GameStop Ratings and Reviews

Shop Now At GameStop
Shop Software or
Choose a Category
Top Rated Product

Product Reviews

Mario Kart - Game Only

Your favorite go-kart racing circuit is finally coming to the Wii. Are you ready to enjoy classic Mario racing circuits, as well as plenty of new ones, with your old friends Mario, Luigi, Princess Peach, Wario, Yoshi, Donkey Kong, Toad, Bowser and more? Pick up coins and Koopa shells along the way to increase your speed or blow your opponents off of the track.
Average Customer Rating:
9.194
9.2
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (103 reviews)
10 stars
55
9 stars
28
8 stars
12
7 stars
4
6 stars
2
5 stars
1
4 stars
1
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
0
98 out of 10395%of reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Mario Kart - Game Only
Review 1 for Mario Kart - Game Only
excellent
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:3/7/14
Marc88
Location: Gloversville, New York
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
This game is excellent for all players. This is a very excellent game that everyone will enjoy it anytime
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Review 2 for Mario Kart - Game Only
Great Game
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Posted on:1/4/14
jimmyster
Location: ny
This game is perfect for: party gamers
This is a great game. It is very difficult to control at first (took me an hour to get used to it). But after that if feels like you where actually driving. Very unique highly recommend it. Great for parties.
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Review 3 for Mario Kart - Game Only
Awesome and addicting
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:9/1/13
Skippy123
Location: New York, NY
This game is perfect for: casual gamers
I love this game! I played it at my friend's house and I kept begging for it. Finally I got it. The first day I got it I played for 14 hours, and 12 the next day. I unlocked everything in a week or two. The online mode is great, but if you have bad connection it is really annoying since whenever you get disconnected you lose vr points (you get these during races, which makes the game addicting trying to get as many points as you can) The time trial mode is challenging, but fun. The music fits perfectly. This game is great for casual gamers who are looking for a simple but great game to play, and for hardcore gamers looking to show off their skills and beat time trial records and get lots of points. The only problem is the annoying blue shell, which unfairly targets the person in first, making the flip into the air and drop their items. It's just cheap. Other than that, this is a must have game.
 
My Product Recommendations
 
 
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Review 4 for Mario Kart - Game Only
Luigi
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:4/4/13
BlazeRyder
Location: Arizona
This game is perfect for: kid gamers
This game is a great game for people that love all of the Mario games out there. The game play is great. The Graphics are great. The sound is great. Pretty much every thing is great in this game. I would also recommend to get this game for any friend or friends that love Mario and racing games. Over all ( as I sad like a million times) This game is GREAT!!!!!!! =-)
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Review 5 for Mario Kart - Game Only
amazing game!!!
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:2/24/13
2pups
Location: Wisconsin
I have had this game for 2 years and I am still not bored of it. You get to unlock characters, bikes, and karts to use. You can also choose different ways to play, play tournaments, time trials, and you can play with 1-4 players.
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Review 6 for Mario Kart - Game Only
One of the best mario karts ever
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:1/15/13
Ethan588
Location: Georgia, GA
This game is perfect for: casual gamers
I have had this game since it came out in 08 and I must say it is awesome and I still play it to this day whith all the unlock able characters ( I unlocked all but 2) diddy kong , funky kong, daisy, Rosalina, king boo, dry bones,toadette, birdo, baby luigi(only character I ever use) baby daisy and the 2 I haven't unlocked r bowser jr and bowser bones I love this game and recommend it to anyone
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Review 7 for Mario Kart - Game Only
This is so fun and worth the money!
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:1/13/13
Historys
This game is fun for everyone. There's lots of different characters and types of vehicles to choose from. The online play can be a real challenge and provide you with lots of hours of fun entertaining gameplay. It might even make you a better driver.
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Review 8 for Mario Kart - Game Only
Great Racing Game
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Gameplay: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Posted on:12/31/12
CardKingdom101
This game is perfect for: party gamers
This is a very simple racing game. It is not a bad simple, all I mean by this is that the controls are simple. I will let people who have'nt played the Wii much play this, because it is easy to learn. Good for first time gamers.
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Gameplay: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
2 of 3 found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Mario Kart - Game Only
this game is... awesome!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Posted on:12/20/12
jak9000
Location: owensville,oh
this is one of the best games on wii. i cant believe it's not a nintendo selects games. my favorite part is probably online races. battles are fun too. battles also make me think of call of duty online matches.
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Review 10 for Mario Kart - Game Only
a great mario racing game
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Posted on:11/11/12
cjwalker
Location: Florida,FL
This game is perfect for: casual gamers
I got this game in a buy 2 used games and get the third on free. This is a game that combines mario with kart racing. I like this game very much. It has 32 great racing tracks. It also has 24 characters which means that you have many options to choose from. You can also race with bikes and motorcycles which has never happened in the series before. You can also play as your mii. The online multiplayer is one of the best on any wii game. The only thing i don't like about this game is the fact that the people in last place get way better items than the people in first place. I also think that blue shells are way too frequent. Other than that I love this game. I also have the ds version which i think you should get even if you have this game because it is good to play wherever you go.
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Review 11 for Mario Kart - Game Only
This is a fun game for casual gamers
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Gameplay: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Graphics: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Sound: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Posted on:10/23/12
Jaeburd
This game is perfect for: casual gamers
Fun game but gameplay can get a little crazy at times. Sometimes in gameplay you will just be pounded by item after item, after item, which can get annoying. The controls are easy to pick up, and the sound is great.
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Gameplay: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Graphics: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Sound: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Review 12 for Mario Kart - Game Only
Hands down my favorite game ever
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:10/5/12
Hourglass
This game is perfect for: party gamers
This is the only game I can get my family to play with me (except Rock Band 2 with my sister). You don't have to like video games to like Mario Kart. I love the concept of unlocking new tracks and characters, although I don't have much opinion on the extra karts or bikes. My one complaint about the game is that the racing is much easier than the time trials. When I play by myself, I consistently beat the other racers, but when I attempt to play a time trial, I never ever win. This means I can either wind up bored or frustrated out of my skull. The Wii wheel isn't a necessity. I actually find it easier to play without it most of the time.
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Review 13 for Mario Kart - Game Only
MUST HAVE
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:9/19/12
videogamedude123
Location: New York, NY
This game is perfect for: casual gamers
This game is awesome in a unique way. It has intense graphics, and it will leave you with a blast of fun. I highly recommend you get it.
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Review 14 for Mario Kart - Game Only
Must own wii game.
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:8/7/12
Gamer3098
Location: Winchester, VA
I got this game because I love double dash and I loved this one even more. There is even more tracks to race on and threre is even retro tracks that I love most of all. The wii wheel is a great adition to the mario kart games but I prefer playing with the gamecube remote. But they altered with controls on it I though I the controls would be the same as double dash but you get used to it. Any way you need to have this game if you own a wii
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
1 of 2 found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Mario Kart - Game Only
What you'd expect from good ol' Mario
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Posted on:7/7/12
ForzaFan360
Location: Atlanta, GA
This game is perfect for: casual gamers
Read Above. That's all you need to know ____________________________________________________________ :{ ]
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
1 of 3 found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Mario Kart - Game Only
Best game I've ever played
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Posted on:6/17/12
1cooldude
Location: New York, MO
I'll start by saying this is my all-time favorite game. It took me a while to get the hang of steering when I first played it, but after about 2 races you get the hang of it. While I do not own it (I think the price is a tad too high) someone let me borrow it and me and my brother spent hours playing it. I recommend buying more controllers or inviting friends over who have controllers because the more people you have the funner it is. I like the different courses and there is a large selection of them. You can either race in a kart or on a motorcycle. I personally prefer the motorcycles but you can choose which ever you like most and which ever suits your strengths and weaknesses of racing. The lasting appeal is an 8 only because once you've raced each track a few times, you basically know the track by heart, like how to turn a corner better, where the shortcuts are, how to avoid obstacles, things like that. It starts to be less challenging. However, the game is still fun to play if you have like a bunch of people over and you want to compete in a fun race. I also must say the sound gets a little annoying when you hear Mario repeatedly say, "Yay!" or Wario do his maniacal laugh. The music is pretty close to that old Mario tune we have all heard at one time or another. Still this is the best game I've ever played and probably ever will play. I would recommend paying for it only if you have at least two remotes. I'd also recommend buying the game separately from the wheel because you can the wheel preowned at Gamestop for cheap or I've even seen wheels at Walmart for under 10 bucks. Whatever you want. I hope you consider purchasing this game.
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
4 of 5 found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Mario Kart - Game Only
Fun!!
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:6/13/12
vaariesga
Location: Hinesville, GA
This game is perfect for: party gamers
This has always been one of my favorites. The more people you play with, the more fun it is!! I aboslutely love this game from single player to a full group, I have never seen anybody disappointed in the game!! Must have for anybody that owns a Wii!!
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
5 of 6 found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Mario Kart - Game Only
Not worth it to me! Why?
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Gameplay: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Posted on:5/9/12
gamecheck
Location: Milwaukee, WI
This game is perfect for: kid gamers
I have played mario kart games since they came out and I thought this one would be better than all of them. Different, but better. I was disappointed when the first races I tried were nothing but tracks from the Snes, N64, Gameboy, and D.S. consoles. Tracks that I already played repeatedly. i bought this game wanting to try brand new courses and tactics for racing but it was too repetitive. The players were many too choose from which was good,but the bikes were not a great addition. The controls were too simple, and no matter what CC Class I was in, 50-100-150cc, It was just too slow of racing.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Gameplay: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
1 of 5 found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Mario Kart - Game Only
Lots of fun, but best with friends
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Gameplay: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Graphics: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Sound: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Posted on:4/7/12
aco612
Location: Future wetlands of Louisiana
This game is perfect for: casual gamers
An easy game to master, with intuitive Wii controls and only 2 buttons to use, but it can be extremely boring playing against the AI opponents. Preferably you'd have friends/family to compete against, and that is where the game shines. Simply put, this game is infectious fun in a group! Everyone will want to give it a try - both adults and kids - and because it is so easy to play, everyone will have fun. Young children (younger than 5) may have trouble, but they can get the hang of it with a little practice. The graphics aren't great, but that is pretty typical of a Wii game, but everything else is passable enough, and the bright color palette and zesty sounds keep your eyes engaged. The fun bonus system allows even laggards to catch up (my kids love the rocket!) and gives you the chance to knock the leader off the track (well, at least momentarily). The tracks range from easy to challenging, so there is something for all level of gamers to enjoy. Highly recommended.
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Gameplay: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Graphics: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Sound: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Review 20 for Mario Kart - Game Only
Great controls. Fun! Love it... never gets old.
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:4/7/12
Baconrocks
This game is perfect for: casual gamers
I start off, this game is just SO fun. And isn't that what's important? Fun? This game is like no other racing game, because you actaully turn the Wii Remote like a steering wheel. There are many characters to choose from, and the cars effect your speed, acceleration, and all that, and you can even see it, unlike other racing games where you can't tell the difference between cars. And then the stages. Some are very creative, and some are just cheap. I mean, really? A metal zig-zag platform with holes that you can fall into that are filled with lava? But those are my only complaints, that 1 or 2 stages are kind of stupid. NOTE: This game is WAY more fun with 2 players than any other number, because then the CPUs are harder and if you had 3 or 4 players, your screen area would be VERY small, and you could think that you were someone else. But this isn't something that they should fix, because with 4 players you need 4 screens on the TV. Graphics are great, except now and then you get a glitch where you are upside down and your head is through the bottom of the track and you go really slow. BUY THIS!!!!!! Really!
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
2 of 2 found this review helpful.
1 2 3 4 5 6 next>>