GameStop Ratings and Reviews

Shop Now At GameStop
Shop Software or
Choose a Category
Top Rated Product

Product Reviews

Split Second

You have made the cut to join a group of elite drivers chosen to participate in the global broadcast event known as Split/Second. Racing through a city created specifically for destruction, your goal is to become the season champ where fame, fortune and glory await. But first, you must survive a grueling 24-episode season of races in a variety of explosive locations to crush the competition and become the champion. When speed is not enough, the city is your weapon.
Average Customer Rating:
8.25
8.3
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (100 reviews)
10 stars
20
9 stars
10
8 stars
10
7 stars
2
6 stars
3
5 stars
5
4 stars
0
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
2
43 out of 5283%of reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Split Second
Review 1 for Split Second
SEXY GAME!!!!!
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Posted on:9/27/12
Chefnate
Location: Texas
This game is perfect for: party gamers
I preorderd this game when it was 60 bucks but now that it is 18 bucks....best car game ur gonna get for that price.
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Review 2 for Split Second
epic
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Posted on:9/14/12
ronaldw1590
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
probably the best racing game ever with none stop explosions (power plays) they have to make a second one.
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Review 3 for Split Second
Good game but....
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Posted on:8/20/12
vrocko
Location: Lordstown, OH
This game is perfect for: casual gamers
Ok I know Split Second has been out awhile but I just wanted to add this review. I do like Split Second. It's a great game with good graphics, good courses and great gameplay ,and here comes the "but", but I just don't get a good sense of speed in this game. It feels sluggish. I should be flying around corners and tearing down straights but I don't get that feeling playing this game. It is a great game but Blur gives me more of that sense of speed. I know maybe I'm strange saying I like a racing game but it's feels sluggish. This one should be about the speed and tearing up the track while driving your opponent into the wall. I do like the concept, the gameplay, the graphics, the destruction but I just don't feel the need for speed in this game.
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Review 4 for Split Second
I would buy it again in a Split Second!!
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:6/11/12
Cori
Location: Nunya
This game is perfect for: party gamers
As corny as it sounds, it's truth. This game definitely has replay-ability. Me & my friends play this hours on end, and this is not even an exaggeration. Of course, you can play a game for hours with a friend but even by yourself it can be fun. This is coming from a person who is not even into racing games. After playing the demo and seeing how innovative and refreshing it was, I had to purchase it and I never regretted it. I recommend this to people because it's people friendly yet strategic on how to demolish others. They have several modes so even if you don't like certain things, they have multiple modes you can try. It still, obviously, revolves around racing or beating a time however. If you ever had any doubts about purchasing this game, I assure you, you will have fun.
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Review 5 for Split Second
Great Racing Game. Will be keeping for awhile!
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Posted on:3/31/12
Nyykb13
Location: Orlando, FL
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
This is an awesome racing game. The Xbox Live is great and many people still play it. I can find a race almost anytime of the day or night. The season in this game is fun but could get annoying or boring. Detonators are extremely difficult and annoying. Since there are 12 "episodes" it'll keep you busy for awhile.
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
0 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Split Second
Boring... Drab... MEH...
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Gameplay: 
4 out of 10
4 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
4 out of 10
4 out of 10
Posted on:3/30/12
Daftendirekted
Location: Lancaster, CA
This game is perfect for: kid gamers
Despite talks of "explosive" gameplay, this game is actually pretty boring. The thing about most racing games is that while in a race, there are "OMAHGOD OMAHGOD IMMA CRASH OMG I MADE IT WOO! OMG GOTTA TURN QUICK! NOOOOO MISSED THE SHORTCUT, OH CUT THROUGH HERE YES YES I MADE IT OMG A WALL DONT CRASH OMG" moments throughout the game. Awesome graphics and sound of explosions can't replicate that feel, and that is why is boring. Also take note that the multiplayer is basically the same as the single player mode, but with voice chat. Oh and that the single player mode gets way to hard for the cars you unlock. Not a good game, but you know if you want to waste your money, I mean thats ok. If you want a good racing game, chec k the reccomended section of this reveiw.
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Gameplay: 
4 out of 10
4 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
4 out of 10
4 out of 10
0 of 2 found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Split Second
Best Intense Fantasy Racing!!!
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:2/21/12
DJ2010
Location: Snow Hill, NC
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
Explosions everywhere, falling buildings, and cars zooming through all of that. This is the kind of racing I've been dreaming off. I don't why some people hate disney games so bad. Not all of them are. The best 2 games from disney I like the most is this game, and Kingdom hearts. Other than that, people should give Disney some credit. If a movie was made out of this I'll watch it over and over again. It's awesome!!
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Split Second
Under rated and Overlooked
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Posted on:1/16/12
BigBenC07
This game always gets passed up because it's made by Disney. I took a risk on it and I don't regret it.
Pros- The graphics are great and the gameplay is great. I compare it to Mario Kart, but with real cars and instead of power ups, you gain powers by drafting and drifting to destroy the environment and create new routes.
Cons- The cars available for you to choose have made-up names but are clearly based on real cars, It would be cooler if you could actually use real-life cars. I find the whole "TV Show" campaign a little cheesy since it's completely unrealistic, but it is very unique. Once you beat the campaign, the only thing left to play is online which can be very laggy.
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Split Second
You'll need to make Split Second choices.
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Posted on:1/2/12
MWarEagle
This game is perfect for: casual gamers
When I first got Split Second, only one thing could go through my mind: It's made by Disney. I was pretty impressed by Pure, the ATV racing game developed by Disney Interactive. I didn't really enjoy this game until I got further into the episodes within the game. Gameplay follows a consistent story line of a show, featuring episodes that the player decides to take on. Graphics were over the top, making this racing game more than just driving. This game didn't last me long as I personally do not enjoy racing games, but this one caught my attention. 72 events within 12 episodes of pure racing demolition and fun, this game may last the average racing fanatic more than myself. There are other types of games that I enjoyed more rather than the story, such as Survival and Air Revenge. Entertaining to say the least, but overall I gave this game a 8 because of it's amazing graphics and interesting gameplay, but lacked the overall lasting appeal to my taste.
 
My Product Recommendations
 
 
 
 
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Review 10 for Split Second
AMAZING!!!!!
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:12/20/11
Hotdogbun123
Location: Palm Springs
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
This is one of the best games to play! I recommend this game for people who like explosions,racing,and action.This game is for ages 1 through 999,999,999,999,999,999,999,999,999,999,999,999,999,999. I hope you enjoy this game and write an excellent review!!!!
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Review 11 for Split Second
Pretty good game
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Posted on:12/17/11
jackmon
Location: Alexandria, Va
This game is perfect for: casual gamers
Like many people I looked down on this game at first b/c it was made by Disney but I surprisinly came to love this game. I really enjoy how you can use everything around you to get into the lead. I actually have to worry about crashing in this game because the computer players behind you actually trigger the powerplays. All in all it was a fun game that had me on the edge of my seat.
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Review 12 for Split Second
Legendary
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:10/31/11
Ravious
Location: Marietta, GA
This game is perfect for: casual gamers
This is one of the best racing games I have ever played. And I'm not one for race games (more of an FPS kinda guy).
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Split Second
SPLIT SECOND
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:10/1/11
xbox360z100
Location: new york
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
I Think that split second is a game of action. this is not the best and its not worst;wii games are the worst for need for speed.my point is if your going to buy this game buy it and play it yourself.not everyone likes the same thing.
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
0 of 4 found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Split Second
ok game
Overall Rating: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:9/16/11
killerbeast
the game seemed great when i played it a store but then i bought it and the game was worse because it is a tv show game if you wanna call it that and the races are so unrealistic
you get barrels drop on you that explode and blow your car to kingdom kome and 3 seconds later ya spawn
i mean really
come on can someone make a game better than need for speed because as far as im aware no one can make a better game than need for speed ,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,absolutly no one can
Overall Rating: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
1 of 7 found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Split Second
boring
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Gameplay: 
3 out of 10
3 out of 10
Graphics: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Sound: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
4 out of 10
4 out of 10
Posted on:8/13/11
xbox11
Location: irvine,ca
This game is perfect for: kid gamers
this game is boring i dont know much other racing games but tthere are prob some better than this game i play if im reall really bored and theres nothing going on in my life
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Gameplay: 
3 out of 10
3 out of 10
Graphics: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Sound: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
4 out of 10
4 out of 10
1 of 4 found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Split Second
Need for speed add the blowing up things
Overall Rating: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Gameplay: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Posted on:8/10/11
redty10
Location: Canada
Split second is like a version of Need for speed only you can blow up stuff like buildings to stop your opposing racer.
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Overall Rating: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Gameplay: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Review 17 for Split Second
Blur meets Need for Speed
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Posted on:8/1/11
RugbyWing
Location: Birmingham,AL
This game is perfect for: casual gamers
This games is pretty legit. Wasn't sure about it at first b/c it was made by Disney, but this game exceeded my expectations. Its like Blur and Need for Speed and Burnout. You have 100% destructible places, and the cars are pretty fast. If you love Burnout I would highly recommend this game
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Split Second
Good but not the best.
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Gameplay: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Posted on:7/20/11
GAMER378
Location: TN
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
It is a fun game it needs more because its the same trap or explosions it needs something new. If they should come out with a sequel to try to add something new.
 
My Product Recommendations
 
 
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Gameplay: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Review 19 for Split Second
Great sound and details, but gameplay can annoy...
Overall Rating: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Gameplay: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Posted on:6/1/11
Sylux
Location: Glendale, NY
This game is perfect for: party gamers
This game boasts on most aspects a gamer would like. The visuals are clear and beautiful and the game gives you a realistic feel when dirt or water goes on the screen. Sound is amazing, especially with explosions and crashing. I highly recommend that you blast your volume (or surround sound) for a great outcome. Controls are easy and any racer can easily get used to the gameplay (going to race gameplay classics like drifting or turning at tight corners). The flaws about the game are as follows...
.Maps throughout Season Mode become repetitive as most are just repeated maps used again and again (what makes up for this is that the track can become a different route unlike the previous versions)
.The AI can get very frustrating (or in other words, annoying). It provides a challenge for the player, but due to the game containing "rubber banding" (the terminology for a race were no matter how far you go, opponents will manage to catch up), AI opponents are sometimes "smarter" than you and thus making it impossible to reach them to become 1st place.
.Power plays seem to have no effect on you when AI opponents try to activate them on you. If you're a 'Pro Racer", then pretty much power plays are useless against you during season mode.
Overall I view this as a game meant to be played with friends Online or Local (preferably online for it can have 8 players in one race). Pretty much it is a great game to own, but don't expect it to be a "slow and steady wins the race" kind of analogy.
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Overall Rating: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Gameplay: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Split Second
Burnout w/ way better Graphics & Specs
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Gameplay: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Posted on:5/17/11
DAV3O5
Location: Miami
This game is perfect for: kid gamers
The graphics are definitely the best aspect for this game, the online gameplay is also pretty cool, the only negatives are the the cars no customization, no speedometer to see how fast your driving & the car doesn't collect damage it just explodes if you hit something, which isn't very realistic. But the trade in value was good haha. Get CRYSIS 2 it's ridiculously authentic and cool.
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Gameplay: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
0 of 1 found this review helpful.
1 2 3 4 5 next>>