GameStop Ratings and Reviews

Shop Now At GameStop
Shop Software or
Choose a Category
Top Rated Product

Product Reviews

Dark Void

Dark Void is a sci-fi action-adventure game that combines an adrenaline-fuelled blend of aerial and ground-pounding combat. Set in a parallel universe called "The Void," players take on the role of Will, a pilot dropped into incredible circumstances within the mysterious Void. This unlikely hero soon finds himself swept into a desperate struggle for survival, joining forces with a rebel human group called The Survivors. Trapped in the Void, these resistance fighters are battling to hold off a mysterious alien race that plans to threaten Earth.Dark Void's unique combination of jetpack-booster aerial dog fighting and third-person combat creates a thrilling new gameplay dynamic to the third-person shooter experience. Taking 3D action to a whole new level, Dark Void's unique vertical combat system allows players to dangle from thousand foot drops as they take cover and hurl enemies to their doom, bringing a whole new sense of tension and thrill to the player. Will is also equipped with a powerful rocket pack which allows for fierce in-air combat, hurtling through the Void at blistering speeds while shooting down anything that gets in his path.
Average Customer Rating:
7.5
7.5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (42 reviews)
10 stars
4
9 stars
3
8 stars
10
7 stars
3
6 stars
0
5 stars
1
4 stars
0
3 stars
2
2 stars
0
1 star
1
21 out of 2488%of reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Dark Void
Review 1 for Dark Void
Loved it
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:10/7/11
gshckkid
Location: new jersey nj
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
the gaem is funny with killing the robots with different kinds of combat flip them over shoot through there body
My Video:
(click on the play button to start movie)
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Dark Void
Should be fun!
Posted on:4/14/09
Gunwing
It looks like after Capcom did so well with Lost Planet that other Japanese developers are now going to try and make more FPS games for both the Japanese, and US/EU markets. Lost Planet sold vary well in Japan, and was a big surprise for most people that it did so well there because most FPS games sell poorly in Japan. I'm still a little at odds over the game's idea of fly anywhere, any time, and use cover anywhere at any time system, but if the developers can get it to work then it may be a good game nonetheless. Lost Planet was a great looking, and playing game in the end with only a few minor issues: No cover system, weapons dealt very little damage, to bosses, and last but not least very little options for how to take bosses down alone. Now it seems with Capcom looking to fix those issues, and with Kanomi now getting into the act US FPS developers on all platforms will need to keep up the pace with their new Japanese rivals. And that's a good thing!
Review 3 for Dark Void
DARK VOID.
Posted on:11/5/09
Adventure gameR
Dark void?!?! i'll start with the con guesses: Pretty cool premise but probably lacking in story, i mean you cant do much with a dark non-existent place in the corner of the earth. also the name could've been made up by a ten year-old and no-one would even know, i mean really dark void?!?! they're pretty smart but they've gotta do better than that. PRO guesses:probably gonna have some awesome controls, i mean there's gotta be a million moves you can pull-off in the air!! i know i sorta ripped on the name but it may be unimaginative but it sounds kinda cool. cutting edge graphics are another thing, these graphics are gonna be incredible!! I'm an adventure gamer and this one looks pretty good, hope there's good onlie play as well. so far a guy in a jet pack with a gun shooting robots in a "Dark Void" sounds pretty cool. WARNING: not gonna be like a first person shooter so you CoD fans are gonna be a little disappointed... : S
Review 4 for Dark Void
Best Shooter EVER!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Posted on:10/16/10
KetoFett
Location: Tatooine
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
I absolutely loved this game. The storyline was unique, the battle system was very enjoyable, and it had great graphics and an amazing concept. How many games can you use a jet pack that works well!(besides Halo: Reach) I play this game all the time, and you can get loads of achievements fordoing so. Overall, a great game. They should make sequel.
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
3 of 3 found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Dark Void
World War II with a twist. And Jetpacks.
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:2/13/10
Watcher
Dark Void is one of the best video games I've experienced in a while, and when I say experience, I mean it. In Dark Void, you are a cargo pilot and you crash in the Bermuda Triangle with your ex-girlfriend. You end up in the Void, a stuning world of dense jungles and huge open skies. It takes place in 1938, close to the start of World War II. When I bought this game I never realized it would have such an interesting and engaging storyline. There are quite a few twists as well. Onto the gameplay. It's basically an action-adventure third-person shooter/dogfighting game. The transitions from ground to air are seemless, and it's very satisfying when you fly over grounded enemies with guns blazing. The enemies are pretty diverse and challenging, and the AI is good; they use cover the same way you do. You collect 'tech points' from defeated enemies to upgrade your weapons (which are all unique with very cool destructive elements) and jetpack. The only cons for this otherwise great game are the length (much too short) and the controls (sometimes it's hard to press all the needed buttons simultaeneously). However, you can replay any level to go back and find journals and upgrade your weapons. All in all, this game is well worth it, and I hope there's a sequel!
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Dark Void
worth the money
Overall Rating: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Gameplay: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Posted on:2/6/11
Nahs0n
Location: daly city, CA
This game is perfect for: casual gamers
Ok to start this game is not great, but it's not bad. Controls are ok, the graphics is great, and gameplay is good, but gets repetitive with all the aerial combat. I found myself doing sky dives on every other level. All in all good to pick up for a lazy afternoon.
Overall Rating: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Gameplay: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
2 of 2 found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Dark Void
Bah, I got my money's worth.
Overall Rating: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Gameplay: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Graphics: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Sound: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Posted on:8/13/10
EvilBananaAteMyGirlfriend12345
Dark Void is an average game, let me get that out of the way. Nothing about the game stands out. The cover based shooting has been seen a million times before, and even the jetpack levels, the main draw of the game, has been done better. However, despite some frustrations, Dark Void is a REALLY fun and entertaining game. I paid 10 bucks for it at gamestop, and it is worth that much. The graphics arent terrible, they are good, not great. The sound is good, with great voice acting and some cool sound effects. One frustration is the aiming in the jetpack levels. It would have ben better is you control the jetpack with the left stick, and aim with the right stick. instead the the right stick lets you "roll" which is basically useless. The game is extremely short, so thats a drawback. Even though its average, the cover based shooting is fun and moves the decent story along.The jetpack can be a lot of fun also. When your zooming through the skies, mowing down enemy ships and performing epic manuevers, its easy to forget some of the problems for a while (that is until you crash to your death from the slightly weird controls). Dark void is a good game, just not as good as a lot of the great titles that came out this year. If you happen to find this game at a sale for 5-15 dollars, i say go for it. Just dont go in to it expecting ingenius gameplay, amazing graphics, and long length.
Overall Rating: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Gameplay: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Graphics: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Sound: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Dark Void
360 Battle 24/7
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:1/30/12
faroutmat
For those who are tired of the boring and repetitive Call of Duty and other ground based shooters. Dark Void is the way to go. Giving you command of the sky and ground, you can take the battle from the dirt, to the stars. While many gamers say Dark Void is "a really bad game", I disagree. Mostly because Dark Void allows you to be creative while trying to stay alive. Instead of just ducking for cover, you can jet for cover as well. Giving the battle that amazing 360 degree danger zone, where surprises, and dangers lurk in every direction.
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Dark Void
Decent Shooter
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Gameplay: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Posted on:1/15/11
TheHonestCritic
Location: CA
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
This game has its strengths and weaknesses. Here are its strengths: -awesome flight sequences -great shooting and fighting -breath taking visuals Here are its weaknesses: -Story doesn't grip you -shallow enemies -not enough flight sequences -not enough reasons to play through it more than once Overall though, there may be more weaknesses, but the Strengths outwieigh the weaknesses. I suggest buying this if your looking into a good game to keep you busy, plus now that its cheap, nothing is stopping you.
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Gameplay: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Dark Void
Cool game!
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Gameplay: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Posted on:10/8/11
DunkMachine
Location: Asheville, NC
This game is perfect for: casual gamers
I bought this game for $6 and it was way worth it! Do not spend more than $10 on this game, but in all, it was pretty cool semi-long, cool story line, nice graphics, and cool ships/weapons/characters. The only cons I have for this was I wish that they didn't end the game where they did, it ended much to soon! And, there were only like 6 weapons you could use. Great game if you want a cheap shooter/science fiction mixed with infamous inventors sort of game.
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Gameplay: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Dark Void
Great Game
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Posted on:6/24/14
JetPack
This game is perfect for: casual gamers
Cool game that comebines Air and ground combat. gets much harder as you play it. You can hijack UFOs. It is amazing.
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Review 12 for Dark Void
this game is really good!
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Sound: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Posted on:1/2/12
gamergeek0110
Location: Brandon, FL
This game is perfect for: casual gamers
i looked at the box of this game and it had everything i ever wanted in a third-person shooter: jetpacks, aliens, and Nolan North. I played this game for 30 minutes and I was at awe at how awesome this game was! Now, mind you, this game isn't perfect and had it's flaws such as the flight controls and the pace. Other than that, I thought it was EXTREMELY well worth playing.
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Sound: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Dark Void
Eh...it's okaaaay.
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Gameplay: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Graphics: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Sound: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Posted on:1/4/11
Blizzard
Honestly, is the best game I have seen? No. It's okay but now that the price has dropped, it's worth it in a way. The first mission is frustrating as eating hot cereal however. I almost returned it was so bad, but i died because the flying controls are HORRIBLE. In every fps and 3ps, you move your camera/gun with the right stick. But for some STUPID reason, Capcom stuck it on the left and right is to roll around. I mean this game was so close to being awesome. Anyways, after my temper tantrum, I continued and it became kinda fun. The enemies felt just right to me on normal difficulty, even tho it takes real skill to get headshots BUT the melee system is awesome. My advice is that now the game is cheap, get it, but be patient until you finish the 1st mission.
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Gameplay: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Graphics: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Sound: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Review 14 for Dark Void
In the Void...
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Graphics: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Posted on:1/21/10
DeniseM24
Well, lets start of with the love story. Its great. little information here and there. I had trouble fighting thhe Archon, but after time i got the job done. I also like the fact that there is no health pick ups. Just over time your health comes back. the flying controls anmd fighting in the air is a little hard. i like the idea but it was hard to get it down. the graphics are very good, everything you have come to expect from a next gen system. I did get the gold jet pack, and let me tell you, that my friend is worth the pre-order.. i did play the demo and the boost doesn't last long, but with unlimited boost its awesome! i just wish when you hoover the boost would be unlimited as well. but hey its gold and its free! all in all its a fun game! Denisem24
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Graphics: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Review 15 for Dark Void
Just maybe.
Posted on:1/10/10
Enderdabrute
i downloaded the demo, and its not a truly mind-blowing game, but it looks like it could be pretty good. i usually dont really like capcom games, but throwing what looks like a 1900s guy into a sci-fi adventure could be pretty good. the jetpack-ground-vertical combat system is pretty good, although tight vertical landings can take a little practice. sort of like Batman Arkham Asylum, if done right, combat can seem fluid and highly cinamatic. i still cant forget how good it felt to land on a platform, shoot at a robot thing, run up to it, and smash it to the ground and yank its head off. i will probably get this game.
Comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
KetoFett
Tatooine
 
Please wait while more information about KetoFett is loaded.
Additional information about KetoFett could not be loaded.
Dude, you couldn't be more wrong!!!!!!
Posted 10/19/10
This is an awesome game, andif you can't recognize this, you my friend, are a lost cause and will never understand what makes a true game great.
Comments (1)
Comment (1)
Review 16 for Dark Void
Great game that doesn't get proper credit
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Posted on:5/30/13
NephilimRising
This game is perfect for: casual gamers
First off, this isn't the greatest game ever. Why? the cutscenes are very short and information just kinda isn't shared but the characters all know everything already. Besides that poor story telling aspect, the game has an understandable progression (why are you at a location and what are you doing is obvious). The graphics were good, made it so you knew wherre and what everything was. The gameplay though, oh man, the gameplay makes this game amazing! Unique vertical cover based combat, air combat, and general 3rdperson shooter combined make this game extremely fun and worth every cent!
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Review 17 for Dark Void
Impressive to say the least
Posted on:4/11/09
CK (colossi killer)
I've read a lot on this game and I've seen some in game footage and it's definitely gonna be on my must have list. The graphics aren't ground breaking but definitely are stunning. The cover system is by far the most advanced and well thought through system I've seen. It's even better than the gears system because you can take cover on anything and i mean anything. if there's a ledge or a platform you see just jet pack over to it and boom your taking cover vertically. I can't wait until this game hits shelves because the anticipation of such a diverse game has gotten me very hyped.
Review 18 for Dark Void
Really fun game for a good low price
Overall Rating: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Gameplay: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Graphics: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Posted on:6/29/11
FlemanX360X
Location: LaPorte, IN
This game is perfect for: casual gamers
Imagine taking H.A.W.X. flight play, and combining that with the Gears of War series gameplay. Crazy? Maybe a little, but man this game is fun. At first, you will go crazy becuase of how annoying it can be. But after you get a feel for the controls, get into the storyline, it's such a fun game. There is melee in the game, but it can only happen at certain points in a fight. The shooting is smooth, upgrading guns is a pain in the rear, and flying any vehicle takes a lot of stress and time. Overall, I'd say try this game out. For less than ten dollars, you've got nothing to lose.
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Overall Rating: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Gameplay: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Graphics: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Review 19 for Dark Void
Disgrace !
Posted on:1/18/10
DanDanielsonXx
This game is probably the biggest waste of time, money and potential I have ever seen. Judging by the demo I can rate the on ground battles as boring and the graphics rather cheesie. The only bright spot of the demo is the air combat, which shared only a familiar control scheme with the beloved Crimson Skies. Everyone knows that what made Crimson so popular was its multiplayer experience.
1 of 4 found this review helpful.
Comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
2C2V
San Francisco
 
Please wait while more information about 2C2V is loaded.
Additional information about 2C2V could not be loaded.
Tesla lives!
Posted 3/1/11
I'd heard about this game about 6 months before it went on sale, and I bought it as soon as it hit the marketplace. I was disappointed because the game has great potential, and it just doesn't quite live up to that. It is an unconventional flight simulator, which is something gamers don't see very often, and I give the game credit because it had the courage to try something unusual. It's true that the flight controls are tricky, but learning how to handle them are simply the facts of the matter: the player must take the time to practice and figure out safe, or efficient, ways of doing things. The void itself is a dazzling and dangerous 3-D environment, and the outstanding soundtrack helps to move the game along and keep the player interested. Overall, Dark Void dared to go where few have ventured, and while it fails to be great, it still provides a cool and very atypical video game experience. There is no doubt that I would buy the sequel if one became available.
Comments (1)
Comment (1)
Review 20 for Dark Void
really awesome!!!!
Posted on:1/18/10
Anonymous
Okay I downloaded the demo of dark void on my xbox 360 yesterday and played it alot,and the cool things about this game are 1.the flying is awesome because you have an unlimited fuel on the jet pack, you can do awesome manuevers, and when you are flying and fighting those flying saucers,you can get close to it and jump on it, take the alien out of it and shoot its head off. And then you can fly in it. 2. it is very good graphics and the storyline is very good.3. Also the controls are very easy to play with.
1 2 3 next>>