GameStop Ratings and Reviews

Shop Now At GameStop
Shop Software or
Choose a Category
Most Popular Products
Top Rated Product

Product Reviews

The Beatles: Rock Band - Game Only

The world's leading music game meets the greatest band in history! The Beatles: Rock Band gives fans what they've been waiting for: a chance to experience the Beatles' legendary story from the inside. You won't just watch and listen as the Beatles make rock history, create landmark records and conquer the world - for the first time, you'll be part of the band. The Beatles software is compatible with Rock Band, Guitar Hero and most other instrument controllers, as well as, third party microphones including SingStar and Lips.
Average Customer Rating:
8.444
8.4
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (51 reviews)
10 stars
11
9 stars
3
8 stars
1
7 stars
0
6 stars
0
5 stars
0
4 stars
1
3 stars
0
2 stars
1
1 star
1
15 out of 1883%of reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for The Beatles: Rock Band - Game Only
Review 1 for The Beatles: Rock Band - Game Only
Most charming RB yet!
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Posted on:12/16/10
Think4D
Location: NJ
This game is perfect for: party gamers
If you don't like the Beatles, it goes without saying you won't dig this game, but if you've even got a mild interest or have ever dug one of their tunes, this is a must own (especially now that it's been out for awhile and you can snag it cheap!)
Playing through Story mode is an absolute delight - once you get to the Abbey Road sessions you'll actually wish someone else was playing just so you can fully savor the awesome trippy scenes playing out behind the tracks. Controls are as solid as RockBand 2, (make no mistake, their game engines are far more solid than GuitarHero) and the three-part harmony addition is a lot of fun if you can get your hands on three mics.
As a musician, I really dug the Gretsch and Ric replica controllers, but already had RockBand guitars and drums so I couldn't justify picking up the bundle. If you don't have any instruments (or have a busted guitar/drumset in need of replacement) it's totally worth grabbing the bundle - most GameStop stores ought to still have one lying around at this point.
 
My Product Recommendations
 
 
The Beatles: Rock Band Xbox 360 Wireless Rickenbacker 325 Guitar Controller
9 out of 10(1)
 
 
 
 
 
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
3 of 3 found this review helpful.
Review 2 for The Beatles: Rock Band - Game Only
Great Game
Posted on:9/7/09
Anonymous
This is going to be a great game, as long as you like The Beatles (and who doesn't?) Though many people say that there are only 45 songs on disc they are all great songs that you will like as long as you like The Beatles, where RB2 will maybe have 20ish tracks you enjoy. Also why would you want other bands on this game? I thought you bought a Beatles game to play Beatles music. Anyway you can not put other bands in the same game as The Beatles because they simply can not be compared to the greatest and most influential band of all time. The game takes you through there early years in The Cavern Club where they first hit it big, then to Ed Sullivan show, Shea Stadium, Budokan, and finally the second half of the game takes place in Abbey Road Studio 2 where they spent the latter half of their career, but instead of just showing them sitting in a room playing instrument, you get to watch dreamscapes in the background which go with the song. This game is looking great and should be bought by any Beatles fan
Review 3 for The Beatles: Rock Band - Game Only
this is going to be the best rock band ever
Posted on:8/29/09
craig
unlike most of you, ive played a demo of it. and by the looks of it, its going to be the best rockband ever. what i love about it is that the background isnt always the same boring stage like it has been the past 2 rock band games. i really dont plan on spending the extra money on the bundle because i already have everything. i dont care if its limited edition or not. now i know graphics arent really supposed to matter in games like this but the backgrounds look alot better from the previous rockband games. i was never a beatles fan until i met my girlfriend. but im so happy she got me into them because i instantly loved the music when i heard it. then i heard about the game coming out and i got excited. but when i actually played it, it just made me love the beatles even more than i already didl. all in all, this game is definitely worth picking up on the 9th. whether you get the limited edition or just the game, i have a feeling this game will provide hours of fun.
Review 4 for The Beatles: Rock Band - Game Only
BEST MUSIC GAME EVER
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:12/24/09
READ THIS!!!
I went to gamestop a while back and i was hoping to buy the lego rock band game. i bought it and while i was in the store waiting for my friend, i looked at the case to this game. along with the videos playing on the tvs in gamestop i gave gamestop lego rock band back, and purchased rock band beatles. This is the best music game i have ever played. Ive always been a fan of the guitar hero games because i got gh 1 the day it came out. I never really liked rock band but when i bought thins, i loved it. This games challenge isnt too high because the beatles never really played too fast or challenging. This game is more and great for parties with friends or family. The song variety is great for beatles fans because every song on the game is by the beatles. Unlike gh aerosmith where every third 4th and 5th song were aerosmith, and the rest were other bands. I recommend this game to anyone and everyone who wants a new music game.
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Review 5 for The Beatles: Rock Band - Game Only
OKAY
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 10
4 out of 10
Gameplay: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Graphics: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Sound: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Posted on:9/19/09
mangazo15
they beattles rock band is a bold attempt to make beattles music compatiable with the music game genre. However the atempt failed. The controls aren't very responsive, and not to mention they are really expensive. The challenge is not so good however I understand that being beattles music harmonix can just make up chords or notes. The animations are acceptable but I expected something different seeing the good trailer video. The responsiveness is awful, the guitar feel weak and like it's going to fall apart, the drums don't feel like real drums and you have to buy the cymbols seperately, the only good thing is having three people singing harmonies. the sond is great having remastered the songs. But the big upset with this game is the song variety, only 45 songs that is really small amount of songs for a game at reatil price. Over all the game is okay but only as a rental not for the full retail price.
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 10
4 out of 10
Gameplay: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Graphics: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Sound: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
0 of 3 found this review helpful.
Review 6 for The Beatles: Rock Band - Game Only
Good Day Sunshine
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:9/9/09
Borg03of77
I love this, yes, the game is a bit short, but its great! They can't put the entire Beatles cataloge of music on this one game disk. Hell, I can hardly put all the songs on a single DVD at a 128 bit rate. Yes, I think some other songs would be better than others that are on the game, but whos to say that whatever song I think is good someone else wont like. In the end, I think that most of the songs are going to be DLC anyway. Yeah, so what you have to pay for them... the process they went through (4 years for the game alone) to get these songs this quality, I dont mind paying a little extra for DLC. Buy them as a full CD or just a single song that you like. I already beat the stroy on easy, to easy... Starting medium now... I find it a little challenging already, but I'm also no Rock Band God, just a 32 y/o man with carpel tunnel in both my wrists. With this, the Beatles have entered the digital age, like it or not, they are here to stay. Admit it or not, The Beatles have influenced more bands and made more changes to music than any other band in history. Beatles forever.....
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Review 7 for The Beatles: Rock Band - Game Only
Oh yeah, all right!
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:5/5/10
Gannan the Viking Chef
The Beatles have their own game now. That's awesome. The story follows The Fab Four from the Cavern Club to their rooftop performance in January 1969. The song list is good - though I would have liked to play "Let It Be", "Nowhere Man", "Love Me Do", and a few more...The graphics are cartoonish, but they're cool-especially during the Abbey Road Dream Sequences. After you accomplish certain goals in Story mode, you will get Beatles photos and film footage!!! Plus, after you beat the game, you get to play "The End"!!! Oh yeah, all right!!! The controls are the most responsive in any Rockband game. I would have liked to have had two people be able to play guitar, like the real Beatles. You can't, but this is still an awesome game! I don't really want to stop the show, but I thought you'd all like to know, that if you are a Beatlemaniac, pick this game up - you won't regret it!!!
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Review 8 for The Beatles: Rock Band - Game Only
AWESOME
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:12/8/09
nurdsrool
I am, this year just getting into the Beatles. They have amazing music sung by two of the most esteemed people ever to enter the music industry. I absolutely love the music of the Beatles. You can see how fond I am of this incredible band and how much i enjoy listening to them. Now take this music and put it in a game. My above description of the music would be enough to summarize the game but i would rather go into much more detail. Everything about this game is awesome. Of course I do not have to go into the sound, it is wonderful. The graphics are amazing, everything from the dreamscapes to the art style in the main menu or even the outstanding lighting that can be found under the Beatles armpits are incredible. The potential for this as a party also does not need to be discussed, the same with any other music game(except band hero....it sucks). But that is besides the point, this game is amazing. My absolute favorite part of the game is nailing a difficult solo. It makes me feel like a real beatle. I give this game a 9.5/10. It is the best Rock Band game ever, and the best music game this gen.
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Review 9 for The Beatles: Rock Band - Game Only
An experience fans and newcomers will love.
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:9/12/09
Fromps
I bought this game because I am a fan of John Lennon's work and of some songs of the Beatles, and after playing this game 3 days straight I must say I love every song in the game. The first part of the game when you're playing in front of crowds I'm surprised that they captured the audacity of the crowd (Turning on realistic mode makes it much louder!). Then you head into the Abbey Road recording studio into some amazing dreamscapes. Overall I would say this game is for anyone who enjoys music games not just for a challenge but for the visual and sound experience. For anyone who though Ringo was a terrible drummer should be shown this game to see some of the complex tom rolls he does, being ambidextrous, plus being a good drummer. Anyone can and will enjoy this game, and definitely give the multiple singing a go, it's a blast!
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Review 10 for The Beatles: Rock Band - Game Only
Great game
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Posted on:9/25/09
Ninelives
This is the first rock band game I have owned but by far better than any gh game I have played. I am a big beatles and think the song variety is great ( Looking for more music downloads ). The graphic Outstanding. They really show you what the 60's are like. I like how they show how much the Beatles aged in six years of playing and recording. I am not very good at the drums but the game has a fix for that. The games lets you play beats from the Beatles and change the speed so that even I have learned to yous the drum kit. This game is a must buy for Beatles fans of all ages and people who want a change of pace for your rock band fix. Also the unlock prizes are pretty cool. Lot of Beatles videos and sound clips. All in all I rate this game a 10 out of 10!
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Review 11 for The Beatles: Rock Band - Game Only
amazing
Posted on:8/13/09
ringomccartney fan09
The beatles are by far the most influential band ever. Their songs inspiried the best and the music was good. The 3-part harmony feature will be great and makes the vocal difficulty harder. I'm guessing Hey Jude will be the hardest 3-part harmony song, but that's just me. Bass will definiatley be a challenge when you're playing as McCartney. Guitar eh I don't really know what'll be the hardest song yet, haven't really payed attention to the guitar in most Beatles songs. Drumming they will probably surprise players with a hard song or just keep it plain simple, which'll lower the sales on Beatles Rock Band, but hopefully Rock Band picked a well enough hard song that will be challenging. All-in-all, great band, great game, definitley can't wait.
Review 12 for The Beatles: Rock Band - Game Only
I Can't Wait!
Posted on:4/16/09
Pondcreature
I think this will do pretty good. For the people who say that the Beatles were a prominent rock band in their time are right, but saying that they are not anymore I beg to differ. I'm only 16 and i've been listening to the Beatles for about 3 years already. I did like the other Rock Band predecessors so I think this will be an extremely good game. Also, there should be a large amount of songs to play, especially if they do like GH: Metallica/Aerosmith and put on the bands favorite music, because the Beatles made A LOT of music. It would also be nice if the put some music on the game from when they broke up like John Lennon and Yoko in the Plastic Ono Band or Paul McCartney's band Wings.
Review 13 for The Beatles: Rock Band - Game Only
Haters Aren't Welcome Here
Posted on:4/15/09
Lyubostar
Anyone who thinks this will be a bust is an idiot. Sure Metallica is an amazing band, and Guitar Hero still has a lot of tricks up it's sleeves, but The Beatles were easily with no doubt the most dominant rock group of their time. If Rock Band wanted to make a good game, this was certainly the one to deal out now. And I'm sure it's not going to be ALL Beatles' songs, since they will do the thing where they choose groups who inspired The Beatles. Yeah the songs won't be as crazy and intense as Metallica is, but most songs on Guitar Here: WT aren't as crazy as Metallica is. As long as they mix in some good punk rock from the Brit Rock days, this game will be more than just fun.
Review 14 for The Beatles: Rock Band - Game Only
FREAKING AMAZING!
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:9/14/09
LiL Lennon
Beside from my adoring and completely indescribable love for The Bealtes this game delivers without a doubt. It is anything that a hard core Beatle fan could ever want and more. Plus it will get new comers to the great band hooked forever. The visuals and attention to detail including history, time line, ect are phenomenal. This is truly and honestly one of the funnest games I've ever played. The song choice is impeccable, although there some songs I would have liked to have seen on the main set. If you are thinking about buying this game or not; just buy it because it's an investment that you will appreciate for years to come. It will unleash the Beatle love in everyone. I mean really who hasn't heard a Bealte song come on the radio and just bust out and sing it? Well now you can. This game is like sparking "Beatle Mania" all over again. This is a definite must buy for Beatle fans or not. I personally got the Limited Edition with everything included because for a hardcore Beatles fan like me it's the only way to go. It's really something that only the biggest of Beatle fans need but really it's just an awesome thing to have. Not much is improved up from it's predecessors but none the less. All in all just a fantastic game and i recommend it to anyway looking for a fun time. THE BEATLES FOREVER! PEACE!
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Review 15 for The Beatles: Rock Band - Game Only
Are you kidding?
Posted on:4/15/09
JCSGP030988
As soon as Rock Band came out, there was a huge Guitar Hero vs. Rock band battle. For the most part they had the same songs. But how does Rock Band Beatles expect to hold up against Guitar Hero Metallica? In almost all the games, anyone under 25 hates playing these games because they have to sit through dozens of songs like these just to get to one they've actually heard of. But a whole game full of them, give me a break. Don't get me wrong, I know the Beatles are one of the best bands ever made, but for their time. Not for ours, no one that listened to the beatles as a fan is gonna be young enough to play this, do better next time.
Review 16 for The Beatles: Rock Band - Game Only
Simply Amazing
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:10/25/09
Twilight7896
This game is simply amazing. I have always had a natural love for Rock Band/ Guitar Hero games, and infuse that genre with the best band on earth and you have yourself a winner. I currently only have guitar, but that is enough to take me away from games such as Call of Duty 4, Halo 3 ODST, and World of Warcraft, and I honestly thought nothing could get me off of them. This game also re-kindled my love for the Beatles and addicted me to their music, now I can't get enough. This has a solid set list and includes many of the Beatles biggest hits, and a few lesser-known songs (but any Beatles song is a good song). I also like how they have a complete Beatles set list, unlike Guitar Hero Aerosmith and Metallica, I didn't buy Guitar Hero Aerosmith to play Cheap Trick. The sets are amazing too. They can range from The Cavern, to acid enduced fantasies (play I am the Walrus), to the epic rooftop concert. Those aren't all of course. While many could argue that this game is just for fan boys it is easily enjoyed by anybody, and can make anyone young or old in to a rabid Beatlemaniac. I can only think of 3 cons, and they are miniscule if that. 1. Calibration 2. You cant use controllers instead of guitars 3. you can't use headsets as mics. I would recomend, and have recomended, this game to anyone who enjoys the Beatles or Guitar Hero/Rock Band games.
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Review 17 for The Beatles: Rock Band - Game Only
ugh...
Posted on:8/15/09
Anonymous
make a beatles track pack, dont give them their own game, there is going to be no challenge for anyone who is good at this game. they have stopped focusing on making new and exciting challenges, and now they are just going for big names. i do not listen to the beatles all that much, but i have heard a lot of their stuff, and while they were a great band with a hige fan base, they play songs with basic beats and guitar, and good vocals. The vocals in this game will be difficult, while every other instrument suffers. I have a feeling guitar hero 5 will beat this out, and if it doesnt, everyone will go back to playing rock band 2.
Review 18 for The Beatles: Rock Band - Game Only
I'll tell you how this game will stand up against Metallica/Aerosmith
Posted on:4/15/09
T.H.E.B.E.A.T.L.E.S.
It's because it's the Beatles. There are BILLIONS of Beatles fans out there who will buy the game simply to own it, ESPECIALLY the bundle if it includes both the game and the exclusive Hofner Violin Bass and a Beatles drum (I don't know what that entails though). You can't even count how many extremely devoted Beatles fans there are in the world that own stuff so random as a Ringo Starr pencil eraser. Those people will buy this game, because compared to the vintage records those people painstakingly hunted down, this game costs NOTHING. Believe me, Rock Band has done VERY well to get the Beatles franchise and from what it sounds like, this game won't just focus on songs, but on the lives of the Beatles and the progression of the band in order to renew interest into such an amazing group. I can't wait until this game comes out and granted, some songs may be slow, I will love to play bass, guitar, drums, or vocals on ANY of them; some, more than others, such as Get Back, Back in the USSR, Revolution, and many more. Additionally, if they incorporate things into the guitar parts like Guitar hero did for Metallica (I'm referring to the held buttons while others are being used) then this game could be VERY challenging, especially if they make it a more realistic style game rather than the same old five button guitar, but I don't think that'll happen.
Review 19 for The Beatles: Rock Band - Game Only
Its ok, but could have been a whole lot different
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 10
2 out of 10
Gameplay: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Graphics: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:9/20/09
mynam
Ok everybody. I bought this game, hoping to be able to listen to music from back in the day. and get into it. The box makes you lured in so that you think that you are getting all these amazing things, when in reality you are not. All you get is: the game, a wireless guitar (I highly recommend a Guitar Hero Guitar compared to this one), a wireless drum set that comes with this paper folded up thing that unfoldes and looks like the center of the drums on the bottom (when attached), and a mic (wired). It sounds nice and all but the cheaper set is better just because of the fact of it being cheeper. I have never played Rock Band 2, but #1 is far better than the Beetles version. The Beetles have a really unresponsive system for when I play. The graphics don't really matter to me since I dont look at the people in the background, but they are pretty much the worst I've seen for 360. The sound is just terific though. The only reason I would buy this game is so that more friends could come over, and those friends loved the Beetles. Other than that I would just buy #1 and #2. It is so bad I really do want to return it and get other games that will most likely be far better like Assassin's Creed 2, Call of Duty: Modern Warfare 2, and Even Halo 3: ODST, I would still have money left over and those games will probabley be better than that silly Rock Band Beetles version.
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 10
2 out of 10
Gameplay: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Graphics: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
0 of 13 found this review helpful.
Review 20 for The Beatles: Rock Band - Game Only
In the middle
Posted on:4/11/09
afallenhope
This is a good effort by Harmonix but to be quiet frank it will be boring. The drums will be very I REPEAT VERY REPETITIVE! I am not saying i dont like the beatles but that the Beatles lack substance with every song the drums sound the same. I believe the only fast song is Revolution but even then it slows down after the intro. In my opinion it may not mean a whole bunch to you especially if you are a beatles fan, this game is not worth buying. It would make more sense to put these songs as DLC but nothing more. *A note to mention Ringo's drum solos are very pathetic if he even has such.
1 2 3 next>>