphics are okay. And the best part is when you make a person and play real tournaments against real people. You can do alot of different shots like the lob ,topspin ,flat and slice. There is also online play. There are three modes of play easy, medium and hard I play on easy. You can dress your player in hats, shirts, headbands, bandanas, sneakers, and shirts. I can't wait for the next one. Grand Slam tennis is my favorite game for the wii. I would definetly buy this game instead of virtua tennis. They should make this game for playstation and xbox too. The all play controls are awful because you can't move your player. The game is only good if you play using the advanced controls.
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
Braxoyd
Wash.DC
 
Please wait while more information about Braxoyd is loaded.
Additional information about Braxoyd could not be loaded.
Give It a Chance
Posted 1/14/11
It IS the BOMB.
Comments (1)
Comment (1)
Review 14 for Grand Slam Tennis
Decent Game
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Gameplay: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Graphics: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Posted on:12/28/12
jc143
Location: Deerfield Beach, FL
This game is perfect for: casual gamers
As a tennis fan, I was really excited for this game and got it right when it came out. I love playing as the older characters, like McEnroe and Bjorg, but also as current players, including my favorite: Jo-Wil Tsonga. Each character has a special trait synonymous with their playing skill. It is hard to get used to, and there is a big gap between medium and easy. I am in my 5th Slam cycle with my player and it is getting boring because there is not much else to do.
 
My Product Recommendations
 
 
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Gameplay: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Graphics: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Review 15 for Grand Slam Tennis
Tennis
Posted on:5/19/09
Man of chance
It looks like to me you won't want this game unless you are a big tennis fan. You will probably just be happy with regular Wii tennis. If you already reserved it well at least it looks like you can playing with Will Ferrel with a Afro (as seen on the cover).
Review 16 for Grand Slam Tennis
jorge
Posted on:3/8/09
Anonymous
This game is going to be cool, the four grand slams: wimbledon, us open,australia open and rolangarros. I hope this game have online contain. Other feature that i like is they you can make your own avatar. Thanks
Review 17 for Grand Slam Tennis
Not great, but okay for tennis lovers.
Overall Rating: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Gameplay: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Graphics: 
4 out of 10
4 out of 10
Sound: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
4 out of 10
4 out of 10
Posted on:3/8/11
JessRSD
Location: Lanagan, MO
This game is perfect for: casual gamers
Okay graphics, but doens't let you design your own player. The remote doesn't seem to sense exact movements. But you get some exercise or it's a good warm up to another more serious workout. Not great, but okay.
Overall Rating: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Gameplay: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Graphics: 
4 out of 10
4 out of 10
Sound: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
4 out of 10
4 out of 10
0 of 2 found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Grand Slam Tennis
Grand Slam Tennis does nothing for me
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 10
3 out of 10
Gameplay: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Graphics: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Sound: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Posted on:7/22/09
GigaMac
I have been looking forward to trying out this game and I have hunted down a Used copy so that I could return the game if I didn't like it. For me, this was the right choice. I bought this game today and will take it back tomorrow. I have seen good reviews and bad reviews, so the only way to really form an opinion is to try it out. (This is where Xbox Live shines, game demos give you an early idea of whether or not you will like the game, Nintendo really needs to work on offering this feature.) Alright, got the game, load it up. Nice green screen, very quiet, no real soundtrack. (Unlike Tiger 2010, which has this really pumping intro.) Then we move on to the Play Now to try out the game. Player's look cute, but they are very plain. The fans are flat and lifeless. The referee blandly calls the action. No real music other than the player making some sounds which only come through the small wiimote speaker. I am not impressed with the Presentation at all. From the bland courts to the lack of any real soundtrack, it is very hard to get excited about an Arcade Tennis Game with Cartoony Characters. If you are going to make an Arcade Tennis Game it needs to give you the perception that it is more fun than the real thing. Gameplay, okay, I used to play high school tennis 20 years ago. The gameplay on this game feels nothing like real tennis. From the too slow service toss, to the poor computer player movement the gameplay could definitely use some tweaking. Time after time the AI moves the player in the wrong position and you have to switch from what should be a forehand to hitting a backhand and vice versa. I could continue about what I don't like about this game, the real deal is that this game just does not excite me to play it at all. With all of this Summers excellent Wii titles, Punch Out, ExciteBots, Tiger Woods 2010, this game just simply cannot compare.
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 10
3 out of 10
Gameplay: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Graphics: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Sound: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
0 of 8 found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Grand Slam Tennis
Played Both Grand Slam and Virtua Tennis
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Gameplay: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Graphics: 
4 out of 10
4 out of 10
Sound: 
4 out of 10
4 out of 10
Posted on:6/15/09
IAS
I waited a few days and read a few brief reviews. Then rented both games and purchased the Wii Motion Plus to see which I liked better. Virtua Tennis (VT) is more realistic, has better game play and has a much better career mode. Like any EA game the online set up seems better and easier to find opponents. Not saying I did not find opponents on VT but there were not as many. Grand Slam was almost too easy to play and childish. The big Tennis ball and smaller court made it to cartoonish. The split screen 2 player was terrible. The swinging motion was pretty inaccurate from pace of the shot to which side you were swinging. After hitting the ball on a stretch it would take too long for the guy to move or it would dive for shots it had no reason to dive. I love EA games and know there will be more people online with EA because of sheer marketing and that in years to come it will get better but as a first pass it is not a real good game. It needs work. Sega has been putting out Virtua Tennis for a few years and this is the first time I have purchased it and I could tell they worked out some of the quirks that EA has missed. VT is a better representative of real Tennis and with the Wii Motion Plus you could tell they got close. There are no buttons when trying to hit a lob shot or drop shot unlike Grand Slam Tennis which you have to press buttons. You have to make the Wii Remote do the shot. It takes practice so the challenge is more but it is more representative of real tennis. In both cases you will want to learn how to control the character and hit the ball and not let the computer control the character. It will make for better shots in the long run. The career mode in VT is in depth. You work your way up the Amateur Ranks which takes time and your build your strengths. My arm is bothering me from playing so much Tennis these last few days. Overall Grand Slam is good to rent and will get more publicity because of EA and the old players (Boris Becker, McEnroe etc) in the game. Virtua Tennis by far is the better game and the one to buy.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Gameplay: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Graphics: 
4 out of 10
4 out of 10
Sound: 
4 out of 10
4 out of 10
Review 20 for Grand Slam Tennis
Ridiculously fun after getting the hang of it
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Posted on:6/13/09
Phils08Champs
Let me just say first and foremost, this game is downright challenging. Yet, once you get the hang of it, and most will, it is easily one of the most fun and satisfying sports game on any console, let alone just the Wii. I recommend playing with the motion plus along with the nunchuck attached which gives you full control of your player, avoiding the computer controlling where your character moves which can be very annoying. The very first thing you should do when you play this is hit the practice court. Trust me, this game will take some practice to get used to and will undoubtedly leave some players muttering curses under their breath. However, it only took me around 15-20 minutes to get a real good feel for at least hitting the ball accurately back and forth. The best tip I have for anyone playing this is to pull back on your swing as soon as your opponent hits the ball; as soon as he hits it you should be able to tell where his shot is going so pull back for either a backhand or forehand and time your swing just as the ball arrives at you. Master this and you will be a pro in no time. As for the actual gameplay, everything seems to work really well. The game controls great and the motion plus adds a great true to life swing. The harder you swing the harder your shot will be and vice verse. You can do slice shots, flat shots, drops, lobs, and add top spin. With the nun-chuck you can fully control where your player is at all times, and while this does take some skill combining everything together, it really pays off once you master where you should be on the court at all times. My absolute favorite part of this game is the online play, especially the doubles. You can go solo and play against anybody in the world and earn points for your country, level up, and move up the leaderboards. Or, you can team up with a friend alongside you and take on other teams of 2 online in doubles matches, which is my favorite mode. There are separate leaderboards for doubles, and so far I've made it as high as 4 in the world. I've experienced very little lag and have had a blast playing online. It is without a doubt the most fun I've had playing Wii in a very long time. The single player career mode is pretty cool as well. The customization options for your character are somewhat limited, but there are plenty of events to play in. The best part is that tennis legends from every era are in the game. My very first tournament match in career was against John Mcenroe, and I got carved up. But it was fun and I certainly got him back double later in my career. As you progress through your career you unlock new clothes a la Tiger Woods 10 (another truly amazing game for the Wii), earn new abilities by beating pro players in exhibition matches, and fight for all the real life tournament trophies, most notably Wimbledon and the French Open. The bottom line is that this game is a blast to play, and that's what matters in the end. There is somewhat of a learning curve, but most players should be able to get used to it. I highly suggest you go pick this game up, you won't regret it. I'll see you online.
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10