GameStop Ratings and Reviews

Shop Now At GameStop
Shop Software or
Choose a Category
Top Rated Product

Product Reviews

Guitar Hero: Smash Hits

Turn down the lights, crank up the amps and prepare to command center stage with some of the most famous AND infamous tracks from Guitar Hero®, Guitar Hero® II, Guitar Hero® Encore: Rocks the 80s and Guitar Hero® III: Legends of Rock. Step into the spotlight in the most epic, full band jam session to-date -- Guitar Hero® Smash Hits.
Average Customer Rating:
7.833
7.8
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (9 reviews)
10 stars
0
9 stars
2
8 stars
3
7 stars
0
6 stars
0
5 stars
1
4 stars
0
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
0
5 out of 683%of reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Guitar Hero: Smash Hits
Review 1 for Guitar Hero: Smash Hits
Should have been made into DL content
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:12/7/09
KaylaBradley
Okay, I'm a die hard fan of the GuitarHero franchise, but this game should have been made into DL content instead of a disc. Don't get me wrong, there are ALOT of good songs on Smash Hits that are really fun to play, but i would have prefered if I could have downloaded them onto WorldTour or even GH:5. Playing this game feels like an isolation from the other games. Everything is cut and dry. The career is bland, the venues are bland, and the character customization is bland. It just seems like they threw this game together in a hurry, just to have something to release. I am sort of happy that some of the songs are exportable to GH: 5 now, but, of course, my very favorites didn't make the cut, and I hate having to go back and forth between discs. Oh well, I guess, one can only hope that they will eventually allow ALL of the songs to be exportable to GH: 5 or whatever game is out by then.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
2 of 3 found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Guitar Hero: Smash Hits
Great!
Posted on:4/12/09
BRIGUY1994
As A Guitar Hero Player Myself, i am very excited for Guitar Hero Smash Hits. Many of the songs in the game will be songs from the Past Guitar Hero Games (GH1, GH2, GH80's, and Guitar Hero 3) But i think the coolest thing will be, is that you can play the songs that have been in the past games on drums, bass, and you can also do vocals. I Believe that this will be the best GH Game Yet.
2 of 2 found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Guitar Hero: Smash Hits
Great addition to the series
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:6/17/09
AFHockeyChick39
I got this game on it's release date, and it's a great addition. I've been playing it ever since. It's all the songs from the previous Guitar Hero's (1,2,80s,3) but now can use all the Guitar Hero instuments and all the songs are redone (button wise). I loved being able to finally sing/play drums/play bass to some of my favorite Guitar Hero tracks. All of them are there, through the fire and the flames, psychobilly freakout, Beast and the Harlot, YYZ, Free Bird (the first half of the song is all slide notes on guitar. I just sat there at tapped the keys). This is a stand alone game so you wont be able to export the songs from World tour over or vice versa. It's still a great game for anyone that likes the GH series, and is waiting for Guitar hero 5.
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Review 4 for Guitar Hero: Smash Hits
smash hits
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Sound: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Posted on:7/5/09
bryanr87
I bought this game a couple of weeks ago and it's a very fun game. i love to be able to play all the best guitar hero songs on all the instruments. But I wish it had songs from world tour and metallica. I also wish it had better venues. the only big problem is you have to unlock the guitars and drums before you can play them. Another thing is you have to complete career mode before you can play all the venues in quickplay. This is a very fun game to play and it can be addicting but i would have like to have seen done a little better. here are some of the best songs on guitar hero smash hits. through the fire and flames carry on wayward son bark at the moon nothin but a good time free bird shout at the devil lay down i love rock and roll
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Sound: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
0 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Guitar Hero: Smash Hits
guitar hero does it again!
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Posted on:11/22/12
bman258
Location: pennsylvania
This game is perfect for: party gamers
second best guitar hero in my opinion. ill keep it short and sweet. graphics arent bad but need more work, the songs are amazing if you enjoyed the past games like the first second third and so on, it is addicting since you can play drums guitar bass and sing to the best songs! its easy yet its hard since you must beat every song on the game to beat the career mode. the career mode is beast except for that part. come on buy it only 9 dollars and its worth every penny!
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Review 6 for Guitar Hero: Smash Hits
Good for a compilation game
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Sound: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Posted on:3/30/13
Metalfan666
Location: West Boylston, MA
This game is perfect for: party gamers
I liked this game until I found out that most of these are on Rock Band and that the gameplay of Rock Band is 10x better! I think they should choose better songs. Examples: Iron Maiden's Wrathchild, The Number of The Beast; Black Sabbath's War Pigs, Paranoid, Iron Man; Judas Priest's You've Got Another Thing Comin' among others. I was disappointed in the career mode this game I would only play this game in Quickplay or in Band mode.
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Sound: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Review 7 for Guitar Hero: Smash Hits
interesting
Posted on:4/11/09
Rodney
so does this meani can trade my GH2 GH3 GH3 areosmith in on this and not have to shell out any etra cash if so ill get it if not ill pass ive already got the songs played them still play them i dont want the same music wrpaed in a differant cover.....i just wish they would do like rockband does allow all music to be used in all games.
0 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Guitar Hero: Smash Hits
I think its great !!!!
Posted on:5/11/09
Match5120@aol.com
Man all I know is I just hope they put Fire it up By black label society that to me was the best song on the first one . When I first played that song i was hooked I really wish they would come out with a zakk wylde tribute Guitar Hero. And have all the ozzy , black label society , pride and glory we could stand !!!!!!!!!
Review 9 for Guitar Hero: Smash Hits
Good
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Posted on:12/18/11
CloseCMBT
Location: Ohio
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
great songs, but poor graphics and no song support
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10