GameStop Ratings and Reviews

Shop Now At GameStop
Shop Software or
Choose a Category
Most Popular Products
Top Rated Product

Product Reviews

Need for Speed: Shift

Feel what it's really like to race high-end performance cars as Need for Speed SHIFT thrusts you into the heart of the action for the true driver's experience. Immersive and exciting features such as a stunningly realistic first-person cockpit view and an all-new crash mechanic deliver an unrivaled sensation of the speed and exhilaration of racing a car on the extreme edge of control. Plus, an ultra-realistic physics engine lets you feel every bump as you race around some of the world's top tracks. Whether you're battling online or playing through your career, build your unique driver profile from moment to moment and from race to race and get rewarded for driving the way you want to drive.
Average Customer Rating:
6.222
6.2
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (15 reviews)
10 stars
1
9 stars
1
8 stars
0
7 stars
2
6 stars
3
5 stars
0
4 stars
1
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
1
3 out of 933%of reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Need for Speed: Shift
Review 1 for Need for Speed: Shift
O.K. but not NFS material
Overall Rating: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Gameplay: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:10/14/09
Such _bad
This game is okay but its not really what I know as Need for Speed. This game just has open streets that don't have anything in them. Where's the thrill of the game now? This game is still good but if it is trying to interfere with Gran Turismo then I think that absurd. NFS is good for its street racing and GT is good for its realistic driving. I preordered this game and when it came out it looked awesome. I got it, all the game had was; race, drift challenge, race, drift challenge, speed trap, drift challenge, race, drift challenge What is the point of a game if you're just going to make them drift after these 'special makers'. Please if you have been playing this series for a long time, just don't pick up this game for PSP. The good thing is that it has good visuals and a competition. Awesome selection of cars too. I really think this game does not have a good standing as a Need for Speed game so I will rate it 6 out of 10.
Overall Rating: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Gameplay: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
3 of 4 found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Need for Speed: Shift
To buy or not to buy?
Posted on:9/11/09
Reddum
For the psp version, if you didn't like Pro Street....i don't think you will care much for this either. Its almost the same thing. It has the map grid where you select your race...beat a few ppl and then you race the king. Defeat all the kings and race the undefeated King. There's no cash....just points and certain races unlocks cars. Stick with one Car type ( Dodge, Mitsu, eyc ) and you gain loyalty and earn upgrades. For the Psp version....really more disappointed then anything. 2 1/2 out of 5 at best.
5 of 6 found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Need for Speed: Shift
eh.. ??
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 10
4 out of 10
Gameplay: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Graphics: 
4 out of 10
4 out of 10
Sound: 
3 out of 10
3 out of 10
Posted on:3/15/10
oh - wow
When i saw the graphics on Nfs Shift for the ps3 i waslike whoa. So i saved up my money and bought it. Wow was that a waste of my money. First of the graphics are terrible the people look like things you would see in the nes and when you use nitro on some cars you cant even controal them so you crash. Next off you dont buy the cars you just unlock them which makes the game a little bit easy. But this game got me frustrated u use a porsche that can only go 165 while you face a viper that goes 220 i was like what the heck. So you have to unlock the bmw track legend which is fast but not as fast as the Audi. overall an ok game but you might want to get a diffrent one. And you only get like 20 cars so not a good racing game for the psp. you can get some cars but not nearly as many as ps3 version. so if you are a die hard NFS fan then get but if you are looking for simulation dont.
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 10
4 out of 10
Gameplay: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Graphics: 
4 out of 10
4 out of 10
Sound: 
3 out of 10
3 out of 10
0 of 5 found this review helpful.
Comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
awesome93
 
Please wait while more information about awesome93 is loaded.
Additional information about awesome93 could not be loaded.
WHAT?!?
Posted 1/13/11
why are u posting a ps3 review for a psp game
Comments (1)
Comment (1)
Review 4 for Need for Speed: Shift
amazing racing game!!!!
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:12/28/10
Evli
This game is perfect for: casual gamers
this game has a lot of cool cars. some of the cars are a little pointless. they made a aston martin with a huge spoiler on the back. a little weird but still a great racing game. nitro is pointless until you get it upgraded otherwise it just crashes your car unless you are going strait on the road.
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
2 of 2 found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Need for Speed: Shift
fair
Overall Rating: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Gameplay: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Graphics: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Posted on:8/9/13
sonyisawesome
Location: Goldendale,WA
This game is perfect for: kid gamers
nfs shift is the only game I have ever played by EA that i havent been impresed with. the graphics are fair but the gameplay aint that good.really not all that great.
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Overall Rating: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Gameplay: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Graphics: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Need for Speed: Shift
INTREST GOT ME
Posted on:4/6/09
TRIX-LXD
I've played almost every need for speed game made but I think this one has caught my eye the most more than all of the need for speed games for some reason. The screen shots are even amazing to me the graphics look hard core and knowing the need for speed creators the cars will also be the hottest they have ever been and the sound track may keep you bumpin through the whole game and even though there may not be much on the cover to show for I think this game is a 100% winner!
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Need for Speed: Shift
This is for the Race fanatics
Posted on:8/16/09
Edge Racer
Need for speed: Pro Street was hated by most people but it allowed you to customize horsepower, the suspension, and braking just like a real car...if you want that streetracing arcade experience from Need For Speed Undercover and Carbon, etc...there will be two other games...where you can run from the cops and race against A.I. opponents with no way to tune your car realistically...me, I'm a gearhead...I want to feel the engine mods and supercharger or turbo effect the way I perform in the quarter of a mile drag and drift races...I'm hoping that they make this game a grip based game, there is a drift or drag based game, and the usual run from the cops with the hot girl helping you formula game like NFS: Underground...this is for the guys who want that Formula D and D1GT experience.
Review 8 for Need for Speed: Shift
not so good
Posted on:4/11/09
jamesw212
Well I think that the new way might hit off but it’s not the same need for speed I know. I miss the run from the cops actual street racing experience now they are doing a sanctioned style coarse racing now and it’s not the same
1 of 2 found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Need for Speed: Shift
Need For Speed Shift
Overall Rating: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Gameplay: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Graphics: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Sound: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Posted on:2/23/12
videogamefreak1
Location: miami florida
This game is perfect for: kid gamers
feel what its really like to race high end performance cars as need for speed shift thrusts you into the heart of the action for the true drivers experience immersive and exciting features such as a stunningly realistic first person cockpit view and an ultra realistic physics engine lets you feel every bump as you race around some of the worlds top tracks wheather you are battling online or playing through your career build your unique driver profile from moment to moment and from race to race and get rewarded for driving the way you want to drive
Overall Rating: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Gameplay: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Graphics: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Sound: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Review 10 for Need for Speed: Shift
Yikes
Overall Rating: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Gameplay: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Graphics: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Sound: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Posted on:1/12/11
thisnameistaken
Location: Lincoln, NE
I'm a real fan of racing games (a car nerd :D) and this game for psp was not what I expected. I beat it in one night (of course) and took it back. The graphics were not bad, but don't get this game for the psp if you have it on a console. In fact, I wouldn't get it if I didn't have it for ps3. Maybe I'm only remembering the bad parts about the game though because I looked at the car list and WOW! How come I don't remember driving those?
Overall Rating: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Gameplay: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Graphics: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Sound: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Review 11 for Need for Speed: Shift
Looks great
Posted on:5/5/09
jbourne
The first time I saw the screenshots for this game it reminded me of GRID. The cars are on street courses and every car looks like something you'd see in a European Touring Car Series. I have not played GRID because it wasn't released on a PSP but this game will be on the PSP which is awesome.
0 of 2 found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Need for Speed: Shift
not so good
Posted on:8/14/09
pspman go get your own
You know all these new need for speed games I don't really like what happened to customizing your car, police and most of all the streets not tracks everyone who wants to buy this game be my guest but i don't recommend it .....that's my opinion .
0 of 2 found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Need for Speed: Shift
Fine...
Overall Rating: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Gameplay: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Graphics: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Sound: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Posted on:11/23/11
blubber12
Location: Greenville,SC
This game is perfect for: kid gamers
I thought this game would be a blast when I bought it for my PSP. I'm not that sure anymore. For a PSP game it has an amazing storyline,etc. It's pretty good for a PSP game. I enjoyed it (so far)...
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Overall Rating: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Gameplay: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Graphics: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Sound: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Review 14 for Need for Speed: Shift
Great Game
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:11/18/11
sman224
This game is perfect for: casual gamers
i don't get what everyone wants out of this game it has amazing graphics for a psp game it has great gameplay and is extremely fun to play. at least it has a actual career mode unlike gran tourismo
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Review 15 for Need for Speed: Shift
this game is boring do not buy it !
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Gameplay: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Graphics: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Sound: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Posted on:2/27/12
mickey92396
Location: Florida FL
This game is perfect for: kid gamers
this game is boring the graphics are horrible and its too easy do not get this game for the psp the cars that u would expect to be slow they r fast but the cars u expect to be fast r slow
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Gameplay: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Graphics: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Sound: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
0 of 1 found this review helpful.