GameStop Ratings and Reviews

Shop Now At GameStop
Shop Software or
Choose a Category
Most Popular Products
Top Rated Product

Product Reviews

Guitar Hero: Smash Hits

Turn down the lights, crank up the amps and prepare to command center stage with some of the most famous AND infamous tracks from Guitar Hero®, Guitar Hero® II, Guitar Hero® Encore: Rocks the 80s and Guitar Hero® III: Legends of Rock. Step into the spotlight in the most epic, full band jam session to-date -- Guitar Hero® Smash Hits.
Average Customer Rating:
10
10
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (10 reviews)
10 stars
5
9 stars
0
8 stars
0
7 stars
0
6 stars
0
5 stars
0
4 stars
0
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
0
5 out of 5100%of reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Guitar Hero: Smash Hits
Review 1 for Guitar Hero: Smash Hits
Smash Hits is a Smash Hit
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:12/31/09
Stop-Motion Master
Guitar Hero: Smash Hits is a remake of all the best songs from the original Guitar Hero, Guitar Hero II, Guitar Hero: Rock the 80's, and Guitar Hero III. I love rock songs and this is the best idea I ever could've thought of for the next Guitar Hero! My personal favorite is Through the Fire and the Flames by Dragonforce because it is a very challenging song (I got 54% on Pro Face Off on expert! Yes, I kinda stink but it's the hardest in history so no cruel or mean remarks!) and it has a cool beat and guitar solos. Anyway, the sound couldn't be better and there are plenty of songs to choose from! The guitar controller is very accurate and it exactly plays each note when I hit the button. The graphics are nice but next to Xbox360 and PS3, it's like a N64. (No offense to Nintendo. I still love my wii!) I enjoy customizing my character because I have done alot of them on the previous one, Guitar Hero: World Tour, which is a amazing game! In conclusion, I rate this game a 10/10 because the classic rock should live forever for generations to come!
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
6 of 7 found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Guitar Hero: Smash Hits
All the rockin' songs are here!
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Posted on:6/23/09
oklive
For a while now, I've been wishing that I could get GH 1 and 2 songs on the Wii. I've also been wanting to try GH songs that aren't on World Tour with the drums and voice. Smash Hits makes both dreams come true. It's great to be able to try drums and vocals on older songs like "Cherry Pie" and "Message in a Bottle." We are really excited to try "Through the Fire and Flames" with these options. And since we have the Wii, it's great to have access to the best of the GH 1 and 2 songs, finally! Graphics are great, the "storyline" is shortened but also entertaining, and they have a great new point system where you have to get a certain number of stars to unlock sets, instead of a certain number of songs. This way, if you need 10 stars to continue, you may only need to play 2 songs, if you're good! Lots of fun so far!
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
3 of 3 found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Guitar Hero: Smash Hits
Rumored Song List
Posted on:4/21/09
2Tickets2Paradise
GH1 * Bark at the Moon * Cowboys from Hell (LIVE) * Godzilla * Hey You * I Love Rock and Roll * Killer Queen * More Than a Feeling * No One Knows * Smoke on the Water * Stellar * Take It Off * Take Me Out * Thunder Kiss '65 * Unsung (LIVE) * GH2 Beast and the Harlot Carry On Wayward Son * Cherry Pie Free Bird * Freya Heart-Shaped Box Killing in the Name * Laid to Rest Message in a Bottle * Monkey Wrench Mother Psychobilly Freakout Shout at the Devil Stop Them Bones * Trippin' on a Hole in a Paper Heart The Trooper Woman YYZ GH3 Barracuda * Cult of Personality (Original) Hit Me With Your Best Shot Lay Down Miss Mur.der Raining Blood Rock and Roll All Nite Through the Fire and Flames * GH 80s Ain't Nothin' But a Good Time * Caught in a Mosh Electric Eye I Wanna Rock * Play With Me Round and Round
4 of 5 found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Guitar Hero: Smash Hits
Guitar heerrrrrrrrrrrroooooooo!
Posted on:3/28/09
Wii rock
Guitar Hero: Greatest hits! Finally they made a game featuring original guitar hero songs that you are able to play on newer sytems. I hve always wanted to play the original guitar heros but i never had a playstation 2 so now i can play some of those tracks... on my WII! This game looks awesome and i hope i am able to get it!
4 of 4 found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Guitar Hero: Smash Hits
Guitar Hero Smash Hits
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:11/6/09
Ethan Max Payne Hunt
This is the Ultimate Guitar Hero Album featuring all songs from Guitar Hero, Guitar Hero 2, Guitar Hero 3: Legends Of Rock, Guitar Hero On Tour, Guitar Hero On Tour Decades, Guitar Hero Modern Hits, Guitar Hero World Tour, Guitar Hero Aerosmith, Guitar Hero Metallica, & Guitar Hero 5. This new game has full band play & a “NO FAIL” mode for all songs. It also has “PARTY PLAY” mode & “BAND BATTLE” mode. It has all of the “Most Wanted” & “Top Dog” songs. The Song Set List took almost 27.75 years to develop & now it is a Set List that all Guitar Heros will NEVER forget. My Rankings for Guitar Hero Smash Hits is 974 stars because it is the Ultimate Top Dog game. So go to your nearest Gamestop store to pick up your very own copy of this Incredible & EPIC game. Game Review By: Ethan Max Payne Hunt Railwaydamon@GMail.com 11/6/09
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
2 of 4 found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Guitar Hero: Smash Hits
Guitar Hero Smash Hits
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:11/6/09
Ethan Max Payne Hunt
This is the Ultimate Guitar Hero Album featuring all songs from Guitar Hero, Guitar Hero 2, Guitar Hero 3: Legends Of Rock, Guitar Hero On Tour, Guitar Hero On Tour Decades, Guitar Hero Modern Hits, Guitar Hero World Tour, Guitar Hero Aerosmith, Guitar Hero Metallica, & Guitar Hero 5. This new game has full band play & a “NO FAIL” mode for all songs. It also has “PARTY PLAY” mode & “BAND BATTLE” mode. It has all of the “Most Wanted” & “Top Dog” songs. The Song Set List took almost 27.75 years to develop & now it is a Set List that all Guitar Heros will NEVER forget. My Rankings for Guitar Hero Smash Hits is 974 stars because it is the Ultimate Top Dog game. So go to your nearest Gamestop store to pick up your very own copy of this Incredible & EPIC game.
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Guitar Hero: Smash Hits
Best Yet!!
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:12/3/12
Metallicafan123
Location: East Greenwich, RI
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
AWESOME!!! This has all the best songs like Tropper, Raining Blood, Shout at the Devil, and my all time favorite Killing in the Name. Too bad they didn't put any Metallica or Slipknot.
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Guitar Hero: Smash Hits
HAH!
Posted on:4/26/09
Sonicfan2112
after guitar hero metallica i decided that guitar hero may have started to run out of songs for a little while, so I figured theyd do something like this. My friends doubted it but GUESS WHAT? :D this will probably be the best guitar hero ever. I just hope they dont ruin TTFAF by making it easier with the touch strip. I am soooo pumped for this game, and you should be too :D
2 of 4 found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Guitar Hero: Smash Hits
just one question
Posted on:5/19/09
7 Layer Cake
I have high hopes for this game. It looks nice and the graphics look a lot better than world tour. Hopefully the strum bar won't make anything easier. I think they made okay choices for the songs. My only question is that will we be able to buy the games that didn't make it on the online store. There were many songs that I wanted. I don't know why they took so many songs form GH1 because some of the songs just don't make sense of why they were picked.
1 of 3 found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Guitar Hero: Smash Hits
The Best one yet
Posted on:4/14/09
Anonymous
This should be a great game as long as they fix up a couple of flaws in the GH:WT and GH:M engines. Playing a whole lot of the classics will be great for 4-player band especially if they don't put any songs that don't have vocals/drums (sorry to all the people who wanted Jordan in there but I think I speak for all the singers when I say that). I think this will probably sell out in like a day and they will only get through like half of the pre-orders so good luck if you're thinking of getting it a couple of days after release.