GameStop Ratings and Reviews

Shop Now At GameStop
Shop Software or
Choose a Category
Top Rated Product

Product Reviews

Need for Speed: Shift

Feel what it's really like to race high-end performance cars as Need for Speed SHIFT thrusts you into the heart of the action for the true driver's experience. Immersive and exciting features such as a stunningly realistic first-person cockpit view and an all-new crash mechanic deliver an unrivaled sensation of the speed and exhilaration of racing a car on the extreme edge of control. Plus, an ultra-realistic physics engine lets you feel every bump as you race around some of the world's top tracks. Whether you're battling online or playing through your career, build your unique driver profile from moment to moment and from race to race and get rewarded for driving the way you want to drive.
Average Customer Rating:
7.135
7.1
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (90 reviews)
10 stars
14
9 stars
3
8 stars
7
7 stars
0
6 stars
2
5 stars
1
4 stars
1
3 stars
4
2 stars
3
1 star
2
23 out of 3762%of reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Need for Speed: Shift
Review 1 for Need for Speed: Shift
Not worth your time.
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 10
2 out of 10
Gameplay: 
3 out of 10
3 out of 10
Graphics: 
4 out of 10
4 out of 10
Sound: 
2 out of 10
2 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Posted on:12/19/13
raceredge
Location: Wa
After playing it, the game got boring really quickly. Graphics are good but not the best sound is not even close to realistic but the only thing good was the cars but didn't even have that much. Need For Speed Games are failing big time.
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 10
2 out of 10
Gameplay: 
3 out of 10
3 out of 10
Graphics: 
4 out of 10
4 out of 10
Sound: 
2 out of 10
2 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Review 2 for Need for Speed: Shift
Race Race Race
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Gameplay: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Posted on:8/6/13
sportfan15
Location: Phoenixville, PA
This game is perfect for: casual gamers
this is a good game. don't listen to the bad reviews. the rating of 7.3 is a under rated rating of this game. I have not played a lot of this game yet. but I can already tell it is a good game. it is not that much money. it is worth the money.
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Gameplay: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Review 3 for Need for Speed: Shift
10/10
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:10/19/12
austy1123
Location: America
I really loved this game. The car selection was awesome and the customization a lot more hands on than most racing games. The graphics of the cars were exceptional. I never wanted to put the controller down. Thanks for reading.
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
3 of 3 found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Need for Speed: Shift
Awesome!!!!
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Posted on:2/18/12
Rossario
Location: New Jersey
This game is perfect for: casual gamers
If your a racin fan you'll love this game! I was always a fan of the NFS genre and I bought this game without any knowledge of it and I enjoy playing it. The graphics are really cool the speed of the game is fast, you can buy,design,and tweek you own car. Some of the tracks are tough but with that it definitley brings a competitive challenge to the table.
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Review 5 for Need for Speed: Shift
Pretty good game
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Gameplay: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Graphics: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Posted on:9/5/11
Podermaximo
Location: Los Angeles,CA
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
Ive bought this game yesterday and it is pretty good. i seen a few peoples comments, complaining about the gameplay, it isnt bad unless you suck at the first level. The only thing this lame lacks on is the type of cars. It has an ok selection of cars i wish it had more diffrent ones. Overall, its good i recomend it to those that like racing games.
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Gameplay: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Graphics: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Need for Speed: Shift
A solid game
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Posted on:7/26/11
CatholicGamer
Location: los angeles, ca
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
This game is probably the best "Need for Speed" game for the PS3. I can't speak for other consoles since I only own the PS3. My major (and perhaps my only significant) problem is that it isn't split screen multiplayer. It's such a disappointment that none of the "Need for Speed" games are locally split-screen multiplayer. I mean if it's going to be a racing game, it should definitely be offline multiplayer; there shouldn't be any excuses. With that said, this game is really good. The graphics are top notch and the gameplay is really good as well. Had this game been for 2 players (or more) I would have given it a 9.5.
If you don't have any siblings you like to play with, or family, or even friends, then this game would be perfect for you. But I have many friends and some who don't own a PS3 so they come over my house to play.
 
My Product Recommendations
 
 
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Review 7 for Need for Speed: Shift
Bumper cars
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 10
3 out of 10
Gameplay: 
3 out of 10
3 out of 10
Graphics: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Sound: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Posted on:7/4/11
DutchReaper
Location: FL
This game is perfect for: party gamers
I am playing this after Forza and what is up with the bumper carsI go clean around other drivers but at the first corner i am taken out like i don't excist. Racing is about avoiding contact not trying to hit somebody else as hard as possible. This is not a game for people who like to race like it should be but it is fun if you like to play demolition derby. and the cars handle horrible can't keep a $600.000 car straight I would send it back to the factory if that was for real. Forza 3 is the best and i am going to try GT5
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 10
3 out of 10
Gameplay: 
3 out of 10
3 out of 10
Graphics: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Sound: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
1 of 2 found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Need for Speed: Shift
Very Disapointing :(
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Gameplay: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
4 out of 10
4 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Posted on:6/12/11
grady
Location: mobile, alabama
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
I indeed I thought this game was going to be the best NFS racer ever, but once started playing I easily frustrated. In the 1st tier I was doing great, 2nd and 3rd tier is just a nightmare. I really loved Hot Pursuit and Burnout Paradise, and yeah they're really good arcade racers. I guess I just suck at simulation racers. This game is really hard and takes a really committed indivisual or car finatic to beat.
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Gameplay: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
4 out of 10
4 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
2 of 3 found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Need for Speed: Shift
best game ever.
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Posted on:5/22/11
abcd666
Location: NY,Freeport
This game is perfect for: kid gamers
this game is really for casual gamers because its a car racing game i also recommended for kid gamers but this is very very good game.
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Review 10 for Need for Speed: Shift
Like driving a car mounted on a swivel chair
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 10
2 out of 10
Gameplay: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Posted on:5/18/11
Wallstreet
Location: Detroit
This game is perfect for: kid gamers
I got the midnight it came out. Wow, If only I could get my $59.99 back, instead I got 20 bucks trade-in 4 days later. I know driving games, thats my hobby. Level 1,2,3 no problem. You get into higher levels and you are driving the world's greatest cars, except according to programmers at EA. the world's greatest cars don't handle at all. My first car in real life was a '85 Lincoln Town Car. I took many freeway exit ramps and turns at 80MPH, the car made it. According to EA though, Zondas and Bugattis can't turn at 80MPH without galloping accross the track. RENTED Shift 2 as well, little better, same garbage. Oh well, at least Forza and GT5 are still around.
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 10
2 out of 10
Gameplay: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
3 of 6 found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Need for Speed: Shift
No splitscreen :(
Overall Rating: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Gameplay: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
4 out of 10
4 out of 10
Posted on:4/26/11
DuckyDuck
Location: Barrow, Alaska
This game is perfect for: casual gamers
Its alright. There are a lot of cars and the graphics are really good. The only problem is that there is no split screen multilayer. If your not planning on playing this with your friends on the same screen than its a good buy.
Overall Rating: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Gameplay: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
4 out of 10
4 out of 10
0 of 2 found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Need for Speed: Shift
Awesome, best racing game ever!
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:3/5/11
coltsfan18
Location: Columbia, SC
This game is perfect for: casual gamers
I like racing games a lot, but this blows everything else away. I think the graphics are better than Gran Turismo. Also it doesn't take much time to go from driving a Chevy Cobalt to driving a Bugatti. IT IS THE BEST RACING GAME I HAVE EVER PLAYED! I would recommend this game to anyone who likes racing games.
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
0 of 2 found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Need for Speed: Shift
If you have no driving line brake before you think
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:2/24/11
Frogger
Location: Seattle,WA
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
I think this is a really awsome game I got in 2009 and once I herd that there was going to be a seconed shift I got right to practicing on shift 1 and I can't wait till March 29,2011.
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Review 14 for Need for Speed: Shift
Very Excellent and Well Designed Game
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:1/30/11
TheDriver
This game is perfect for: casual gamers
I rented Need for Speed Shift and played it for an hour or two and fell in love with it! I now plan to buy this game because of its excellence. First of all, the realism in this game is amazing! Now if you are a huge fan of most other need for speeds and you are more of a street racer gamer, you may not like this game so much. The steering, braking, crashes, spinouts, engine sounds, and tire skids are all very realistic in this game! There is a very huge variety of cars to choose from. You can get a Honda Civic all the way up to a super-fast-racing-rocket-car-that-I-can-not-remember-the-name-of! There is a very nice quantity of tracks and they are all different and good for certain cars depending. Now, my favorite part of this game is driving in the cockpit! It is by far the most realistic part and entertaining of this game! The drivers hands are shown, the speedometer, the buttons on the radio, the air conditioning knobs, the mirrors, and the guys feet even move on the pedals as you drive! An amazing product packed into this little perfect disk with a logo on it! How do they do it nowadays!?
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
5 of 6 found this review helpful.
Comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
jack19003
 
Please wait while more information about jack19003 is loaded.
Additional information about jack19003 could not be loaded.
wow
Posted 12/10/13
this game is cool
Comments (1)
Comment (1)
Review 15 for Need for Speed: Shift
Don't buy
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 10
4 out of 10
Gameplay: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Graphics: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Posted on:12/17/10
911avia
Location: cupertino
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
At first I absolutely loved this game, but very fustrating later one, then I got to the last tier and it was almost impossible to beat. In order to finish this game you have to be literally obssessed with racing games. I would not recommend this. If you want to buy a NFS racing game, then get most wanted. I loved most wanted it is so far the best NFS trust me its much more worth, and there is no major difference in the graphincs. GET MOST WANTED NOT THIS I WASTED MY MONEY ON THIS IT SUCKS.
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 10
4 out of 10
Gameplay: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Graphics: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
2 of 11 found this review helpful.
Comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
jgalena
 
Please wait while more information about jgalena is loaded.
Additional information about jgalena could not be loaded.
Posted 2/3/11
really your going to say it sucks just because its to hard
Comments (1)
Comment (1)
Review 16 for Need for Speed: Shift
great game
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Posted on:9/23/10
theGamer95
Location: Dallas, TX
This game is perfect for: casual gamers
played this game online and single. its a great game.
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
3 of 5 found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Need for Speed: Shift
Need For Speed () Shift an awesome game...
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:7/20/10
pipilin
well I first bought my all new ps3 for an hd gaming experience I bought 4 games but I thought, a racing game can be a very good choice for my ps3 then i downloaded the demo of nfs shift it was awesome and i bought this game my hd gaming xperience with that game was perfect the graphics, controls... evrything. so I definetely recommend this game to other costumers and with respect to gt 5 its not a very good game need for speed shift is the true driving experience. I love this game it has a very good graphics of the interior of the cars and the tracks are very good it has a lot of cars, and i love the bmw z4 coupe and the pagani zonda f and z are fast, light and very very awesome, the best cars of the game... and remember need for speed shift is the true driving xperience
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Need for Speed: Shift
Terrible
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Gameplay: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Posted on:1/6/10
JimiT.
One of the worst racing games I have ever played in my 20yrs of gaming. I played through the demo multiple times on both tracks with all the cars and I am just fed up. At first I enjoyed the challenge and was trying to get better and get the hang of the game. I have been an avid forza 2 player since its release and that game truly set the standard for me and racing games, I have no problem on that game at a high difficulty with all the real settings turned on, however in this game a lotus on the real settings seems to lose control around a turn going 8 mph...it cannot stay on the track i get the sense that all the cars in this game are weightless and want to take off. None of the cars seemed to have any "real" traction unless you turn all the TCS and auto sterring and auto braking on. Yes if you like the game fine but how much fun can you have in a simulator with all the TCS and auto everythings doing almost all the work for you. Once you turn it off the lotus can no longer take a turn with out leaving the ground and all the CPU cars seem to take tunrs around 40-60 mph which is standard, the second I try to match it my car lifts off the ground or loses control. Dont even get me started on the "bumper car" like motion of the cpu...seems they will do anything and even work as a team to make sure you are always off the road...doesnt matter to the CPU who wins as long as it is not you and the will sacrefice whatever position at anytime to do that. Plus the arrows that are your guidelines for speed and braking are completly off and do not chnge or adjust to each car such as in Forza. I am sorry this just does not feel liek a real game to me too much time into the graphics and nothing at all into gameplay. I had high hopes but I guess I will stick to my forza series and I suggest you do too.
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Gameplay: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
1 of 16 found this review helpful.
Comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
Paratrooper1n0
 
Please wait while more information about Paratrooper1n0 is loaded.
Additional information about Paratrooper1n0 could not be loaded.
Top 500 Contributor
How it goes...
Posted 11/14/10
Forza is the worst racing series I have ever played. GT>NFS>every other racing game>Forza. I got frustrated with Forza after literally 5 minutes. Terrible handling, terrible car models. Just not that good. When GT5 comes out I think the world will will be reborn and see what a real racing game is.
Comments (1)
Comment (1)
Review 19 for Need for Speed: Shift
Awesome game
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:12/23/09
57panther2009
All I have to say this is an awesome game!!!!! I was able to pick this game up and race with a big variety of cars. I mean I have played and loved all the other Need For Speed games but this one is very unique. It is the very first one that ur able to race on tracks and use No2 which is my favorite part of these games. Another thing I liked is that ur car sounds different with whatever u put into it. It could also sound different when u fine tune the engine for more horsepower if ur one of those people who like to use all the horses of the car. Or if u like to drop a little horsepower if ur car isn't acting correctly. The inside view of the cars are Awesome as well and are very exact to what the real cars look like. So I would say if ur looking for a good racing game u should pick this game up because it is the best.
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Review 20 for Need for Speed: Shift
Racing at near perfection.
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Gameplay: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Posted on:12/15/09
Dr Doom
Ive been a big fan of NFS for a long time. But when pro-street came out it gave me a whole new respect for the franchise. Then undercover came out and stank up the place. But now Shift is here and it has everything a racing game needs to last. The challenge of the game sometimes is just keeping your car on the track. My biggest complaint is the driver duels that just sucks. The graphics are really good in HD and the sound is really great. Except i hate when the screen goes black and white and the guy starts breathing hard when u crash. But the point of the game is not to crash so if you dont you never have to worry about it. There could be more tracks but there is enough to take you a long time to master all the corners on all the tracks. The only things that bother me about Shift is the fact they dont have drag racing like in pro-street and the lack of customization on the cars themselves. When you take your car to the track online you wanna race a car that looks like no one else is car. But other then that this game is great and has great playability unlike a lot of games out right now., I recommend this game to any NFS fans who just wanna race. Oh and I have this for the p3s.
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Gameplay: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
1 2 3 4 5 next>>