GameStop Ratings and Reviews

Shop Now At GameStop
Shop Software or
Choose a Category
Most Popular Products
Top Rated Product

Product Reviews

Need for Speed: Shift

Feel what it's really like to race high-end performance cars as Need for Speed SHIFT thrusts you into the heart of the action for the true driver's experience. Immersive and exciting features such as a stunningly realistic first-person cockpit view and an all-new crash mechanic deliver an unrivaled sensation of the speed and exhilaration of racing a car on the extreme edge of control. Plus, an ultra-realistic physics engine lets you feel every bump as you race around some of the world's top tracks. Whether you're battling online or playing through your career, build your unique driver profile from moment to moment and from race to race and get rewarded for driving the way you want to drive.
Average Customer Rating:
7.135
7.1
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (90 reviews)
10 stars
14
9 stars
3
8 stars
7
7 stars
0
6 stars
2
5 stars
1
4 stars
1
3 stars
4
2 stars
3
1 star
2
23 out of 3762%of reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Need for Speed: Shift
Review 1 for Need for Speed: Shift
Very Excellent and Well Designed Game
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:1/30/11
TheDriver
This game is perfect for: casual gamers
I rented Need for Speed Shift and played it for an hour or two and fell in love with it! I now plan to buy this game because of its excellence. First of all, the realism in this game is amazing! Now if you are a huge fan of most other need for speeds and you are more of a street racer gamer, you may not like this game so much. The steering, braking, crashes, spinouts, engine sounds, and tire skids are all very realistic in this game! There is a very huge variety of cars to choose from. You can get a Honda Civic all the way up to a super-fast-racing-rocket-car-that-I-can-not-remember-the-name-of! There is a very nice quantity of tracks and they are all different and good for certain cars depending. Now, my favorite part of this game is driving in the cockpit! It is by far the most realistic part and entertaining of this game! The drivers hands are shown, the speedometer, the buttons on the radio, the air conditioning knobs, the mirrors, and the guys feet even move on the pedals as you drive! An amazing product packed into this little perfect disk with a logo on it! How do they do it nowadays!?
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
5 of 6 found this review helpful.
Comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
jack19003
 
Please wait while more information about jack19003 is loaded.
Additional information about jack19003 could not be loaded.
wow
Posted 12/10/13
this game is cool
Comments (1)
Comment (1)
Review 2 for Need for Speed: Shift
really?
Posted on:4/12/09
Anonymous
This game series has had its ups and downs-- a lot of downs. They are getting more and more enclosed. The customization is getting smaller and smaller. What happened to customizing it your way like, like in NFSU and NFSU2? The body kits, spoilers, graphics, and wheels have all gotten smaller in choices. The series has gone far away from street racing they need to go back to more cars that are more likely for people to own now and start from scratch. Then work their way to getting more and more nice expensive fancy cars. For example they should have some normal cheap cars that a lot of people start driving for a first car, like Neon, Cavalier, Sunfire, Civic, Stratus, Talon, probe, Miata, Grand Am, SC, Golf, or something like that and get better and faster like they used to. Keep it street and free to roam. They can make the perfect street racing game but they are working in the opposite direction, they going to trak. The NFS series is great but I think they need to go totally street at least one more time.
Review 3 for Need for Speed: Shift
NFS Zigzag
Posted on:8/19/09
Eastwood
I feel like almost nobody here understands that NFS is being developed on a 2 year cycle by 2 different teams. It seems to me like one team is focused on track racing (this years team) and the other is more in tune with street racing. But regardless of what style of racing the NFS crew is making, it ends up really similar. Regardless of whether or not it is free roaming, most of the tracks in all of the NFS games have been enclosed, with only 1 route and maybe a shortcut or two. About the only thing that track racing takes away from that is the shortcuts. I agree with many of you that NFS was golden in the days of Hot Pursuit and that the franchise needs to take a few steps back before they can go forward more. However, this installments looks very promising, with a more in depth version of driver style, and tons of customization. Even detailed interior customization, something that the franchise has never done beyond seats and rollcages. I am excited about this years NFS, and I plan to pre-order in the coming days.
Review 4 for Need for Speed: Shift
Give NFS a break guys...
Posted on:5/31/09
DaBigC
Well, I think I may be the only one, but I didn't think Prostreet was that bad. Sure it wasn't the best, but it was good. In my opinion, underground style stuff was kinda lame. NFS:HP2 was the best: decent tracks, awesome rides, and the cops. I haven't played much of Most Wanted, but if it is like HP2 but with better graphics and car customization, that would be the best game ever. I'd also like a game that doesn't have a sucky multiplayer. Every game that I've played past HP2 has the worst multiplayer ever. To me, a story doesn't matter, its all about having fun with friends. Instead of having crapy cars to use that you have to trick out to make them good, they should have more cars like Lamborghini, Ferrari, Corvette and others. That way you can just race a friend and not go through all the time it takes to make a car awesome so your not racing with a top speed of 140 mph. I'm sure this game won't complete all of my requirements, but it could be good.
Review 5 for Need for Speed: Shift
What are they thinking...?
Posted on:4/15/09
Bsquared
Okay, lets lay this down. It looks like a good graphics game. Looks like if it has damage in it, it will be like GRID for PS3. That is fine and good, but leave it for GRID 2 and GT. Need for Speed started going downhill after Underground 2. Since then, they lacked online on most of them, and went with a complete new direction. Lets be honest, they weren't necessarily "bad games", but in comparison to what they had, they didn't stand a chance. Unless they take it back to the old school style they had in Underground 2, they will lose even more fans and won't gain any. And what year is this 2000, the new age requires racing games, shooters, and sports games to be online, without it, the young audience is losing interest. Bring in Underground 2 with a little police action from Carbon and Most wanted, you got yourself an amazing racing game that would hit Greatest hits in a few days. Keep your fingers crossed that it will revert back to what it once was.
Review 6 for Need for Speed: Shift
THE original NFS
Posted on:9/7/09
whitehead
I have read several previews/reviews for multiple NFS titles. Several have referenced the "first" NFS titles claiming them to be the street racing versions (Underground/Most Wanted). Others date their first experience with Hot Pursuit. They dislike the franchise getting away from its roots by trying to go to track racing. However, these people don't know that the ORIGINAL NFS (released in 1994) had a combination of track racing and "street" racing with traffic and cops. Now having said that, there are obviously two different styles of development with the franchise. If you like arcade street racing, stay with those games. If you want a realistic sim on tracks, try those. Personally, I enjoy both. I didn't enjoy Pro Street, but I'm giving this one a try because Gran Turismo is SO FAR AWAY! Please, stop bashing the different styles of the titles. This game looks really good and should appeal to those who enjoy this type of racing. I'm looking forward to it and the advancements EA will make in the future with this franchise in BOTH directions.
Review 7 for Need for Speed: Shift
why?
Posted on:8/3/09
MR_215
I personally feel that NFS has truly had some of the best racing games that i have every played. Being an orignal NFS player for years now, back when they had NFS Hot Pursuit for PS and now with their previous undergroud 1 & 2 to the lastest NFS Undercover. I feel that this next one might be ok and might not be ok. If they would just stick to what NFS was originally made like police chases and hardcore street racing then they would still hold the title for best racing games ever made. But with this new one I think its just not up to par with usually NFS profile, it seems like they're trying to make more like the other games for circuit racing than just sticking with the street racing. But I might try this new type of NFS when it comes out, but their next game better have more customization availabilities for the cars like inside the cars and more rim customization as well as far as color for the whole rim and the lip of different rims and two tone colors for rims as well. But in all I will definitely give this version a try, but i will rent or borrow it first.
Review 8 for Need for Speed: Shift
10/10
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:10/19/12
austy1123
Location: America
I really loved this game. The car selection was awesome and the customization a lot more hands on than most racing games. The graphics of the cars were exceptional. I never wanted to put the controller down. Thanks for reading.
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
3 of 3 found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Need for Speed: Shift
Need For Speed () Shift an awesome game...
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:7/20/10
pipilin
well I first bought my all new ps3 for an hd gaming experience I bought 4 games but I thought, a racing game can be a very good choice for my ps3 then i downloaded the demo of nfs shift it was awesome and i bought this game my hd gaming xperience with that game was perfect the graphics, controls... evrything. so I definetely recommend this game to other costumers and with respect to gt 5 its not a very good game need for speed shift is the true driving experience. I love this game it has a very good graphics of the interior of the cars and the tracks are very good it has a lot of cars, and i love the bmw z4 coupe and the pagani zonda f and z are fast, light and very very awesome, the best cars of the game... and remember need for speed shift is the true driving xperience
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Need for Speed: Shift
Best racing game out there, period!
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:9/24/09
MadMax
This is seriously is one of the best racing games ive ever played! Ive got about 30 PS3 games, mostly popular titles and a friend of mine saw NFSS over here last night. Loved it so much he went out and bought a PS3 with that game today. Hes seen all my games, but that one just sealed the deal for him. I dont see how anyone could dislike this game. Its like Gran Turismo, but less overwhelming. Its amazing, go get this game and you will not regret it. Best NFS to date and first one ive ever bought. Its different and much better. Control of the cars is spot on, its perfect. Its a sim with a touch of arcade thrown in. You cant beat it. Tons of upgrades, tweaks, challenges and a great selection of only the best cars in the world. What more could you want in a great racing game? Do yourself a favor and go get this game and make sure you play it in the cockpit. Its frikin amazing! If you dont believe, just go take a look at what all the pro reviewers are saying about it. Theyre giving this game 5 out of 5 and scoring it 9 to 10 everywhere. Its really that good and ive never owned a NFS game.
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Review 11 for Need for Speed: Shift
fail...
Posted on:4/20/09
yuri
like others i too am a NFS fan. have been way back since PS1. i loved the Undergrounds, and carbon but was very disappointed when NFS pro Street was released. for some, they liked the Gran Trismo like feel to the game but i wasn't buying NFS games because they were copies of other games it was because they had their own unique feel to them. however after the underground games were released it seemed like the developers took too much time in rushing the game out vs. gathering vehicle data to enhance the gamers experience in driving their rides. when carbon came out i was happy that they had auto-scuplt, but beyond that you really couldn't do much more. i am more of the type that would like to customize every square inch of the car to my liking. from exterior lighting, engine components ( visual ) to interior styling much like in real life. i know the tuner scene may be old school but there is so much more they could do with it.. like for instance Underground 3?? i know EA can do so much better with this than they have been. i will not buy this game when it comes out if it is anything like Pro Street.
Review 12 for Need for Speed: Shift
What NSF's developers should've think of
Posted on:4/19/09
antoniomendez
Hello everyone. I've played all NSF; many i bought them myself and many of them i borrowed and didn't liked it so i didn't buy them. To be direct, NSF's developers should stop developing NSFs "everyday" and just create something worth the money, our time and worth our playing. They are in need of mixing elements of all NFS and do something good. Not making so much different games that if want to do something else, i need the other NFS; if want to do this, i need the other one. For example: NFS Underground 2; you could race people already been in the streets running by just placing yourself while driving at the side of the opponent. NFS Most Wanted and many others. THE POLICE CHASING!. NFS Carbon: the "cliff" falling/racing and so on.... This NFS Shift looks good; like all of them did. but when you play it and end it; you just think wasn't worth the money and time.
Review 13 for Need for Speed: Shift
Not recommended
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 10
3 out of 10
Gameplay: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Graphics: 
4 out of 10
4 out of 10
Sound: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Posted on:10/23/09
Stacks1
I see where they are trying to go with the game but that should be left up to Gran Turismo. The graphics for the game are good but could have been done better which gives it kind of a PS2 game that was made just before PS3 came out. The controls aren't too bad the cars seem to just want to go everywhere on the track. Unless your familiar with the actual "footwork" of drifting it can be quite complicating trying to control the car. Pro street was definitely better than Shift and would recommend it over this new game. If you are a hardcore race fan stick with Gran Turismo or Forza if you have a 360. Other than that Unless you receive Shift as a gift I would recommend spending your hard earned money on something that you may regret. If this is helpful great, if not good luck in playing and told you so.
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 10
3 out of 10
Gameplay: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Graphics: 
4 out of 10
4 out of 10
Sound: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
1 of 2 found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Need for Speed: Shift
AMAZING!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:9/22/09
Jaguarnaught
WOW!!! This game is extremly good! There is so much more that you can do with your car and there are also a lot more cars and tracks to choose from! My first race when I got this was with my RX8 and I was blown away by how sweet the graphics and the way the car sounded were. This game has a massive improvement from th past Need for Speed games! Like when I bought Undercover I thought it was going to be awseome like the past games but then I realized that it was terrible and not realistic at all like Need For Speed Shift! Also in shift I like the fact that you get like your own driver profile on the way you drive! I am already a aggressive driver and I think that that is pretty sweet! Another sweet thing about this game is that when your driving you are actually in the car so it seems like your are actually driving! This game is great and I highly recomend it!
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Review 15 for Need for Speed: Shift
r u serious!?!
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 10
3 out of 10
Gameplay: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Graphics: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Sound: 
4 out of 10
4 out of 10
Posted on:10/10/09
phantom21
need for speed.........i had high expectations for this addition to the series. it failed. the best aspect about the game are the cars with wide variety and some good racing tracks. the camera mode it not suit for all. for the hardcore racing gamers i suppose it does well. or maybe if you just want the more real side of driving. for us gamers that just like to play games it does no justice. this game honestly lacks originality. it reminds me a lot of Grid. courses are decently similar and so is the racing experience. i wish they would have taken more time to develope this game. i understand need for speed is going back to its similar heritage roots but still needs works. i dont find myself recognizing nfs as a major racing competitor game. as a serious gamers who enjoys most genres of gaming i rate the a 6/10
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 10
3 out of 10
Gameplay: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Graphics: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Sound: 
4 out of 10
4 out of 10
1 of 3 found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Need for Speed: Shift
Like driving a car mounted on a swivel chair
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 10
2 out of 10
Gameplay: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Posted on:5/18/11
Wallstreet
Location: Detroit
This game is perfect for: kid gamers
I got the midnight it came out. Wow, If only I could get my $59.99 back, instead I got 20 bucks trade-in 4 days later. I know driving games, thats my hobby. Level 1,2,3 no problem. You get into higher levels and you are driving the world's greatest cars, except according to programmers at EA. the world's greatest cars don't handle at all. My first car in real life was a '85 Lincoln Town Car. I took many freeway exit ramps and turns at 80MPH, the car made it. According to EA though, Zondas and Bugattis can't turn at 80MPH without galloping accross the track. RENTED Shift 2 as well, little better, same garbage. Oh well, at least Forza and GT5 are still around.
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 10
2 out of 10
Gameplay: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
3 of 6 found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Need for Speed: Shift
Thumbs down in my opinion.
Posted on:3/27/09
s0uL_tC
Hey people, In my opinion this game is going to flop just like it's been flopping since they took NFS:Underground out and started to go back to the old ways of NFS. I've played NFS since they had it on 3DO console and I've had the very first NFS on PS One and that I enjoyed so much until it got boring with the small selection of cars and maps. Underground was great because they opened up the map and did free roam which someone had mentioned needs to brought back into the game. Plus, I like the fact I am able to fix up my car and it's a car that I would actually be able to afford in real life like, Toyota Corolla 85', Nissan 240 SX 89-92, or the Honda Civic. I was actually hoping they would bring out a new NFS:Underground with my car (Scion tC) so I can play around with it because in real life I can't afford to make these fun mods, but no EA continues to throw their money away on the NFS Franchise by doing what they want to do. Why am I going to play a racing sim like NFS (which doesn't come close to a racing sim) when I can play GT (Grand Turismo)? WAKE UP EA, STOP WASTING YOUR MONEY AND BRING BACK THE UNDERGROUND FRANCHISE!
Review 18 for Need for Speed: Shift
Different, but still cool
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Posted on:9/15/09
Icey ice
Got it the first day it was released, and got a nice deal on a steering wheel from a popular place to 'buy' your 'best' electronics. I am impressed at how the game is geared more towards simulation than in the past. I wish that they would have kept the cop chasing you element in the game which was so much fun. This is my first need for speed since 'carbon, ' and i am satisfied with it, even though some online bozo bumped me on the next-to-last lap at Laguna seca. I guess you're gonna get that in any online race game! The sense of speed is much better than GT 5 prologue, but it's weird how the steering wheel is much more forgiving in nfs than in turismo. I guess the makers of 'shift' didn't want to go completely sim crazy, which is a good thing. The controls are so far, so good, and so is the game. I say to all racing fans, get this game.
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Review 19 for Need for Speed: Shift
Shift
Posted on:9/6/09
JDMaSz
Well Need For Speed has come a long way since Hot Pursuit and what not. I always was addicted to this title anyways because it delivered every time. Underground and Underground 2 was a major upgrade because it gave you a real life of what the streets were about. As they made more and more titles they became more and more involved with the street racing life i guess. Pro Streets for example seems to be a model of how it really is at track days. The streets are good for racing but is still amateur stuff. I fell in love with street racing but its still not enough, i wanted to go in more and see what its all about and Need For Speed has seemed to take it there. i have been to the drag strip out in Englishtown, NJ and the way i see it, its amazing out there. To me NFSPD is doing away with the unorganized and looking at the bigger picture and really going in for the major more intense races. I do wish they would stick to the JDM theme a little more but heyy, the graphics and cars don't lie. In the coming days i will pre-order this newest title because it seems to move on and show how the life is behind the track where the real racing takes place.
Review 20 for Need for Speed: Shift
A solid game
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Posted on:7/26/11
CatholicGamer
Location: los angeles, ca
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
This game is probably the best "Need for Speed" game for the PS3. I can't speak for other consoles since I only own the PS3. My major (and perhaps my only significant) problem is that it isn't split screen multiplayer. It's such a disappointment that none of the "Need for Speed" games are locally split-screen multiplayer. I mean if it's going to be a racing game, it should definitely be offline multiplayer; there shouldn't be any excuses. With that said, this game is really good. The graphics are top notch and the gameplay is really good as well. Had this game been for 2 players (or more) I would have given it a 9.5.
If you don't have any siblings you like to play with, or family, or even friends, then this game would be perfect for you. But I have many friends and some who don't own a PS3 so they come over my house to play.
 
My Product Recommendations
 
 
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
1 2 3 4 5 next>>