GameStop Ratings and Reviews

Shop Now At GameStop
Shop Software or
Choose a Category
Top Rated Product

Product Reviews

Need for Speed: Shift

Feel what it's really like to race high-end performance cars as Need for Speed SHIFT thrusts you into the heart of the action for the true driver's experience. Immersive and exciting features such as a stunningly realistic first-person cockpit view and an all-new crash mechanic deliver an unrivaled sensation of the speed and exhilaration of racing a car on the extreme edge of control. Plus, an ultra-realistic physics engine lets you feel every bump as you race around some of the world's top tracks. Whether you're battling online or playing through your career, build your unique driver profile from moment to moment and from race to race and get rewarded for driving the way you want to drive.
Average Customer Rating:
7.672
7.7
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (122 reviews)
10 stars
18
9 stars
14
8 stars
12
7 stars
2
6 stars
1
5 stars
0
4 stars
3
3 stars
1
2 stars
1
1 star
6
45 out of 5878%of reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Need for Speed: Shift
Review 1 for Need for Speed: Shift
Similar to Prosteet, in a positive manner
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Gameplay: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Posted on:12/6/13
Jarrlee
Location: Raytown MO
This game is perfect for: casual gamers
This game to put it simply is a mix of sim and arcade racer in both catagories. Like most sim racing games though of today your able to turn off all assits to make the driving experience and realistic as you wish and challiinging at the same time, Though in this game with all driving assists off it still feels somewhat...."arcadie" Though unlike Need for Speed Prostreet is donsn't have a storyline at all (even though Prostreets Story was highly minimal) Though all of this aside, Shift isnt a bad game. What shift does well is the DRIVING EXPERIENCE!! While in cockpit view instead of it feeling like a view, it instead feels more like a helmet view. When in cockpit view (helmiet view) your givien the feature of "free look" which allows you to look in all directions to any degree that your normal head could be able to turn unlike most other racing games where your simply turning directly left or right. Also when you crash into objects, your drivier reacts in a series of diffrent ways such as gasping, twiching of hands and arms, and even screen shaking dramatically showing you the force of the crash through the drivers feel. Oh and speaking of crashes...crashing in this game is terrifying!! Depending on the force in which you crash into an object the screen disorients into black and white and blurs dramaticlly almost ruiing your chances of instant recovery. Though this feature could be seen as a distruption to some, I highly approve of it. There are around 30 tracks (maybe a little bit less) and around 40 cars divided into 3 diffrent tiers based off their stock performance. The car sutomization isnt nothing at all to brag about. in fact if anything its more dissapointing then anything. Though again i will say this isnt a bad game, simply an average racing game. IF your wanting to get into the simulation racing genre for 360 then this is the perfect game to start you off with it.
 
My Product Recommendations
 
 
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Gameplay: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Review 2 for Need for Speed: Shift
Good Game, but doesn't have a lasting appeal
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
4 out of 10
4 out of 10
Posted on:12/1/13
Denny11Hamlin
Location: Somewhere in the world
This is a great game! Played it for a few months but then I got bored. The game is great, but it needs to have more things to do. Doesn't have a lasting appeal.
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
4 out of 10
4 out of 10
Review 3 for Need for Speed: Shift
Realistic
Overall Rating: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Posted on:7/28/13
Denny11Hamlin
This game is perfect for: casual gamers
I love everything about this game except for the lasting appeal. I love that you start with the worst car ever and you get better by buying cars. I also like that it is harder when you first start because you are a rookie. It's always harder when you are a rookie.
Overall Rating: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Review 4 for Need for Speed: Shift
Very very good.
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Gameplay: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Posted on:5/12/13
Shamus
This game is perfect for: casual gamers
Excellent installment in the NFS series, great graphics, great sound, everything. I strongly recommend this game to fans of the series and just casual racing fans alike. Xbox 360 classic! Enough said.
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Gameplay: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Review 5 for Need for Speed: Shift
sim racing braught to a arcade racing franchise
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Posted on:3/18/13
flipperrapper
Location: fall river MA
its amazing and need for speed didn't disappoint with this it truly is maverlous . unleashed is good too
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Review 6 for Need for Speed: Shift
Good racing game.
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Posted on:12/20/12
blubber12
Location: San Diego
This game is perfect for: party gamers
I think this is a well established, but overly realistic racing game. I play NFS: Prostreet and I get scores of 5,000 points and up in Drift races. Here I can't even get my car to drift. I love the crisp sound and amazing graphics though. A good overall game...
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Review 7 for Need for Speed: Shift
A Great Use of $10
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Posted on:12/2/12
thecrazyone11
Location: Planet Earth
This game is perfect for: casual gamers
NFS Has always been one of my favorite racing games but NFS Shift simply blew me away. This is arguably the best racing game I've ever played. As a collector of games I was noticing I didn't have as many racing games as I wanted to have. This one appealed to me and I was right to get it. The best thing about Shift is by far the driving experience, it feels so real. The sound sounds amazingly realistic. The one thing I think could have been better about this game is that the tracks could have been a bit more eunice. If you can get past this tiny flaw you'll find one of the best racing games on the market.
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Review 8 for Need for Speed: Shift
new best racing game.
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:11/18/12
theian
Location: newcomerstown,ohio
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
this is the best racing game ever made!!!! the graphics are perfect. the sound is amazing. gameplay is great. there are only three things wrong with this game. it's hard too turn, the game stops your car for you on turns, and you can't take a turn at more than 35 m.p.h. the career mode is one of the best ever. this game is hard, but that is what makes it fun. every game has to have a challenge to it, but still be fun.
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
6 of 6 found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Need for Speed: Shift
Save your money
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Posted on:4/1/12
Db1997
Location: Aberdeen, Maryland
This game is perfect for: casual gamers
it was a great game one of the best in the need for speed series, and its sequel is even better, go buy it
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Review 10 for Need for Speed: Shift
OK
Overall Rating: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Gameplay: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
4 out of 10
4 out of 10
Posted on:1/24/12
bigbub112557
Location: NY
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
I didn't think it was all that great because I would rather get some shooter game but its fun for a little. After that it becomes boring just racing. there's no cops or anything all you do is race in circles. Its more fun with cops.
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Overall Rating: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Gameplay: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
4 out of 10
4 out of 10
1 of 4 found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Need for Speed: Shift
Best Need For Speed game. Period.
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Posted on:12/31/11
blitzHappy
Location: Dallas, TX
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
Who could want anything more than sleek, smooth, fast cars with agile and high intensity racing? This was by far my favorite game of the NFS series and it will always be the best. (In my opinion)
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Review 12 for Need for Speed: Shift
Absolute Garbage
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Gameplay: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Graphics: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Sound: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Posted on:12/29/11
NeedForSpeedH8R
Location: EST
This game is perfect for: kid gamers
Bought this game because I heard it was rather good..HA..This game was an absolute waste of my time!! 20mph around a turn and you slide 100ft!! The EA Team should drive these cars before making a game about it! I was so frustrated by the gameplay that within 10 minutes of playing, the game ending up in peices. DON'T BUY!
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Gameplay: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Graphics: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Sound: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
1 of 5 found this review helpful.
Comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
theian
newcomerstown,ohio
 
Please wait while more information about theian is loaded.
Additional information about theian could not be loaded.
Top 500 Contributor
stop.
Posted 11/20/12
everyone needs to stop breaking their games after 10 minutes!!!! try learning how to play it. or rent it first. or sell it to someone like me who would be happy to own it. this game is amazing.
Comments (1)
Comment (1)
Review 13 for Need for Speed: Shift
a great nfs game
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:12/7/11
sonnyc
Location: spring hill, fl
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
this game is pretty good;i just bought it today,and it is not bad at all. all you have to do is build your driver profile,win all the races in all the series,and you can even upgrade,tune and paint your car.overall,very good need for speed game.
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
0 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Need for Speed: Shift
awesome game
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:12/5/11
Nathan4512
Location: Fond du Lac, WI
This game is perfect for: casual gamers
great game, bought it today and cant stop playing it. in the very begining it can be frustraiting cause you race a car without any assits so its a little hard, but after that is very awesome, id recommend this to anyone who likes racing games.
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Review 15 for Need for Speed: Shift
Really Good
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Posted on:11/5/11
Jimmy6
This game is perfect for: casual gamers
The customization suffered a little, but you know, its a simulation, not an arcade game. over all, the game was great. this game can be played over and over again without getting boring at all. its one of my favorites in the NFS franchise.
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Review 16 for Need for Speed: Shift
Made Me Like Racing Games!
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Gameplay: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Posted on:9/17/11
FCBM
This was my first racing game. It was definitely worth $20. It has a lot of various car choices. you can also customize your car with many different features. Even though it is a little repetative, it has a high lasting appeal.
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Gameplay: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Review 17 for Need for Speed: Shift
Decent
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Gameplay: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Posted on:8/16/11
DesotellRacing62
Location: Rochester Hills,MI
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
Its worth the money with the current price, so if your wondering if you should get Shift 2 over this... wait till its 20$
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Gameplay: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Review 18 for Need for Speed: Shift
Not a Fan
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 10
4 out of 10
Gameplay: 
4 out of 10
4 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
3 out of 10
3 out of 10
Posted on:7/15/11
Joeyayo
Location: Lorain, OH
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
Once again the NFS franchise takes a different turn with the way they make games. Was not a fan of it at all..seems like tuning of cars does not change much in your handling only your speed aspects. Controls are really hard as drifting around corners is impossible as you just fly straight into walls if you try. O yea where is the clutch? It just disappeared...
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 10
4 out of 10
Gameplay: 
4 out of 10
4 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
3 out of 10
3 out of 10
0 of 1 found this review helpful.
Comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
darotary
 
Please wait while more information about darotary is loaded.
Additional information about darotary could not be loaded.
Decent track racing
Posted 5/10/12
good track game. could have been better. it was good with being realistic, but they could have done better
Comments (1)
Comment (1)
Review 19 for Need for Speed: Shift
awesome
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:7/2/11
buckhunter
this game is great......need for speed games are great. This game i think is more fun cause the graphics and sound are really good and they just make the game all round better. This is just a fun game to play and its cheap now so i recommend this game to anyone who likes racing games.
 
My Product Recommendations
 
 
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
2 of 2 found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Need for Speed: Shift
Eeeh,ok
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Gameplay: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Posted on:6/15/11
GamE29
Location: St.Louis,MO
This game is perfect for: casual gamers
Need for Speed has always been one of my favorite games, but this one was easy to beat and didnt take but a couple of days. Overall you do get your moneys worth.
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Gameplay: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
1 2 3 4 5 ... 7 next>>