GameStop Ratings and Reviews

Shop Now At GameStop
Shop Software or
Choose a Category
Top Rated Product

Product Reviews

Call of Duty: Modern Warfare 2

The sequel to the best-selling first-person action game of all time, Modern Warfare 2 continues the gripping and heart-racing action as players face off against a new threat dedicated to bringing the world to the brink of collapse. The newest installment in the groundbreaking Call of Duty® series, Modern Warfare 2 features for the first time in video games, the musical soundtrack of legendary Academy Award®, Golden Globe® Award, Grammy® Award and Tony winning composer Hans Zimmer. The title picks up immediately following the historic events of Call of Duty® 4: Modern Warfare®, the blockbuster title that earned worldwide critical acclaim, including 14 million copies sold worldwide; "Most Played Online Video Game" in history, 2009 Guinness World Records; more than 50 Game of the Year awards, including the Console Game of the Year and Overall Game of the Year, 2007, from the Academy of Interactive Arts & Sciences®
Average Customer Rating:
8.45
8.5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (1,583 reviews)
10 stars
679
9 stars
262
8 stars
122
7 stars
68
6 stars
45
5 stars
33
4 stars
36
3 stars
18
2 stars
21
1 star
57
1,112 out of 1,34183%of reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Call of Duty: Modern Warfare 2
Review 1 for Call of Duty: Modern Warfare 2
BEST GAME EVER
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Posted on:4/2/14
Tito13570
Location: IL
This is the best call of duty game ever. Black ops sucked ghosts sucked. Idk how the game is worth $6.29 pre owned it should be like $40
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Review 2 for Call of Duty: Modern Warfare 2
Very Good Games
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:3/31/14
Kingcobra23
Location: Chicago
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
I like playing this game because of the game play and shooting in multiplayer and playing with friends
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Review 3 for Call of Duty: Modern Warfare 2
The best Call of Duty
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:3/16/14
baslenk
Location: Philadelphia, PA
This game is perfect for: casual gamers
While multiplayer can get somewhat frustrating, this is by far the most complete and of the best lasting appeal than any other version of this title. Campaign is solid, as well as Spec Ops.
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Review 4 for Call of Duty: Modern Warfare 2
awesome
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:3/3/14
andrew12354
Location: mississippi
This game is perfect for: casual gamers
I've loved this game since I first played it. no matter how much I play it I love it its addicting. I highly recommend it
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Review 5 for Call of Duty: Modern Warfare 2
I like the creativity
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Gameplay: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Posted on:2/21/14
DatCriticDerpy
Location: a place
This game is perfect for: casual gamers
I love how creative the developers were with this title. It truly shows what CoD is capable of. But the grenade spamming is a bit annoying, as well as shotgun secondaries. But overall I do like the title, as long as we don't have a Black Ops 1 repeat, I am pleased to see a new Call of Duty title hit the shelves.
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Gameplay: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Review 6 for Call of Duty: Modern Warfare 2
Best COD game.
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Posted on:1/26/14
Epicnes23
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
Now, ever since this game, Call of Duty has been downhill. But, this game is the best COD game ever. The multiplayer is great, the campaign is awesome, but it's very short, and Spec Ops is fantastic. If you haven't bought a COD game, you should buy this one.
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Review 7 for Call of Duty: Modern Warfare 2
Staying Modern After All These Years
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Posted on:1/21/14
HearMeOut
Location: Grand Ledge, MI
A little info about me before you read my review, I'm a 20 year old gamer who thoroughly enjoys playing video games. If you want a review of this in one sentence, it is the best Call of Duty of the franchise. I highly encourage you to read the full review if you have the time. Thank you for your time and consideration!
Now for the full review:
Campaign:
While many of you probably know how the story goes, I still find it to be one of the greatest campaigns from the Call of Duty Series. For all of you hardcore COD fans, no I haven’t played the original Modern Warfare so I can’t really compare it to MW2’s campaign; this being the first Call of Duty game I ever owned. The characters have great personalities to them and you’ll get attached to a few of them as you play on; however, what Modern Warfare 2 does exceptionally well is leaving cliffhangers at the end of each mission. Many times I tried to play a single mission only to end up playing two or three because I wanted to know what was going to happen next. As this is a Call of Duty game, you will find yourself doing most of the work while your AI teammates occasionally shoot an enemy. For parents buying this game, I’m sure you are all aware about the “TERRORIST” mission of the game. Before I say anything else, YOU CAN SKIP THIS MISSION; no one is forcing you to play it! On the contrary, you have been strongly forewarned about how graphic this mission is; without spoiling anything, A LOT of defenseless civilians die as a result of you controlling the shooter. If you are questioning whether or not to allow your kids to play it, watch the video on Youtube and determine it for yourself. Aside from that, this game does a great job of blending shocking moments and great writing.
Spec Ops:
While multiplayer in this game is very well done, the hidden gem of this game truly is the spec ops mode. Taking various components from the story line, spec ops allows you and a friend to team up and take down enemies, disarm bombs, silently snipe soldiers in ghillie suits, and much more. Some missions are better than others, but it’s amazing how much fun you can have planning the same missions over and over again. My particular favorites of the bunch are “Evasion” which involves hiding from guards in a snowy forest while silently sniping targets and “Armor Piercing” which pits you against 15 juggernaut soldiers. You’ll be amazed how terrifying these soldiers are after your first encounter, let alone playing on veteran difficulty. While the spec ops can be played alone, this mode truly shines when you play with a friend; someone’s got to revive you when you’re down. If you’re a newbie, spec ops is a great place to start from a training perspective. If you’re a veteran, I can guarantee that you will thoroughly enjoy these various missions.
Multiplayer:
As much as people complain about COD’s multiplayer (I have had my fair share of cursing), Modern Warfare 2 does an incredible job considering how its more current editions have tended to flop. Just a reminder, all online multiplayer games boil down to who you are playing with. My review here is intended to share my opinion about the gameplay mechanics, not argue whether or not noob tubing is cheap or how annoying campers can be. The reason I came back to write this review 4 years after purchasing the game was to compliment how MW2’s multiplayer has stood the test of time. Some of the more modern COD games give players plenty of options, which is perfectly fine. However, after purchasing the latest COD Ghosts, I got a complex and aggravating game. MW2’s simplicity and ongoing action are what separate this game from its progressively mediocre installments. Games go by very quickly, but are loads of fun. The guns are good (aside from the F2000) and the perks feel balanced. Killstreak customization was excellent in this game; however, some are more powerful or overpowered than others. Another great part of multiplayer are the maps. “Highrise” is one of the greatest multiplayer maps ever made. The map selections are the perfect balance of big and small areas and narrow corridors and wide open fields. I could talk about how to set up your classes, but I feel it really boils down to your gameplay style. Initially, I primarily used assault rifles, but after further playing was more drawn towards submachine guns and sniper rifles. I am very fortunate to have purchased what I consider to be Call of Duty’s zenith of online multiplayer gaming. I can’t promise that you won’t get quickscoped, I can’t promise that campers will frustrate you as they hide in their corners or boost with friends, but what I can promise is that this is the best Call of Duty multiplayer of the Xbox 360 console (again for those who played Modern Warfare, forgive my ignorance).
Overall:
For its time period, I believe that Modern Warfare 2 revolutionized the gaming industry and was leaps and bounds beyond any other game during its time of creation. Gamers could immerse themselves in a fast paced, guns ablazing, instant action shooter. However, what Modern Warfare 2 has amazingly done is set the bar so high it has yet to reach this peak again. I’m not here to bash Black Ops, Modern Warfare 3, Black Ops 2, or Ghosts; rather, I want to thank Infinity Ward and Activision for creating such a great game that I can go back and play and have the same amount of fun as I did when I first got it. When buying games, I want great replay value and this game is no disappointment! The Call of Duty franchise has had its fair share of gems and fool’s gold; however, gamers hit the jackpot with this game. I can easily say it was one of the greatest games for the Xbox 360 and PS3 consoles. Whether you’re a COD fan boy or Battlefield fanatic, Modern Warfare 2’s influence forced both developers to step up their games which has led to the great rivalry today. If you’re like me and are interested in older games as the new consoles come out, Modern Warfare 2 is a steal of a deal at $7. If you don’t like it, at least you didn’t waste $60 on Call of Duty Ghost like I did (I reviewed that game if you’re curious).
Here me out, Modern Warfare 2 is Call of Duty at its finest.
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Review 8 for Call of Duty: Modern Warfare 2
Best call of duty game review
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Posted on:1/8/14
Swedish
Location: SWE
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
Call of duty: Modern Warfare 2 had in my oppinion the best campain and the best multiplayer experience.
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Review 9 for Call of Duty: Modern Warfare 2
best call of duty ever
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:12/30/13
ssj23vegeta
Location: chicago il
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
this game is really good this is almost better than black ops the missions are cool and it is a lot of fun
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Review 10 for Call of Duty: Modern Warfare 2
AWESOME
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Posted on:12/27/13
imdatkewl
Location: Merced, CA
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
Great game for beginner hardcore gamers. Difficult enough to present a challenge but fun enough to keep playing.
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Review 11 for Call of Duty: Modern Warfare 2
Still best to date
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Posted on:12/3/13
blooshaderos
This was the best COD game ever better than even ghosts it is amazing, the storyline is great and the spec ops are very fun so overall great game.
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Review 12 for Call of Duty: Modern Warfare 2
A game for call of duty newcomers.
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:11/3/13
sound
Location: Imperal beach ca
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
A game for call of duty newcomers/my favoret call of duty. If you are looking for a game that you can play with your frends and family this is it (it is a game that you can always come back to and play).
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Review 13 for Call of Duty: Modern Warfare 2
good game but sad death
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Posted on:10/25/13
wolf0117
Location: houston, TX
This game is perfect for: casual gamers
i liked this game but there one guy name ghost that help you in most mission that is very good and his name and his voice is just perfect for him but when you got shot by sheperd it was a very sad ending of ghost when he saw you got shot and he tried to kill sheperd but he was too slow and got killed after you then both of you were thrown in a mud puddle and got lighted on fire next to him.... i was like REALLY!?!?! WHY HIM?????? BETTER LOVE STORY THEN TWILIGHT!!!!!!!
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
0 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Call of Duty: Modern Warfare 2
great game amazing graphics
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:9/28/13
iseah11
Location: mackinaw, il
This game is perfect for: casual gamers
great game, amazing graphics and game play im suprised people choose black ops 2 over this i know i prefure the modern warfare series
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Review 15 for Call of Duty: Modern Warfare 2
its AWESOME!!!!!!!!!!!!!
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:9/28/13
SamFisherTheAwesome456789
Location: new york,ny
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
when i first played modern warfare 2 my eyes were glued to it there is no taking my eyes off of it!!!!!
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Review 16 for Call of Duty: Modern Warfare 2
This game is really fun.
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:9/15/13
Bobrules710
Location: Marshfield, MA
Very fun game for people who like FPS games.fun fun fun fun fun fun fun fun fun fun fun fun fun fun fun.
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Review 17 for Call of Duty: Modern Warfare 2
A++
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Posted on:9/4/13
Gamerguy12321
This is the best Call of Duty to date. This is the most realistic combat game I have ever played. I believe that Ghosts will beat this game. Is there any more to say?
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Review 18 for Call of Duty: Modern Warfare 2
Best Call of Duty
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:8/16/13
CanadianOtter
Location: Iowa, IA
This game blew me away. The campaign was incredible, and multiplayer was great amazing maps, so many weapons and perks.
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Review 19 for Call of Duty: Modern Warfare 2
The worst MW CALL OF DUTY
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Gameplay: 
2 out of 10
2 out of 10
Graphics: 
2 out of 10
2 out of 10
Sound: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Posted on:8/12/13
deco
Location: Vidalia , GA
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
I got this game and had already bought MW3 .This games was the worst Mw call of duty . No good guns and extras. The graphics are so bad . You cant see a thing and the sound is the worst of all . I try to understand them but I cant . And my hearing fine . So this game is the worst . If you want to buy a MW call of duty get MW3 . Its the best one . trust me you will LOVE IT.
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Gameplay: 
2 out of 10
2 out of 10
Graphics: 
2 out of 10
2 out of 10
Sound: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
0 of 2 found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Call of Duty: Modern Warfare 2
this game is the nuke
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:8/1/13
Extrahox1027
Location: Florida,Fl
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
this game is by far the best COD ever great sound,great graphics but best of all the lasting appeal is legendary ,the multiplayer will give you countless hours of gameplay the campaign in COD has never truly been great but this one was actually really exciting spec ops give a great challenge to all and a will to get all 69 stars overall amazing game
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
1 2 3 4 5 ... 79 next>>